Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Didn't Davy say Fitzpatrick had a knock ?"
Ah right. Hadn't seen that.

Wonder will Mayo try a man marking job on E Smith like Dublin? Can Stack do a man mark job on Ryan O'Donoghue? Galway targetted him very well in the Connacht final.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 26/05/2024 18:55:15    2547345

Replying To dave1988:  "I heard it all week that he was out for the year. Not just you saying it. In the pub after game yesterday and some Roscommon supporters delighted with our performance. Jesus Christ lads maybe the first change needed is our own supporters if that's what we are happy with . Mentality change needed in Roscommon big time. We won't beat mayo next Saturday playing well for 55 mins."
I dont know how we were disappointed with a draw last year but somewhat happy with a 12 point defeat this year we cant be gone back that far?

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 764 - 27/05/2024 08:49:56    2547445

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Ah right. Hadn't seen that.

Wonder will Mayo try a man marking job on E Smith like Dublin? Can Stack do a man mark job on Ryan O'Donoghue? Galway targetted him very well in the Connacht final."
Of course they will target Enda, they nullified him in the league game and in Connacht Championship. Every team will target him, it's something he needs to learn and get used to. As Davy said, he needs to find a way to create separation and get into the game. Or someone else needs to step up and take the pressure off him

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 191 - 27/05/2024 10:08:12    2547476

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Mentality has been an issue for Roscommon teams for a long time in championship. One of the reasons we haven't won a championship in Croker since 1980. In recent times we had the Mayo replay collapse, Clare, the Dublin draw last year. I feel when we play Tyrone in championship we don't believe we can win even before the team enters the field. We are definitely short top top players in a few positions but so are Donegal. They are no way as naturally talented a bunch as they were in Jim McGs first term but look at the difference hard work and belief can make. You don't need stars in every position to be a competitive team if you have the right set up and a spine of very good players. We definitely have the spine of a very good team. I know we have debated fitness before but from Davys comments throughout the league, they seem to have been looking to peak at this stage in championship. We haven't played in championship in 5 weeks so we should be fresh as daisy's.

I was wondering what happened Fitzpatrick as well. Did very well in the league game against the Dubs."
Davy Burke will have ye fired up and getting the Hyde crowd on yer side on Saturday. There'll be a lot of analyst talk about Enda Smith and Ryan O'Donoghue but it's up to other players who could profit from either of them being tightly marked to take advantage of any space that might free up. In contrast to the Connacht semi final it should be a close hard hitting game of football and hard to call based on both counties 2024 form.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7445 - 27/05/2024 10:42:10    2547507

I was at the match - disappointed with the outcome. Dublin really kicked on for the last 15 minutes and showed their quality - did feel they were in 3rd gear for the majority of the game, probably didn't expect Roscommon to be as close on the scoreboard. The luxury of being able to bring in Basquel, McCaffrey, Howard etc is something we dont have unfortunately.

Feel we will have a good chance against Mayo if Cregg and Diarmuid are on it shooting wise. Thought they both kicked some excellent scores on Saturday. Our kickouts looked like a real area to work on - Dublin pressed us and we just hoofed it long with a hit and hope and Fenton/Lahiff cleaned up breaking ball. Can't afford to do that against Mayo who have better fielders of a ball than us in the middle.

Room for improvement but not all doom and gloom going into Saturday's game - should have earned a lot from the Connaught SF and leave absolutely nothing behind this time - Can't be losing 2 games at home in 6 weeks to Mayo and putting ourselves under pressure for Game 3

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 27/05/2024 11:25:47    2547536

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Davy Burke will have ye fired up and getting the Hyde crowd on yer side on Saturday. There'll be a lot of analyst talk about Enda Smith and Ryan O'Donoghue but it's up to other players who could profit from either of them being tightly marked to take advantage of any space that might free up. In contrast to the Connacht semi final it should be a close hard hitting game of football and hard to call based on both counties 2024 form."
Yerra!!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 191 - 27/05/2024 13:02:09    2547608

Replying To Rossfan93:  "I was at the match - disappointed with the outcome. Dublin really kicked on for the last 15 minutes and showed their quality - did feel they were in 3rd gear for the majority of the game, probably didn't expect Roscommon to be as close on the scoreboard. The luxury of being able to bring in Basquel, McCaffrey, Howard etc is something we dont have unfortunately.

