Galway Hurling thread

Not sure if it's been mentioned, but fair play to Sarsfields on their club All-Ireland yesterday. They were well deserving winners and had an energy Oulart couldn't match. Siobhán McGrath was outstanding. It's been a great few months for Galway camogie. Oulart's reign as All-Ireland champions must be one of the shortest.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2305 - 07/03/2022 15:12:04    2404298

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Not sure if it's been mentioned, but fair play to Sarsfields on their club All-Ireland yesterday. They were well deserving winners and had an energy Oulart couldn't match. Siobhán McGrath was outstanding. It's been a great few months for Galway camogie. Oulart's reign as All-Ireland champions must be one of the shortest."
It was a really good game also, very high quality with the ball in play for much longer than you'd be used to seeing in hurling.

A great win for Sarsfields who were the better side throughout and clearly had their homework done on the OTB puckouts.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 07/03/2022 15:44:40    2404307

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Can't be a surprise to anyone that we'd be dominated in the middle third by that Cork selection. Their well practiced Plan A,B&C is to flood the middle third with runners & 'play thru the lines', pinging it about to loose runners, & utilising their pace & teamwork from there. It's their style of play, well established with them for a number of seasons now.

In complete contrast, Galway had an inexperienced middle third on the night, with at least 3or4 fellas on 'low cap totals'. We too were trying to play 'the Cork way' though for the main part, with a definite determined effort to play thru the lines & retain possession until the scoring chance gets created. Imo, there were at least two problems with that approach on the night.

(1) we're not as adept as Cork with that method, and why would we be? They've been playing that style for years, while we've largely been playing more of a long ball/win your own possession type game. Now we've new players playing a largely new style of ball game. Will take time/practice to improve it.

(2) The second problem also relates to this 'playing through the lines' approach, but it could be a chronic crippling problem for Galway with this style of play going forward. That's the lack of players with REAL PACE available to us. Apart from Cathal Mannion & maybe 'old' David Burke, have we any 'middle third' players with real pace? Tis doubtful. I haven't seen enough of Glennon or Monaghan in that regard. Cork & Waterford have a lot of pacey players, which complements their 'thru the lines' gameplan. Limerick don't bring as much pace to the table, but make up for it with unparalleled strength & fitness & power, which means they're generally laying down the law all over the field. They boss the collisions.

Galway 2022 could find themselves in the unfortunate situation that they haven't the pace to trouble the top teams 'playing thru the lines', while also lacking the overall physicality to boss the collisions and win enough contested possessions, if that 'plan A running game' runs aground for a lack of speedsters."
Surprisingly I agree with a lot of what you said pope and I also mentioned the lack of pacey players that Galway have in order to "play through the lines". Galway are "falling between the 2 stools" of trying to "play through the lines" and it breaking down or hitting it long into a bunch of players who are not really "ball winners" except perhaps for Whelan who seems to be slipping in a lot in tussles for possession (new pair of wet weather boots required perhaps?) which results in easy clearances for the opposition and not the slightest hint of a goal being scored or even created by Galway. There is no real shape to the play and dare I say it, it looks like Galway are "playing like individuals" again to use another great cliche thrown at Galway down through the years. Conor Cooney has quietly but steadily regressed back to his poor form for Galway shown over the last few years (missing more than scoring, poor in possession, anonymous when the going gets tough etc.) and even our best overall player Cathal Mannion has regressed a lot also in the last couple of games. Without those 2 in good form we are going nowhere. Hastings to me is a game lad but is not fast enough or skillful enough for intercounty. Workrate has also dropped off a cliff in the last couple of games and Cork players had "acres of space" to steady themselves and take a score while also having some time left over to put the kettle on for a cuppa if required! Glennon and Monaghan the only bright sparks in a very poor display. I'm not totally despondent yet but I'm getting there fast!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 08/03/2022 13:21:24    2404452

we all no we are in transition lads and as long as we remain competitive whils't giving new
guys as much gametime as possible thats the main thing..

we can expect brian concannon back for the start of the championship.,i wouldnt be surprised
to see him again clare., jason if he doesnt have a setback should be back for the 3rd//4th
round of the championship..

