Roscommon GAA thread

Please don't politicise the issue. No effort have been made by politicians in this area to bring jobs and also the aforementioned politician you have mentioned hasn't because Roscommon nevers get a minister which hinders that.
Would be better to prioritise a Centre of Excellence to cater for our under age teams and adult teams and support our club and schools development more instead of tokenism that's often the lot. More GPOs involved with county teams and feathering their nests instead of doing the jobs that they should be doing and promoting and developing the underage scene.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1093 - 15/06/2024 13:48:39    2551596

Replying To moros:  "Please don't politicise the issue. No effort have been made by politicians in this area to bring jobs and also the aforementioned politician you have mentioned hasn't because Roscommon nevers get a minister which hinders that.
Would be better to prioritise a Centre of Excellence to cater for our under age teams and adult teams and support our club and schools development more instead of tokenism that's often the lot. More GPOs involved with county teams and feathering their nests instead of doing the jobs that they should be doing and promoting and developing the underage scene."
Everything is political whether we like it or not once money and resources are involved unfortunately. I mention Denis Naughton because at least he got the rural high speed broadband going which is necessary infrastructure if anything is to improve in rural counties. The fact of the matter is the senior county set up has become professional at the top. We spend a huge amount of the county budget on expenses for players, who are well entitled to it. Not to mention the toll commuting takes on players and management. That is not sustainable and Roscommon will never break into the top 5 or 6 teams because a lot of our limited resources go on travel. We are very competitive at underage. We played in 3 AI finals at u20/21 in a ten year period. Not saying there can't be more improvement at underage but there has been good work done.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 15/06/2024 14:07:24    2551600

Realistic post which brings some perspective to the difficulty facing Roscommon teams. When our senior team are travelling back long distances back to Dublin/ Galway etc after training, the Dubs are getting massages from several physios and are back in their beds by 10.00am. Recovery/sleep is critically important in the modern game. It also means that our travelling expenses like other rural teams are higher that teams nearer Dublin which has implications.

You are correct to highlight the lack of major industries in Roscommon. Roscommon town is a lovely town but the county has not had a minister with vision, energy and drive for ages in order to influence those in power. As a result several talented players have had to emigrate for a better life. The above factors mean we have a small playing population which can have a detrimental impact on our squad depth. Not every team can bring on 3 or 4 speedsters to close out a game.

Some very negative posters love to have a go at named players and managers on a continuous and historical basis. (You catch more bears with honey rather than vinegar!) I do not see how they consider themselves genuine supporters. It is now the team need our support.
Time for the team to really go for it tonight. I believe they will.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 15/06/2024 16:11:07    2551626

Madcap of a contest whereby both did little or no defending and what we got was a shoot out that we thankfully prevailed with six points to spare in.

Enda Smith a big doubt coming into the game our star man again and without him it's unlikely we would have won today yet I heard plenty saying we should have been rested?

Draw on Monday morning and who we can get

Tyrone in Omagh

Galway in Pearse Stadium or Armagh in athletic ground

Monaghan in Clones or Louth in Navan.

If we reach the last 8 it will be achievement in itself.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3818 - 15/06/2024 19:16:43    2551676

Replying To The_analyser:  "Madcap of a contest whereby both did little or no defending and what we got was a shoot out that we thankfully prevailed with six points to spare in.

Enda Smith a big doubt coming into the game our star man again and without him it's unlikely we would have won today yet I heard plenty saying we should have been rested?

Draw on Monday morning and who we can get

Tyrone in Omagh

Galway in Pearse Stadium or Armagh in athletic ground

Monaghan in Clones or Louth in Navan.

If we reach the last 8 it will be achievement in itself."
Doubt we can get Monaghan as Louth have them on the head to head even if they win.

spion7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 58 - 15/06/2024 20:34:01    2551696

Would fancy ye against Louth or Monaghan, tough game against Galway, Armagh or Tyrone though.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 15/06/2024 20:34:53    2551697

Replying To JahTribe:  "Would fancy ye against Louth or Monaghan, tough game against Galway, Armagh or Tyrone though."
We finished third in the group so can have no complaints .Only the top two in the group should be going forward really. We'll be away against one of Louth, Tyrone, Armagh or Galway. Louth would be the best draw but I'm doubtful enough Roscommon would beat the wee men on current form. We'll listen to the draw on Monday morning and see where it takes us. It would be great to get to a Croke Park quarter final and salvage something out of what has been a hugely disappointing season for Roscommon supporters.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 15/06/2024 20:46:55    2551702

Replying To spion7:  "Doubt we can get Monaghan as Louth have them on the head to head even if they win."
It was a Draw match with louth and Monaghan

thestrapper49 (Louth) - Posts: 327 - 15/06/2024 20:56:02    2551706

Replying To endgame:  "We finished third in the group so can have no complaints .Only the top two in the group should be going forward really. We'll be away against one of Louth, Tyrone, Armagh or Galway. Louth would be the best draw but I'm doubtful enough Roscommon would beat the wee men on current form. We'll listen to the draw on Monday morning and see where it takes us. It would be great to get to a Croke Park quarter final and salvage something out of what has been a hugely disappointing season for Roscommon supporters."
Only the top two would resulted dead rubbers so going forward that is not the way to do things. Monaghan form's was similar this time last year and finished 3rd in the group and end up in the last 4 of the championship so you can never tell whats about to happen.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 146 - 15/06/2024 21:11:36    2551714

