Galway Vs The Dub5

Replying To Fionn:  "Keep replying to yourself there's a good boy. First sign of....

As for once again bringing in posts not relevant to the topic, this seems too be a prerequisite for kerry folk on here, as well as the obligatory smile emoji at the end of the post....

The topic is about Galway v Dublin. Concentrate harder....!"
My man Sean McMahon on the bench speaking of talented No 3's.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/10/2020 10:10:00    2301071

Replying To maroondiesel:  "This is a dead rubber game, both counties will use experimental sides"
Agreed i can seen both sides, making numerous changes to the named teams now.

Both will be hoping to have a tilt at winning the championship and two of the best teams in the country, you can see this turning into a bit of a shadow boxing affair.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/10/2020 10:51:10    2301082

The weather here in Galway City is brutal
Strong Winds and Nasty Showers
Typical day in Pearse Stadium you might say

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 25/10/2020 11:35:54    2301096

Replying To rhudson:  "The weather here in Galway City is brutal
Strong Winds and Nasty Showers
Typical day in Pearse Stadium you might say"
I've backed Galway to win...don't think the dubs will be too pushed and Galway need a reaction at home after last weeks poor performance.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 25/10/2020 13:32:27    2301134

Good little game this even though both are treating it as a challenge.

Dubs motoring well, seem to be wanting to get there handling and the right happy enough to knock about in front of the blanket.

Dessies gas, wave attack and playing anyone with pace where ever he can fit them in, he's mad reckless, but total heavy metal.

Cian Murphy looking the part, Robbie McDaid working his socks of to nail down a spot.

The two Super Brian imperious, Paddy Small has the touch of the Dermos about him.

Fancy our chances here with the wind second half, but not really important, hope we empty the bench.

Davey Byrne and that top knot! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/10/2020 14:49:42    2301151

Replying To TheUsername:  "Good little game this even though both are treating it as a challenge.

Dubs motoring well, seem to be wanting to get there handling and the right happy enough to knock about in front of the blanket.

Dessies gas, wave attack and playing anyone with pace where ever he can fit them in, he's mad reckless, but total heavy metal.

Cian Murphy looking the part, Robbie McDaid working his socks of to nail down a spot.

The two Super Brian imperious, Paddy Small has the touch of the Dermos about him.

Fancy our chances here with the wind second half, but not really important, hope we empty the bench.

Davey Byrne and that top knot! ;)"
Paddy Small was excellent today as was Kilkenny. Conroy for Galway very good and great to see Shane Walsh back. Bugler very impressive but I think himself and Howard should both receive lengthy bans (for their moustaches) lol

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 25/10/2020 15:58:47    2301177

Surprised out of the two number 11s that Kilkenny won MOTM over Conroy but suppose the winning team will always get the nod. Should be good preparation for us against Sligo and the Dubs won't get a good test again until the AI semi's.

fryingpan (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 25/10/2020 16:30:08    2301202

This was an improvement over last week. But still a bit short of fitness. Galway also lacked imho strenght and conditioning. They allowed the Dubs to bulldozer their way throught our defence. And Galway were not direct enough in attack.
Why has Padraig Joyce not got them taking their points. Instead of all of this lateral hand/kick passing they do.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 25/10/2020 16:55:29    2301221

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Paddy Small was excellent today as was Kilkenny. Conroy for Galway very good and great to see Shane Walsh back. Bugler very impressive but I think himself and Howard should both receive lengthy bans (for their moustaches) lol"
Paddy had a good club championship to and us there on merit, he always had that Dermo factor, but always consistency with Paddy. He looks to be kicking on now and developing how we've been hoping. Tough gig cracking the Dublin forward line. Right behind the obvious 3 we have Paddy, Cormac, Basquel & Macker (great today) and Andrews. He could potentially go to half forward we're he could be in a scarp with Howard, Bugler & Aaron Byrne - it's a tough gig.

Conroy played very well Mick, thought he got a lot of "luck" From the ref I thought, but played very well.