im expecting to see eanna burke get game time for the clare game along with kevin cooney.,evan niland
and cianan fahy..

as of now cork and waterford are the top two.,with limerick and wexford 3 and 4.,but thats only
now as we speak.,championship is a different ball game and things can change rapidly..

im expecting us too be seriously competitive and very hard to beat if we can remain injury free..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 266 - 08/03/2022 16:33:32    2404501

Replying To gbay:  "we all no we are in transition lads and as long as we remain competitive whils't giving new
guys as much gametime as possible thats the main thing..

we can expect brian concannon back for the start of the championship.,i wouldnt be surprised
to see him again clare., jason if he doesnt have a setback should be back for the 3rd//4th
round of the championship..

im expecting to see eanna burke get game time for the clare game along with kevin cooney.,evan niland
and cianan fahy..

as of now cork and waterford are the top two.,with limerick and wexford 3 and 4.,but thats only
now as we speak.,championship is a different ball game and things can change rapidly..

im expecting us too be seriously competitive and very hard to beat if we can remain injury free.."
Why hasnt Eanna been getting game time, is he injured? With confidence high after club campaign(ala conor cooney)he should have been persisted with for the first couple of games. Confidence at this level is what is holding him back

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 518 - 09/03/2022 12:31:18    2404599

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Why hasnt Eanna been getting game time, is he injured? With confidence high after club campaign(ala conor cooney)he should have been persisted with for the first couple of games. Confidence at this level is what is holding him back"
i dont no why.,he got 55 minutes against limerick after along club campaign and we havent seen
him since..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 266 - 09/03/2022 17:20:41    2404658

Replying To gbay:  "i dont no why.,he got 55 minutes against limerick after along club campaign and we havent seen
him since.."
He was not used to the pace of intercounty and he was blocked down, dispossessed or fumbled possession a few times in the Limerick game (he had scored a good point against Offaly the week before when introduced as a sub) but I would certainly give him more chances to see if he can get up to speed.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 09/03/2022 17:42:19    2404665

Replying To tommy k:  "Surprisingly I agree with a lot of what you said pope and I also mentioned the lack of pacey players that Galway have in order to "play through the lines". Galway are "falling between the 2 stools" of trying to "play through the lines" and it breaking down or hitting it long into a bunch of players who are not really "ball winners" except perhaps for Whelan who seems to be slipping in a lot in tussles for possession (new pair of wet weather boots required perhaps?) which results in easy clearances for the opposition and not the slightest hint of a goal being scored or even created by Galway. There is no real shape to the play and dare I say it, it looks like Galway are "playing like individuals" again to use another great cliche thrown at Galway down through the years. Conor Cooney has quietly but steadily regressed back to his poor form for Galway shown over the last few years (missing more than scoring, poor in possession, anonymous when the going gets tough etc.) and even our best overall player Cathal Mannion has regressed a lot also in the last couple of games. Without those 2 in good form we are going nowhere. Hastings to me is a game lad but is not fast enough or skillful enough for intercounty. Workrate has also dropped off a cliff in the last couple of games and Cork players had "acres of space" to steady themselves and take a score while also having some time left over to put the kettle on for a cuppa if required! Glennon and Monaghan the only bright sparks in a very poor display. I'm not totally despondent yet but I'm getting there fast!"
Jesus is your glass ever even half full, having a cut off lads after league matches in the depths of winter that nobody but yourself is remotely bothered about is a poor show indeed. Doesn't seem like this is the sport for you, if I'm honest.

Whelan doesn't need new boots, has it not occurred to you that he goes over the ball to protect it for himself given that it's generally in a 2 v 1 situation when the ball arrives. Hardly a situation of his own creation. I don't think his footwear is contributing to 'easy clearances for the opposition'.

Conor Cooney is a fine hurler who has never thrived at 11 at this level, and he isn't going to start now. That we don't have an outstanding candidate for the position, which has seen him pressed into service there, should hardly be used as a stick to beat him with. I'm sure, given the option, we would be better off with him in the inside line, but

Cathal Mannion is a summer hurler who hardly can be said to thrive in 'soft going'. He hardly hit a meaningful ball the last day. So what. Class is permanent.

