Meath Vs Down

Beautiful day for a game. I got burned to a crisp. First thing I'd say: turnout wasnt good. I even stayed on for 20 minutes of Laois/London and the place had emptied. Poor crowd, esp given the weather. But anyway, onto the game;

Great win for Meath. Huge for confidence. The two teams were of a similar standard and there wasnt much in it. Down couldn't hit a barn door in front of goal, they'll be very dissappointed in themselves but id be surprised if they arent in the shake up later in the cup.

I thought the Ref was too pushy for both teams and could have let a lot go, but he was ok.

There was a bit of character on show today late on to come back from after the Down goal and win it. Id mirror what was said earlier, McGowan had the stones to kick over two off the ground. Fair play. In general our forwards didnt play too well, standout was Jones (brilliant), and the lads 2-9 in general who played well apart from one or two moments of poor marking. There were two goals that were squandered, esp the pass across goal to Costello (how he missed ill never know!). There was also a nervy energy in front of goal that should be worked on.

It was a close game, against a good team, in the sunshine and Meath won by 2. They won their group and look ahead deservedly. Fair play to them, theyve bounced back from the league and Leinster champ. admirally. Happy Meath fan tonight.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 03/06/2023 17:13:20    2483749

Good result against a fancied side, Down played a very energy sapping type of game and we had the legs on them near the end. Meath played with more composure, especially in second half and subs all played their part. Yes Down missed some easy chances, however we left two goal chances behind, so things balanced out. Ref was fussy but favoured neither side. Plenty to work on and overall a very positive result, so well done to all involved. Hopefully hurlers can take home the CR cup later today.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 03/06/2023 17:58:17    2483769

Replying To Young_gael:  "Beautiful day for a game. I got burned to a crisp. First thing I'd say: turnout wasnt good. I even stayed on for 20 minutes of Laois/London and the place had emptied. Poor crowd, esp given the weather. But anyway, onto the game;

Great win for Meath. Huge for confidence. The two teams were of a similar standard and there wasnt much in it. Down couldn't hit a barn door in front of goal, they'll be very dissappointed in themselves but id be surprised if they arent in the shake up later in the cup.

I thought the Ref was too pushy for both teams and could have let a lot go, but he was ok.

There was a bit of character on show today late on to come back from after the Down goal and win it. Id mirror what was said earlier, McGowan had the stones to kick over two off the ground. Fair play. In general our forwards didnt play too well, standout was Jones (brilliant), and the lads 2-9 in general who played well apart from one or two moments of poor marking. There were two goals that were squandered, esp the pass across goal to Costello (how he missed ill never know!). There was also a nervy energy in front of goal that should be worked on.

It was a close game, against a good team, in the sunshine and Meath won by 2. They won their group and look ahead deservedly. Fair play to them, theyve bounced back from the league and Leinster champ. admirally. Happy Meath fan tonight."
I'd say more bounced back from the Waterford game than previous. That was a very nervy first half down there. But today they started well. Plenty to work on but Down were second fav for this comp ahead of us so have to be happy. I even called the winning margin so indeed happy tonight. Well done to all.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 18:04:10    2483770

It's great see the senior lads still commit, especially COS and DL, cannot be easy to sit on the bench at this stage of careers. Good example for the young lads starting out and a positive sign that things are going well within panel. The win today was only a very small step but should help inject some confidence into this group of players.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 03/06/2023 19:12:18    2483790

On a completely separate note. Did I miss announcements on pa today ? No mention of teams /changes ? no mention of subs on or off? , no mention of time added on etc. minor things but no one knew caulfield was starting until match had started. Or did I just miss it ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 20:09:00    2483805