Replying To endgame:  "We finished third in the group so can have no complaints .Only the top two in the group should be going forward really. We'll be away against one of Louth, Tyrone, Armagh or Galway. Louth would be the best draw but I'm doubtful enough Roscommon would beat the wee men on current form. We'll listen to the draw on Monday morning and see where it takes us. It would be great to get to a Croke Park quarter final and salvage something out of what has been a hugely disappointing season for Roscommon supporters."
The Louth v Monaghan match is on tomorrow.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 15/06/2024 21:21:20    2551715

Should have said the Louth and Monaghan matches are both on tomorrow.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 15/06/2024 21:27:52    2551719

It's amazing and how wrong the current system is. Roscommon by virtue of the first victory this year are in final 12 of All Ireland championship. Losing 3 championship matches and still make final 12. Not Roscommon's fault.
In the era of the All Ireland qualifiers, in order to reach last 12 (R4 of Qualiers or win provisional title) a team could only afford to lose 1 match.
Something will need to be done in order to maintain interest in the current system. They should do away with this round robin lark. They justify it by allowing 3 teams to qualify per group reducing dead rubber matches.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3115 - 15/06/2024 21:47:06    2551724

Replying To thestrapper49:  "It was a Draw match with louth and Monaghan"
Apologies ..you are correct ..

spion7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 58 - 15/06/2024 21:52:56    2551727

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Only the top two would resulted dead rubbers so going forward that is not the way to do things. Monaghan form's was similar this time last year and finished 3rd in the group and end up in the last 4 of the championship so you can never tell whats about to happen."
No. Three teams out of four qualifying for knockout is ridiculous. Small crowd in Longford today. We Rossies have lost the faith. Can we get it back.? Best to luck Drax to the tribesmen tomorrow. I hope ye beat Armagh but ye won't have it easy. That could be the game of the weekend.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 15/06/2024 22:06:16    2551734

Replying To endgame:  "No. Three teams out of four qualifying for knockout is ridiculous. Small crowd in Longford today. We Rossies have lost the faith. Can we get it back.? Best to luck Drax to the tribesmen tomorrow. I hope ye beat Armagh but ye won't have it easy. That could be the game of the weekend."
Any championship game that becomes a dead rubber game is worse much worse than three teams out of four qualifying for knockout. I think Galway will win narrowly but don't expect any 2-20 or 3-20 scored instead expect a much lower scoring game.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 146 - 15/06/2024 23:08:20    2551751

Replying To Jack L:  "It's amazing and how wrong the current system is. Roscommon by virtue of the first victory this year are in final 12 of All Ireland championship. Losing 3 championship matches and still make final 12. Not Roscommon's fault.
In the era of the All Ireland qualifiers, in order to reach last 12 (R4 of Qualiers or win provisional title) a team could only afford to lose 1 match.
Something will need to be done in order to maintain interest in the current system. They should do away with this round robin lark. They justify it by allowing 3 teams to qualify per group reducing dead rubber matches."
95% voted in favour of it.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1627 - 16/06/2024 00:43:53    2551759

We have not had much to shout about this season with the seniors. 3-20 in any game is exceptional scoring. However conceding 1-20 at the other end is worrying.

The players have shown their ambition in going attacking after teams. The real difference is how we defend and give away far too much to the opposition

No team will fear us in the preliminary 1/4 final. Whoever we get will be tough away from The Hyde. Could work in our favour in that there will be no pressure on the players.

For my club having 4 lads starting and doing well was good to see. Ben being injured very disappointing for Roscommon and for St Brigids

BrigidsToom (Roscommon) - Posts: 10 - 16/06/2024 01:40:09    2551760

Strange game yesterday. 3-20 was good shooting but left a lot behind us especially in 2nd half. Conceding 1-20 is a worry, more worrying the ease at which Cavan were able to get their shots away with little pressure despite us having numbers back. Enda stood up, his best game this year. Diarmuid, Daire very good. Eoin McCormack was excellent, his running caused them lots of trouble. Interesting to see what tomorrow morning brings. Obviously hope to avoid Tyrone, Armagh/Galway. Monaghan or Louth away will also be tough and I'm sure they will be hoping to draw us aswell. Hard to see how we sort out the concession of such big scores in a week as we clearly wont win a shoot out against many of the teams left in it!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 191 - 16/06/2024 10:39:11    2551790

Had nearly forgotten what that type of football was like. Fair play to both teams for just going for it. Brilliant to see so many scorers and delighted they got a win under their belt. A bit of luck with the first goal but by God we deserved some luck. Now obviously if you play that open against the big teams you will get murdered and that is the challenge for management, how do you balance defence with attack. Analyser absolutely right if Enda was not playing we would have lost. I would have loved for us to be able to rest him and let a few others step up to the plate but yesterday proved how reliant we are on him. No easy draw for next week but lets hope the team can put in a massive performance.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 16/06/2024 12:03:31    2551809

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "95% voted in favour of it."
Bit like the Brexit vote… they were sold a pup.. If the vote was taken again it wouldn't be anything like 95%.

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2173 - 16/06/2024 12:30:06    2551819