Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To endgame:  "Good analysis analyser. It's disappointing because I feel Roscommon are good enough to have won last night. They played some lovely running football at times but silly unforced errors gifted Mayo scores and the momentum in the second half. We got the goals in Tuam against Galway but none last night. This team is capable of getting goals.They're young lads and I'm not going to name players but there's clearly one area of the team that needs change for the Kerry game. Kerry looked good in Munster and Roscommon are up against it now. For a much vaunted minor team, I thought Mayo looked ordinary enough last night. A more composed Roscommon would have sent Mayo home empty handed. A Connacht minor title left behind by Roscommon last night unfortunately."
I caught a good bit of the match and I'd agree with a lot of that. Roscommon were on top for a lot of that game. They kicked some lovely scores, but the missed goal chances were crucial. They'd have made a big difference in a game that was very tight until the last 10 minutes.
The good thing is the lads get another shot to show what they can do. It won't be easy against Kerry, but they have plenty good footballers and should have no fear. We regularly see results at underage that you'd never see at senior level.
Sligo beating Kerry, Longford beating Dublin etc.
The best of luck.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2095 - 25/05/2024 08:46:56    2546907

Time to hit the road for Dublin....
Like a visit to the dentist, grin and bear it, get it over with.
Seldom seen as much pessimism as there's around for this game.
Let's hope for a reasonable performance and then prepare for a right battle v Mayo.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1627 - 25/05/2024 10:33:18    2546932

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Time to hit the road for Dublin....
Like a visit to the dentist, grin and bear it, get it over with.
Seldom seen as much pessimism as there's around for this game.
Let's hope for a reasonable performance and then prepare for a right battle v Mayo."
I'd say the u20 hurlers will help bring a few people who may not have went otherwise. Best of luck to both today.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 25/05/2024 11:55:25    2546946

Best of luck to Roscommon today. Hopefully some positive shoots emerge that we've been waiting to see all season. Real pity about Ben, he should be rested up now until next year. Any word yet who'll take his place on the panel? Surely too early to bring in Shane McGinley. Anyways, let's see how the day unfolds. Safe travels to the devotees.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 27 - 25/05/2024 13:53:32    2546965

Replying To endgame:  "Good analysis analyser. It's disappointing because I feel Roscommon are good enough to have won last night. They played some lovely running football at times but silly unforced errors gifted Mayo scores and the momentum in the second half. We got the goals in Tuam against Galway but none last night. This team is capable of getting goals.They're young lads and I'm not going to name players but there's clearly one area of the team that needs change for the Kerry game. Kerry looked good in Munster and Roscommon are up against it now. For a much vaunted minor team, I thought Mayo looked ordinary enough last night. A more composed Roscommon would have sent Mayo home empty handed. A Connacht minor title left behind by Roscommon last night unfortunately."
Better team won. Mayo made some handling errors too and kicked some bad wides. Ye were probably better in 1st half but Mayo were better in second. Impressed with our work rate and pushing up on ros kick outs. Players like Hession, Deane, Hurley and of course McDonald. Felt sorry for yer keeper to be honest…some bad mistakes. Best of luck v Kerry.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11302 - 25/05/2024 17:40:07    2546996

Very good performance so far. Great to see we have our scoring boots back on in the first half. The black card seemed harsh to me as the two players seemed to brush off each other. Dublin break at high speed but we are coping so far. Best 35 minute display so far this year. Hopefully it continues in the second half. Need to get a few more breaks at midfield.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 25/05/2024 17:44:51    2546998

Great account of themselves for so long. The Dublin bench just so strong. We probably fluffed a couple of good attacking positions while Dublin punish you down the other end. Great performance from Cox and probably should have more direct ball into him. Huge improvement from the forwards. Delighted for D Murtagh. Ben O Carroll back which is positive. Who is our 45 taker? That was a crucial time in the game for a score and you wouldn't see that at minor or u20 level. Shocking attempt and you need to be able to take your deadball chances. Overall all though good work rate from everyone. Disappointing scoreline but at least it looks like their fight is back. Raise it again now for Mayo!

