Sligo GAA thread

Replying To republican:  "I cannot confess to have watched any of the DCU games but the fact he is putting up scores from play at that level would seem to me that he's worth giving a shot to anyway. We are definitely lacking some firepower.

Don't assume my gender Bumblebee this is a forum for all."
Don't assume that I'm an actual Bumblebee so

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 73 - 31/01/2025 07:52:15    2588574

This forum is becoming abysmal. Eoinog, I can't believe I'm typing this but would you please post a bit more? A lot of sensitive souls here that you were so good at upsetting.
That being said, how do we see the weekend? Anyone willing to put their necks out? Will McEntee make changes or double down? History would suggest that he'll stick to what he knows for this week at least. A very tough game but one they have to win. That's unfortunate to hear about Carrabine as it was all the talk in Tullamore that he would return in the coming weeks. Our squad is light with running power and quality at this moment in time, no doubt.
In any case, I'm really looking forward to Sunday. We have to see a performance. If we dwindle and come away with and 8 or 10 point defeat, it will be a long way back for this group in 2025. Here's hoping!

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 143 - 31/01/2025 10:12:34    2588589

Up Sligo wherever you go …see ye in Markievicz Sunday!

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 91 - 31/01/2025 22:06:25    2588705

Replying To johncreilly:  "This forum is becoming abysmal. Eoinog, I can't believe I'm typing this but would you please post a bit more? A lot of sensitive souls here that you were so good at upsetting.
That being said, how do we see the weekend? Anyone willing to put their necks out? Will McEntee make changes or double down? History would suggest that he'll stick to what he knows for this week at least. A very tough game but one they have to win. That's unfortunate to hear about Carrabine as it was all the talk in Tullamore that he would return in the coming weeks. Our squad is light with running power and quality at this moment in time, no doubt.
In any case, I'm really looking forward to Sunday. We have to see a performance. If we dwindle and come away with and 8 or 10 point defeat, it will be a long way back for this group in 2025. Here's hoping!"
Can I take your first line as a compliment? This page has become a cesspit of negativity, multiple accounts from the same person , name calling of players asking about their commitment and of course stirring the pot about the manager. I find all that tiresome and childish.
My claim to fame for annoying people was when I said a certain player ( lovely lad and fine player) should consider moving to another club to enhance his potential. There was uproar by some people. Yet there's a man born and bred in Kerry, working in Dublin and with no affiliation to North Sligo who will be lining out for Molaise this year and not a murmur of dissent from anyone.
For Sunday's game I am expecting a backlash. I think there will be changes to the starting 15. Definitely more ball winning players that can contest kick outs etc. Devanney got a lot of unjust criticism the last day. The kick out has to go long so the players outfield have to step up. The Dublin keeper was involved in lots of plays last weekend but kicked everything wide, credit to Diarmuid Murtagh from Roscommon for making the opposition keeper pay for his wandering up the field. There's only one game gone yet, long way to go.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2024 - 01/02/2025 12:21:54    2588748

All the best Sligo Seniors against Kildare. This already looks a season defining game. Markievicz is our fortress and we have players to win this one. I think from talking to real Sligo supporters most believe we will bring a backlash tomorrow. We have a good record against Kildare teams at senior and id expect big performances from Murf, Canice, Alan, Lally, o connor, and co. As we know Kildare will travel in big numbers but hopefully a big Sligo crowd turns up to support the lads which can make all the difference. One of the hardest things living away from home is not standing behind the goals with Dad supporting Sligo. Sligeach abù

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 01/02/2025 18:30:18    2588782

It's rare to get beaten by 6 points and feel it was a game that we should have won. We had numerous chances to level the game in the last few minutes but a combination of poor shooting plus losing the ball in the tackle coughed up those opportunities. We were under huge pressure from our own kickouts which put us on the back foot for long periods. Cummins was excellent and similar to last year it looks like he's our main scoring threat and he's a defender !!! Some of the substitutions worked, others didn't. The pitch was very heavy which was very disappointing considering the work that was undertaken. One goals in particular was in a very sorry state. With no parking allowed anywhere close to the grounds, toilets in terrible condition, poor dressing rooms, it's a dire place to go to a game

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2024 - 02/02/2025 16:38:05    2588923

