Galway Hurling thread

Not much to be learned from those games. 4-31 scored and I'd give man of the match to the Westmeath goalie. He definitely saved four if not five certain goals with the penalty and four point blank saves from Jamie Ryan and McLoughlin

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 03/02/2024 15:37:37    2524028

Great start to the League for Galway.....a whopping 31pt victory with literally alot of the artillery missing!
Next Weekend v Tipperary is the "big one"!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 03/02/2024 15:42:55    2524030

Replying To katser:  "Great start to the League for Galway.....a whopping 31pt victory with literally alot of the artillery missing!
Next Weekend v Tipperary is the "big one"!!"
Yes we'll learn a lot more next week than today. Hon Galway.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 03/02/2024 16:12:11    2524033

Replying To katser:  "Great start to the League for Galway.....a whopping 31pt victory with literally alot of the artillery missing!
Next Weekend v Tipperary is the "big one"!!"
I'd say some of the big hitters are a while away yet. Cathal Mannion and Brian Concannon were on the line today carrying hurls and doing water. No sign of Joey Cooney yet. Hard to imagine any of the four Thomas' lads will be togged next week.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 03/02/2024 17:18:18    2524037

Kevin Cooney out for 4/5 months, massive loss

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 03/02/2024 19:08:35    2524045

Big blow for our championship prospects with Kevin Cooney ruled out for the summer. We might cope with the loss of a defender but losing a pacey forward who is dependable for scores is about the last thing we needed.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 03/02/2024 19:10:23    2524046

Big blow for Kevin but there is loads of cover in that area with McLoughlin, Collins, Flynn, C Cooney, Jamie Ryan and can even grab one or two from the U20s if needed

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 03/02/2024 19:38:09    2524049

Conor Whelan announced as captain for the year.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 03/02/2024 20:05:00    2524058

Replying To galway19:  "Conor Whelan announced as captain for the year."
Yes that is an interesting choice with Conor Cooney as vice-captain. Whelan has always come across as a quietish type of person who is not that comfortable giving interviews etc. but I suppose you don't have to be the loudest to lead and he generally leads by example in fairness.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 04/02/2024 11:03:17    2524152

Replying To galway19:  "Big blow for Kevin but there is loads of cover in that area with McLoughlin, Collins, Flynn, C Cooney, Jamie Ryan and can even grab one or two from the U20s if needed"
Ye, it's that simple

Galwayspur (Offaly) - Posts: 230 - 04/02/2024 11:30:38    2524160

Replying To galway19:  "Big blow for Kevin but there is loads of cover in that area with McLoughlin, Collins, Flynn, C Cooney, Jamie Ryan and can even grab one or two from the U20s if needed"
Conor Conney hasn't able to translate club form to county so forget about him. I worry about Flynn didn't show enough for me his bod language is very lazy at times anyone could score 2-2 against Westmeath. Mcloughlin should have scored 2 goals yesterday in positions in where u expect him to score if that's a Kilkenny player that's rattling the back of the net but he is young and hopefully will get better Coliins is a lovely but has he got the physicality for this level I ask the same question about Jamie Ryan good club player but this is a different level.

Maroonforever (Galway) - Posts: 414 - 04/02/2024 11:45:21    2524162

Some win for Raphael's in the senior final. Oscar O'Gorman savage game and will surely start at centre back or midfield for the 20s this year. Cullen Killeen and Bobby Feeney excellent also. Niland got all bar three points for the Pres. Raphaels now play Ardscoil Ris and Pres play Nenagh CBS. I'd say looking at the Harty yesterday Ardscoil are a better side than Nenagh despite losing the game at the end.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 04/02/2024 13:28:12    2524181

Replying To Maroonforever:  "Conor Conney hasn't able to translate club form to county so forget about him. I worry about Flynn didn't show enough for me his bod language is very lazy at times anyone could score 2-2 against Westmeath. Mcloughlin should have scored 2 goals yesterday in positions in where u expect him to score if that's a Kilkenny player that's rattling the back of the net but he is young and hopefully will get better Coliins is a lovely but has he got the physicality for this level I ask the same question about Jamie Ryan good club player but this is a different level."
A bit harsh on Conor Cooney. He hasn't recaptured his club form but he has been decent. We will need Cooney if we are to do anything this year . I'd have Niland on the frees though, he is more reliable