Feel we will have a good chance against Mayo if Cregg and Diarmuid are on it shooting wise. Thought they both kicked some excellent scores on Saturday. Our kickouts looked like a real area to work on - Dublin pressed us and we just hoofed it long with a hit and hope and Fenton/Lahiff cleaned up breaking ball. Can't afford to do that against Mayo who have better fielders of a ball than us in the middle.

Room for improvement but not all doom and gloom going into Saturday's game - should have earned a lot from the Connaught SF and leave absolutely nothing behind this time - Can't be losing 2 games at home in 6 weeks to Mayo and putting ourselves under pressure for Game 3"
Good post. Not alone could Dublin bring on four substitutes with 14 All Ireland medals: Jack McCaffrey (6), Paddy Small (4), Colm Basquel (2), Sean Bugler (2), they could also afford to take off three players who have won 17 All Ireland medals and 6 All Stars between them; Paul Mannion, Niall Scully, Brian Howard. Difficult for any team to match that array of talent on the panel in fairness if you come from a small playing population. Dublin have also won several close All Ireland's by bringing on fast legs ( C.C, MDM, KMc) to test tiered legs in the past, and they continue to use this weapon today.
Looking forward to the match against Mayo on Saturday and hopefully the Roscommon supporters will come out in force to support the team. If our forwards maintain their shooting accuracy, and we can win more breaking ball at mid-field I think that we will really put it up to Mayo.
I think that the team put in a serious effort ( motivation) last Saturday and were just beaten by a better team/panel on the day. (Particularly the last 6-7 minutes of play) Maybe I am being too optimistic?

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 27/05/2024 13:24:32    2547626

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Ah right. Hadn't seen that.

Wonder will Mayo try a man marking job on E Smith like Dublin? Can Stack do a man mark job on Ryan O'Donoghue? Galway targetted him very well in the Connacht final."
Mayo always do a man marking job on Enda Smith. Pundits was full of praise for John Smalls marking job last Saturday but more often than not they doubled up on him. Dublin also showed us great respect by having all 15 men behind the ball for the majority of our attacks with the clear objective to not concede any goal after Louth got two against them.

What is probably not known about Enda is he came into that game with just two training sessions since the Mayo match five weeks ago, unable to train due to illness so it was a plus that he got 70 minutes into his legs in that match which will hopefully bring him on for this Saturday as we'll need his influence and a lot more to pull off upset win.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3818 - 27/05/2024 14:21:15    2547662

Replying To The_analyser:  "Mayo always do a man marking job on Enda Smith. Pundits was full of praise for John Smalls marking job last Saturday but more often than not they doubled up on him. Dublin also showed us great respect by having all 15 men behind the ball for the majority of our attacks with the clear objective to not concede any goal after Louth got two against them.

What is probably not known about Enda is he came into that game with just two training sessions since the Mayo match five weeks ago, unable to train due to illness so it was a plus that he got 70 minutes into his legs in that match which will hopefully bring him on for this Saturday as we'll need his influence and a lot more to pull off upset win."
I thought he looked a bit distressed during the 2nd half.
Hope his health is OK.
If we can maintain our shooting accuracy from last Saturday we have a great chance.
Was it only 3 wides?
Mind you we'll need more than 16 shots.
Dublin had I think 7 wides, 21 scores and at least 2 into Conor's hands.
30 attempts to 16.
Even Mayo would bate us if that's repeated.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1627 - 27/05/2024 15:49:02    2547698

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "I thought he looked a bit distressed during the 2nd half.
Hope his health is OK.
If we can maintain our shooting accuracy from last Saturday we have a great chance.
Was it only 3 wides?
Mind you we'll need more than 16 shots.
Dublin had I think 7 wides, 21 scores and at least 2 into Conor's hands.
30 attempts to 16.
Even Mayo would bate us if that's repeated."
I had it at 20 shots a few efforts was kicked short. 13 scores from 20 was improvement on 13 from 28 shots against Mayo last month.

