Galway Vs The Dub5

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The charity should be comic relief lol. Seriously though Dessie is going to have a nice headache picking the team. Macker always top notch as are Fenton and Kilkenny. A very solid outfit. I'd prefer to have a headache picking the team rather than it picking itself."
That was miles better then recent matches Mick. We have some excellent players as we know, but we are leaving the league with a deeper panel, we must have used 30-40 odd players. Mission accomplished this league.

I still think we look unbalanced particularly at the back, Dessies teams tend to be that way. We have miles to go to be at Championship pitch, but have time to grow into it. But any day you leave the heart of salt hill with a six point win is a good day at the office.

What about King Con's assist for his own goal, he's was massively quiet but leaves with 1-2, he's a ninja assassin.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/10/2020 20:02:46    2301335

Best 15 from League? Overall

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 25/10/2020 20:26:39    2301352

Replying To brisbane:  "Why was the kerry game played yesterday? Surly all the final games should be on at the same time"
The Donegal County board asked the Kerry County board if they would play the game on the Saturday due to long journey they had to travel and our County board said not a bother.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/10/2020 20:52:04    2301368

Replying To TheUsername:  "That was miles better then recent matches Mick. We have some excellent players as we know, but we are leaving the league with a deeper panel, we must have used 30-40 odd players. Mission accomplished this league.

I still think we look unbalanced particularly at the back, Dessies teams tend to be that way. We have miles to go to be at Championship pitch, but have time to grow into it. But any day you leave the heart of salt hill with a six point win is a good day at the office.

What about King Con's assist for his own goal, he's was massively quiet but leaves with 1-2, he's a ninja assassin."
Dublin remain the team to beat.For all that has changed in 2020, that has not.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 25/10/2020 20:56:42    2301370

Replying To TheUsername:  "That was miles better then recent matches Mick. We have some excellent players as we know, but we are leaving the league with a deeper panel, we must have used 30-40 odd players. Mission accomplished this league.

What about King Con's assist for his own goal, he's was massively quiet but leaves with 1-2, he's a ninja assassin."
What an assist lol. All jokes aside Con was quiet by his standards but still scores1-2.I think Dublin in a good place coming into championship. Kerry in a good place too. Mayo although down to div 2 seem to have found a few forwards and are still strong at back. Galway Tyrone and Donegal all ready to rock. Also the Armagh The Rossies all improving. It makes for an exciting championship albeit it quick and strange.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 25/10/2020 21:41:40    2301398

Replying To endgame:  "Dublin remain the team to beat.For all that has changed in 2020, that has not."
Looked better today then we have all league. Hard to know with Dublin really. They've been massively successful, huge experience and talented players. All that said a lot of transition, so many new players tried during the league, so many retirements, Jim gone, new management and back room team, late appointment and hasn't had much time with the players through Covid. We are there to be shot at and are long over due a bullet in the post.

My own opinion, is we won't win it this year, to much change and depleting context will bring us into the pack. I think we take a year on the chin this year and aim for a proper championship in 2021 and continue to transItion and build. I'll be very happy to be proven wrong.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/10/2020 22:19:06    2301412

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "What an assist lol. All jokes aside Con was quiet by his standards but still scores1-2.I think Dublin in a good place coming into championship. Kerry in a good place too. Mayo although down to div 2 seem to have found a few forwards and are still strong at back. Galway Tyrone and Donegal all ready to rock. Also the Armagh The Rossies all improving. It makes for an exciting championship albeit it quick and strange."
A much better performence then recently today Mick, I'm fighting a hope instinct with cognitive logic, I don't think this will be our year. To much change, we look unbalanced and open at the back. Who knows maybe Dessie this league was all about assessing the county and resting the starting 15 and we will see 14 of the same lads who played in last years final. I think we have unearthed a few. My reservation is the retirements, manager back room, to much change and transitition. I've also watched Dessies teams a lot underage and NF, always open, be a different Dublin. So we will be competitive but right back in the pack. Personally I think we take this year on the chin and aim for next.

With the above great chance for everyone else. Been impressed with Galway before Covid, think they shadow boxed after and targeted championship. They will be hard get in my opinion. Loads to come back and real contenders. Like us though hard to do anything year 1.