Hastings might or might not make it but we don't know at this stage. Maybe one could file him under the category of 'players who don't look better with every game they actually play'.

The reality is that we don't know what the training schedule is, what the targets are, what the plan is, how seriously the league is being taken (not very, is my uneducated guess) so there's little point in seeking out negatives. Workrate can be a difficult thing to keep up when you're in heavy training and your management are demonstrating a pronounced lack of interest in winning matches, preferring to experiment, hence the number of changes from game to game.

Hardly surprising that players are 'playing like individuals' in that context. Lads are out there trying to make an impression in order to make a championship panel or team. I'm not sure why this would be news?

You managed to miss a very impressive display from Tiernan Killeen, there weren't too many 'acres of space' around him on Saturday evening and he hurled a huge amount of ball, he reminded me of a young Padraic Mannion.

For all this 'space' Cork had, they managed one goal, which was a gift, and their best player on the night was Patrick Horgan, for all that we are being told that Cork's young players are going to sweep all before them in time.

I don't care that we are 'going nowhere' in February/March. It's not an issue.

The time to be concerned is at half-time in Wexford Park next month if all is not well and Wexford players have 'acres of space' and have 'time left over to put the kettle on'.

If we are going nowhere then, we have a problem.

The league has seen a lot of shadow boxing, I mean we aren't expecting Limerick (particularly) or Tipperary to be remotely as bad as they have looked in the league come championship, why would we not expect a significant level of improvement from ourselves for the games that matter?

We will be favourites for this game despite it being in Wexford, this wouldn't be the case if the bookies took league form seriously. If they don't, why would anyone else?

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 10/03/2022 20:38:47    2404853

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Jesus is your glass ever even half full, having a cut off lads after league matches in the depths of winter that nobody but yourself is remotely bothered about is a poor show indeed. Doesn't seem like this is the sport for you, if I'm honest.

Whelan doesn't need new boots, has it not occurred to you that he goes over the ball to protect it for himself given that it's generally in a 2 v 1 situation when the ball arrives. Hardly a situation of his own creation. I don't think his footwear is contributing to 'easy clearances for the opposition'.

Conor Cooney is a fine hurler who has never thrived at 11 at this level, and he isn't going to start now. That we don't have an outstanding candidate for the position, which has seen him pressed into service there, should hardly be used as a stick to beat him with. I'm sure, given the option, we would be better off with him in the inside line, but

Cathal Mannion is a summer hurler who hardly can be said to thrive in 'soft going'. He hardly hit a meaningful ball the last day. So what. Class is permanent.

Hastings might or might not make it but we don't know at this stage. Maybe one could file him under the category of 'players who don't look better with every game they actually play'.

The reality is that we don't know what the training schedule is, what the targets are, what the plan is, how seriously the league is being taken (not very, is my uneducated guess) so there's little point in seeking out negatives. Workrate can be a difficult thing to keep up when you're in heavy training and your management are demonstrating a pronounced lack of interest in winning matches, preferring to experiment, hence the number of changes from game to game.

Hardly surprising that players are 'playing like individuals' in that context. Lads are out there trying to make an impression in order to make a championship panel or team. I'm not sure why this would be news?

You managed to miss a very impressive display from Tiernan Killeen, there weren't too many 'acres of space' around him on Saturday evening and he hurled a huge amount of ball, he reminded me of a young Padraic Mannion.

For all this 'space' Cork had, they managed one goal, which was a gift, and their best player on the night was Patrick Horgan, for all that we are being told that Cork's young players are going to sweep all before them in time.

The time to be concerned is at half-time in Wexford Park next month if all is not well and Wexford players have 'acres of space' and have 'time left over to put the kettle on'.

The league has seen a lot of shadow boxing, I mean we aren't expecting Limerick (particularly) or Tipperary to be remotely as bad as they have looked in the league come championship, why would we not expect a significant level of improvement from ourselves for the games that matter?

