Galway Football thread

Disappointing result.
I thought we showed great control and patience in possession. Nearly always found our man with a decent pass.
If injuries don't ruin us we're not in bad shape.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 358 - 17/06/2024 19:04:25    2552495

Replying To katser:  "Bye bye Monaghan hopefully the Quarter Finals are open draw and get another crack at Armagh!"
Cannot play Armagh in QF. One of Dublin, Donegal or Kerry.
Possibly Armagh in a semi final

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3115 - 17/06/2024 19:21:34    2552497

Quarter final not open draw if Galway do win they play , Kerry , Dublin or Donegal,, I definitely not be writing Monaghan off Galway struggle v Sligo same v Westmeath and did not beat 14 man Derry by much and Derry kicked 6 balls in goalie hand firsr half ,even yesterday v Armagh galway were much better team but did not put Armagh away snd it cost them Galway' won't hammer teams 2 many players being played out position as I've said lots times on here Kelly , Mcdaid, Darcy not forwards ,, all good players but not forwards Hernon another player and molloy played in forwards thett not either ,, and the man thar scored 1-03, from 4 chances v Monaghan in league getting no chance management seems they want play midfielder and backs in forwards instead of natural scoring forwards ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 891 - 17/06/2024 19:24:50    2552498

Replying To gbay:  "not the result we wanted yesterday but the performance was strong and our work rate was outstanding just a few
things cost us on the day that would disappoint the lads but its not all bad..
firstly the injuries are a major problem and after yesterday we can add a few more to the list which is
very frustrating as a fully fit squad we are a match for anyone i believe..

ive no douth p.j will make a few changes but lets be warned..this wont be an easy game so like yesterday
lets get behind the lads big time on saturday..they deserve massive support and there the sole senior team
left in both codes so no excuses and its a home game..

changes i think will see tomo o flaherty molloy and maybe heaney too all start..possible niall daly or egan too..

i think we could see cunningham, o currain on the bench and posssibly comer will make the bench to
and give him 20 mins he if can...
hope mulkerrins and darcy are ok..thought mulkerrins was outstanding yesterday..

on a side no i see all pre lim matches are all on gaago...personally i think its a disgrace that not one if not
two games are not on free to air for the elderly and sick to cant get to the games..
it makes me sick tbh..

anyway lads ill see ye saturday at 4..
drive it on lads..
Gaillimh abu"
Who are you removing to bring in all these players??? One player in particular you named to come to in lord above.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1185 - 17/06/2024 21:45:35    2552523

Good to see the club championship draw done. Couple of lopsided groups and then one very strong group with Corofin, Tuam and Claregalway in it. At the end of the day I think it is between Corofin, Mountbellew, Moycullen, Claregalway and maybe Salthill to win it out although I'd say Salthill can probably be ruled out given Rob Finnerty will probably be having surgery on his knee once Galway's year is over.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 727 - 17/06/2024 23:13:51    2552545

Replying To galway19:  "Good to see the club championship draw done. Couple of lopsided groups and then one very strong group with Corofin, Tuam and Claregalway in it. At the end of the day I think it is between Corofin, Mountbellew, Moycullen, Claregalway and maybe Salthill to win it out although I'd say Salthill can probably be ruled out given Rob Finnerty will probably be having surgery on his knee once Galway's year is over."
Not sure I agree with the draw done before the league is complete.
Tuam and Claregalway meet in a league semi final this weekeend and are also in the same Championship group, could potentially ruin their team line-up or the way they play to cause mind games between each other and not make the league campaign as competitive.

Maybe I'm wrong, personal opinion!

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 18/06/2024 08:38:45    2552577

According to Tommy Rooney from the football pod Comer is unlikely to play this year.

Think our Goose is cooked. If we had finished 1st and got an easier quarter final draw we could potentially have gotten that and hoped Comer was back for a semi-final. Without him we've no hope in a potential quarter final against Dublin, Kerry or Donegal.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 18/06/2024 08:41:04    2552579

Monaghan have won the last few clutch games against Galway in recent times, a famous double scores win in 2018 saw monaghan advance to an all Ireland semi final (Galway were already through)
Both teams lost 7 days later to tyrone and dublin. In 2021, monaghan stole victory from the Jaws of defeat to relegate Galway from division 1. The game will be fondly remembered for banty being in the stand on his Nokia 3210. However it should be noted Galway have a healthy league record in recent times over the farney winning in 2018, 2019, 2020, 2023 and 2024. And p Joyce is of course married to a monaghan lady.

222 (UK) - Posts: 730 - 18/06/2024 08:43:13    2552582

Replying To centrefield99:  "According to Tommy Rooney from the football pod Comer is unlikely to play this year.

Think our Goose is cooked. If we had finished 1st and got an easier quarter final draw we could potentially have gotten that and hoped Comer was back for a semi-final. Without him we've no hope in a potential quarter final against Dublin, Kerry or Donegal."
Is the same Tommy Rooney doubling up as Galway physio or team doctor? We've heard all kinds of stories about different players' injuries over the years from various sources, only for them to he proved completely wrong.
Leave the speculation until we actually know. For now the lads have to beat Monaghan on Saturday. We'll see what comes after that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2096 - 18/06/2024 09:18:48    2552593

Replying To ahsure.:  "To quote the A Year Til' Sunday…

"We're still alive… WELL ALIVE LADS, WELL ALIVE!""
A few moves like this on Sat. should unsettle the Carney. Uncork the champagne..

https://x.com/TomasORuanaidh/status/1537217401032671232

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 101 - 18/06/2024 09:27:12    2552595