Kerry will be confident, NFL in the bag, will feel they are the anointed ones, good players, year 2 under Keane. Defo be there or there abouts. My reservation would be over reliance on Clifford and O Shea. Might struggle in midfield, think winter and sloppy ball might help the struggles in defence. I'd have a reservation about Keane as a manager, I'm not sure he's a top manager if I'm honest. Thought Kerry made a massive error getting rid of Fitzmaurice.

Donegal class squad, a squad who could win the whole thing. Ulster is a mess to get through. A bit of luck and belief and I think they can go all the way.

Tyrone, massive dark horses for me. Will relish winter ball, McKenna looks a big boost. Can't think of many times we've got the better of Tyrone when the clocks have changed.

The great gate crashes the Rossies, always fun to watch again a team I think will relish winter ball and who cut cut a few to size.

Mayo, who knows, GAAs great conundrum, would you put it past them getting relegated and winning Sam. Be a very Mayo thing to do.

Cork a year to early for me, play the game the right way and some class players there and coming through, won't be a give me in PUC, but Kerry about a year ahead of them in Development.

Should be entertaining if not a wired championship. Any in the pack will fancy their chances.

Personally I'm finding the whole thing very weird, find watching on TV really frustrating. It's very hard to judge, lines and formations just following the ball on the camera. But sure it's better then nothing.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/10/2020 22:40:17    2301421

Best way to watch the matches with the volume down, easier to concentrate on the game, makes it more like being at it
Gets rid of the echoes of players shouting at each other

Maroonedinlongford (Galway) - Posts: 242 - 25/10/2020 22:53:40    2301423

Replying To TheUsername:  "A much better performence then recently today Mick, I'm fighting a hope instinct with cognitive logic, I don't think this will be our year. To much change, we look unbalanced and open at the back. Who knows maybe Dessie this league was all about assessing the county and resting the starting 15 and we will see 14 of the same lads who played in last years final. I think we have unearthed a few. My reservation is the retirements, manager back room, to much change and transitition. I've also watched Dessies teams a lot underage and NF, always open, be a different Dublin. So we will be competitive but right back in the pack. Personally I think we take this year on the chin and aim for next.

With the above great chance for everyone else. Been impressed with Galway before Covid, think they shadow boxed after and targeted championship. They will be hard get in my opinion. Loads to come back and real contenders. Like us though hard to do anything year 1.

Kerry will be confident, NFL in the bag, will feel they are the anointed ones, good players, year 2 under Keane. Defo be there or there abouts. My reservation would be over reliance on Clifford and O Shea. Might struggle in midfield, think winter and sloppy ball might help the struggles in defence. I'd have a reservation about Keane as a manager, I'm not sure he's a top manager if I'm honest. Thought Kerry made a massive error getting rid of Fitzmaurice.

Donegal class squad, a squad who could win the whole thing. Ulster is a mess to get through. A bit of luck and belief and I think they can go all the way.

Tyrone, massive dark horses for me. Will relish winter ball, McKenna looks a big boost. Can't think of many times we've got the better of Tyrone when the clocks have changed.

The great gate crashes the Rossies, always fun to watch again a team I think will relish winter ball and who cut cut a few to size.

Mayo, who knows, GAAs great conundrum, would you put it past them getting relegated and winning Sam. Be a very Mayo thing to do.

Cork a year to early for me, play the game the right way and some class players there and coming through, won't be a give me in PUC, but Kerry about a year ahead of them in Development.

Should be entertaining if not a wired championship. Any in the pack will fancy their chances.

Personally I'm finding the whole thing very weird, find watching on TV really frustrating. It's very hard to judge, lines and formations just following the ball on the camera. But sure it's better then nothing."
Good post Username and I tend to agree with you about your view on Kerry. I wonder about Keane myself and our midfield etc.While I agree with you also on Dublin s losses like Gavin Connolly McCaffery I still think Dublin will be into a semi final without too much bother so are quite capable of winning again.However I think this year us more even. This time next week one of the big guns will be gone in Donegal or Tyrone(such a hard one to call). Yes I would love the big crowds but as you say its better than nothing.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 25/10/2020 23:10:14    2301430