We will be favourites for this game despite it being in Wexford, this wouldn't be the case if the bookies took league form seriously. If they don't, why would anyone else?"
You're right about the bookies. Galway are currently favourites at 11/10 for the Leinster Championship. Followed by Kilkenny at 9/4, then Wexford at 9/2 and Dublin at 13/2.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2740 - 11/03/2022 11:28:18    2404890

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Jesus is your glass ever even half full, having a cut off lads after league matches in the depths of winter that nobody but yourself is remotely bothered about is a poor show indeed. Doesn't seem like this is the sport for you, if I'm honest.

We will be favourites for this game despite it being in Wexford, this wouldn't be the case if the bookies took league form seriously. If they don't, why would anyone else?"
Pigeon, while I seldom agree with you, I do this time. That Tommy lad is rarely right and never knowledgeable. Is there any chance ye could transfer him over to Mayo or the Rossies (parental rule or a grandmother's birth cert) to become their Mr. Pessimism supporter? They would t like it, but Galway don't like Mayo nor Roscommon anyway. It'd be a win-win for Galway.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2199 - 11/03/2022 12:22:06    2404907

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You're right about the bookies. Galway are currently favourites at 11/10 for the Leinster Championship. Followed by Kilkenny at 9/4, then Wexford at 9/2 and Dublin at 13/2."
I think Galway and Kilkenny should be equal favourites. Probably the home games each has that has the odds skewed the way they are. But apart from that the odds look around right.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15565 - 11/03/2022 12:38:37    2404913

Nailed it 100% agree .this time last year we looked **** hot only to crumble come championship
This seems yo be the first year in a long time we actually seem to have found a couple of lads Glennon Monahan who are genuine starters and kileen looks a real baller.

rallenmchugh (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 11/03/2022 12:41:27    2404914

King Henry reminds me alot of gentleman Joe Biden.
Things have gotten worse since he came along but he's been given a break because people didn't like the other guy.
If Davy was in charge of our hurlers I'd say there'd be calls for his head already.
Of course it's all about the championship at the end of the day but it'd be nice to have ar least something in the league to take optimism from. Your post is based almost completely on assumption.
I was at the wexford league game and you could hear a pin drop in the crowd. You might be right, perhaps they're keeping their powder dry but to me half the players looked like they didn't want to be there.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 11/03/2022 18:33:41    2404979

Replying To Galway9801:  "King Henry reminds me alot of gentleman Joe Biden.
Things have gotten worse since he came along but he's been given a break because people didn't like the other guy.
If Davy was in charge of our hurlers I'd say there'd be calls for his head already.
Of course it's all about the championship at the end of the day but it'd be nice to have ar least something in the league to take optimism from. Your post is based almost completely on assumption.
I was at the wexford league game and you could hear a pin drop in the crowd. You might be right, perhaps they're keeping their powder dry but to me half the players looked like they didn't want to be there."
Calling for his head? Eh no. Even the daftest supporter wouldn't be suggesting that after a handful of league games only.
You do realise we were awful in our 2 championship games last year. Since then our best player has retired. What are you expecting after 4 league games?
There's a big job in rebuilding the team. It's not going to be done in a few months between January and March. Bíodh foighid agat.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2305 - 11/03/2022 22:01:14    2404998

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Calling for his head? Eh no. Even the daftest supporter wouldn't be suggesting that after a handful of league games only.
You do realise we were awful in our 2 championship games last year. Since then our best player has retired. What are you expecting after 4 league games?
There's a big job in rebuilding the team. It's not going to be done in a few months between January and March. Bíodh foighid agat."
Oh I totally get that it's ridiculous to call for any managers head after only a few league games, but one thing I noticed when it was announced that Henry had got the gig was how delighted everyone was, not because he got it, but because Davy didn't.
People just seriously didn't like the guy, and had he been appointed half of galway would have been hoping he'd fail.
Now as I said Henry may do great things with this team, but if he doesn't, rather than admit they were wrong about Davy, most of those fans will keep making excuses for him.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 12/03/2022 10:12:28    2405014

I was at the wexford league game and you could hear a pin drop in the crowd. You might be right, perhaps they're keeping their powder dry but to me half the players looked like they didn't want to be there."
Wise up, fella. Henry needs 2 or 3 years to build a proper team. I mean a team with a toughness and style of its own, carved in his way. Galway undoubtedly has the hurling talent to compile the 'style' part of that team. I think Galway can also deliver on the toughness, but that's something that's not gonna happen overnight. Henry will need to cut some current deadwood (players there too long who while not bad, aren't really fueling a new engine).

