All Ireland Championship 2020

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Westmeath should refuse to play it there. What is the council's reasoning behind playing it in a neutral venue, with zero crowd? It's bizarre, and more bizarre Westmeath are meekly going along with it"
Pathetic that we are playing Dublin in Portlaoise- why is this being allowed to happen?? No crowd but yet we have to travel- shameful from our county board and management team- prob something to do with money as usual. Yet the GAA is amateur when it suits, althought the money made from it is colossal and not to mention they are allowed play games as they are "elite" teams we are told!!!!

I will not be buying my annual westmeath ticket in a hurry again. I think we should hang our heads in shame and also I see Heslin speaking out on Twitter yesterday about not playing championship at all- why does he not speak out about this issue??? We have home advantage taken away because it suits Dublin and we nearly bow before them saying oh yes why wouldn't we accommodate you!! We should have made life as difficult as possible but no yet again we have rolled over for the "great" Dublin team who everyone seems to do. They are all in a made rush to lick up to them- it is pathetic and stomach churning

Cribbiescubs (Westmeath) - Posts: 21 - 16/10/2020 11:17:38    2297985

Replying To MesAmis:  "The Leinster Council's silliness and ineptitude has long baffled the most learned of people.

No point trying to decipher their bizarre reasoning. Maybe something to do with the TV broadcast.

Expect Westmeath to receive complete radio silence from their friends in Louth who played Dublin in a neutral venue last year, and their friends in Wicklow who complained about the same problem in 2018, and their friends in Carlow who were upset by the very same issue in 2017 and or course not forgetting their friends in Laois who complained long and hard about this exact same issue in 2016."
Can't be the tv broadcast, perfect sightlines in Mullingar for cameras etc...unless the retail outlet prominently displayed behind one goals offends a current sponsor...

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 16/10/2020 11:30:54    2297988

Replying To Cribbiescubs:  "Pathetic that we are playing Dublin in Portlaoise- why is this being allowed to happen?? No crowd but yet we have to travel- shameful from our county board and management team- prob something to do with money as usual. Yet the GAA is amateur when it suits, althought the money made from it is colossal and not to mention they are allowed play games as they are "elite" teams we are told!!!!

I will not be buying my annual westmeath ticket in a hurry again. I think we should hang our heads in shame and also I see Heslin speaking out on Twitter yesterday about not playing championship at all- why does he not speak out about this issue??? We have home advantage taken away because it suits Dublin and we nearly bow before them saying oh yes why wouldn't we accommodate you!! We should have made life as difficult as possible but no yet again we have rolled over for the "great" Dublin team who everyone seems to do. They are all in a made rush to lick up to them- it is pathetic and stomach churning"
Apart from your local GAA club, go down and follow Athlone Town for a representation of Westmeath. GAA doesn't give a s**t about any other country than Dublin. If FAI and IRFU had any brains they'd be heavily exploiting GAA people's current general disinterest in intercounty football.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 16/10/2020 11:55:27    2297991

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Can't be the tv broadcast, perfect sightlines in Mullingar for cameras etc...unless the retail outlet prominently displayed behind one goals offends a current sponsor..."
Mullingar doesn't have floodlights and the game is set for 6.15pm throw in.

You have to imagine it's 100% to do with the TV rights - they obviously wanted to show it at relatively prime time to get better viewing figures, which should result in increased advertising revenue etc. The Sky Sports broadcast contract may also allow them to i) pick certain games to show and ii) dictate throw in time, I don't know. Now TV may also have lobbied for this time to increase chances of subscriptions for the game. The GAA could probably spin it as "we want as many people as possible to be able to see the game" but it's very likely a money driven decision.

I imagine most people think it should be held in Cusack Park, as is only fair given that Westmeath were drawn out of the hat first. Alas, money talks

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 16/10/2020 12:00:35    2297994

Replying To Crinigan:  "Apart from your local GAA club, go down and follow Athlone Town for a representation of Westmeath. GAA doesn't give a s**t about any other country than Dublin. If FAI and IRFU had any brains they'd be heavily exploiting GAA people's current general disinterest in intercounty football."
Crinigan I detest when people use swear words on this forum- please do not let your county down by resorting to such tactics

Cribbiescubs (Westmeath) - Posts: 21 - 16/10/2020 12:09:09    2297997

Replying To Cribbiescubs:  "Pathetic that we are playing Dublin in Portlaoise- why is this being allowed to happen?? No crowd but yet we have to travel- shameful from our county board and management team- prob something to do with money as usual. Yet the GAA is amateur when it suits, althought the money made from it is colossal and not to mention they are allowed play games as they are "elite" teams we are told!!!!

