Galway Hurling thread

Congratulations to Wexford Hurlers. I hope this match further helped Henry Shefflin to pick a team for League/Championship even if only a little.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2257 - 28/01/2024 18:38:38    2522781

Replying To Trump2020:  "Congratulations to Wexford Hurlers. I hope this match further helped Henry Shefflin to pick a team for League/Championship even if only a little."
Yes congrats to Wexford on a mighty Walsh Cup victory!
I don't know will it help HS or not.......we will have to see how it goes.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2471 - 28/01/2024 18:53:59    2522789

Replying To Viking66:  "They are fundraisers for the players FFS"
Im perfectly aware of that. They are fundraisers for injured players. But before we joined Leinster we didnt take part in it and obviously found other ways of supporting our injured players and the gate receipts from it, after all expenses are deducted, are probably so puny anyway that I expect there is very little going to the players fund. Surely players'insurance covers players injuries. Is that not what that is for? To me it is completely irrelevant where we play Wexford in the Walsh Cup....ye can play all games against us forever more in Wexford Park as far as I am concerned -- at least ye would get a crowd there. We shouldn't even bother taking part in this competition imo, -- it is a complete irrevelance from a fundraising pov and from a competitive pov in terms of finding players who will make a significant impact this summer.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1953 - 28/01/2024 19:36:16    2522815

Replying To galway19:  "Will be interesting to see how quickly the main lads are brought back in during the league. The trip to Thurles is the next big game and the last one away to Limerick. Games against Westmeath, Antrim and Dublin gives a chance for rotation. The other league group definitely looks stronger.

I see it is 6/5 each of two ourselves and Kilkenny in the Leinster championship betting and any price you like on the rest."
Wouldn't be the first time we won leinster on long odds

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 28/01/2024 20:30:28    2522835

Replying To Tiger1:  "Wouldn't be the first time we won leinster on long odds"
Probably somewhere between 2004 and 2019 level outsiders...probably slighty closer to 2004 level odds.
Galway and Kilkenny justified in being favorites. Dublin and Wexford can beat Galway and Kilkenny but never the both of them (well Dublin can beat Galway and Wexford can beat Kilkenny)

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 28/01/2024 21:28:50    2522851

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Probably somewhere between 2004 and 2019 level outsiders...probably slighty closer to 2004 level odds.
Galway and Kilkenny justified in being favorites. Dublin and Wexford can beat Galway and Kilkenny but never the both of them (well Dublin can beat Galway and Wexford can beat Kilkenny)"
Impossible to say what way championship will go. Galway will likely have Whelan, Concannon, Cathal and Padraig Mannion, Daithi, Fintan and David Burke, Cooney back. We will likely have Rory O Connor, Dee O Keefe, Matthew O Hanlon, Liam Ryan, Shane Reck, Conor Devitt, Mikie Dwyer, Mac back. Probably only half of both sides that played today will see action in the Park in the championship, and the intensity will be alot higher.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13746 - 28/01/2024 22:06:31    2522864

Replying To Tiger1:  "Wouldn't be the first time we won leinster on long odds"
12/1 available and even that's probably not big enough.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 790 - 28/01/2024 22:47:52    2522875

Replying To galway19:  "12/1 available and even that's probably not big enough."
Plenty of hurling to be done yet.

Best of luck for the league and we'll see you in Wexford Park soon.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3123 - 28/01/2024 22:52:15    2522878

Replying To katser:  "Yes congrats to Wexford on a mighty Walsh Cup victory!
I don't know will it help HS or not.......we will have to see how it goes."
I think this match helped Shefflin more than the others combined. He will see who performed under pressure and who didn't.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2257 - 29/01/2024 00:30:46    2522884

Replying To Trump2020:  "I think this match helped Shefflin more than the others combined. He will see who performed under pressure and who didn't."
For sure. There was better intensity to that game than a usual challenge game. There were probably 20 odd players starting who were fighting for a place on their respective teams and even panels.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13746 - 29/01/2024 07:46:56    2522894