Replying To eoinog:  "It's rare to get beaten by 6 points and feel it was a game that we should have won. We had numerous chances to level the game in the last few minutes but a combination of poor shooting plus losing the ball in the tackle coughed up those opportunities. We were under huge pressure from our own kickouts which put us on the back foot for long periods. Cummins was excellent and similar to last year it looks like he's our main scoring threat and he's a defender !!! Some of the substitutions worked, others didn't. The pitch was very heavy which was very disappointing considering the work that was undertaken. One goals in particular was in a very sorry state. With no parking allowed anywhere close to the grounds, toilets in terrible condition, poor dressing rooms, it's a dire place to go to a game"
Agree

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 91 - 02/02/2025 17:15:32    2588941

Gutted to lose today. There is a drop off in standard of opposition for the remainder of the league so you'd hope we can start to pick up points. We just can't seem to beat any top 20 teams but look most of you saw today where we are weak and the new rules are exposing us in midfield ball winning, kickout is under massive pressure, ground we have to cover, lack of pace and dynamism in the forwards.

Most are saying we beat ourselves today with surprising wides at important times. Not sure how Cummins can come into today and play so well for the full match after not making the squad last week. What kinda of injury was it that made him miss last week but fair play to him for today. I'd still see a few other areas the team selection can be improved so you'd hope management do to.

Offaly are flying under Harte in showing what's possible with a good manager who can adapt in a short time. So much for their underage being ruined unlike ours who are doing the right way. Duignan looks to have pulled off a major boost there. Its what good ambitious county chairmen do.

Laois Away up next is winnable and we have to beat them. I'm sure McEntee and Keane will watch them play Leitrim next week and hopefully see a few weaknesses.

Kildare gaa posted a video of their warm on the pitch, it does look awful, I know ye dont like to question our county board but is it not worth asking at the next meeting what happened there with all the money spent on it last year?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 02/02/2025 21:20:35    2589050

Replying To Sligonian:  "Gutted to lose today. There is a drop off in standard of opposition for the remainder of the league so you'd hope we can start to pick up points. We just can't seem to beat any top 20 teams but look most of you saw today where we are weak and the new rules are exposing us in midfield ball winning, kickout is under massive pressure, ground we have to cover, lack of pace and dynamism in the forwards.

Most are saying we beat ourselves today with surprising wides at important times. Not sure how Cummins can come into today and play so well for the full match after not making the squad last week. What kinda of injury was it that made him miss last week but fair play to him for today. I'd still see a few other areas the team selection can be improved so you'd hope management do to.

Offaly are flying under Harte in showing what's possible with a good manager who can adapt in a short time. So much for their underage being ruined unlike ours who are doing the right way. Duignan looks to have pulled off a major boost there. Its what good ambitious county chairmen do.

Laois Away up next is winnable and we have to beat them. I'm sure McEntee and Keane will watch them play Leitrim next week and hopefully see a few weaknesses.

Kildare gaa posted a video of their warm on the pitch, it does look awful, I know ye dont like to question our county board but is it not worth asking at the next meeting what happened there with all the money spent on it last year?"
Didn't ye lay a new pitch not that long ago?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2090 - 02/02/2025 21:50:41    2589071

McEntee's after the match comments;

He did say much improved from the week before and Gavin Cawley fair play pressed him on the how you can improve so much in a week.

"no idea Gavin, in essence it boils down to workrate and attitude"

Now again if the players workrate and attitude were questioned on here you'd be laid into. I don't like it coming from a manager in public even if its true. As he said its a reflection of the management too.

It is funny he was more positive on promotion today after 2 defeats after writing us off last week after 1. I'd say someone said to him to be more positive after the game. It's up on the oceanfm website if ye want to listen in full.

The brief highlights showed we never got close to Kildare shooting for some, if its one thing in how you beat Kildare is get up in their faces physically but we are too passive in that regard.

For promotion, you'd hope Kildare win all their games now and we need Offaly to lose 2. I know todays score line was harsh but your looking at score difference as well and hopefully a 3 way tie. We obviously have to win all our games to get to 10pts. Its hard to see that happening. I felt we had to win today tbh.

At least we have Summerhill v St Colman's Connacht A final to look forward to Saturday February 8th. Hopefully it will be streamed. All the best to Summerhill players and management.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 03/02/2025 00:53:53    2589112

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Didn't ye lay a new pitch not that long ago?"
How dare you question how funds are allocated to pitches in Sligo! Who do you think you are! It's not even something Sligo people are allowed to question!

