Mayo V Dublin

I for one who is a proud Galway man wish Mayo all the best in the All Ireland Semi Final. I believe Mayo can win and with defenders like Higgins, Keegan, Boyle, Durken (play him in the half back line with Boyle and Keegan) all them lads are well capable of kicking good points and do what Mayo do best....all out pure attacking non stop total football.
Just go for it Mayo, take the game to the Dubs, you might not have won 4 in a row but psychologically the Dubs hate and FEAR playing against this particular group of Mayo footballers.
Go for it Mayo and for once just do it!!!!
All the Best Mayo.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 10/08/2019 07:04:40    2223267

It's hard to see past this exceptional Dublin team but saying that , Mayo are an extraordinary team them selves so I won't be surprised if they win. Anyway looking forward to a great day of football. Best of luck to all 4 teams today and safe travels on what is a horrible day outside.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 10/08/2019 09:48:27    2223280

Replying To Themall1916:  "It's hard to see past this exceptional Dublin team but saying that , Mayo are an extraordinary team them selves so I won't be surprised if they win. Anyway looking forward to a great day of football. Best of luck to all 4 teams today and safe travels on what is a horrible day outside."
Fair play, and safe traveling to you as well if you are attending.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/08/2019 09:55:01    2223281

Replying To dubdec99:  "Putting all bias aside, can anyone name a player who can nullify so greatly and also contribute on the scoreboard as keegan has done?"
Philly MacMahon 2015 Final

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 10/08/2019 09:57:23    2223282

14/1 on a tyrone and mayo double over the weekend...too good to refuse those odds

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 10/08/2019 09:57:55    2223283

Replying To katser:  "I for one who is a proud Galway man wish Mayo all the best in the All Ireland Semi Final. I believe Mayo can win and with defenders like Higgins, Keegan, Boyle, Durken (play him in the half back line with Boyle and Keegan) all them lads are well capable of kicking good points and do what Mayo do best....all out pure attacking non stop total football.
Just go for it Mayo, take the game to the Dubs, you might not have won 4 in a row but psychologically the Dubs hate and FEAR playing against this particular group of Mayo footballers.
Go for it Mayo and for once just do it!!!!
All the Best Mayo."
Good post but the "FEAR" bit.. nah

Dublin have won the last 13-14 head to heads versus Mayo

Dublin greatly respect Mayo

But would you "FEAR" a team you best 14 times in a row

Still though good post but less of the drama ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/08/2019 10:10:30    2223288

Replying To moc.dna:  "Bernard Brogan must be gutted, to come back from serious injury putting in massive work & to have a fella named on the squad that didn't care a few weeks ago as he waited to head to Boston, an awful slap in the face as for Brogan."
You play your best players at the end of the day. This isn't U10s. Bernard's a team player and will understand the selectors' decision. Having said that IMO Bernard should be on the bench. Class act.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/08/2019 10:20:43    2223291

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Fair play, and safe traveling to you as well if you are attending."
Thank you, I'll be getting the bus from Duagh bright and early in the morning so I'll be able to sample a few sodas .

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 10/08/2019 10:26:03    2223296

Best of luck today Mayo in what hopefully will be an intriguing contest. Any word of a starting team at all? I suppose one can't compare this fixture to the Kerry offaly final of 1982 as this is a semi final, however for me it takes on the same mantle- mayo have the greatest chance in my opinion of what's left to dethrone the dubs and prevent the five in a row. I doubt Offaly were given much hope that day, but it's sport.....u just never know!!

Gaillimh11 (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 10/08/2019 10:30:14    2223297

Replying To jimbodub:  "Good post but the "FEAR" bit.. nah

Still though good post but less of the drama ;)"
counting meaningless league games to bulk up the numbers
Tyrone mayaswell include the recent win over dublin to show progress and promote themselves as the best team to topple the dubs....

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 10/08/2019 10:35:03    2223299

Let's go Dublin!! We know how to beat Mayo...they also know how to beat us bar some awful luck. For this reason form goes out the window. Have butterflies already but think we will prevail by the minimum again. Hopefully. Maybe. Oh I dunno I'm all over the shop haha! Up the Dubs!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/08/2019 10:39:16    2223301

I would feel seriously aggrieved if i was Bernard. Put his soul into getting back after the cructiate last year to be thrown into the wilderness at the expense of a man that clearly had Dublin as second choice this year as well as last year.

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 10/08/2019 10:59:57    2223307

Replying To BeJasus:  "counting meaningless league games to bulk up the numbers
Tyrone mayaswell include the recent win over dublin to show progress and promote themselves as the best team to topple the dubs...."
Ah don't be so aggressive out of that

Dublin respect Mayo and rightly so, an excellent team.

But fear them?

I wouldn't think so but sure it wouldn't be the first outlandish claim aimed at them.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/08/2019 11:03:19    2223308

Prediction:
Mayo 1 -14
Dublin 1-23

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 10/08/2019 11:06:18    2223309

Replying To Jackeen:  "Let's go Dublin!! We know how to beat Mayo...they also know how to beat us bar some awful luck. For this reason form goes out the window. Have butterflies already but think we will prevail by the minimum again. Hopefully. Maybe. Oh I dunno I'm all over the shop haha! Up the Dubs!!"
Thankfully the weather forecast has been updated and the previous predictions which pointed to a downpour of biblical proportions look to have been proven wrong. Still a little rain around but nothing major.

A special thanks to John Horan for sorting that out.

Enjoy the game!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/08/2019 11:14:46    2223312

Replying To Tizcold:  "I would feel seriously aggrieved if i was Bernard. Put his soul into getting back after the cructiate last year to be thrown into the wilderness at the expense of a man that clearly had Dublin as second choice this year as well as last year."
The only objective
Is the collective.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 10/08/2019 11:29:43    2223317

Replying To jimbodub:  "Good post but the "FEAR" bit.. nah

Still though good post but less of the drama ;)"
A fine record it is too but will have no bearing on today's result. The team that wants it most will win.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 10/08/2019 11:31:20    2223318

Hope this game isn't a damp squid, all the talk and opinion that Mayo are the team to shake up Dublin, talk like this going back even to last year. If Dublin tank Mayo it will seriously damage the GAA. Dublin think they get a hard time now about inequality of funding and so on, if they hand their Sam Maguire contenders a complete spanking it might lead to two Dublin teams or probably the most likely scenario it will lead to actual action on the funding issue. Mayo please don't bottle it

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 10/08/2019 11:37:41    2223321

Replying To Tizcold:  "I would feel seriously aggrieved if i was Bernard. Put his soul into getting back after the cructiate last year to be thrown into the wilderness at the expense of a man that clearly had Dublin as second choice this year as well as last year."
Yeah that's a rare one. Brogan was more impressive in 10 minutes than Connolly was for most of the game in Omagh too. Very harsh on him.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 10/08/2019 11:48:36    2223323

Replying To jimbodub:  "Thankfully the weather forecast has been updated and the previous predictions which pointed to a downpour of biblical proportions look to have been proven wrong. Still a little rain around but nothing major.

A special thanks to John Horan for sorting that out.

Enjoy the game!"
Fergal Boland on McCaffrey. Fergal is light but very quick and a serious engine on him.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 10/08/2019 12:04:58    2223328