Replying To Trump2020:  "I think this match helped Shefflin more than the others combined. He will see who performed under pressure and who didn't."
Shefflin's only issue is the amount of lads who need game time before that Limerick league match. Daithi Burke, Conor Whelan, Darren Morrissey, Sean Linnane, Cathal Mannion, Brian Concannon, Liam Collins, Joseph Cooney, Shane Cooney, Fintan Burke, Conor Cooney, David Burke. That's a lot to get back in over the next four games and get a settled side.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 790 - 29/01/2024 11:44:21    2522951

Replying To galway19:  "Shefflin's only issue is the amount of lads who need game time before that Limerick league match. Daithi Burke, Conor Whelan, Darren Morrissey, Sean Linnane, Cathal Mannion, Brian Concannon, Liam Collins, Joseph Cooney, Shane Cooney, Fintan Burke, Conor Cooney, David Burke. That's a lot to get back in over the next four games and get a settled side."
It's a good problem to have when you have lads like them coming back. I see your point though. Getting to the Walsh Cup Final was useful in this regard. Getting in the League playoffs would be nice too and it would help Henry pick a best possible panel.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2257 - 29/01/2024 14:21:15    2523016

Replying To Viking66:  "For sure. There was better intensity to that game than a usual challenge game. There were probably 20 odd players starting who were fighting for a place on their respective teams and even panels."
Wexford were the hungrier side. They won every ball and puck out. Fair play to them.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2257 - 29/01/2024 14:22:28    2523017

Side note: has Tiobraid from Tipp posted recently? I miss his posts. Usually pretty fair even when Tipp is involved.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2257 - 29/01/2024 14:32:34    2523022

Replying To Trump2020:  "Side note: has Tiobraid from Tipp posted recently? I miss his posts. Usually pretty fair even when Tipp is involved."
Sadly no. He said he wouldn't out again after he finished up his hurling championship weekly predictions competition. As you say he's a very good poster, informed and interesting. Maybe he will be back posting again.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13746 - 29/01/2024 15:34:05    2523037

Replying To Trump2020:  "Side note: has Tiobraid from Tipp posted recently? I miss his posts. Usually pretty fair even when Tipp is involved."
Canuck from Waterford hasn't posted in a long time either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13746 - 29/01/2024 16:06:40    2523054

Replying To Viking66:  "Impossible to say what way championship will go. Galway will likely have Whelan, Concannon, Cathal and Padraig Mannion, Daithi, Fintan and David Burke, Cooney back. We will likely have Rory O Connor, Dee O Keefe, Matthew O Hanlon, Liam Ryan, Shane Reck, Conor Devitt, Mikie Dwyer, Mac back. Probably only half of both sides that played today will see action in the Park in the championship, and the intensity will be alot higher."
There could be a number of "Cooneys" to come back i.e. Conor, Shane, Joseph and after yesterday's injury Kevin. There may be even another "Burke" added also i.e. Eanna and possibly Cian Mahony.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/01/2024 18:05:39    2523117

Replying To tommy k:  "There could be a number of "Cooneys" to come back i.e. Conor, Shane, Joseph and after yesterday's injury Kevin. There may be even another "Burke" added also i.e. Eanna and possibly Cian Mahony."
Joe Cooney the only automatic championship starter there for me.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13746 - 29/01/2024 23:28:04    2523208

Replying To Viking66:  "Joe Cooney the only automatic championship starter there for me."
Rest assured Viking, when the Galway team is picked, it won't be for you!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 30/01/2024 11:34:10    2523263

Replying To Viking66:  "Joe Cooney the only automatic championship starter there for me."
Don't know how you got that idea. Conor Cooney has been a regular on the team for about 12 years now and even though he may not have performed too consistently in a Galway jersey since 2017 is still probably the best club forward in Galway. Shane Cooney was also on the Galway team before a series of injuries a few years ago but is getting back to full health / form now so he will be in the shake-up for a centre-back spot. Kevin Cooney has been on the Galway panel a few years now and progressed a good degree last year to become a regular. Joe Cooney was an excellent hurler from the 80's / 90's - one of his sons is called Joseph.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 30/01/2024 12:19:08    2523276