Replying To lilylanger:  "Kilkenny deserved man of the match. He is central to all Dublin do well in my opinion. Bit of a boring game. Ridiculous yellow card for McCarthy. How hard would it have been to show Mayo v Tyrone or Meath v Monaghan."
They were on GAAGO for five euro? had the result yesterday been different this would have been a winner take all for the league.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 26/10/2020 03:06:07    2301452

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Fair play to Paul Conroy, he was MOTM in my book, not sure who got it officially. Galway soloing the ball into tackles was not good. Congrats Dubs, not sure if you were challenged really."
Conroy did a lot but towards the end he took on too much himself rather than play the players around him who were in better positions. The game did resemble a challenge game more from Dublin's point of view I think. At times the put on the after burners in attack only to then slow it down and allow Galway to get back, was it just to see how they could break down with a mass defense. At the end of the day that's what they will need to get used to come the championship. I am sure they would have also preferred rain yesterday! A lot of Galway players didn't look fit or the Dublin lads are exceptionally fast, with the championship so close and no backdoor that's a worry for them.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 26/10/2020 03:14:24    2301454

In fairness, Whelan even said on the Sunday game that conroy should have been awarded man of the match. The other forwards need to do more. There is plenty of work for us to do in the next few weeks in terms of fitness as we lost the game in the last 15 mins .. We should get by Sligo and that would set up a very interesting final against Mayo or Roscommon. I believe the winners of Connaught play the Munster champs, either of the three Connaught teams would be a big underdog against in all likelihood a Kerry team that will come through Munster not really tested. Should make for an interesting championship

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 282 - 26/10/2020 11:18:33    2301537

Great to have Con back after a couple of unlucky injuries

He didn't kick a ball for Dublin all year before the Meath game

He was very much missed and the 1-6 from play over the last two games while still being a bit rusty is testament to that.

P Small really turning into a baller now too and he's match sharp at present. I'd have him starting.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/10/2020 13:39:06    2301606

Fair play to Dubs, deserved it yesterday, no excuses.

shanestaple (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 26/10/2020 14:49:18    2301650

Best all round footballer on the day & reminiscent of Seán Purcell was Seán Bugler. No disrespect to Ciarán Kilkenny who is related to Seán & is one of the best footballers of his time, but Seán Bugler is some footballer. His 1-1 & workrate in a cameo appearance was class. His skill level & power is exceptional, hard to believe he might not start.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 26/10/2020 20:36:18    2301770

Bugler and Conroy best two on the park on Sunday. Would love the two counties to meet again further down the line !! :D

fryingpan (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 26/10/2020 21:27:53    2301796

Replying To moc.dna:  "Best all round footballer on the day & reminiscent of Seán Purcell was Seán Bugler. No disrespect to Ciarán Kilkenny who is related to Seán & is one of the best footballers of his time, but Seán Bugler is some footballer. His 1-1 & workrate in a cameo appearance was class. His skill level & power is exceptional, hard to believe he might not start."
He looks a serious player alright. Yet Farrell can't even see it, starting Lowndes an average wing back ahead of him at wing forward. Mind boggling.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 26/10/2020 23:33:40    2301836

Replying To fryingpan:  "Bugler and Conroy best two on the park on Sunday. Would love the two counties to meet again further down the line !! :D"
Unfortunately thats not going to happen this year !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/10/2020 00:40:14    2301840

Replying To superbluedub:  "Unfortunately thats not going to happen this year !!"
I agree. We won't meet each other in the Championship this year.

Interesting read by Aidan O'Rourke - the position Galway were in before Covid and where they are at now. Definitely, although relegated, Mayo have less improvement of the 2 to make right now, to make an All Ireland semi final.

As for Dublin, Dessie is running out of games to get the balance right with any new players or positions.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 27/10/2020 10:11:28    2301877

Replying To Fionn:  "I agree. We won't meet each other in the Championship this year.

Interesting read by Aidan O'Rourke - the position Galway were in before Covid and where they are at now. Definitely, although relegated, Mayo have less improvement of the 2 to make right now, to make an All Ireland semi final.

As for Dublin, Dessie is running out of games to get the balance right with any new players or positions."
Dont know lads, before the break Galway were as good as anyone out there. I really rate their squad of players. Shane Walsh potential footballer of the year.

Joyce is no fool, i think hes clearly targeting the championship, he needs to as well, Connacht wont be easy and they have it harder then Leinster and Munster.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/10/2020 10:42:24    2301891