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 04/02/2024 13:34:42    2524184

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes that is an interesting choice with Conor Cooney as vice-captain. Whelan has always come across as a quietish type of person who is not that comfortable giving interviews etc. but I suppose you don't have to be the loudest to lead and he generally leads by example in fairness."
He wouldn't be a Conor Hayes re speaking in public but he has improved a lot and goes around to schools speaking about suicide awareness - fair play to him, he's a legend. As you say Tommy, he does his talking on the pitch and that's the place to do it.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1804 - 04/02/2024 14:54:10    2524204

Replying To Trucker1:  "A bit harsh on Conor Cooney. He hasn't recaptured his club form but he has been decent. We will need Cooney if we are to do anything this year . I'd have Niland on the frees though, he is more reliable"
Not harsh at all on him imo..One of the best club hurlers in the country but just doesnt do it with the county and I dont see that changing this year. Could possibly happen with a "fresh" Conor Cooney , not one that's being going non-stop since Jan/Feb 2022 (apart from what little break he is currently enjoying) with club , then county, then club again. Players are not machines so will surprise me at least if his form doesnt dip again come summer. Same with Fintan Burke...read an interview with him last year basically complaining of burn-out and talking about how difficult it is riding 2 horses , being a successful club player and then going straight from that to back training and playing with the county without having much of a break. If we are to get the most from these St Thomas's players we shouldnt be seeing them play any hurling at all in the league , just get them back for Round 2 of the championship , that will be time enough for them.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 04/02/2024 22:07:29    2524387

Shefflin needed to get the Toms players longer off. Crazy what he's doing to them. The league is pointless in hurling and he had them back training a little over a week after the club final.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 181 - 05/02/2024 09:44:38    2524470

There really isn't (loads of cover)

Kevin Cooney was a certain starter and had demonstrated a level most of the above players you mention haven't to date

Who are the 'one or two from the U20's' capable of replacing him?

Cooney is very good in the air and is capable of winning all kinds of awkward shite ball which is not something that could be levelled at McLoughlin or Collins, whatever other qualities they may bring to the party

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 833 - 05/02/2024 10:47:20    2524490

Replying To galway19:  "Some win for Raphael's in the senior final. Oscar O'Gorman savage game and will surely start at centre back or midfield for the 20s this year. Cullen Killeen and Bobby Feeney excellent also. Niland got all bar three points for the Pres. Raphaels now play Ardscoil Ris and Pres play Nenagh CBS. I'd say looking at the Harty yesterday Ardscoil are a better side than Nenagh despite losing the game at the end."
Fair play to Raphaels, it would be great if they could win the All Ireland! The dream team of '95 a distinct memory!
That Ryan Cup Final between St Brigids Loughrea v St Raphaels Loughrea one of the best schools games ever 3-21 v 1-26!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 05/02/2024 12:54:15    2524533

Replying To katser:  "Fair play to Raphaels, it would be great if they could win the All Ireland! The dream team of '95 a distinct memory!
That Ryan Cup Final between St Brigids Loughrea v St Raphaels Loughrea one of the best schools games ever 3-21 v 1-26!"
They definitely have a chance of going all the way. Two fine hurlers in the middle with O'Gorman and Paddy McCartaigh who was starting for the Sarsfields senior team this year. Franny Forde managing them is a big help I'd say.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 05/02/2024 16:11:01    2524582

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Shefflin needed to get the Toms players longer off. Crazy what he's doing to them. The league is pointless in hurling and he had them back training a little over a week after the club final."
I agree with you and was thinking the same myself. I believe he should use them VERY sparingly. Conor Cooney and David Burke, etc have a lot of mileage on their tires. I'm sure Henry knows this as well as anyone.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 05/02/2024 19:47:51    2524630