After the hammering Leitrim got today Laois will be fully flying to get a home win next week. Leitrim are going to lose every game I suspect and may well end up with a record minus score difference so they have a relegation spot secured. If we don't get over Laois next week I fear we may well be joining Leitrim. Big week ahead! Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 466 - 08/02/2025 16:30:42 2590055 Link 0 |
Tough loss for Summerhill today losing 2-9 to 1-9 in the A schools final. Played all the football 2nd half but gave themselves too much to do against the wind. Brady looks a great player and plenty of quality coming through for Sligo. All the molaise lads showed very well. Showed loads of character 2nd half but the black card probably curtailed all the momentum. Congrats to Colmans who were very good in the 1st half. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 08/02/2025 17:42:23 2590082 Link 0 |
Good analysis from last week and I'd agree that we're short a bit of pace inside. Deignan might be worth a shout. We've good forwards on paper but as you said, we need to get it in hand first. As you also said, we don't know what's going on at training either but I'd be shocked if there wasn't some changes. This is a huge test for McEntee and his management team. Let's see what happens over the next fortnight.
johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 143 - 09/02/2025 01:21:34 2590165 Link 0 |
I posted here a few weeks ago that both Spillane and Deignan are much better on a drier sod. Spillane's performances in the last 2 games proved my point. A good player but not at this time of year. Deignan has huge potential but is just after breaking into the Sigerson team. Markievicz Park the last day certainly would not have suited him. If a player can't make a Sigerson team then they can't expect to make the Co team. I think Nathan Mullen has served his suspension so I imagine he will come straight back into the team. Towey was good when he came on the last day. Very good attacking, maybe not as good defending. Carrabine is a loss but I actually thought he looked a bit jaded last year. The break will do him good. Attack wise we were all over the shop the last day. A small bit of patience and picking the right option would have seen us win in that critical phase when we were a point down. eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2024 - 09/02/2025 15:55:41 2590264 Link 0 |
Tony mcentee is a top manager imo and plays attacking football, he would be my top pick if mcgeeney ever left, hard to know what way teams are going with new rules especially when some rules might change before end of the league, height in middle is definitely needed in new rules, need plenty of workers in middle 8 for breaking ball but I think Sligo have a great squad and should be competing for promotion I'd say some of the players playing sigurson are not being selected until that's over, I wouldn't worry about scores for Sligo as I think you have great forwards, I do think you miss carribine he is a top level player and would start for any county, he would help with fielding and 2 pointers. I do think the goalkeeper rule will change as it is deciding too many matches so wouldn't be changing things too quickly there, but Sligo have players and have been great underage for years so I'd keep the faith as I have no doubt you will be in div 2 in next 2 years, great forwards on the squad that will start keeping dividends Liftball (Armagh) - Posts: 31 - 09/02/2025 21:48:42 2590311 Link 0 |
"If a player can't make a Sigerson team then they can't expect to make the Co team" Plenty of examples of that not turning to be the case. One I'll always remember is how NUIG manager at the John Maughan who chose not to start Mark McHugh and later that year McHugh won All star as one of Donegal's most important players in their All Ireland winning team. Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 320 - 09/02/2025 22:40:39 2590318 Link 0 |
I hope you are right about Division 2, Liftball. This week feels huge in the trajectory of the year for Sligo seniors. Hopefully we will be looking up the table rather than down after Laois. Sigerson cup final is on Wednesday and will have plenty of Sligo interest with hopefully Marren and Deignan starting again for DCU. All the best to all the Sligo lads involved. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 10/02/2025 18:10:07 2590484 Link 0 |
Congrats to the Sligo lads on DCU Sigerson cup winning panel. A great achievement and another medal to add to their collection. Fair play to Luke, Sean, Eoghan and Lee. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 13/02/2025 23:19:23 2590904 Link 2 |
I'd expect a few changes to the team for Laois. Mullen and Towey to start with I'd say Daire O Boyle or Deignan to start inside line in the forwards. We do have few injuries but these changes will add a lot of pace and power to the team and give us a better dynamic going forward. Laois are in the bracket of teams we have been beating so I am expecting a win. The pressure is on but the lads have reacted well in the last few years. Kildare was always going to be tough 2nd game. This game will tell us more of where we are at and Id expect us to put up a big score. No good playing well in challenge games and not translating to matchday. All the best on Sunday. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 14/02/2025 16:37:38 2591028 Link 0 |
