Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Timbertony:  "If the bitterness on this thread is replicated on the pitch on Saturday the game might have to be abandoned! Wouldn't be a fan of the way Lohan conducts himself but cant write off Clare as a county over it! Clare GAA was in a right state not too long ago with a secretary who nearly had to be crowbarred out of his role, took a lot of hard work to get things back on track. With the talent coming through their underage ranks now, even if beaten on Saturday they have a bright future. I think they have underachieved in recent years, lost the games against Limerick and KK that mattered. Generational players - Kelly, O'Donnell, Conlan, McInerney...only 1 x AI medal and only one final even.

Would be a great one to win. Munster hurling people have little respect for Wexford, only one way to earn it."
Spot on post in every way Timbertony.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 21/06/2024 07:36:29    2553298

Replying To countyman2022:  "Ah yea, that sounds about right. The usual personal attacks when they see something they do not like. Never change Clare. As I see another poster saying, that many people surely can't be wrong about them?"
So Countryman you and a few others say these thinks about Clare so it must be true now what I think you are very close to the Davy camp not a Wexford man though a BANNER Man

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 940 - 21/06/2024 08:26:15    2553302

https://x.com/GaaClare/status/1804046901601313236?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Clare team named. Not necessarily how they will line out though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 21/06/2024 08:28:52    2553304

Replying To tearintom:  "Have to agree, every county has their idiots, some of the stuff is a little bit "school yard" in all honesty.

It has all escalated a little in terms of abuse etc across the board at games and unfortunately this very forum is one of the causes of that, just look at any Internet based social media platform and its wall to wall hate, team and us, no in-between, all arguing under false names and hiding true identiies.

There's anger everywhere, this entire weekend of gaa a action is all angry and divisisive and in all honesty the gaa itself needs to take responsibility for it."
You are right too much anger everyone on the Streets on Facebook forums even on this Forum but Clare And Wexford have no history of bad blood and wont have it will be a cracker of a game and nobody in Clare are underestimating yet.

We have great respect for ye and if ye win I will wish ye the absolute best and hope of all the teams left that ye win Liam Griffin was right Clare should have backed the motion Liam is a great hurling man and a gentleman.

Hope to have a bit of craic with ye in the Greyhound let the hurling win out one way or the other

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 940 - 21/06/2024 08:30:42    2553306

Replying To diarmaid39:  "Pure nonsense - if you go looking for the bad in people like that you're starting to sound like something not amiss in 1930s Germany. You don't demonise an entire community based on the odd incident. As John Lennon said, People are the same wherever you go.
You'd want to grow up for yourself"
Comparing his statement to anything uttered during the rise of Facism in Germany is absolutely laughable and untethered from reality. You'd want to stop whatever you're taking and stop being so utterly cringe.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 21/06/2024 09:17:51    2553314

Replying To diarmaid39:  "Pure nonsense - if you go looking for the bad in people like that you're starting to sound like something not amiss in 1930s Germany. You don't demonise an entire community based on the odd incident. As John Lennon said, People are the same wherever you go.
You'd want to grow up for yourself"
Good post, you have isolated incidents in all walks of life I am old enough to remember fights in Dance Halls, Marquees , odd Bar & Chip shops but that dident make me generalise that all these places were dangerous you can nearly always avoid trouble if you want to.
I go to lots of GAA games Club & County have rarely encountered anything too much out of order two heated exchanges but nothing much. Over the years a bit of taunting of our Team from younger fans full of drink.
Some posters have described the Limerick Clare Rivalry as Toxic its nothing of the kind, we got beaten in Ennis after leading most of match Limerick fans were delighted naturally both sets of fans walked out together saw many fans chatting outside pubs not one incident.

