Kerry V Dublin

Replying To witnof:  "Actually if you read the article is more or less states it has always been this way, even periods with no teams"
This lad has the violin going the whole time in the background.
Hilarious altogether .

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/08/2019 13:48:01    2229803

Replying To catch22:  "This lad has the violin going the whole time in the background.
Hilarious altogether ."
Ah yeah, because rural clubs down here are in rude health obviously!
Maybe read something before you comment on it, just a suggestion like...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2019 15:40:19    2229837

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah yeah, because rural clubs down here are in rude health obviously!
Maybe read something before you comment on it, just a suggestion like..."
Sure look , you might have some credibility if you weren't whining all day about something or other. Kerry have plenty and want for nothing. It's probably a Stradivarius you have under the bed and by Jaysus you love playing it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/08/2019 17:20:28    2229874

Replying To catch22:  "Sure look , you might have some credibility if you weren't whining all day about something or other. Kerry have plenty and want for nothing. It's probably a Stradivarius you have under the bed and by Jaysus you love playing it."
You'll be whining and crying into your pint Sunday night my Dublin friend :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/08/2019 19:12:38    2229896

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You'll be whining and crying into your pint Sunday night my Dublin friend :-)"
That's it now Tom. You have me now.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/08/2019 19:47:57    2229909

Replying To catch22:  "That's it now Tom. You have me now."
I had you pegged a long time ago john ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/08/2019 21:24:15    2229946

Replying To catch22:  "Sure look , you might have some credibility if you weren't whining all day about something or other. Kerry have plenty and want for nothing. It's probably a Stradivarius you have under the bed and by Jaysus you love playing it."
Yes I'm deeply concerned about my credibility on here...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2019 21:46:02    2229951

Replying To catch22:  "This lad has the violin going the whole time in the background.
Hilarious altogether ."
The hilarious Stradivarius??.
Sorry, I'll get my jacket....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2004 - 27/08/2019 22:04:03    2229954

Replying To boman11:  "I firmly believe that when Dublins full back line is tested they could be in trouble, I think it also comes down to how ruthless Kerry can be when they are on top.

The Kerry forwards are sheer quality and if they can put an early(ish) goal past Dublin there could be 1 or 2 more to follow."
Just like the 2013 semi final! How did that end up i wonder!!!!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 941 - 27/08/2019 22:30:45    2229965

Well Darragh O'Se is not optimistic: 'The heart says Kerry, the head says cop on to yourself'

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/darragh-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-the-heart-says-kerry-the-head-says-cop-on-to-yourself-1.3999218

It's hard to argue against him.

In my lifetime I can't remember Kerry ever being such underdogs going into a final. In 1997 we might not have been favorites but I'm sure it was still seen as a close enough thing. Ditto 2014.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/08/2019 09:59:33    2230019

Not been on this much lately and wont bother after today until next week.

I think Kerry have a fighter's chance, our full forward line can do as much damage to the Dubs as the Dubs full forward line can do to us.
I think the pivotal outcome comes down to how we handle the Dublin midfield. Brian Fenton is player of the year for me by a long shot..even though Con O Callaghan might get it if he has a blinder in the final. The talk in kerry is Jack Barry has played well on him in the league this year and in a league final...getting carried away bigtime with this. JB has hardly played this year and been very poor for a few seasons now. I would start Spillane on him and tell him give us 35 mins of your life and swap him out for the second half.
It's a game we could get a hammering if our backline is a total shambles but i would be confident someone has their finger in the dam!

We can win the game if we get 3 goals. here's hoping!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 28/08/2019 10:43:38    2230038

I think Dublin will soak up Kerry pressure in the first half....could be tight up to half time like the Mayo game...3rd quarter dubs will hit top gear.

Kerry will win an all Ireland soon but not this year, Dublin are simply too good.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11679 - 28/08/2019 11:33:37    2230060

I'd have to agree with you kerry need 3 if not 4 goals if they are going to win this game

HatchetMan2019 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 28/08/2019 12:02:25    2230070

I'll stick my neck out for after the game slagging but..

