Advertisement

Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Sad to see Clarke and indeed Vaughan retire without a Celtic Cross but such is life...there have been countless Mayo greats before them and a few more to come. It's not the end of the world...time for the next generation to give it a go.

They did however represent the county with pride and gave it their all...that's good enough in my book. Any mocking by keyboard warriors on social media is best ignored because these lads including those from other counties have achieved far more in life than the clowns online.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12256 - 04/01/2021 18:34:48    2325995

Replying To Oldtourman:  "What can you do. Look all the great footballers, even from Wexford and Limerick and several went without All Ireland. Mick Mackey's father widely regarded as one of the greatest hurlers of his day played inter county for 15 years without the major prize and the county won an All Ireland the following year after he retired. and another won three years late. However, his story is only the story of several equally committed players throughout the country, over the decades."
I hear you oldtourman but these mayo guys were up against it playing dublin ever before the ball was thrown in, even the refs seem to favour one team. Yet we hear what wonderful people one of the panel is comprised of.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 641 - 04/01/2021 18:54:00    2325998

Replying To hopballref:  "Ciaran Whelan must be the unluckiest - started in 96' and retired in 10' I think."
That's correct. His career bookended by All Ireland titles and was just the wrong side of the two either end. Sport can be very cruel and it doesn't do sentiment. Whelan was one such player who was very unlucky not to collect an All Ireland medal.
The two Mayo players in that group also and could very easily have ended up with at least one if not 2 had the Gods smiled favourably on them.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 04/01/2021 19:14:52    2326005

Replying To gahfan:  "I hear you oldtourman but these mayo guys were up against it playing dublin ever before the ball was thrown in, even the refs seem to favour one team. Yet we hear what wonderful people one of the panel is comprised of."
Yes I see where you are coming from, but when you think of two great footballers like Mattie Forde and Joh Galvin, and indeed many of their colleagues who laboured so long and hard to make a break through, who each came so near but failed to win even a Provincial title., Some of these Mayo men have multiple Provincial Medals and a National League, things our two men did not even get.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 04/01/2021 19:30:41    2326007

Replying To gahfan:  "Sad that great mayo players retire without an all Ireland medal.
Unless issues are addressed we will see more of this."
If Mayo have issues , id hate to see the other counties issues in your book,,

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 04/01/2021 19:42:46    2326011

Best of luck to David Clarke, a fine keeper and probably the best shot stopper in Ireland over a few years. A good old foe, I'm happy enough to see the back off him, which is intended as a compliment. Best wishes in retirement David.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 04/01/2021 19:47:10    2326013

Good luck to the retirees with whatever they do going forward. As for the eejit above from (Wexford) , who's a bit desperate for attention, why don't you do the same ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/01/2021 20:14:30    2326018

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Our 2014 allireland winning goal keeper Brian Kelly has retired aged 31, thats the 2 legion lads gone from our panel now.

A lot of big football retirements in the last few days."
Jaysus, 2014 , is it that long ago Tommy ?
God be with the days when ye boys would be gloating year after year.
I suppose you have to hang on to whatever you can when you get desperate.
No sign of the other dose yet I see. Good start to the year anyway.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/01/2021 20:20:24    2326021

Graham Ó Reilly Meath retires also. Another brilliant footballer in his prime.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 04/01/2021 21:33:12    2326034

Sad to hear of David's retirement. Sam is all the further from Mayo now! !
You gave it your all, David. An outstanding career marked by a sense of humbleness and dedication.
May you have the very best of luck in the future. Thanks for all the great memories.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 04/01/2021 21:52:04    2326036

Replying To BeJasus:  "If Mayo have issues , id hate to see the other counties issues in your book,,"
Hi Bejasus, I think you picked me up wrong. I meant broader issues ie Dublin having all the advantages. Players from other counties may think what's the point.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 641 - 04/01/2021 21:57:11    2326037

That's a huge loss, superb keeper.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 04/01/2021 22:40:03    2326047

Wishing Tom Parsons all the best in his retirement.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 05/01/2021 12:51:15    2326102

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Wishing Tom Parsons all the best in his retirement."
It was amazing he came back at all from that horror injury. Giant of a man. All the best Tom and thanks.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12256 - 05/01/2021 12:59:05    2326105

Jeepers Tom Parsons gone to.

Very, very very, underrated player and one of the best midfielders of the past ten years for me. If guts were meddles he would be leaving with a bag full. Great example to any youngsters.

Best wishes and total respect in retirement Tom.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 05/01/2021 14:03:30    2326109

Replying To yew_tree:  "It was amazing he came back at all from that horror injury. Giant of a man. All the best Tom and thanks."
An awful loss to Mayo when he got injured as I think he was just hitting the peak of his power and I had noticed a big improvement in his game from the previous couple of years.

Anyway best of luck to Tom in his retirement.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/01/2021 16:57:50    2326137

Lot of big names gone from Mayo, Keegan and Aidan O'Shea have their best days behind them too, Mayo definitely in transition now,
Sad for Parsons and Clarke never to have won an All Ireland, 2 great servants of Mayo football,
Vaughan will never forget that stupid red card he got in the 2017 final,
I really think that was Mayo's year, if he'd stayed on the field I think it was theirs that day, but that's the way the cookie crumbles sometimes.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3826 - 05/01/2021 17:37:29    2326148

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Lot of big names gone from Mayo, Keegan and Aidan O'Shea have their best days behind them too, Mayo definitely in transition now,
Sad for Parsons and Clarke never to have won an All Ireland, 2 great servants of Mayo football,
Vaughan will never forget that stupid red card he got in the 2017 final,
I really think that was Mayo's year, if he'd stayed on the field I think it was theirs that day, but that's the way the cookie crumbles sometimes."
Clarke does have a club All-Ireland from 2005, although he didn't play in the final. He actually played for Mayo that year before the club final, but was 2nd choice keeper for his club at the time, which is unusual enough.
As well as 2017, I think 2014 was Mayo's best chance. We'll never know how they'd have done against Donegal in the final, but I think they would have had great chance that year. They really should have beaten Kerry in the semi.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 3048 - 05/01/2021 17:56:40    2326155

Replying To royaldunne:  "Graham biggy Reilly. Just announced his retirement. The last non dub playing that had a Leinster medal."
Totally wrong. The last non Dub, still playing, with a Leinster Senior Football medal, is 38 year old Ross Munnelly. He won his Leinster in 2003. His inter county career began in 2002.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 185 - 05/01/2021 18:38:10    2326164

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Clarke does have a club All-Ireland from 2005, although he didn't play in the final. He actually played for Mayo that year before the club final, but was 2nd choice keeper for his club at the time, which is unusual enough.
As well as 2017, I think 2014 was Mayo's best chance. We'll never know how they'd have done against Donegal in the final, but I think they would have had great chance that year. They really should have beaten Kerry in the semi."
That's true, I think they were robbed in that semi final in 2014 can't really rem think they should have won it the first day, they would likely have beat us in the final too the rubbish we played that day, then again we might have played differently against Mayo, we'll never know.
awful pity for the likes of these fellas never to have won it, they def did deserve one at least. So many hard luck stories and weird things happening eg 2 own goals, also bad management decisions etc.
There'll likely be a few good books on the way.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3826 - 05/01/2021 18:56:21    2326171