Leinster Football Championship

Replying To thelongridge:  "Cian Johnson is playing with his club in the u20 championship at the moment, there is a rule in Offaly that u20 players only play county football in that grade. It gives rise to a lot of comment in Offaly.
He is a bright prospect, I hope when he is eligible he will line out for Offaly. There are a couple of other players who opted off the panel for their own reasons. Had some of them played today, we might have won.

Maybe we have turned a corner today."
Its a self imposed rule by the county board that Cian has spoken out against last year so was just wondering if it had changed since then.

On one hand you can understand it but on the other a player like him could have made a big difference today, and if he feels he's not getting the opportunity he might think he deserves then there's a risk he'll be gone altogether.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 12/05/2019 22:47:33    2183439

Replying To meath1977:  "We know we are. How did Kildare get on last night against Wicklow"
Won by two points the same as Meath.
Joking aside we are both playing the two teams that beat us last year with the matches reversed.
This time around though I think Meath will beat Carlow, while we we will struggle against Longford.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 12/05/2019 22:54:47    2183442

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Led the whole way through, should have been out of sight by half time with the chances we created and never really looked like we were giving close to 100% at all during the second half.

But I'm sure you already knew that..."
Honestly, let's not have a fight about which team was less dogpoop cos there are absolutely no winners in Leinster at the minute other than the Dubs who are laughing. Kildare/Meath bickering about who is the next best as the gap widens helps absolutely no one.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 12/05/2019 23:04:53    2183449

And so it begins, and the wee county are the first obstacle in the path of a potentially historic year for Dublin football.
This is big time and I'm as nervous as feck, the most nervous I've ever been going into a championship. I don't think we're quite as good as we were and theres a handful of serious sides out there who will lay it on the line to stop us.
Could be a cracking summer one way or the other! Here we go.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 12/05/2019 23:12:14    2183454

It's not that long ago Meath would have lost that game. Well done Louth going in the right direction. Laois dark horses for the final

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 12/05/2019 23:54:57    2183462

All these sad cases who'd rather see Meath beaten than their own county win, that's pretty pathetic in fairness!

Can I just categorically say I have no ill will towards any other county, if you's do well then honestly fairplay to you. It won't get me off if your county is beaten, but if it gets you off to see a poor Meath team knocked out of the championship, then you have pretty empty summer ahead of you!

Ps, up da royal :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2019 08:43:48    2183490

Hard luck to Offaly. Hope they get a good qualifier run. Would be great to see an old power like them rise again.
I see the usuals want to write Meath obituaries already. In time they will get their chance but for now we survived a scare and now have the opportunity to build some momentum.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 13/05/2019 09:29:42    2183502

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Won by two points the same as Meath.
Joking aside we are both playing the two teams that beat us last year with the matches reversed.
This time around though I think Meath will beat Carlow, while we we will struggle against Longford."
Yeah hard to be confident based on the year so far heading into the Longford game.

There wasn't a whole lot between us last summer but hopefully a bit of winning momentum (for however much that might or might not be worth) behind us from the weekend it might just give us a slight edge. Certainly can't see us creating as many chances or winning as much around the middle as we did on Saturday again though.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 13/05/2019 09:39:30    2183509

So Meath Carlow and Dublin Louth will be a double header in Portlaose. Very odd to have them both there.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 13/05/2019 12:14:15    2183599

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "So Meath Carlow and Dublin Louth will be a double header in Portlaose. Very odd to have them both there."
meath-carlow game is in tullamore according to the leinster gaa site. 7:00 on the 25th.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 13/05/2019 12:52:46    2183619

Bizarre double header in Portlaoise, you'd expect Dublin to be playing stand alone fixtures when they're out of Croker.

Why is our game not in Tullamore, would that not have been a better option?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2019 13:07:48    2183631

Replying To Greenfield:  "meath-carlow game is in tullamore according to the leinster gaa site. 7:00 on the 25th."
Yeah Meath - Carlow in Tullamore and Dublin - Louth in Portlaoise both on the Saturday at 7.

Double header in Tullamore on the Sunday with Westmeath - Laois on at 2 followed by Kildare - Longford at 4.