I unfortunately and genuinely believe Kerry will produce a top performance, their best yet under Keane. The sight of a blue jersey will bring out a 15% improvement

I was very impressed by Keane and co's rethink at half time against Tyrone. They worked out the problem and solved it. I think they'll be very prepared for Dublin.

I don't know why but I've a sneaky feeling that Dublin's 12 pts in 12 minutes was a peak point for the team and I think a sort of under par performance is on the way off the back of what was seen against Mayo and this will benefit Kerry

I see Kerry getting a couple of goals and I think those scores will edge it for them

There's a cracking game on the way and the majority of the country will be happy with the outcome

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/08/2019 12:09:25    2230074

Nerves kicked in today. Suddenly worried. Suddenly nervous! Suddenly hopping out of my underpants in excitement! Jesus Christ it's a Dublin Kerry final !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/08/2019 12:31:43    2230084

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'll stick my neck out for after the game slagging but..

I unfortunately and genuinely believe Kerry will produce a top performance, their best yet under Keane. The sight of a blue jersey will bring out a 15% improvement

I was very impressed by Keane and co's rethink at half time against Tyrone. They worked out the problem and solved it. I think they'll be very prepared for Dublin.

I don't know why but I've a sneaky feeling that Dublin's 12 pts in 12 minutes was a peak point for the team and I think a sort of under par performance is on the way off the back of what was seen against Mayo and this will benefit Kerry

I see Kerry getting a couple of goals and I think those scores will edge it for them

There's a cracking game on the way and the majority of the country will be happy with the outcome"
Not only are ye taking away our all Ireland's but now ye are trying to out yerra us. The dubs have learnt alot in the past few years.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 28/08/2019 12:31:53    2230085

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'll stick my neck out for after the game slagging but..

There's a cracking game on the way and the majority of the country will be happy with the outcome"
You could well be right.

I have it 2 points either way.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/08/2019 12:35:48    2230089

Kerry will be pleased with their progression this year regardless of result Sunday, will they beat Dublin ... no! Dublin by anything less than 7 would be a shock.

Let's no over romanticise the entire thing here, the facts of why we have such a unbalanced GAA Senior Football Championship were published for all to see earlier this year and i'm afraid no amount of RTE reminiscing about Kerry/Dublin finals of years past will change the outcome on Sunday or for the foreseeable future!

Unfortunately for Dublin GAA fans, in light of this they will never receive the credit of teams past ... and maybe that's about right as well!

We live in hope!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 28/08/2019 13:11:43    2230114

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Not only are ye taking away our all Ireland's but now ye are trying to out yerra us. The dubs have learnt alot in the past few years."
Don't be painting everyone with your own disingenuous Kerry brush ;)

I'm given my honest opinion though

Take from that what you will

I think Dublin may have peaked a game early but in fairness they needed to do so as they were outfought for 38 minutes

35 games unbeaten now

Unfortunately I don't think it'll be 36

I have a feeling that Keane will win the tactical battle and Dublin will have a performance that won't match the 2nd half against Mayo

You've a fine team and may the best team win

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/08/2019 13:47:08    2230131

I genuinely can't see Kerry keeping us to a scoreline that even keeps them withing touching distance coming the last 5 mins or so. They've conceded 3-10 v Cork, 0-15 v Mayo, 1-20 v Donegal, 1-13 v Meath and 0-18 v Tyrone. Conversely Dublin since the Leinster final have racked up scorelines of 5-18 v Cork, 2-26 v Roscommon, 1-16 v Tyrone and 3-14 v Mayo. I know sport doesn't always follow a pattern or logic but I'd fully expect Dublin to stick anywhere between 3-15 and 3-20 on the scoreboard on Sunday and that is going to win them the game I feel by min 6 points if not more. Ultimately the Kerry defence will be found wanting and given the firepower we have and if it's a shootout then there's only one winner in my eyes.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 296 - 28/08/2019 14:15:11    2230143