Ha the lads are doing the mo thing for charity. It's the top knots, that's the new thing Aaron Byrne, Davey Byrne & Macker, we must be getting a new conditioner partner.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/10/2020 17:20:16    2301233

Replying To galwayford:  "This was an improvement over last week. But still a bit short of fitness. Galway also lacked imho strenght and conditioning. They allowed the Dubs to bulldozer their way throught our defence. And Galway were not direct enough in attack.
Why has Padraig Joyce not got them taking their points. Instead of all of this lateral hand/kick passing they do."
In fairness to Joyce its early days yet and he missing a lot. Definitely missing 3 or 4 of his starting forwards

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 25/10/2020 17:20:36    2301234

Fair play to Paul Conroy, he was MOTM in my book, not sure who got it officially. Galway soloing the ball into tackles was not good. Congrats Dubs, not sure if you were challenged really.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 25/10/2020 17:40:01    2301247

Replying To TheUsername:  "Paddy had a good club championship to and us there on merit, he always had that Dermo factor, but always consistency with Paddy. He looks to be kicking on now and developing how we've been hoping. Tough gig cracking the Dublin forward line. Right behind the obvious 3 we have Paddy, Cormac, Basquel & Macker (great today) and Andrews. He could potentially go to half forward we're he could be in a scarp with Howard, Bugler & Aaron Byrne - it's a tough gig.

Conroy played very well Mick, thought he got a lot of "luck" From the ref I thought, but played very well.

Ha the lads are doing the mo thing for charity. It's the top knots, that's the new thing Aaron Byrne, Davey Byrne & Macker, we must be getting a new conditioner partner."
Was Philly lucky with the boxing he was practising on conroy? Ye deserved to win but no need for petty comments.

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 25/10/2020 18:05:53    2301263

Kilkenny deserved man of the match. He is central to all Dublin do well in my opinion. Bit of a boring game. Ridiculous yellow card for McCarthy. How hard would it have been to show Mayo v Tyrone or Meath v Monaghan.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 25/10/2020 18:28:26    2301275

Replying To lilylanger:  "Kilkenny deserved man of the match. He is central to all Dublin do well in my opinion. Bit of a boring game. Ridiculous yellow card for McCarthy. How hard would it have been to show Mayo v Tyrone or Meath v Monaghan."
Very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the match. TG4 should have come to you to discuss what your preference was for this weekend. Shame

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 25/10/2020 19:03:43    2301301

Replying To candlewax:  "Very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the match. TG4 should have come to you to discuss what your preference was for this weekend. Shame"
Petty much? This game was a dead rubber. It could easily have have easily have been switched for either of the two games I mentioned.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 25/10/2020 19:09:15    2301303

Replying To TheUsername:  "Paddy had a good club championship to and us there on merit, he always had that Dermo factor, but always consistency with Paddy. He looks to be kicking on now and developing how we've been hoping. Tough gig cracking the Dublin forward line. Right behind the obvious 3 we have Paddy, Cormac, Basquel & Macker (great today) and Andrews. He could potentially go to half forward we're he could be in a scarp with Howard, Bugler & Aaron Byrne - it's a tough gig.

Ha the lads are doing the mo thing for charity. It's the top knots, that's the new thing Aaron Byrne, Davey Byrne & Macker, we must be getting a new conditioner partner."
The charity should be comic relief lol. Seriously though Dessie is going to have a nice headache picking the team. Macker always top notch as are Fenton and Kilkenny. A very solid outfit. I'd prefer to have a headache picking the team rather than it picking itself.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 25/10/2020 19:17:03    2301308

Galway huffed and puffed and did not blow the house down. Some of the lateral passing was laughable. Kicking the ball across the field instead of kicking it into the full forward line. This is not the Galway way of playing.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 25/10/2020 19:18:55    2301309

Replying To galwayford:  "Galway huffed and puffed and did not blow the house down. Some of the lateral passing was laughable. Kicking the ball across the field instead of kicking it into the full forward line. This is not the Galway way of playing."
To be honest with you. I would be a fan of Galway football but hated the way they played under Walsh so don't judge PJ till after the championship. Galway are missing a lot at mó.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 25/10/2020 19:41:20    2301320

Why was the kerry game played yesterday? Surly all the final games should be on at the same time

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 25/10/2020 19:54:15    2301329

Replying To cavan.galway:  "Was Philly lucky with the boxing he was practising on conroy? Ye deserved to win but no need for petty comments."
I think he brought on to do exactly that if I'm honest.

Slap for slap really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/10/2020 19:54:21    2301330