Galway Hurling thread

TJ Reid is left handed and some of ye are talking unreal rubbish. Wouldn't know a hurl from a slash hook.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 278 - 02/03/2022 20:00:45    2403547

Replying To TanCanRan:  "TJ Reid is left handed and some of ye are talking unreal rubbish. Wouldn't know a hurl from a slash hook."
WellIf Jackie Tyrell was left handed then TJ must be right handed?? Turns out all these years I never knew my right from my left :-D

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/03/2022 13:34:07    2403630

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Was Jackie Tyrrell 'a left handed hurler'? I don't think so."
Nowhere is it said that Tyrrell is left-handed. I don't know what's difficult to understand about Tash's post. He suggests that Tyrrell and a few others didn't like marking left-handed hurlers.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2199 - 04/03/2022 13:15:59    2403792

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Nowhere is it said that Tyrrell is left-handed. I don't know what's difficult to understand about Tash's post. He suggests that Tyrrell and a few others didn't like marking left-handed hurlers."
Actually I think that you have misinterpreted, and I think that I have interpreted correctly.

Tash 'exampled' Jackie along with 3 known offenders in his point, and the THEM in 'anyone who played on them' imo related to those 4 players as a group. The 'offence' being that they were left handed hurlers. You've chosen to interpret THEM as the all encompassing set of all left handed hurlers, which I don't believe was what Tash had in mind. Why would he isolate 3 left handed hurlers from this all encompassing set to make his point? He wouldn't surely, which is why I think you're wrong.

You'll just have to ask Martin Storey's moustache for confirmation either way. I'll be appealing, if the decision falls your way.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4118 - 04/03/2022 18:16:17    2403825

I read that Conor Whelan will be back for Galway. While I'm glad he is ok to play I hope they don't get too dependent on him like they used to be with Joe Canning. Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2491 - 04/03/2022 21:32:15    2403832

It's a poor indictment of all the underage success over the last few years and then we are still starting a player like Coen in 2022.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 882 - 05/03/2022 20:30:26    2403981

What a performance
Touch - terrible
Team work - terrible
Tackling - terrible
Work rate - terrible
Shooting - terrible
Hit and hope hero efforts - top class

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1920 - 05/03/2022 20:39:02    2403988

Replying To Mayonman:  "What a performance
Touch - terrible
Team work - terrible
Tackling - terrible
Work rate - terrible
Shooting - terrible
Hit and hope hero efforts - top class"
I'd love to argue with you but I can't. You're 100% right. R.I.P. to Shefflins brother. Far too young. Sigh.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2491 - 05/03/2022 20:45:49    2403989

0-23 tonight and 17 wides from a Galway team that were 2nd to most balls and never looked like winning is very baffling!
That's alot of scoring chances to create for a team who were clearly second best!!
Roll on the Championship!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2554 - 05/03/2022 20:51:21    2403990

Hurling is a glorified had passing competition it's brutal stuff I pity the people who make hurleys for a living they soon be able go out without them ,, Galway be lucky get through Leinster in my opinion they poor ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1059 - 05/03/2022 21:09:24    2403996

Replying To katser:  "0-23 tonight and 17 wides from a Galway team that were 2nd to most balls and never looked like winning is very baffling!
That's alot of scoring chances to create for a team who were clearly second best!!
Roll on the Championship!!"
Think ye're starting to burn oil.....

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 05/03/2022 21:10:50    2403998

Replying To Mayonman:  "What a performance
Touch - terrible
Team work - terrible
Tackling - terrible
Work rate - terrible
Shooting - terrible
Hit and hope hero efforts - top class"
I think you are being a bit harsh. Touch and shooting brutal. But you could not fault effort. To be honest I was surprised we were as close to Cork as we were despite all our shortcomings. Unfortunately you would be concerned about our hurling ability and our physicality going forward.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 981 - 05/03/2022 21:12:13    2404000

Although this evening was concerning I'd take it with a pinch of salt, lads take a step back remember it's March and it's only the league. We were flying last year and look what followed.

I think we will be okay.

Condolences to Henry, his family and the local community. That's what's most important this evening.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1668 - 05/03/2022 21:30:44    2404005

Replying To katser:  "0-23 tonight and 17 wides from a Galway team that were 2nd to most balls and never looked like winning is very baffling!
Roll on the Championship!!"
Limerick could have scored 5-40 on that Cork side in last years allireland final, so that explains the 0-23 imo.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4118 - 05/03/2022 21:37:57    2404006

Replying To Kickitout:  "Hurling is a glorified had passing competition it's brutal stuff I pity the people who make hurleys for a living they soon be able go out without them ,, Galway be lucky get through Leinster in my opinion they poor ,,"
Well at least they are not hand passing the ball into the net like they used to do back in the eighties and hand passing has been a feature of the game at least since Cork won an All Ireland in '99, with two Midfielders and four Forwards who were all well under six feet.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 05/03/2022 21:43:12    2404009

Replying To anotheralias:  "I think you are being a bit harsh. Touch and shooting brutal. But you could not fault effort. To be honest I was surprised we were as close to Cork as we were despite all our shortcomings. Unfortunately you would be concerned about our hurling ability and our physicality going forward."
Maybe. But if we were beaten by 15 points it would have been a fairer reflection.