I will not be buying my annual westmeath ticket in a hurry again. I think we should hang our heads in shame and also I see Heslin speaking out on Twitter yesterday about not playing championship at all- why does he not speak out about this issue??? We have home advantage taken away because it suits Dublin and we nearly bow before them saying oh yes why wouldn't we accommodate you!! We should have made life as difficult as possible but no yet again we have rolled over for the "great" Dublin team who everyone seems to do. They are all in a made rush to lick up to them- it is pathetic and stomach churning"
"because it suits Dublin...."

Typical anti Dublin post - we didnt make the decision, force this decision or ask for it...

Get a grip lad....!

You should be looking closer to home as to why Westmeath have not questioned it publicly this week... not a peep out of them against the Leinster GAA call on this.

Dublin will play ANYWHERE - we dont make the decisions.

Easy excuse to blame Dublin - if I was involved in the W/M County Board I would speak out - save having fans coming out with your type of nonsense....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 16/10/2020 12:26:03    2298009

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Mullingar doesn't have floodlights and the game is set for 6.15pm throw in.

You have to imagine it's 100% to do with the TV rights - they obviously wanted to show it at relatively prime time to get better viewing figures, which should result in increased advertising revenue etc. The Sky Sports broadcast contract may also allow them to i) pick certain games to show and ii) dictate throw in time, I don't know. Now TV may also have lobbied for this time to increase chances of subscriptions for the game. The GAA could probably spin it as "we want as many people as possible to be able to see the game" but it's very likely a money driven decision.

I imagine most people think it should be held in Cusack Park, as is only fair given that Westmeath were drawn out of the hat first. Alas, money talks"
Think you have hit the nail on the head here..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 16/10/2020 12:27:08    2298010

Replying To Cribbiescubs:  "Crinigan I detest when people use swear words on this forum- please do not let your county down by resorting to such tactics"
Sorry Father...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 16/10/2020 12:39:07    2298013

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Mullingar doesn't have floodlights and the game is set for 6.15pm throw in.

I imagine most people think it should be held in Cusack Park, as is only fair given that Westmeath were drawn out of the hat first. Alas, money talks"
A very good posts. But isn't that the problem with giving Dublin all these advantages, it's often money driven. But the GAA is supposed to be all amateur and fair. Dublin are the golden goose and the GAA treats them as such... but they can't then pretend to be running a fair competition.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 16/10/2020 12:43:18    2298018

Lads can we not on one thread at least just stick to discussing the football? Every single thread seems to descend into the same tired stuff.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 16/10/2020 12:47:17    2298019

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Lads can we not on one thread at least just stick to discussing the football? Every single thread seems to descend into the same tired stuff."
It's a valid question to ask, Westmeath v Dublin if it is played at all being played in a neutral venue with no people. Instead of being played in Mullingar where Westmeath would have some kind of an advantage. And if it is all because of money and tv broadcasting then it's disgraceful. The Westmeath manager should go on newbridge or nowhere type scenario. What has he got to lose? Dublin fans will say Dublin will play anywhere, why doesn't their very influential county board say we want it to be played in Westmeath, at 2pm when no floodlights are needed then? Small counties like my own are continually getting railroaded for the sake of appeasing other people. It's time they grew a pair and made a stand.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 16/10/2020 13:00:59    2298025

Replying To Crinigan:  "Sorry Father..."
there is no need to get smart with me- you are from Meath after all...... one of your most famous players cannot lick up to Dublin enough when he is on RTE

Cribbiescubs (Westmeath) - Posts: 21 - 16/10/2020 13:23:31    2298037

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Lads can we not on one thread at least just stick to discussing the football? Every single thread seems to descend into the same tired stuff."
Think ye have enough problems of yer own up there in Donegal without lecturing to us about what to say on our forum

