Leinster Football Championship

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I don't think anyone in Kildare considers us sleeping giants.. you might have that mixed up with the fact that we acknowledge we have underachieved on the county scene and that perception largely comes down to the fact that we do have a big population and passionate fan base. In terms of resources, I'm not sure we're as strong as you make us out. The pitches in our center of excellence are God awful and the first full sized all weather in the entire county was built this year (fair play Leixlip). Dublin I understand have the leisure's of one of the countries top facilities in DCU? Now this hasn't always been the case and Dublin haven't always been the money (and talent) driven machine they are today yet Kildare's record is not good.

This said, neither is Meath's, and any time I get into an argument with a Meath friend of mine on the topic, we end up with a ceasefire and conclusion that neither of us have been better than the other in our lifetimes, none of us have tasted success and bragging about the 70's or 80's or 1998 won't help bridge the gap to Dublin."
Yet despite all our poor resources we still have the best u20 team in the country.. and an All Ireland to prove it.
How many All Irelands have Meath this century? If the bandwagon Meath fans that travel only to senior games supported their underage teams instead of coming on forums to slag Kildare off every chance they get ye might actually win something at some level..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 11/05/2019 11:13:18    2183072

After leading by 0-07 Kildare came away with a 0-02 win, it was there for Wicklow to take, or a least a draw.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 11/05/2019 20:45:35    2183134

Tonights results combined with Galways narrow win last weekend show nothing can be taken for granted, especially in first round matches, hopefully Meath give Offaly the utmost respect tomorrow or we could have another very short season.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 11/05/2019 21:00:14    2183143

Replying To supersub15:  "After leading by 0-07 Kildare came away with a 0-02 win, it was there for Wicklow to take, or a least a draw."
Very, very, very uninspiring. Shooting was for the most part awful and not a hand out on Wicklow until they got to the 45. Lost for words really with it all.. capable of so much better.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 11/05/2019 21:03:45    2183144

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Very, very, very uninspiring. Shooting was for the most part awful and not a hand out on Wicklow until they got to the 45. Lost for words really with it all.. capable of so much better."
Wow wasn't expecting game to be that close. O'Neill must be on his last legs at this stage surely??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/05/2019 21:13:19    2183154

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Very, very, very uninspiring. Shooting was for the most part awful and not a hand out on Wicklow until they got to the 45. Lost for words really with it all.. capable of so much better."
what is going on with Kildare div 1 in league last year got to super 8s u 20 all Ireland champions I know 1st round games can be tough ones no matter who you playing but instead of improving and getting better you actually seem to be getting a bit worse or maybe I am been a bit hard on Wicklow there but I thought Kildare would have won that game a lot easier I did hear all is not well in the camp but even so really should be winning games like this a lot easier

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 11/05/2019 21:20:37    2183162

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Yet despite all our poor resources we still have the best u20 team in the country.. and an All Ireland to prove it.
How many All Irelands have Meath this century? If the bandwagon Meath fans that travel only to senior games supported their underage teams instead of coming on forums to slag Kildare off every chance they get ye might actually win something at some level.."
And I suppose ye pack out St Conleths for every minor and U20 game do ye?

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/05/2019 21:40:57    2183177

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wow wasn't expecting game to be that close. O'Neill must be on his last legs at this stage surely??"
Me either and I'd like him to have gone after the league, definitely think the sooner he's out the better now. We played with 14 men behind the ball when Wicklow has possession and still struggled to turn them over. They put 1-10 past us and also kicked a lot of wides, many of which were bad wides.
Last year, we challenged teams to score offs. Conceded lots but scored lots (21-19 vs Mayo etc..) this year, without Dan, the forwards have been very unthreatening yet the system has, through the league and tonight been, "let's see who scores more". Not confident about beating Longford.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 11/05/2019 21:57:02    2183184

Disappointed in the end not to at least forced extra time. Missed vital and good scoring chances after darren hayden's goal which cost us at least a draw. Looking at the results across leinster and munster tonight; it suggests that outside dublin and kerry, the gap may not be as big between other counties as some people would have us believe. Interesting to see how offaly fare tomorrow against meath as league positions would suggest a big gap between the sides. Time will tell.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 11/05/2019 22:55:39    2183193

Should have been out of sight at half time after our wide count and the number of balls that dropped short was close to double the amount of scores we actually kicked and we were dominating them all over the pitch.

