Out of interest, what sort of team did we have out?
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 559 - 17/02/2024 16:16:23 2526497 Link 0 |
Fair play viking, would you have team or scorers or anything from it
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1148 - 17/02/2024 16:29:40 2526499 Link 0 |
Devitt played around 40 minutes. O Hanlon the last 20 minutes. Donohue and Dunbar who have made a few sub appearances for only a few minutes started and played pretty much the whole game. We rested most of the lads who have played every weekend up to now. Hearne, Kevin and Conor Foley, Murphy, Casey, Cian Byrne, Chin, Fanning etc all didn't play at all.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16136 - 17/02/2024 17:03:58 2526506 Link 1 |
Up front we started Mark Byrne, Conor Mahoney, and Dunbar half forwards, Jack Doran, Tucker and Cathal Doyle inside. They all got 2 or 3 from play I think, except Doyle who got 5 from play and won 2 frees that Mark Byrne put over. Doyle, Byrne and Tucker all linked up pretty well. Doyle set up Byrne for a couple shots and a point. They were all busy when Laois had the ball also. Devitt and Carley started midfield. Looked rusty but both grew into the game. Donohue did OK centreback, Shane Reck was good wingback, Joe O Connor did OK too. Patsy did OK fullback, as did Casey in the corner. Eoin Ryan was probably the pick of the backs as the game went on. O Hanlon came on the last 20 minutes. Byrne Dunbar looked good when he came on, James Byrne did OK too. Jacko looked busy when he came on towards the end! Charlie got a run out also. Lawlor made a good save in the 1st half, but I thought Duggan did much better on the puckouts in the 2nd. He's an excellent organiser/communicator also. Half forwards played in the backs and half backs in the forwards at times towards the end, which was a good idea for them to see how the other half live! Shane nearly scored a point but elected to pass it inside instead of taking the shot on!!! He played well. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16136 - 17/02/2024 17:15:55 2526510 Link 1 |
Still no sign of Rory,mac, Liam Ryan or oisin foley etc..thanks viking, last thing who scored the goal? hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1148 - 17/02/2024 20:07:41 2526544 Link 0 |
Corey Byrne Dunbar. Finished it well. Jippo was there but not togged out. Mikey Dwyer also. Oisin Foley is still struggling I was told.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16136 - 17/02/2024 22:22:51 2526570 Link 0 |
Non Wexford person here....was Davy a positive or negative for wexford hurling? index777 (Leitrim) - Posts: 70 - 18/02/2024 12:06:43 2526631 Link 0 |
Positive. Promoted back to 1a , first Leinster final in 11 yrs, first victory over kk in 13 years, and first title in 15. Probably should have made the final in 19. Negative, ignored and alienated new talent so really set Egan up for failure. I'd say net positive but shouldn't have got the second contract in hindsight. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3701 - 18/02/2024 14:09:34 2526643 Link 0 |
His big failure was not bringing in new/younger players in large enough numbers, and not giving those he did bring in significant gametime. As regards the 2nd term I thought we were very competitive in 2021. Lost the LSF in extra time when we didn't get a fair go off the ref. Had we won that we would've had a great chance of another Leinster, as Dublin were missing a raft of players for the final. And but for the bad start against Clare we were very competitive in that game also. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16136 - 18/02/2024 15:30:18 2526670 Link 1 |
Did we appeal Jacko's red card after lads? Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 19/02/2024 08:55:37 2526856 Link 0 |
Is there any point? What grounds would you be appealing on? It was unfortunate, and the other lad was a worse offender, but Jacko did touch the other lads helmet. Its a stupidly worded rule. What the 2 lads did wasn't likely to cause a serious injury, like grabbing the face guard of a lad running past you at speed. But it is the rule.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16136 - 19/02/2024 09:31:12 2526868 Link 0 |
Hard to appeal it when Keith admitted it was a red card
BacksAndForwards (Wexford) - Posts: 41 - 19/02/2024 09:42:10 2526873 Link 0 |
What team would we go with Sunday lads? Would be worried about our physicality coming up against Clare with so many of our big players still missing. Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 19/02/2024 09:55:22 2526877 Link 0 |
His vision was blinded for a start, to be honest only Jacko himself really knows if his part of it was intentional or not.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 19/02/2024 10:13:41 2526882 Link 0 |
Why would we? It was a red card offence, our manager even said it was.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1515 - 19/02/2024 10:22:01 2526886 Link 0 |
Did you read his interview in the Wexford People? basically admitted he held back as he didn't want to get punished for criticising the officials on live television.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 19/02/2024 10:57:58 2526897 Link 1 |
I agree how could jacko see when the offaly player looked to have his fingers in his eyes
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 19/02/2024 11:01:35 2526899 Link 0 |
Re. Jacko and any appeal - the rule says it's forbidden "To behave in any way which is dangerous to an opponent, including to deliberately pull on or take hold of a faceguard or any other part of an opponent's helmet." Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2916 - 19/02/2024 11:09:58 2526901 Link 0 |
Would we be better off continuing with the young lads this weekend or trying to bring more experience in to the XV? Judging by Clare's line ups the last two rounds they seem to have a 60/40 split of experience/youth. OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 19/02/2024 12:15:39 2526924 Link 0 |
Absolutely no way should we go out with too many of our young guns. If some of the regulars are fit then they should be considered. The new kids have by and large done very well so far but we do need experienced heads in there to provide balance. We certainly don't want a repeat of last year when Clare trounced us on home soil. That day we put out a depleted side due to a massive amount of injuries to our key players. We paid the price. By all means give youth its fling ,they will improve no end by been given gametime but every team no matter what the sport needs leaders. So if Jippo, Mac, Rory are available they should be used. The new lads that have played so far are the future but it would be embarrassing to get hammered again by the same opposition. Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 19/02/2024 12:59:36 2526937 Link 0 |