Looked very assured today, never in doubt really after the 20th minute of the first half. Always good to be motoring nicely into a Connaught final but still an ask to go up to Castlebar and pull out all the stops. LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 45 - 20/04/2025 19:28:22 2603182 Link 0 |
Yeah he's a class act fitted in seamlessly He's not a sexy choice but mulkerins form last 12 months been excellent The 3 I really thought who needed to step up today were tierney finnerty and mcdaid and all were outstanding Darcy as a kickout option was just unreal. Hopefully a fully fit Walsh comer Cooke as year progresses jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1456 - 20/04/2025 19:46:22 2603190 Link 0 |
Well done today. We have been very poor the last couple of months but I thought we would give it a better go today. For yourselves I think that group will win an all Ireland in the next couple of years and maybe this year if ye can get Walsh and comer on the pitch. Ye will be very hard stop. Conroy is some man for his age and few bad injuries over the years but he must be a top class professional to keep going and always delivers for ye.
dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1234 - 20/04/2025 20:00:21 2603195 Link 5 |
Good performances through the field. Great to see Sean Kelly getting back to himself. Hard to see us bating Mayo in Castlebar all the same, after scalping them there in 2016, 2018 and 2022. Four championship wins in a row over Mayo in Castlebar is one of those things that you just don't expect to see. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4081 - 20/04/2025 20:43:42 2603217 Link 0 |
That's because Joycie, Scan and Divo read the blog and took good advice - it happens.. It's no secret good fielding and accurate kicking is now huge in the latest version of football..
Really (Galway) - Posts: 629 - 20/04/2025 21:00:22 2603225 Link 1 |
100% God he'll be missed when he's gone. Dictated the game today at his own tempo. 5pts from play The highest scoring midfielder of all time surely? Would be close between him and Fenton but I'd imagine Conroy's ahead PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 263 - 20/04/2025 21:05:41 2603226 Link 1 |
All two easy for Galway today reminded me of 10 point win against Mayo in the league this spring with the same lack of fizz or any intensity to the game. New rules and still not a good spectacle. Saying all that a solid team performance by Galway from back to front such a well coached team. Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 381 - 20/04/2025 21:46:52 2603235 Link 1 |
PJ said afterwards that Walsh is unlikely to make the Connacht final. Said he has 2 muscle injuries. Not even back training yet. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 21/04/2025 02:10:53 2603279 Link 0 |
They did two solid weeks of it my friend. Darcy even mentioned their two weeks of specific work in prep for the aerial battle in his interview. This team needed to address that weakness and boy did it pay off. A brilliant performance in the air yesterday. What a platform it created.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1042 - 21/04/2025 09:36:46 2603294 Link 2 |
Best team performance for a long time you can see David Morris coaching all over it. This team will start most games and imagine having , Cooke, Comer, Walsh, Daniel Flaherty ,John Daly, Heaney,Sweeney, Hernon,Tomo, O Laoi I and Sam O neill on the bench. Definitely strength in depth Galway2001 (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 21/04/2025 10:01:30 2603301 Link 0 |
Air D'Arcy! Jeepers, Céin took off yesterday. The midfield dominance was a joy to behold yesterday and not something I'd seen a Galway team do, in terms of controlling the aerial battle to that degree, since Kevin Walsh was in his prime. Great work done on this aspect of our game, which wasn't really up to scratch. I hope and feel now we can keep this going. That middle sector dominance creates some platform for the team to kick into action. togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1042 - 21/04/2025 10:17:10 2603304 Link 2 |
I wonder will they fix Galway v mayo in minor semi final as curtain raiser to senior match it definitely make sense in my opinion Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1052 - 21/04/2025 10:17:50 2603305 Link 1 |
He is back... Trained yesterday morning... Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 21/04/2025 11:06:29 2603316 Link 0 |
McDaid looks fit, great energy and pace in his game
Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 362 - 21/04/2025 11:25:34 2603322 Link 0 |
I think we'd miss Maher nearly as much, a player who's brought some serious oomph to the Galway middle third in the past couple of seasons.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4081 - 21/04/2025 12:06:19 2603334 Link 0 |
Positives crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 104 - 21/04/2025 14:04:09 2603376 Link 0 |
What you make of yesterday Kickitout interested to hear your thoughts on it? Thought Galway controlled the game well, especially when Roscommon had a purple patch in second half we had long attacks after and killed momentum they had built up Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 21/04/2025 14:33:17 2603389 Link 0 |
Massive bench options, very hard for lads to even make the 26, Thompson looked natural and is a huge addition. Only hernon molloy o laoi o con and faherty didn't get a run, feel time is up for the 2 spiddal men when Walsh and Cooke are ready. Great headaches for a management to have and favourites for the AI
Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 228 - 21/04/2025 14:47:42 2603392 Link 0 |
Job done yesterday and we were superb. Kelly and McDaid have found form and playing the extra defender was a super decision. It freed up Silke and Kelly who both caused major damage on the transition and prevented an transgression on the 4 back. Roscommon couldn't get a decent player into the free role and David Murray got stuck as the free man and was in no mans land for much of the game. A coaching master class by the Galway backroom team. GDL (Galway) - Posts: 791 - 21/04/2025 15:34:47 2603400 Link 0 |
Good controlled win yesterday nevere under any pressure at all Roscommon were a lot poorer than I thought but as a Roscommon man said to me they lost Cavan drew with Westmeath and got well beater. By Monaghan but down through the years Ross were always tough to beat ,, it be easy pick team v mayo id imagine Cooke be pushing hard for spot on bench ,, bookies have Galway at 1/5 I'd say never before have Galway being such raging fav hopefully they put minor semi final on before it be good for young players from both counties , Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1052 - 21/04/2025 16:01:48 2603409 Link 0 |