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 25/05/2024 18:42:52    2547012

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Great account of themselves for so long. The Dublin bench just so strong. We probably fluffed a couple of good attacking positions while Dublin punish you down the other end. Great performance from Cox and probably should have more direct ball into him. Huge improvement from the forwards. Delighted for D Murtagh. Ben O Carroll back which is positive. Who is our 45 taker? That was a crucial time in the game for a score and you wouldn't see that at minor or u20 level. Shocking attempt and you need to be able to take your deadball chances. Overall all though good work rate from everyone. Disappointing scoreline but at least it looks like their fight is back. Raise it again now for Mayo!"
Brave by Roscommon for so long but a 12 point defeat in the end. Agree about the 45. I've seen Cunnane take a few 45s for Roscommon and he hasn't even properly lifted the ball so a change needed there. Best game Conor Cox has had for some time so that's a positive. Daire Cregg also will be a top forward. Great to see Ultan Harney , Keith Doyle and Ben back on the pitch. Great speed from Niall Higgins out of defence. Enda Smith's form is a concern. He's been Poor all season really and we so need him to be on fire.It's all about the Mayo game now. Roscommon need to find a way to win that game. A win there and the season will open up. Must win game.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 25/05/2024 19:09:00    2547029

Replying To endgame:  "Brave by Roscommon for so long but a 12 point defeat in the end. Agree about the 45. I've seen Cunnane take a few 45s for Roscommon and he hasn't even properly lifted the ball so a change needed there. Best game Conor Cox has had for some time so that's a positive. Daire Cregg also will be a top forward. Great to see Ultan Harney , Keith Doyle and Ben back on the pitch. Great speed from Niall Higgins out of defence. Enda Smith's form is a concern. He's been Poor all season really and we so need him to be on fire.It's all about the Mayo game now. Roscommon need to find a way to win that game. A win there and the season will open up. Must win game."
Eugene McCormack deserves a mention. Best Roscommon player on the pitch today, followed by Diarmuid Murtagh, Conor Cox, Daire Cregg, Niall Higgins. We were in the match with 10 minutes to go which was a major positive. Did not deserve to be beaten by so much. I think that if we put the emphasis on recovery this week, do not over train, we will really put it up to Mayo next week.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 25/05/2024 19:35:38    2547043

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Eugene McCormack deserves a mention. Best Roscommon player on the pitch today, followed by Diarmuid Murtagh, Conor Cox, Daire Cregg, Niall Higgins. We were in the match with 10 minutes to go which was a major positive. Did not deserve to be beaten by so much. I think that if we put the emphasis on recovery this week, do not over train, we will really put it up to Mayo next week."
Think you mean Eoin McCormack. Yes he's consistently good for Roscommon these days and was again today. He drives forward not backwards. We have plenty of good players.Durkan is gone for the season for Mayo. Their best player along with Ryan O'Donoghue who Roscommon need to keep quiet next week. We just can't be losing twice in a few weeks at home to Mayo in the championship. A must win game for Ros or the season will be over whatever about beating Cavan and finishing third. Roscommon must do next Saturday evening what we haven't done in 23 years. Beat Mayo in a championship match in Hyde park.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 25/05/2024 19:57:07    2547057

Good performance from Roscommon minors last night. It a pity they looked like Roscommon didn't believe they could win, they were well in but realised they were in it and then panicked.
Found the a few strange decisions by the manager, like Dara Curran playing almost as a sweeper in the second half, he was the most creative player on the pitch in the 1st half, he had a great overall game but the team needed him in the half forward line as it was Roscommons weakest line throughout the game. The other decision which was unusual was when the gk was black carded he played conroy in goals instead of Hussey the sub gk Hopefully we can cut out so many self inflicted mistakes and we could give Kerry a run for it.

imformed (Roscommon) - Posts: 170 - 25/05/2024 19:58:04    2547058

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Eugene McCormack deserves a mention. Best Roscommon player on the pitch today, followed by Diarmuid Murtagh, Conor Cox, Daire Cregg, Niall Higgins. We were in the match with 10 minutes to go which was a major positive. Did not deserve to be beaten by so much. I think that if we put the emphasis on recovery this week, do not over train, we will really put it up to Mayo next week."
12 points looks harsh in a way but watching from the hill, my sense was our team was in 2nd gear, experimenting a bit. If Dubs pushed hard from the start could have been more.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 25/05/2024 20:01:56    2547059