Some posters try to wind up feelings on forums all we want is to see great matches forget the nonsense please and if yiou cant say something nice well then dont boher

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 940 - 21/06/2024 09:22:36    2553315

https://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2024/0621/1455914-hurling-nation-gaa-treating-hurling-like-an-old-dog/

I hate agreeing with him. It's nearly a point of principle. But he's spot on with this piece!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 21/06/2024 09:37:06    2553316

Replying To Viking66:  "David Fitzgerald has played wing downward every game for the last 2 years or more. Why do lads still, especially paid pundits, think he is playing midfield? Just because he's named there?"
Forward

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 21/06/2024 09:37:26    2553317

Team named for sure now. Dee on the bench. No Mike Dwyer and as mentioned no jack o or Ryan.

McGuckin gets a start with Donohoe

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 298 - 21/06/2024 10:18:50    2553332

Can there be changes to the squad on matchday

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1012 - 21/06/2024 11:13:53    2553349

What's the story with Jack was their a falling out or what.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 21/06/2024 11:19:16    2553350

Replying To WEXILE:  "Team named for sure now. Dee on the bench. No Mike Dwyer and as mentioned no jack o or Ryan.

McGuckin gets a start with Donohoe"
Disappointed Jacko not available . That team could actually start this time as named

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 327 - 21/06/2024 11:22:00    2553353

Replying To hunting:  "Can there be changes to the squad on matchday"
They're can

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 21/06/2024 11:46:18    2553363

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "What's the story with Jack was their a falling out or what."
Must have been. He's hardly still injured…? And what exactly is the story with Molloy too…never any updates on his injury which he seems to be suffering with for almost the last 6 months now…

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 225 - 21/06/2024 11:55:36    2553366

Replying To hunting:  "Can there be changes to the squad on matchday"
Yes for injuries

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2578 - 21/06/2024 11:57:04    2553367

Replying To clooney:  "You are right too much anger everyone on the Streets on Facebook forums even on this Forum but Clare And Wexford have no history of bad blood and wont have it will be a cracker of a game and nobody in Clare are underestimating yet.

We have great respect for ye and if ye win I will wish ye the absolute best and hope of all the teams left that ye win Liam Griffin was right Clare should have backed the motion Liam is a great hurling man and a gentleman.

Hope to have a bit of craic with ye in the Greyhound let the hurling win out one way or the other"
Yeah unfortunately the demons of democracy.
I don't certainly blame Clare for making that decision. Your right there has never been bad blood between Clare and Wexford. Lads on here talking about Lohan, forgetting we had Davey over the team who was worse. The difference between Wexford and Clare over the last few years is, bar one year, we have never been very close to success, Clare have but have come up short, it gives the supporters a different perspective on a game. If we beat Clare and lose to Kilkenny, the year will have been considered a successful year, if Clare win and lose a semi final their supporters will see the season as a failure. Neither of the counties are powerhouses so when a good team comes along the hope is that they can eek out one All Ireland win - I think unfortunately for Clare the best chance they have had in recent years has happened at the same time as a great Limerick team. The 90's were fantastic and the final everyone wanted to see in 97 was Wexford and Clare and it would have been a real celebration of the game but the first year of the back door perhaps deprived us of that chance. Lets hope tomorrow is the same.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1822 - 21/06/2024 12:03:17    2553369

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "They're can"
*there

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 21/06/2024 12:17:02    2553373

Replying To clooney:  "You are right too much anger everyone on the Streets on Facebook forums even on this Forum but Clare And Wexford have no history of bad blood and wont have it will be a cracker of a game and nobody in Clare are underestimating yet.

Hope to have a bit of craic with ye in the Greyhound let the hurling win out one way or the other"
No bad blood? What ye shower done in Portlaoise in 2020 was thuggery and a disgrace. And you know well enough what i am talking about. `Horrible.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 660 - 21/06/2024 12:32:55    2553376

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "What's the story with Jack was their a falling out or what."
Keith had said he expected at least 1 of Jacko or Mikie to be available. Turns out neither are named in the squad

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 327 - 21/06/2024 12:49:30    2553386

Replying To Viking66:  "https://x.com/GaaClare/status/1804046901601313236?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Clare team named. Not necessarily how they will line out though."
Your right, the shock would be if Clare start as selected. Lohan always thinks he is fooling someone by naming dummy teams but nobody buys it amymore.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 72 - 21/06/2024 12:54:02    2553387