Dublin seem to always hit around 27 to 32 shots per game and if you manage to not concede goals against them you can avoid a double digit margin of defeat against them, we were on course to doing that until the 65th minute.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3818 - 27/05/2024 16:38:14    2547716

Replying To The_analyser:  "I had it at 20 shots a few efforts was kicked short. 13 scores from 20 was improvement on 13 from 28 shots against Mayo last month.

Dublin seem to always hit around 27 to 32 shots per game and if you manage to not concede goals against them you can avoid a double digit margin of defeat against them, we were on course to doing that until the 65th minute."
If we'd kept out the goals 19-13 wouldn't have been a bad night's work.
We've got to treat Saturday as if it were a knock out game and play accordingly.
If we keep Mayo to c.20 shots they'll hardly score more than 12/13 of them.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1627 - 27/05/2024 17:25:20    2547731

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "If we'd kept out the goals 19-13 wouldn't have been a bad night's work.
We've got to treat Saturday as if it were a knock out game and play accordingly.
If we keep Mayo to c.20 shots they'll hardly score more than 12/13 of them."
Needs to be a strong focus to not concede any goals on Saturday, the one we conceded a month ago to Aidan O'Shea you would be disappointed if our U15 team defended in that way never mind the senior team.

They scored 16 times from 24 shots against us and they had 29 shots in the Connacht final scoring 15 times Galway conceding no goal went a long way to winning that game.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3818 - 27/05/2024 18:12:18    2547751

Replying To The_analyser:  "Mayo always do a man marking job on Enda Smith. Pundits was full of praise for John Smalls marking job last Saturday but more often than not they doubled up on him. Dublin also showed us great respect by having all 15 men behind the ball for the majority of our attacks with the clear objective to not concede any goal after Louth got two against them.

What is probably not known about Enda is he came into that game with just two training sessions since the Mayo match five weeks ago, unable to train due to illness so it was a plus that he got 70 minutes into his legs in that match which will hopefully bring him on for this Saturday as we'll need his influence and a lot more to pull off upset win."
Didn't realise that, hope he is over it now and has made a full recovery. Well definitely if he or anyone is double marked in a game there has to be a plan to exploit that.

Agreed on the defensive side of things. The AOS goal was criminal. Look at how effectively Galway marshalled him and O'Donoghue. We need to adopt a similar approach. Is Colin Walsh still involved in the panel? I thought he was going to step up to be that rare species in Roscommon, a really good man marking back after seeing him during that u20 run.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 28/05/2024 09:47:17    2547838

Quite muted build up for our game Saturday, very unusual for when Mayo come to town.

I'm sure closer to the time this will change, but maybe this will suit us a bit? They would want to be chomping at the bit on Saturday and I think they will be. How are ye all feeling for it?

Maybe its naivety, but I am quietly confident we can upset the odds.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 153 - 30/05/2024 09:10:24    2548291

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Quite muted build up for our game Saturday, very unusual for when Mayo come to town.

I'm sure closer to the time this will change, but maybe this will suit us a bit? They would want to be chomping at the bit on Saturday and I think they will be. How are ye all feeling for it?

Maybe its naivety, but I am quietly confident we can upset the odds."
If we play for the 75/80 minutes we can win.
If we run out of steam around 60 minutes we won't.
Hopefully the Dublin game will have got a load of lads up to speed. We need to treat it as a knock out game but the safety net might allow for a more adventurous approach in the later stages.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1627 - 30/05/2024 10:27:10    2548312

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Quite muted build up for our game Saturday, very unusual for when Mayo come to town.

It's impossible to know what we will do. I think we have to just go for it . Half forward line needs a shake up big time. Team I'd go with and just have a go and outscore mayo.
1 Carroll
2 Murray
3 stack
4 Higgins
5 N Daly
6 McCormick
7 Dolan
8 Doyle
9 Fallon
10 Cregg
11 Harney
12 Enda
13 Ben
14 Murtagh
15 Cox ( proved his form last weekend)

Thought last weekend Cox did well and Dolan done better than most so probably deserves another shot Saturday. Lennon O'Rourke and Runane have had so many chances but not good enough.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1103 - 30/05/2024 10:43:17    2548320