Some good positives from todays game. We looked fitter than we have so that is good. , we created some good goal chances that on another day would have gone in, Morris looked more likely to score than not, Jones again excellent in midfield , best game for awhile for harnan, mcentee really should have been on team all year he adds a bit of steel to the team is wirey and hard to control and can chip in a pint or two, O'Connor motm for me was on everything and his runs were excellent, I think Brennan is a very good keeper but I'd still give the nod to harry going forward and that's no disrespect to Brennan It's a good complaint after years of struggling with keepers. And McGowan took two monster dead balls when game very much could go either way so absolute credit. And credit to Colm too he got the subs right (I'll give benefit of doubt for O'Connor as he may have had a knock even if he was surprised himself to be taken off) So rather than focusing on the negatives i haven't been this happy after a game since the cork game so I'll take that. It's given some of my mojo back.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 20:42:59    2483818

Very happy with the win. A lot still to improve on especially our shot selection. It's very pleasing to see us come out on top in a tight game which we could easily have lost. Great determination and heart from the lads to get back in front late on and we looked calm in possession at the end to see it out. Its the first time in quite a long time that we have a physical, strong, athletic Meath team. Yes Down were awful at shooting but credit to our backs who were great throughout and we looked very solid and disciplined in keeping our defensive shape. This was exactly the kind of game we were losing with all too much ease over the last 10 years and I think players and management will take a lot of confidence from it.

Looking forward to the home quarter final in two weeks time and hopefully a good crowd come out in support. The attendance was shocking poor yesterday in Parnell Park on what was a cracking day in a close to home venue. Fair play to the Meath supporters who were there, they got fully behind the team.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 1992 - 04/06/2023 14:27:02    2483912

Replying To men_of_49:  "Very happy with the win. A lot still to improve on especially our shot selection. It's very pleasing to see us come out on top in a tight game which we could easily have lost. Great determination and heart from the lads to get back in front late on and we looked calm in possession at the end to see it out. Its the first time in quite a long time that we have a physical, strong, athletic Meath team. Yes Down were awful at shooting but credit to our backs who were great throughout and we looked very solid and disciplined in keeping our defensive shape. This was exactly the kind of game we were losing with all too much ease over the last 10 years and I think players and management will take a lot of confidence from it.

Looking forward to the home quarter final in two weeks time and hopefully a good crowd come out in support. The attendance was shocking poor yesterday in Parnell Park on what was a cracking day in a close to home venue. Fair play to the Meath supporters who were there, they got fully behind the team."
Support very poor. I was talking to a lad on Thursday who I'd regularly run into at games and asked him was he heading. He said no that he wouldn't even listen to it on radio called it the tiddlywinks cup and said every Meath person should be embarrassed to be in it. Real anger. I get the disappointment but we are where we are to use a terrible saying. And it's football in June. I'm gonna be there regardless

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2023 15:56:37    2483937

Replying To royaldunne:  "Support very poor. I was talking to a lad on Thursday who I'd regularly run into at games and asked him was he heading. He said no that he wouldn't even listen to it on radio called it the tiddlywinks cup and said every Meath person should be embarrassed to be in it. Real anger. I get the disappointment but we are where we are to use a terrible saying. And it's football in June. I'm gonna be there regardless"
Ive had a few encounters with colleagues and friends who had similar sentiments. One friend of mine said he wouldnt go watch Meath live again, such was his dissapointment. I think the Tailteann Cup bombshell, even if it was always a distinct possibility, hit many supporters hard. Some people would always go away for a while, hopefully they come around, we need as many people behind the team as possible. I would say the win over Down would have gone some way to re-engage passive fans, and we have thousands of them.

On a personal note, id consider myself a hardcore fan, but when I pulled up at Fraher Field a few weeks ago and doddled into the stadium among a very, very mildly interested turnout, I felt a bit embarrassed, it just isnt where we should be. But look, it is what it is. These guys have impressed me and I think they can press on another few games in the Tailteann Cup yet, I will be there to support whenever I can!