If I was to look for any positive aspect I know our hurlers don't lack skill so maybe tonight was an off night.

Tackling technique was terrible. Seemed to tackle side on and continously got stepped or rolled. Didn't tackle front on and bottle players up and certainly didn't swarm tackle as a team. Not the hardest skill to teach so is fixable.

And the family bit is positivity...... we've used the most players in the league so maybe that's part of the reason for lacking fluency.

That's me putting the most positive slant I can think of!

Condolences to Sheflin family.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1920 - 05/03/2022 21:56:07    2404015

Replying To Mayonman:  "Maybe. But if we were beaten by 15 points it would have been a fairer reflection.

If I was to look for any positive aspect I know our hurlers don't lack skill so maybe tonight was an off night.

Tackling technique was terrible. Seemed to tackle side on and continously got stepped or rolled. Didn't tackle front on and bottle players up and certainly didn't swarm tackle as a team. Not the hardest skill to teach so is fixable.

And the family bit is positivity...... we've used the most players in the league so maybe that's part of the reason for lacking fluency.

Condolences to Sheflin family."
Positive aspects include eyecatching displays by Glennon, Monaghan and particularly Tiernan Killeen. Murphy had a good day in goal also.

It's difficult to read too much into the league as a whole so it's probably best to embrace the positives only.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 07/03/2022 11:20:16    2404203

Glennon taps over a few nice scores... looks to be a nice hurler.

But thought as a whole Galway were absolutely dominated in middle third.

Tom Mon offers a lot more than Sean Loftus but would I have 100% faith in him starting a championship match... I'm not so sure.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 07/03/2022 11:42:17    2404211

Replying To Mayonman:  "Maybe. But if we were beaten by 15 points it would have been a fairer reflection.

Condolences to Sheflin family."
15 points?!! What match were you looking at? It rarely looked like slipping beyond 5or6 to me. Galway kept the scoreboard clicking all day, and shot 17 wides on top of their 0-23 scoring haul. Cork would have needed a stack of goals to win by 15 points, against a team that secured enough possession to shoot 23 points & 17 wides. The one goal that Cork did get was a soft concession by Daithi Burke, who played well I thought, apart from that one glaring gaffe.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4118 - 07/03/2022 14:12:54    2404281

Replying To BLT:  "Glennon taps over a few nice scores... looks to be a nice hurler.

But thought as a whole Galway were absolutely dominated in middle third.

Tom Mon offers a lot more than Sean Loftus but would I have 100% faith in him starting a championship match... I'm not so sure."
Can't be a surprise to anyone that we'd be dominated in the middle third by that Cork selection. Their well practiced Plan A,B&C is to flood the middle third with runners & 'play thru the lines', pinging it about to loose runners, & utilising their pace & teamwork from there. It's their style of play, well established with them for a number of seasons now.

In complete contrast, Galway had an inexperienced middle third on the night, with at least 3or4 fellas on 'low cap totals'. We too were trying to play 'the Cork way' though for the main part, with a definite determined effort to play thru the lines & retain possession until the scoring chance gets created. Imo, there were at least two problems with that approach on the night.

(1) we're not as adept as Cork with that method, and why would we be? They've been playing that style for years, while we've largely been playing more of a long ball/win your own possession type game. Now we've new players playing a largely new style of ball game. Will take time/practice to improve it.

(2) The second problem also relates to this 'playing through the lines' approach, but it could be a chronic crippling problem for Galway with this style of play going forward. That's the lack of players with REAL PACE available to us. Apart from Cathal Mannion & maybe 'old' David Burke, have we any 'middle third' players with real pace? Tis doubtful. I haven't seen enough of Glennon or Monaghan in that regard. Cork & Waterford have a lot of pacey players, which complements their 'thru the lines' gameplan. Limerick don't bring as much pace to the table, but make up for it with unparalleled strength & fitness & power, which means they're generally laying down the law all over the field. They boss the collisions.

Galway 2022 could find themselves in the unfortunate situation that they haven't the pace to trouble the top teams 'playing thru the lines', while also lacking the overall physicality to boss the collisions and win enough contested possessions, if that 'plan A running game' runs aground for a lack of speedsters.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4118 - 07/03/2022 14:59:57    2404297