I don't care what county our Manager comes from no more than what county a Doctor operating on me is from or my Priest or Postman, etc. just get the job done please. I have a lot of confidence in Shefflin that he will do his best. That's all I can ask from him or anyone in that position. Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2491 - 16/03/2022 11:15:01 2405674 Link 1 |
Our footballers have scored the same as our hurlers in the league! Well, 123 v 124 points. And our footballers are doing this with a ball that's almost 5 times the weight and multiple times the size of a slightly overweight tennis ball that a strong keeper can puc out to just in front of the full forward line at 100 mph or put over from 90+m out! Fair dues to our footballers - That's some shooting! togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1045 - 21/03/2022 11:58:02 2406150 Link 1 |
That's a very observant observation. But then again, Galway has really always been more of a footballing county. Either way, fair play to ye for having both codes now in Division 1. Aren't the Dubs the only other county to do that? And sure it'd be a poor trial of them with their population if they couldn't. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2199 - 21/03/2022 13:37:24 2406192 Link 1 |
You forgetting Cork have all Irelands in both codes this millenium? Although it's a few years since they were in div1 of the league in Football. Wexford have been div 1 in hurling and football this millenium too.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15565 - 21/03/2022 13:51:29 2406201 Link 2 |
"Either way, fair play to ye for having both codes now in Division 1. Aren't the Dubs the only other county to do that?" "Now" is the key word that you missed. It means at the moment, not this millennium. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2199 - 21/03/2022 14:23:57 2406216 Link 1 |
Galway footballers are currently in div2 if you really want to be that pedantic.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15565 - 21/03/2022 14:26:56 2406218 Link 2 |
Galway footballers had already secured promotion to Div 1 when I wrote my post. It's not my issue that you are unable to comprehend what's written down in black and white in front of you.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2199 - 21/03/2022 14:46:36 2406227 Link 1 |
'Conor Cooney is a fine hurler who has never thrived at 11 at this level, and he isn't going to start now.' Cooney had one good league campaign at no11 imo. I think it was 2014, when Joe Canning was club tied for an entire NHL campaign, while winning a 4th club all-ireland with Portumna. Looking at our recent NHL selections, it would seem imperative for Galway's 2022 championship side that C.Cooney thrives at 11 at this level. Looks like no other game in town 'on the 40' after this season's NHL campaign. Conor Cooney or bust at no11!! Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4119 - 21/03/2022 14:53:54 2406229 Link 1 |
Yes I know. So if you want to repost that not NOW, but the next year in this millennium, it will be correct. Right NOW it's not. : D
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15565 - 21/03/2022 20:46:31 2406337 Link 2 |
It was 2014, from memory. Whatever about Conor Cooney thriving or otherwise at 11, if he is our only target when we go long it's game over. And that's what it's shaping like until J. Cooney and Monaghan swap positions which I would say is close to inevitable unless we are going to hit everything short. Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 22/03/2022 17:50:27 2406566 Link 1 |
Fill in the blanks? LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 24/03/2022 11:37:09 2406808 Link 1 |
Simple enough exercise, we've had a perhaps disturbingly consistent selection throughout the NHL. Murphy Grealish D.Burke Morrissey/Fitzpatrick Mannion McInerney F.Burke/Killeen J.Cooney Glennon Monaghan C.Cooney Fahy Concannon Whelan C.Mannion Alternates:- Goalie :- Fahy Backs :- TJ Brennan + the 2 above Midfield :- Coen & David Burke Forwards :- Niland Might pull a couple of 'springers' in the next 4 weeks, into that 22. They're badly needed, and 'form springers' too. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4119 - 24/03/2022 12:11:35 2406820 Link 2 |
Is Fintan Burke fast enough for a modern day wing back?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15565 - 24/03/2022 16:37:39 2406904 Link 1 |
If every team in the country was fully in tune with 'modern day' requirements, perhaps Limerick would have some credible rivals, instead of kicking everyone's ass most of the time. I never clocked Burke at the combine, but he can cut sidelines over swinging off both sides, which is pretty cool. You won't see that at Augusta next month. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4119 - 24/03/2022 16:55:17 2406907 Link 1 |
Hes a very good player for sure. And probably a **** hot golfer too! Dunno how hed fare out in a championship game at wing back against Cork or Limerick or other running type teams is all.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15565 - 24/03/2022 20:25:39 2406938 Link 1 |
No one in their right mind would play McIneerney at 3 and Burke at 6 again!
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/03/2022 08:50:55 2406953 Link 1 |
All the great teams 'kicked everyone's ass' when they were at their peak. The Tipp team of the mid sixties and the KK side of the oughties were classic examples of this. However both those sides came down to Earth fairly quickly in the end and this Limerick side will do the same.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 25/03/2022 09:32:30 2406957 Link 1 |
Any word on Jason Flynn ? Been injured a while at this stage now. BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 25/03/2022 10:05:58 2406964 Link 1 |
Indeed. It could happen in a matter of weeks actually. I don't see, not that I can't see, Galway, Cork or even Waterford (but I'd like that after Kiely's men) win the AI this year. However, I'd be no bit surprised at all to see Cody or Bonnar relieve Kiely of that cup. Both KK and Tipp have both just this innate habit of randomly picking up AI titles when they're not expected to. As regards the other teams JB that I've mentioned, I think Henry is priming Galway that bit better than Egan is priming Wexford (won't be able to keep it up) and it's fair to compare the two as both in Year 1 . Whereas, both Cork and Waterford have established managers. As much as it disappoints me to say it, I think the Waterford lads, when push comes to shove will let Cahill down. Whereas in Cork, I think that it's the opposite; the manager will let the players down. Kingston was never the man for the Cork job, and certainly not one for a second spell. I predict that Cork will have at least one red card per every game they play this championship. And that is most un-Cork like…boy! foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2199 - 25/03/2022 10:43:57 2406977 Link 1 |
It's Larry…!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2199 - 25/03/2022 10:44:53 2406978 Link 1 |