Galway Football thread

It was the draw I would've wanted. I think the others would've been trickier. However I don't think a win is guaranteed. We barely got past Sligo and handed Armagh the draw.

This is knockout. Best team available needed.

I think most people know a win is nowhere near guaranteed.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1683 - 17/06/2024 13:11:59    2552333

Replying To cocopop:  "yes it is same team that was named on paper however
daly did not start the game, i would start him next weekend
i would start heaney if darcy is not able to play
comer would also be starting if he were fit

what would your team be"
I guess it all depends on injuries. Mulkerins, darcy, daly with injuries. How is Sean Kelly and mcdaid after yesterday. Any chance of Damien comer. But all other things being equal pj shouldn't and won't tinker much with a side that played very well v armagh.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 864 - 17/06/2024 13:43:52    2552346

Replying To galwayfball:  "It was the draw I would've wanted. I think the others would've been trickier. However I don't think a win is guaranteed. We barely got past Sligo and handed Armagh the draw.

This is knockout. Best team available needed.

I think most people know a win is nowhere near guaranteed."
In fairness, the last lad that guaranteed anything in sport, and delivered on it, was possibly Joe Namath in '68.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3615 - 17/06/2024 13:51:43    2552350

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "In fairness, the last lad that guaranteed anything in sport, and delivered on it, was possibly Joe Namath in '68."
Ger Loughnane at half-time in '95. "We're going to do it", said Ger. They went and did it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2096 - 17/06/2024 14:00:34    2552359

PJ quoted afterwards 'that's the first short kick-out goal that we've conceded in my five years as manager.'

With a defensive record like that, we can expect the Athletico Madrids and Inter Milans of this world to come circling for PJs services the next time they've a vacancy.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3615 - 17/06/2024 14:01:33    2552361

Replying To veterngaa:  "Beggan didn't give away the ball? Did you watch the game .. dangerous territory if you think we are coming to lie down"
Who thinks you are coming to lie down? Why do Monaghan supporters always want to make it a scenario where it's them v the rest, or that they hype up this story where they think nobody is giving them a chance it's a bit silly.

Hopefully ye enjoy your weekend in Galway this weekend and the weather is nice.

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 50 - 17/06/2024 14:28:29    2552385

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "Who thinks you are coming to lie down? Why do Monaghan supporters always want to make it a scenario where it's them v the rest, or that they hype up this story where they think nobody is giving them a chance it's a bit silly.

Hopefully ye enjoy your weekend in Galway this weekend and the weather is nice."
well said. very paranoid monaghan "fan" trying to create something that's not there.

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 32 - 17/06/2024 14:58:44    2552393

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "An easy win?... Scrapped past Sligo and Westmeath.
Press our kick outs and we'll give you a 50/50, move into space off your own and you'll win all yours.. that's a good base for any half decent team to beat us off."
Didn't lose to better Mayo and Armagh teams. Galway 1-15 Monaghan 0-12 is my prediction.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3407 - 17/06/2024 15:04:04    2552396

It's been a mixed bag of a year and we're constantly plagued with injuries as a result of which we haven't strung two decent performances together back-to-back. We're getting good performances from different players in every game, so consistency is a real issue. Hard to say what the morale of the team will be after yesterday's draw. They went in as under dogs, comfortably outperformed the fancied team, and then shot themselves in the head. I'd say this is a 50/50 game.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3114 - 17/06/2024 15:24:24    2552401

Ah come on now lads, everyone in the country knows that Galway are raging hot favourites for this game at the weekend. Even with the bookies, Galway have the shortest odds of any of the teams to win, for all 4 games in prelim quater finals and rightly so.
Monaghan supporters will be travelling more in hope then expectation, its just been that kind of a season for us with lads retiring, taking a break and a long injury list.
Its a great oppertunity for our younger players to step up though and get valuable championship experience.
Its all on the day and I just hope Monaghan go at it and make a good game of it. Get a bit of luck and who knows what might happen. All the pressure is on Galway in this one. Up the Farney!

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 129 - 17/06/2024 15:30:11    2552408

Replying To festinog:  "It's been a mixed bag of a year and we're constantly plagued with injuries as a result of which we haven't strung two decent performances together back-to-back. We're getting good performances from different players in every game, so consistency is a real issue. Hard to say what the morale of the team will be after yesterday's draw. They went in as under dogs, comfortably outperformed the fancied team, and then shot themselves in the head. I'd say this is a 50/50 game."
It's not a 50/50 game stop the nonsense. Will you lay me even money on Galway if you consider it a 50/50 game?

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 50 - 17/06/2024 16:32:02    2552427

Bye bye Monaghan hopefully the Quarter Finals are open draw and get another crack at Armagh!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2325 - 17/06/2024 17:10:06    2552445

It's quite unlikely but if we win along with mayo Roscommon and Louth are we guaranteed to have to play Dublin?

Will suit more then ever for mayo and rossies to lose

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1185 - 17/06/2024 17:22:12    2552452

not the result we wanted yesterday but the performance was strong and our work rate was outstanding just a few
things cost us on the day that would disappoint the lads but its not all bad..
firstly the injuries are a major problem and after yesterday we can add a few more to the list which is
very frustrating as a fully fit squad we are a match for anyone i believe..

ive no douth p.j will make a few changes but lets be warned..this wont be an easy game so like yesterday
lets get behind the lads big time on saturday..they deserve massive support and there the sole senior team
left in both codes so no excuses and its a home game..

changes i think will see tomo o flaherty molloy and maybe heaney too all start..possible niall daly or egan too..

i think we could see cunningham, o currain on the bench and posssibly comer will make the bench to
and give him 20 mins he if can...
hope mulkerrins and darcy are ok..thought mulkerrins was outstanding yesterday..

on a side no i see all pre lim matches are all on gaago...personally i think its a disgrace that not one if not
two games are not on free to air for the elderly and sick to cant get to the games..
it makes me sick tbh..

anyway lads ill see ye saturday at 4..
drive it on lads..
Gaillimh abu

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 257 - 17/06/2024 17:22:55    2552454

Replying To katser:  "Bye bye Monaghan hopefully the Quarter Finals are open draw and get another crack at Armagh!"
Quarter finals are not open draw, repeat of group stages and provincial pairings are to be avoided.
This means Galway will play Dublin, Kerry or Donegal in a quarter final, if you win on Saturday. Best of luck with that :)

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 129 - 17/06/2024 17:27:31    2552456

To quote the A Year Til' Sunday…

"We're still alive… WELL ALIVE LADS, WELL ALIVE!"

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1596 - 17/06/2024 17:33:54    2552461

To quote the A Year Til' Sunday…

"We're still alive… WELL ALIVE LADS, WELL ALIVE!"

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1596 - 17/06/2024 17:37:44    2552465

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "It's not a 50/50 game stop the nonsense. Will you lay me even money on Galway if you consider it a 50/50 game?"
Sure i will. And I'll give you a free house, trip to Disneyland, and make you Taoiseach for the day.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3114 - 17/06/2024 18:04:41    2552473

Should beat Monaghan but I think we all know how this ends in Croke Park. Aren't we lucky we have one of the best underage goalkeepers in the country warming the bench….

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 727 - 17/06/2024 18:46:55    2552488

I like Galway this year. But you need to learn to manage leads at this stage if the championship. With Comer back ye will be a hell of a challenge!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8642 - 17/06/2024 18:59:17    2552493