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 466 - 03/02/2025 01:58:56    2589117

I must say I'm very disappointed with Markievicz Park… the pitch is embarrassing. It was impossible to see the lines on the pitch. The grass was long and the soil kept cutting up. I watched back the highlights on League Sunday and was as hard to see the lines from tv. Markievicz unfortunately is not fit for purpose. With the season now starting earlier and no warm up facility the pitch is taking a hammering. It was closed a lot of last year and is no better. As Eoinog said, dressing rooms are poor, toilets are rank…parking?? could the car park field across the road be bought and made into a warm up pitch?? Could we move away from Markievicz park ?? Is it fit for purpose? The GAA will be around until the apocalypse, is this the best place for the home of Sligo GAA. Could a green field be developed somewhere off the N4 with custom built fit for purpose ground. I'm thinking out loud here but is it feasible or just a fantasy.

On the pitch that game was there to be won. Wayward shooting again let us down. Seemed to be wrong decisions taken at times. We turned the ball over nunerous by not switching the play and instead turning down a blind alley. We battled hard but unfortunately Kildare just had a little more. It's becoming increasingly a clear of how important Carrabine is to Sligo. Even on a quiet day he's occupying two men. I hope it's just a one year visa as a poster said above his transfer to Australia is gone through according to the transfer list.

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 91 - 03/02/2025 15:19:08    2589228

Replying To BreakingBall123:  "I must say I'm very disappointed with Markievicz Park… the pitch is embarrassing. It was impossible to see the lines on the pitch. The grass was long and the soil kept cutting up. I watched back the highlights on League Sunday and was as hard to see the lines from tv. Markievicz unfortunately is not fit for purpose. With the season now starting earlier and no warm up facility the pitch is taking a hammering. It was closed a lot of last year and is no better. As Eoinog said, dressing rooms are poor, toilets are rank…parking?? could the car park field across the road be bought and made into a warm up pitch?? Could we move away from Markievicz park ?? Is it fit for purpose? The GAA will be around until the apocalypse, is this the best place for the home of Sligo GAA. Could a green field be developed somewhere off the N4 with custom built fit for purpose ground. I'm thinking out loud here but is it feasible or just a fantasy.

On the pitch that game was there to be won. Wayward shooting again let us down. Seemed to be wrong decisions taken at times. We turned the ball over nunerous by not switching the play and instead turning down a blind alley. We battled hard but unfortunately Kildare just had a little more. It's becoming increasingly a clear of how important Carrabine is to Sligo. Even on a quiet day he's occupying two men. I hope it's just a one year visa as a poster said above his transfer to Australia is gone through according to the transfer list."
If anybody's near a tv have a look at TG4 and see how clear the lines are

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 91 - 03/02/2025 15:23:36    2589231

0-13 scoring total playing at home in Div 3 game is poor return under the old rules never mind now with the new rules which has a strong focus on offensive play and scoring. When you break it down further just 0-5 from play from the six starting forwards. Now I didn't see the match and huge credit could well go to Kildare defensively but it's clearly one area Sligo are under performing in and that's very much up to the manager to sort/improve on.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 320 - 03/02/2025 15:54:21    2589249

Everything that needed to be said has probably been said.

A better performance and definitely thought those returning made us a stronger looking side. But no doubt it's still short of the levels you'd want from a side looking to break into the top half in the country. Our shooting was nothing short of dreadful and we are still missing running power and physicality around the middle. Though I though Cummins coming back added to that at least. We seem to be striggling for size around the middle and I'm not sure what the solution is.
Nothing against Devanney who made an error from the kickout, but these rules make change inevitable I'll be shocked if we don't see it by the next round. The teams who have embraced the new rules seem to be getting big scores.

In terms of the pitch, it's nothing short of a disgrace. After all the work done, It's embarassing to see Markievicz in such poor poor shape. Has it held 18 games in the past 18 months? Between that and the fact our COE can hardly hold a training session, you've really got to wonder how we've ended up here. A shambles.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 143 - 04/02/2025 11:37:50    2589394

Replying To johncreilly:  "Everything that needed to be said has probably been said.

