Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To bláthach:  "Good win tonight for the young lads. Well done to all. I thought Sligo were very poor, disappointingly so really. Although I'm sure they'll learn from finishing bottom of the group and come back stronger."
Congrats on winning the Connacht Minor Shield.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 472 - 19/04/2025 11:27:34    2602725

Replying To martinjoe:  "Very good win. Hopefully some of them
Will be available to mgmt for selection in the T Cup."
A "T Cup" is all ye will be lifting this year. Or maybe a paper one!!

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 19/04/2025 12:16:11    2602739

Replying To S1234:  "At least we fecking got to all those finals and I am still proud of them. Loads of counties like yourselves haven't even a hope of getting to a quarter /semi final let alone all the finals we have gotten to so grow up.
We come back year after year and that's thanks to our good underage system.

Don't be begrudging us..your underage system is good give it 4/5 years and ye will be doing well ."
S1234 - just stop will ya…you embarrassing yourself. Let it go and go have a pint, it's Easter

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11539 - 19/04/2025 12:44:15    2602745

Replying To joeman123:  "Ah Martin Joe

I thought you were a genuine commentator!!

"some of them available for the Taikteann Cup"

Feck off and mind your own bloody business."
How many more posts do you need to see to realise he isn't?

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 230 - 19/04/2025 15:38:37    2602768

Replying To yew_tree:  "S1234 - just stop will ya…you embarrassing yourself. Let it go and go have a pint, it's Easter"
Easter is a time of abstinence and reflection

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 230 - 19/04/2025 15:40:24    2602770

Well if I don't think we can sustain it, but Leitrim are 0-5 to 0-4 up on Mayo after 18 mins thanks to two Barry McNulty two-pointers.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1161 - 19/04/2025 16:52:48    2602790

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Well if I don't think we can sustain it, but Leitrim are 0-5 to 0-4 up on Mayo after 18 mins thanks to two Barry McNulty two-pointers."
martinjoe, told ye yesterday!!!

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 545 - 19/04/2025 17:30:38    2602807

Pitch was absolutely fabulous. Best in Connacht now by a mile. Well done to all.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 19/04/2025 17:48:51    2602813

Replying To martinjoe:  "martinjoe, told ye yesterday!!!"
I got shot down here too saying there was no way it would be a hammering. Sure what do I know.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11539 - 19/04/2025 18:01:01    2602820

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Well if I don't think we can sustain it, but Leitrim are 0-5 to 0-4 up on Mayo after 18 mins thanks to two Barry McNulty two-pointers."
Ye sustained it very well. Comiserations to Leitrim.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7911 - 19/04/2025 18:11:44    2602827

Fair play to them Leitrim players...
Did your county proud.. pity the lads who walked away didn't stay.

As for Mayo.... a shambles of a display..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 19/04/2025 18:14:23    2602829

Replying To yew_tree:  "I got shot down here too saying there was no way it would be a hammering. Sure what do I know."
I think that says more about where Mayo is at, at the moment. You surely see why Leitrim folk were fearing for the worst today?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1266 - 19/04/2025 18:15:06    2602830

A very creditable performance by us. You'd wonder if we had our full compliment available what might have happened. Kickouts proved a problem. But anyway well done to all. Mayo seem very poor. Galway shouldn't have a problem with them in the final.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 230 - 19/04/2025 18:18:28    2602834

Solid performance from Leitrim. Wasn't near the hammering people would have expected. Hopefully ye can build on this and give the Tailteann Cup a good shot. I wouldn't be surprised if a few players come back ye might bounce back up into division 3 next year.

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 102 - 19/04/2025 18:26:18    2602840

Fair play to them Leitrim players. What would have happened if ye had the few lads that didn't commit this year. McNulty is an outrageous footballer who would walk onto most teams in the country. If ye can match that performance for the rest of the year ye will have a great year. I wouldn't be poachers biggest fan but he had ye well drilled today. That's a performance that will have them lads out on the training pitch next week looking forward to the rest of the year. Pitch looked great to

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1234 - 19/04/2025 18:52:23    2602854

Credit to Leitrim and especially Poacher and his management team for coming up with a plan and for players delivering such a competitive 70 minute performance. Final margin was harsh on the effort put in.

As for Mayo more question and answers about them after playing Sligo and leitrim today. Will need Durcan,Conroy back but All Ireland Quarter final spot looks to be their max this year which would be improvement on last years round 12 exit.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3586 - 19/04/2025 18:53:08    2602857

Well done Barry mc nulty he's top class. Pity we didn't take the few easy chances we missed would have been much closer

harleys (Leitrim) - Posts: 318 - 19/04/2025 19:21:31    2602863

I have to say I'm very proud of that effort today. They were very well drilled and the players gave everything, I honestly thought it would be a disaster but I'm delighted to say I was wrong. Barry McNulty is something else, he is our very own Michael Murphy. So encouraged by this performance.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 409 - 19/04/2025 19:41:29    2602869

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Credit to Leitrim and especially Poacher and his management team for coming up with a plan and for players delivering such a competitive 70 minute performance. Final margin was harsh on the effort put in.

As for Mayo more question and answers about them after playing Sligo and leitrim today. Will need Durcan,Conroy back but All Ireland Quarter final spot looks to be their max this year which would be improvement on last years round 12 exit."
A plan???? Sitting inside our 45 for the whole of the second half and not attempting to go and try to win the game! Shambles against a team that were so poor on the day. The ref gave us every 50/50 decision going. The kickout plan, kick it down the middle and hope to god Barry Mc wins it. When Mayo got to grips with it in the second half we had no variation.
We have some stand out players. Let's hope a new manager can get more out of them next year.

Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 46 - 19/04/2025 19:50:40    2602872

Replying To Square_B:  "I think that says more about where Mayo is at, at the moment. You surely see why Leitrim folk were fearing for the worst today?"
Ah Come on Square D why can't you say something positive about this very young team who ran themselves into the ground with a gusty display.

Well done to the management too.Considering all the negative publicity and public ridicule over the last few weeks, they had a very motivated well drilled team on the pitch.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 555 - 19/04/2025 19:56:36    2602873