Well our year looks fairly ominous now after that defeat. If we get well beaten by the team coming up from Div 4 what does that say! I can't say I'm overly surprised, our panel doesn't seem to have improved anyway by either the introduction of the u20s or the new rules. I can't really explain how I think it could be better either, it just seems to be awful flat and disappointing. I'm sure most players and indeed hardcore supporters would have been hoping for the prospect of promotion rather than avoiding relegation. Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 466 - 17/02/2025 00:27:06 2591473 Link 0 |
While Carrabine is a massive loss the main reason for our sudden decline is the failure of the management to adapt to the new rules. McEntee has stayed loyal to the players even though some of unsuitable the new rules. He's playing without a traditiobal dominant midfielder and we are getting destroyed on kickouts as a result. Same with the goalkeeper (even though I think that rule may be rescinded). However for the league we need to be playing a keeper who is more comfortable on the ball. Mcentee himself flagged his refusal for change in some of his quotes to rhe media in advance of the league. His stubbornness and refusal to adapt will get us relegated.
Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 374 - 17/02/2025 10:26:22 2591528 Link 0 |
"main reason for our sudden decline is the failure of the management to adapt to the new rules" looks like it alright and until he and his management adapt a promising season will go up in dust.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 320 - 17/02/2025 13:40:16 2591576 Link 0 |
Do you spend your time as the grim reaper floating around different county forums with a negative agenda?. I dislike posters with no fixed abode. Haven't got the b...s to say what's county they are affiliated to.
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 90 - 17/02/2025 15:08:48 2591602 Link 0 |
Is it not time now you give us an update on what you think of the current manager instead of criticizing those that do?
MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 81 - 17/02/2025 15:52:53 2591614 Link 1 |
Galway born with a keen interest in all Connacht counties. Don't do negative agendas instead call things as they are. Three defeats from a team I was expecting to push for promotion is big negative. Now any comment on yesterdays game instead of that rant at me? Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 320 - 17/02/2025 16:00:58 2591617 Link 1 |
That's not a rant at all.
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 90 - 17/02/2025 16:08:18 2591619 Link 0 |
Mcentee has to take some of the blame, but the change in rules is exposing flaws that have been evident in the team for a long time. We have been crying out for a ball winning midfielder for years however we don't have one in the county. General size is an issue too.
westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 17/02/2025 16:42:29 2591626 Link 0 |
Bitterly disappointing defeat and performance. Deja vu as McEntee puts it. It looks like his tenure is not going to be looked back at fondly, we are in serious danger of heading back to Division 4 with him in charge. It doesn't surprise me at all how it has gone but you hoped for different. We have to win 2 of our next 3. Have to beat Clare, Antrim and Leitrim. Today we showed no energy. The reports back all said it looked like Laois had an extra man. They said today's scoreline should have been 30pts to 10pts, Laois took foot off the gas, this is Laois team who lost 5 of their starting forwards from last year and we cry about losing Carrabine. Laois aren't contenders in Leinster. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 17/02/2025 16:51:38 2591628 Link 0 |
He never mentioned the manager, it's just you that's obsessed with MC Entee and soon you will tell us all about what the mighty sligonian thinks
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 90 - 17/02/2025 17:03:55 2591636 Link 0 |
The new rules are amplifying how poor the manager is, rather than being the only reason they are exposed because he wasn't good long before they came in. What height is Ross Doherty, Cian Lally and Alan McLoughlin? There is height there imo but even if you don't have ball winning midfielders you can still break the ball with those above lads and you gameplan to position yourself to win them, if your smaller you should be faster. Looking back I would have given Conan Marren more chances especially after his Roscommon CSFC performance a few years and developed him further but he is no longer an option. Is O Donnell from Tourlestrane worth a look, he is well over 6ft? Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1783 - 17/02/2025 17:18:04 2591641 Link 0 |