Didn't deserve to be hammered by 12 but we were and unless you are fit and conditioned energy then that's what will happen against the top teams. Thought we had a couple of good performances Il hold my hands up and say fair play to Robbie Dolan I thought he held his own and cregg Is a class act. Higgins played well to but unfortunately we have a couple of passengers on the team in our half forward line especially. Add nothing to the team but work rate and that should come from anyone wearing the jersey

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1103 - 25/05/2024 20:04:00    2547060

Shades of the U20 All-Ireland semi final a few weeks ago when we gave a very good account of ourselves for three quarters of the contest and then punished by the more ruthless team and end up with harsh 10 point and today 12 point margin of defeats.

Just a week 7 day turn around against a rested Mayo now which will be extremely hard recover from after that defeat and all the energy used. Looks like all our eggs will be in the basket for Cavan match that will likely be a knock out game.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3818 - 25/05/2024 20:19:56    2547065

Replying To sligo joe:  "12 points looks harsh in a way but watching from the hill, my sense was our team was in 2nd gear, experimenting a bit. If Dubs pushed hard from the start could have been more."
Think the dubs went hard from the throw in. Dublin's full back line were under serious pressure and when ye went 6 up ye dropped two sweepers back. We weren't good enough but we aren't in a good place right now between injuries and things in camp aren't great either.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1103 - 25/05/2024 20:23:53    2547066

Replying To dave1988:  "Didn't deserve to be hammered by 12 but we were and unless you are fit and conditioned energy then that's what will happen against the top teams. Thought we had a couple of good performances Il hold my hands up and say fair play to Robbie Dolan I thought he held his own and cregg Is a class act. Higgins played well to but unfortunately we have a couple of passengers on the team in our half forward line especially. Add nothing to the team but work rate and that should come from anyone wearing the jersey"
I thought Dolan was a grafter and did decent but was out muscled a few times, that just comes from conditioning. Yep I'd second the hat tips to McCormack as well. A serious worker and brilliantly direct. We also managed the black card very well.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 25/05/2024 20:24:57    2547067

Replying To endgame:  "Brave by Roscommon for so long but a 12 point defeat in the end. Agree about the 45. I've seen Cunnane take a few 45s for Roscommon and he hasn't even properly lifted the ball so a change needed there. Best game Conor Cox has had for some time so that's a positive. Daire Cregg also will be a top forward. Great to see Ultan Harney , Keith Doyle and Ben back on the pitch. Great speed from Niall Higgins out of defence. Enda Smith's form is a concern. He's been Poor all season really and we so need him to be on fire.It's all about the Mayo game now. Roscommon need to find a way to win that game. A win there and the season will open up. Must win game."
At this level you need to have consistent 45 takers. Any of the Div 1 teams will have one. Eddie Lohan needs to sort that out.

On Enda, I think he is getting more attention from opposition, which is to be expected. But he and the team need to be able to adapt to that. If he's been targeted can it be turned into an opportunity to free up someone else? Or some of the team need to step up into that playmaker role. Mighty to see Harney back, brilliant strong player.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 25/05/2024 20:31:51    2547069

What was all the talk about Ben O'Carroll being out for the year with a hamstring injury but came on for 15 mins ?? Anyone know more??

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1103 - 25/05/2024 20:45:22    2547072

Replying To dave1988:  "Think the dubs went hard from the throw in. Dublin's full back line were under serious pressure and when ye went 6 up ye dropped two sweepers back. We weren't good enough but we aren't in a good place right now between injuries and things in camp aren't great either."
Is that the word that things aren't good in the Roscommon camp. I thought the team spirit and effort were fine today. We just weren't good enough against the best team in the country.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 25/05/2024 20:55:23    2547074

Good effort lads. Some lovely scores.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8642 - 25/05/2024 21:15:01    2547081