A better performance and definitely thought those returning made us a stronger looking side. But no doubt it's still short of the levels you'd want from a side looking to break into the top half in the country. Our shooting was nothing short of dreadful and we are still missing running power and physicality around the middle. Though I though Cummins coming back added to that at least. We seem to be striggling for size around the middle and I'm not sure what the solution is.
Nothing against Devanney who made an error from the kickout, but these rules make change inevitable I'll be shocked if we don't see it by the next round. The teams who have embraced the new rules seem to be getting big scores.

In terms of the pitch, it's nothing short of a disgrace. After all the work done, It's embarassing to see Markievicz in such poor poor shape. Has it held 18 games in the past 18 months? Between that and the fact our COE can hardly hold a training session, you've really got to wonder how we've ended up here. A shambles."
Pitch looked in bad shape for the Connacht club championship probably needs months to recover but with the split season now no time. What is wrong with COE looks like a more than decent facility to cater for all Sligo teams to train on?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3540 - 04/02/2025 12:37:24    2589414

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Pitch looked in bad shape for the Connacht club championship probably needs months to recover but with the split season now no time. What is wrong with COE looks like a more than decent facility to cater for all Sligo teams to train on?"
Far from it from what I hear. Trainings regularly moved off it. Water a big issue as far as I know but general upkeep has been poor. No club team looks forward to a visit there. Needs serious work. Disgrace how bad Markievicz is after all the time and money spent

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 73 - 04/02/2025 14:03:07    2589442

Should have sold up Markievicz and developed a new facility with COE all on the one site but that has come and gone now, so its about managing what we have. There is no acceptable excuse for the state of Markievicz Park, not just this weekend but every year. There are far better club surfaces out there and they don't get near the funding or support they deserve.

The pitch constantly is closed for periods that are meant to improve the surface but it never turns out any better, which begs the question what is the money been spent on and who is being held to account for it when it doesn't do what it is supposed to. Hurlers were turfed out of it on week 1 of the league so can't be blaming them.

Parking is something that can't be sorted by the GAA bar developing a shuttle bus maybe to the retail park but a warm up area is badly needed and the temporary carpark across the road is the ideal spot.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 466 - 04/02/2025 14:15:47    2589445

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Should have sold up Markievicz and developed a new facility with COE all on the one site but that has come and gone now, so its about managing what we have. There is no acceptable excuse for the state of Markievicz Park, not just this weekend but every year. There are far better club surfaces out there and they don't get near the funding or support they deserve.

The pitch constantly is closed for periods that are meant to improve the surface but it never turns out any better, which begs the question what is the money been spent on and who is being held to account for it when it doesn't do what it is supposed to. Hurlers were turfed out of it on week 1 of the league so can't be blaming them.

Parking is something that can't be sorted by the GAA bar developing a shuttle bus maybe to the retail park but a warm up area is badly needed and the temporary carpark across the road is the ideal spot."
There is something nice about having your main ground in a town centre and I'd argue that any pitch near the COE is going to be prone to as much, if not more damage.
That being said, questions need to be answered on this. I've heard today that there were concerns immediately after it's last redevelopment.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 143 - 04/02/2025 14:56:35    2589456

Replying To johncreilly:  "There is something nice about having your main ground in a town centre and I'd argue that any pitch near the COE is going to be prone to as much, if not more damage.
That being said, questions need to be answered on this. I've heard today that there were concerns immediately after it's last redevelopment."
The positives about Markievicz Park are the new dugouts, the perimeter fence, the scoreboard and the coffee you get from Cannings at half time.
The stand isn't great but that won't change. The terrace on the opposite side is very good and a great place to watch a game.
Sadly the negative 's outweigh the positives by a long shot. The bottom line is you need a good pitch. Watching the game in Castlebar and the number of 2 pointers that Galway kicked really showed up the terrible pitch we have. We got our solitary orange flag from a free, Kildare got one from play. The ground was so heavy. Sadly it can also be that way in July after a wet week. I don't know what can be done with it. There's no excuse for the shocking condition of the public toilets. They need to be knocked and rebuilt. Equally the dressing rooms should be much better. A deep clean and a power hose on the outside would do wonders . When Markievicz Park is full on a good summers day it's one of the nicest venues in Ireland with the backdrop of BenBulben. It hasn't been full for a long time though.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2024 - 04/02/2025 16:24:24    2589469