Looked like we were playing a challenge match for most of the second half.

Never should have left ourselves in the situation where a Wicklow goal would bring them right back into it.

Still a wins a win I suppose.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 11/05/2019 23:18:06    2183198

Replying To Richieq:  "And I suppose ye pack out St Conleths for every minor and U20 game do ye?"
Does any count pack out their ground for minor or under 20 ??

Come on what kind of a statement is that ??

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 11/05/2019 23:21:43    2183201

After the league every Kildare poster on here said we were in trouble. A lot didn't believe us then but you must surely do now. Something is terribly wrong at the minute. We might scrape by Longford & then get slaughtered by the Dubs but I think we will lose to Longford. Either way, we might win 1 or 2 qualifiers (depending on the draw) but the first good team we come up against will end our summer. Not a hope in hell of getting to Super 8s.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 11/05/2019 23:43:49    2183206

Meath

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 12/05/2019 00:38:01    2183213

I didn't like the post about league form pointing at Meath earlier on in this thread as I didn't think it was fair to take a great league from them, however, results last nights games show how shockingly bad division 2 was this year. Three division 2 teams played division 4 teams and if all the points are combined, division 4 teams win by 4. I had my suspicions when Kildare, despite being shockingly bad, could still get promoted on the last day.. now to be fair, I hope Meath do well as Leinster needs competition for the Dubs and it might spur life into our lads. That said, if it's a Meath v Dublin final, I'm shouting for the dubs all day cos I'm spiteful and stubborn and don't like Meath even more than I don't like Dublin ;)

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 12/05/2019 08:28:44    2183228

Replying To thecraw1:  "what is going on with Kildare div 1 in league last year got to super 8s u 20 all Ireland champions I know 1st round games can be tough ones no matter who you playing but instead of improving and getting better you actually seem to be getting a bit worse or maybe I am been a bit hard on Wicklow there but I thought Kildare would have won that game a lot easier I did hear all is not well in the camp but even so really should be winning games like this a lot easier"
Ah yeh the oul "I hear all is not well in the camp" BS. Its amazing the amount of people who claim to know what goes on inside the camp.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 12/05/2019 09:05:41    2183233

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Disappointed in the end not to at least forced extra time. Missed vital and good scoring chances after darren hayden's goal which cost us at least a draw. Looking at the results across leinster and munster tonight; it suggests that outside dublin and kerry, the gap may not be as big between other counties as some people would have us believe. Interesting to see how offaly fare tomorrow against meath as league positions would suggest a big gap between the sides. Time will tell."
Outside Dublin and Kerry?Mayo
Tyrone Galway Monaghan and possibly Donegal all ahead of Kerry at the moment

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 12/05/2019 11:35:06    2183249

Replying To dubarra:  "Outside Dublin and Kerry?Mayo
Tyrone Galway Monaghan and possibly Donegal all ahead of Kerry at the moment"
I think that you are being a bit harsh on Kerry there. They were league finalists.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 12/05/2019 16:41:44    2183291

Replying To Donegalman:  "I think that you are being a bit harsh on Kerry there. They were league finalists."
Maybe I am but there far from the finished article. Blown up out of all proportion year after year not their fault of course.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 12/05/2019 16:55:49    2183294

Replying To lilylanger:  "Ah yeh the oul "I hear all is not well in the camp" BS. Its amazing the amount of people who claim to know what goes on inside the camp."
cop yourself on I heard that from a Kildare man I don't know or care about Kildare football all I was saying that I thought they would be better than that.

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 12/05/2019 17:37:45    2183310

Replying To thecraw1:  "cop yourself on I heard that from a Kildare man I don't know or care about Kildare football all I was saying that I thought they would be better than that."
No smoke without fire. You're correct. It's been well known for some time that there have been problems within the camp.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 12/05/2019 18:25:26    2183330