Can we just go out and beat the you know what out of someone? Of course Monaghan could trip anyone up but it just shouldn't happen, they've only won one game in 5 months. When are we in Galway going to break through our glass ceiling, totally outperform as a unit, and blow the opposition off the field? We're too deferential - always thinking we might, just might, be better than another team by a point or two. Kerry and Dublin don't think that way, it's not the mindset. As a Kerry man that knows what he's talking about said to me, if it was Kerry going into that draw, rightly or wrongly, they'd be of the mindset that they'd not only beat the pick of the three counties we could have got, but they'd beat them off the field. It doesn't always prove true but it's the mindset. We've set our ceiling too low in these encounters. Time to put a marker down with a monster performance.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 920 - 18/06/2024 10:14:06    2552614

Is finnerty injured he seemed to be carrying a knee injury on Sunday, in fairness he played ok but with games coming thick and fast he must be a serious doubt to keep playing if Galway progress.. hugely important player to yous especially with comer out

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2476 - 18/06/2024 10:35:46    2552626

The championship is knockout now, we need to focus on Monaghan or we are toast.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1692 - 18/06/2024 10:47:03    2552636

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "A few moves like this on Sat. should unsettle the Carney. Uncork the champagne..

https://x.com/TomasORuanaidh/status/1537217401032671232"
we need to move on

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 18/06/2024 10:49:57    2552638

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Is the same Tommy Rooney doubling up as Galway physio or team doctor? We've heard all kinds of stories about different players' injuries over the years from various sources, only for them to he proved completely wrong.
Leave the speculation until we actually know. For now the lads have to beat Monaghan on Saturday. We'll see what comes after that."
Comer wasn't doing any running on the pitch beforehand though I thought. If he was even close he'd have been doing that at least.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 18/06/2024 10:53:38    2552641

This is a 'Monaghan' team in name only lads. It's a world apart from the hardy side that on their best days could really trouble the bigger counties. In an way, the more recognisable names on the team sheet- Hughes, O'Connell, Wylie, McManus, McCarron- have hidden this fact to more casual observers. No more. The miles are up and the new crop haven't got to the standard yet. That often happens when a generational team all grows old together- the falloff is stark.
Galway will be comfortable enough if they show up at all, but we are hoping Vinny Corey can let youth have its chance on the day. Looking forward to the spin to Galway.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1089 - 18/06/2024 11:01:03    2552643

Yes we should respect Monaghan and it'll be a tough challenge but this isn't the Monaghan team of a few years ago. We all know that. If we have any aspirations of doing anything in this years championship we should be beating these lads with a bit to spare… It's time to get a bit ruthless here, look at what Kerry did to them and look at their record this year, played 11, won 2, lost 8, drew 1.

Ive noticed a few Monaghan people talking about a lack of respect towards them, which is laughable really as a the commentary has been fairly balanced in here. People are simply dealing on the basis of all known form and the facts laid out in front of them, no disrespect intended.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1596 - 18/06/2024 12:47:01    2552694

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "This is a 'Monaghan' team in name only lads. It's a world apart from the hardy side that on their best days could really trouble the bigger counties. In an way, the more recognisable names on the team sheet- Hughes, O'Connell, Wylie, McManus, McCarron- have hidden this fact to more casual observers. No more. The miles are up and the new crop haven't got to the standard yet. That often happens when a generational team all grows old together- the falloff is stark.
Galway will be comfortable enough if they show up at all, but we are hoping Vinny Corey can let youth have its chance on the day. Looking forward to the spin to Galway."
Traditionally, Monaghan bring a directness and steely resolve to all encounters. This is straight knockout, so, we expect nothing but the same pride and determination from you. Tbh, we often wish our players had more of these qualities, as we know they have the skills, yet.. they can be frustrating to watch at times. In fairness, Maher and D'Arcy have added much needed physicality to our setup. Best of luck to both team's.

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 101 - 18/06/2024 13:55:46    2552727

Replying To togoutlads:  "Can we just go out and beat the you know what out of someone? Of course Monaghan could trip anyone up but it just shouldn't happen, they've only won one game in 5 months. When are we in Galway going to break through our glass ceiling, totally outperform as a unit, and blow the opposition off the field? We're too deferential - always thinking we might, just might, be better than another team by a point or two. Kerry and Dublin don't think that way, it's not the mindset. As a Kerry man that knows what he's talking about said to me, if it was Kerry going into that draw, rightly or wrongly, they'd be of the mindset that they'd not only beat the pick of the three counties we could have got, but they'd beat them off the field. It doesn't always prove true but it's the mindset. We've set our ceiling too low in these encounters. Time to put a marker down with a monster performance."
I think Galway are playing too conservatively for the players they have - all this back and forth, slow, lateral play is ok to a degree but sometimes they just have to go for the jugular including going for goals along with points. Of course when it breaks down like after the soft goal conceded in the Armagh game where there was "chaos" for the last 15 mins or so is where all this goes out the window and then it can be too late to claw it back. As you say, they have to show more ruthlessness and less of this "dilly-dallying" with the slow build up play scoring a nice point here and a point there which may end up with Galway being a point or two ahead at the end. That is just a fearful approach to important games which usually ends up in tears.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 18/06/2024 14:57:14    2552748

Replying To tommy k:  "I think Galway are playing too conservatively for the players they have - all this back and forth, slow, lateral play is ok to a degree but sometimes they just have to go for the jugular including going for goals along with points. Of course when it breaks down like after the soft goal conceded in the Armagh game where there was "chaos" for the last 15 mins or so is where all this goes out the window and then it can be too late to claw it back. As you say, they have to show more ruthlessness and less of this "dilly-dallying" with the slow build up play scoring a nice point here and a point there which may end up with Galway being a point or two ahead at the end. That is just a fearful approach to important games which usually ends up in tears."
There is a tremendous irony that under the guidance of one of our greatest ever forwards, the team plays with such timidity.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3114 - 18/06/2024 15:11:10    2552750