Cribbiescubs (Westmeath) - Posts: 21 - 16/10/2020 13:26:04    2298039

If it's only to do with having it on at a prime TV time, then Athlone, Garrycastle, Kinnegad, St Lomans etc all have floodlights and could hold the game, TV cameras can be set up anywhere.
I would suspect the GAA don't want to set a precedent of moving games around the place because someone made a fuss, although it could be argued that this already happened with Newbridge-gate.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 16/10/2020 13:37:05    2298051

There won't be a balls kicked until next Spring if the government have their way

jibberismahissa (USA) - Posts: 6 - 16/10/2020 13:59:59    2298063

The government just want us to work and have absolutely no life or bit of craic

tadghieboy (Cork) - Posts: 69 - 16/10/2020 14:01:35    2298066

Replying To republicofcloone:  "It's a valid question to ask, Westmeath v Dublin if it is played at all being played in a neutral venue with no people. Instead of being played in Mullingar where Westmeath would have some kind of an advantage. And if it is all because of money and tv broadcasting then it's disgraceful. The Westmeath manager should go on newbridge or nowhere type scenario. What has he got to lose? Dublin fans will say Dublin will play anywhere, why doesn't their very influential county board say we want it to be played in Westmeath, at 2pm when no floodlights are needed then? Small counties like my own are continually getting railroaded for the sake of appeasing other people. It's time they grew a pair and made a stand."
Dublin fans will say Dublin will play anywhere, why doesn't their very influential county board say we want it to be played in Westmeath, at 2pm when no floodlights are needed then?

What Dublin fans think / say will have very little to do with the decision regarding where this, or any game, is played.

The Dublin county board has one vote in Leinster, same as everyone else. I don't know did venue even come down to a vote of county boards (I'd be surprised if it did, seeing as gate receipts won't be a consideration this year) but it'd require more than Dublin's (and Westmeath's, presumably) vote to change venues. I think this was likely a Sky Sports motivated decision so I'm not sure why you're having a pop at the DCB.

The Westmeath manager should go on newbridge or nowhere type scenario. What has he got to lose?

He could do, but what if the Leinster Council called his bluff? Would that be the end of Westmeath's season after their players have been training for several months? Would there be suspensions imposed for failure to fulfil a fixture? Would Sky's contract allow them to sue the Westmeath county board? They may have more to lose in this than just face.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 16/10/2020 14:04:18    2298067

Replying To iarmhi_an_mhaith:  "If it's only to do with having it on at a prime TV time, then Athlone, Garrycastle, Kinnegad, St Lomans etc all have floodlights and could hold the game, TV cameras can be set up anywhere.
I would suspect the GAA don't want to set a precedent of moving games around the place because someone made a fuss, although it could be argued that this already happened with Newbridge-gate."
They'd move it if it was another county though

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 16/10/2020 14:05:00    2298068

Replying To Cribbiescubs:  "Think ye have enough problems of yer own up there in Donegal without lecturing to us about what to say on our forum"
listen Westmeath won't last pi**ing time anyway in the Championship so don't be getting too excited.
better bring back football soon or there will be balls kicked lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 16/10/2020 14:05:42    2298070

Replying To iarmhi_an_mhaith:  "If it's only to do with having it on at a prime TV time, then Athlone, Garrycastle, Kinnegad, St Lomans etc all have floodlights and could hold the game, TV cameras can be set up anywhere.
I would suspect the GAA don't want to set a precedent of moving games around the place because someone made a fuss, although it could be argued that this already happened with Newbridge-gate."
There's a lot more to televising a GAA game than just "TV cameras can be set up anywhere", especially for a multinational provider like Sky. They've a commitment to providing excellent coverage, so would require multiple camera locations. They'd require some facilities for onsite analysts, even if the decision was made to have analysis primarily from a studio. I don't imagine any of the venues mentioned would meet the required standards for such a setup. Look, I disagree with the decision to hold the game anywhere but Cusack Park, on principle, but if the commitment was given to Sky to televise this and Sky have an active role in deciding timing etc., this ties a lot of hands.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 16/10/2020 14:11:56    2298071