Although being pedantic the venue for Meath - Carlow is listed as Tullamore whereas for the Sunday games it's listed as Bord na Mona O'Connor Park.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 13/05/2019 13:08:00    2183632

Replying To Htaem:  "All these sad cases who'd rather see Meath beaten than their own county win, that's pretty pathetic in fairness!

Can I just categorically say I have no ill will towards any other county, if you's do well then honestly fairplay to you. It won't get me off if your county is beaten, but if it gets you off to see a poor Meath team knocked out of the championship, then you have pretty empty summer ahead of you!

Ps, up da royal :-)"
Yeehaw.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/05/2019 13:20:38    2183638

Seems a bit odd having Dublin as a double header, this will be a sell out now and some will be left disappointed. Good old Leinster council, three years ago Port Laoise couldn't contain the Dubs and moved us down to Nowlan Park, now we are having double headers there.

Be a bit of craic anyway and a buzz around the town.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/05/2019 13:39:35    2183648

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Yeah Meath - Carlow in Tullamore and Dublin - Louth in Portlaoise both on the Saturday at 7.

Double header in Tullamore on the Sunday with Westmeath - Laois on at 2 followed by Kildare - Longford at 4.

Although being pedantic the venue for Meath - Carlow is listed as Tullamore whereas for the Sunday games it's listed as Bord na Mona O'Connor Park."
Its Official its a Double header in Portlaoise. Carlow/Meath at 5pm and Dublin/Louth at 7pm.

CarlowRising44 (Carlow) - Posts: 16 - 13/05/2019 13:45:31    2183651

Replying To TheUsername:  "Seems a bit odd having Dublin as a double header, this will be a sell out now and some will be left disappointed. Good old Leinster council, three years ago Port Laoise couldn't contain the Dubs and moved us down to Nowlan Park, now we are having double headers there.

Be a bit of craic anyway and a buzz around the town."
was just logging in to make the same point about the Nowlan Park game. The GAA peddle so many lies to cover themselves they probably forget which ones they've told.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 13/05/2019 14:38:06    2183679

I went to Navan yesterday for a look and I have to say Offaly were very unlucky overall. Played a nice brand of football and ultimately not having a few lads on the bench to bring on and really make a difference is what caught them. Meath on the other hand I'm going to say here and now will not make a Leinster final and if they somehow do then will do well to get away with a single figure defeat. Their defence is average at best and they just don't have that calibre of forward to put a team to the sword. Maybe yesterday will be a kick in the backside that they needed but for me reports of them at least putting up a challenge to Dublin are fairly wide of the mark at least from what I saw yesterday.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 13/05/2019 15:12:44    2183691

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "I went to Navan yesterday for a look and I have to say Offaly were very unlucky overall. Played a nice brand of football and ultimately not having a few lads on the bench to bring on and really make a difference is what caught them. Meath on the other hand I'm going to say here and now will not make a Leinster final and if they somehow do then will do well to get away with a single figure defeat. Their defence is average at best and they just don't have that calibre of forward to put a team to the sword. Maybe yesterday will be a kick in the backside that they needed but for me reports of them at least putting up a challenge to Dublin are fairly wide of the mark at least from what I saw yesterday."
It may be a cliche but you really are only as good as your last game and yesterday was our poorest performance of year, we never got going.

Getting to the Leinster final will be very difficult, I think most Meath fans know this and if we play the same way again as yesterday then we certainly won't be in the final, there's little no doubt about that.

Look only time will tell, we'll have to wait and see.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2019 15:25:23    2183699

Does anyone know why Meath/Carlow has to be shoehorned in before the Dubs?
Why cant it be stand alone in Tullamore for example?

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 13/05/2019 15:44:37    2183707

Replying To TheUsername:  "Seems a bit odd having Dublin as a double header, this will be a sell out now and some will be left disappointed. Good old Leinster council, three years ago Port Laoise couldn't contain the Dubs and moved us down to Nowlan Park, now we are having double headers there.

Be a bit of craic anyway and a buzz around the town."
Don't think anyone will miss out on this to be honest.

There were less than 12,000 there last year to watch Dublin - Wicklow.

Meath - Carlow might attract 5,000 with it being a neutral venue.

Capacity is 20,000 plus isn't in Portlaoise?

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 13/05/2019 16:34:21    2183720