And Galway hurling was so lucky to miss what would have amounted to a terrible train wreck with DF. Fitz's style of hurling management is so outdated nowadays; if it was ever even there to begin with!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2199 - 12/03/2022 12:41:09    2405026

Well, If you want to say there's nothing in the league to take optimism from, that's up to you.

Personally, I like the look of Glennon, Monaghan is playing really well, Killeen had a fine game v Cork, other players are being tried (Hastings, Kevin Cooney).

I'm taking optimism from that.

Your negativity is based almost completely on league games in winter that nobody is that invested in.

I'm not saying I know any more about it than you but when the choice is between optimism or pessimism, I would choose optimism, as even if your pessimism proves accurate, it's not likely to make you any happier. These are men not machines.

Plus, last year's league saw us in great form in Feb and March. That went well when it actually mattered..

You also can't forget that the league is useful for finding out what doesn't work. This might actually be its most useful function.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 12/03/2022 12:42:14    2405027

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Well, If you want to say there's nothing in the league to take optimism from, that's up to you.

Personally, I like the look of Glennon, Monaghan is playing really well, Killeen had a fine game v Cork, other players are being tried (Hastings, Kevin Cooney).

I'm taking optimism from that.

Your negativity is based almost completely on league games in winter that nobody is that invested in.

I'm not saying I know any more about it than you but when the choice is between optimism or pessimism, I would choose optimism, as even if your pessimism proves accurate, it's not likely to make you any happier. These are men not machines.

Plus, last year's league saw us in great form in Feb and March. That went well when it actually mattered..

You also can't forget that the league is useful for finding out what doesn't work. This might actually be its most useful function."
I agree with you 100%. Every team uses the League differently depending on their situation. If it meant anything we should be all condemning Limerick as they haven't won a game yet but we all know better. Limerick are the best team until proven otherwise. Galway are testing out players which I believe they SHOULD be doing.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2491 - 12/03/2022 13:56:44    2405037

Replying To Galway9801:  "Oh I totally get that it's ridiculous to call for any managers head after only a few league games, but one thing I noticed when it was announced that Henry had got the gig was how delighted everyone was, not because he got it, but because Davy didn't.
People just seriously didn't like the guy, and had he been appointed half of galway would have been hoping he'd fail.
Now as I said Henry may do great things with this team, but if he doesn't, rather than admit they were wrong about Davy, most of those fans will keep making excuses for him."
The last time a Clare man was in charge of Galway he left them in a much worse state than he found them, it was all about his ego. I don't think it would be much different with DF although he'd probably not castigate them in public. I don't think the Galway public dislike DF personally, however, they wouldn't like his antics, his histrionics and unprofessional behaviour on the sideline. Whatever Shefflin brings it will be all about the hurling, as it should be.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 13/03/2022 08:18:07    2405099

Replying To Galway9801:  "Oh I totally get that it's ridiculous to call for any managers head after only a few league games, but one thing I noticed when it was announced that Henry had got the gig was how delighted everyone was, not because he got it, but because Davy didn't.
Now as I said Henry may do great things with this team, but if he doesn't, rather than admit they were wrong about Davy, most of those fans will keep making excuses for him."
What a weird flex.

Why would 'half of Galway be hoping he'd fail'?

We would want any manager to be successful and if he was we would all be happy that he was, whether we wanted him initially or not would be completely irrelevant.

'Henry may do great things with this team, but if he doesn't, rather than admit they were wrong about Davy, most of those fans will keep making excuses for him'

Why would Shefflin 'not doing great things with this team' mean people were 'wrong about Davy'? Why would you think the two are connected in any way?

Shefflin proving to be the 'wrong man' in time (which could happen of course) does not by extension make Davy Fitzgerald the 'correct man'.

We are looking for a manager who can get the best out of the playing resources available, whoever that might be. At this stage we should all hope Shefflin is the right man. We will find out in due course.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 14/03/2022 11:53:56    2405355