Replying To dave1988:  "It's impossible to know what we will do. I think we have to just go for it . Half forward line needs a shake up big time. Team I'd go with and just have a go and outscore mayo.
1 Carroll
2 Murray
3 stack
4 Higgins
5 N Daly
6 McCormick
7 Dolan
8 Doyle
9 Fallon
10 Cregg
11 Harney
12 Enda
13 Ben
14 Murtagh
15 Cox ( proved his form last weekend)

Thought last weekend Cox did well and Dolan done better than most so probably deserves another shot Saturday. Lennon O'Rourke and Runane have had so many chances but not good enough."
Interesting team. Really big call to suggest dropping four players from last week's team as the four players you suggest should be starters did not really set the world on fire when they came on. Imagine if it were Eddie Nolan, Cian McKeon and Ciaran Murtagh were three of the substitutes coming on.
The modern game requires mobile and energetic players to cover space when defending and draw opposition defenders out of position to make space for our shooters. It depends on the game plan for different teams and also the size of the pitch etc. Obviously the management can observe who is going well in training/challenge games and who is struggling. (Conor Cox last week for example)
I do not really like critizing individual players in an open forum, but I would suggest that one of the substitutes was not really himself (fitness) and another looked like he maybe had lost a yard of pace compared to last year. Hopefully they will prove me wrong if they are involved.
I will support whatever team the management picks. I expect Roscommon to really put it up to Mayo and win a very close game by 2 points.
We need a large and vocal Roscommon support on Saturday. Could not believe the lack of atmosphere at the last Roscommon/Mayo game in the Hyde. This is a big game for Roscommon and a win could turn the whole season around!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 30/05/2024 11:27:27    2548334

The whole season is muted and I thought it was just us but it appears the same for most counties. Diarmuid O Connor (hamstring) has now joined Paddy Durkan on the sidelines for us. Morale and expectation very low in Mayo this year. Will see how far we can get but we ain't challenging. Game on sat is 50/50 in my opinion, could go either way. Roscommon have better forwards but I think we have a better midfield and stronger back six. Either way Dublin are ripping the group so this game will likely tell
Who gets a home preliminary quarter.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11302 - 30/05/2024 12:40:27    2548365

Did ye see the second Dublin goal?
Half the team galloped the length of the field without a hand left on them.
Why can't Roscommon try this?

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 30/05/2024 12:54:03    2548370

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Interesting team. Really big call to suggest dropping four players from last week's team as the four players you suggest should be starters did not really set the world on fire when they came on. Imagine if it were Eddie Nolan, Cian McKeon and Ciaran Murtagh were three of the substitutes coming on.
The modern game requires mobile and energetic players to cover space when defending and draw opposition defenders out of position to make space for our shooters. It depends on the game plan for different teams and also the size of the pitch etc. Obviously the management can observe who is going well in training/challenge games and who is struggling. (Conor Cox last week for example)
I do not really like critizing individual players in an open forum, but I would suggest that one of the substitutes was not really himself (fitness) and another looked like he maybe had lost a yard of pace compared to last year. Hopefully they will prove me wrong if they are involved.
I will support whatever team the management picks. I expect Roscommon to really put it up to Mayo and win a very close game by 2 points.
We need a large and vocal Roscommon support on Saturday. Could not believe the lack of atmosphere at the last Roscommon/Mayo game in the Hyde. This is a big game for Roscommon and a win could turn the whole season around!"
I thought the same. Our subs just weren't able to give us the lift we needed at the end of the game, not necessarily their fault with lads trying to get back to full fitness, just the way it was. The half forward line that was picked were grafters and did a lot of thankless work. Maybe it was just the way we were set up but we need to be getting more scores from those lads as well. Hard to know how team selection will go but Conor Cox has certainly made it his business to be in the starting selection again.

I'm hoping for a big performance on Saturday. The players, management and supporters need it. I know there's talk of it not really important whether we come second or third, but I would suggest it does. Not that the Hyde is anything of a fortress for us but the hassle of playing in a venue the other side of the country is not ideal a week after playing Cavan. We still might have lost a prelim QF last year at home anyway but that trip to Cork didn't help. Plus it's one more headache and distraction for management to be trying to organise hotels etc at short notice.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 30/05/2024 13:36:45    2548381