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 04/06/2023 16:59:22    2483963

Replying To royaldunne:  "Support very poor. I was talking to a lad on Thursday who I'd regularly run into at games and asked him was he heading. He said no that he wouldn't even listen to it on radio called it the tiddlywinks cup and said every Meath person should be embarrassed to be in it. Real anger. I get the disappointment but we are where we are to use a terrible saying. And it's football in June. I'm gonna be there regardless"
Its not just Meath supporters that aren't showing up and that's in the Tailteann cup.
There was only 7 or 8 thousand at Dublin and Kildare in the All Ireland Championship.
Looking at a lot of the other games and its poor attendance all round in the football and that might be due to the current style of play.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 04/06/2023 18:00:59    2483984

Replying To Young_gael:  "Ive had a few encounters with colleagues and friends who had similar sentiments. One friend of mine said he wouldnt go watch Meath live again, such was his dissapointment. I think the Tailteann Cup bombshell, even if it was always a distinct possibility, hit many supporters hard. Some people would always go away for a while, hopefully they come around, we need as many people behind the team as possible. I would say the win over Down would have gone some way to re-engage passive fans, and we have thousands of them.

On a personal note, id consider myself a hardcore fan, but when I pulled up at Fraher Field a few weeks ago and doddled into the stadium among a very, very mildly interested turnout, I felt a bit embarrassed, it just isnt where we should be. But look, it is what it is. These guys have impressed me and I think they can press on another few games in the Tailteann Cup yet, I will be there to support whenever I can!"
I'd be the same as you. Look one of the reasons I love Christmas is cause it's followed by obc and a chance to go supporting Meath again so I guess that's what separates us from the more passive fans . Yes we all are extremely disappointed to be in this competition and it has to be last time we ever in it. So first job is to make sure we not in it next year. And that's by winning the bloody thing. That's what I'm focused on. Hopefully have a better turn out next day in navan

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2023 18:10:31    2483989

A much improvement performance with defensive solidity and good workrate. The keep ball at the end was brilliant to see and we don't often see it from Meath teams, managed the game well. Still plenty of mistakes and bad shot options but a move in the right direction. Hopefully we can keep it up

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 04/06/2023 21:06:19    2484037

Replying To Maestro:  "Its not just Meath supporters that aren't showing up and that's in the Tailteann cup.
There was only 7 or 8 thousand at Dublin and Kildare in the All Ireland Championship.
Looking at a lot of the other games and its poor attendance all round in the football and that might be due to the current style of play."
Won't see big crowds until knockout stages of both competitions, football overall is a hard watch and has little to offer the neutral supporter. Our support has been in decline for some time now, which is understandable. It should be about supporting Meath and not the competion we are playing in, lf some think its beneath us, then maybe they are better off at home. Hopefully a good crowd in PT next day out, management and team deserve no less.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 04/06/2023 21:06:54    2484038

Replying To seadog54:  "Won't see big crowds until knockout stages of both competitions, football overall is a hard watch and has little to offer the neutral supporter. Our support has been in decline for some time now, which is understandable. It should be about supporting Meath and not the competion we are playing in, lf some think its beneath us, then maybe they are better off at home. Hopefully a good crowd in PT next day out, management and team deserve no less."
Agreed...Well said !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 04/06/2023 21:33:11    2484048

Preliminary quarter finals:
Offaly v Wexford
Fermanagh v Laois
Down v Longford
Carlow v New York

Offaly/Wexford looks the hardest to call. Offaly have gone back a lot since that horrific day in Tullamore which makes it all the more frustrating.

Fermanagh, Down and Carlow should get through. Not sure if we can draw with Down after getting them in the group.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 1992 - 05/06/2023 08:51:06    2484117

Replying To seadog54:  "Won't see big crowds until knockout stages of both competitions, football overall is a hard watch and has little to offer the neutral supporter. Our support has been in decline for some time now, which is understandable. It should be about supporting Meath and not the competion we are playing in, lf some think its beneath us, then maybe they are better off at home. Hopefully a good crowd in PT next day out, management and team deserve no less."
Football is a hard watch indeed looking at yesterdays match es on Television . Is this something that we aspire to? Colm O Rourke said he would want more kicking and more direct football.I agree with that .In hindsight he might be trying to do too much too quickly in that objective. I think he will adjust to suit the playing panel. We know if your are good enough like Dublin who are finely tuned to play the game whatever way you like thats a different story. Dublins success took years to achieve ,and in my view the best team to ever play the game. That did not happen itself . Vision from 2 men on CB plus Pat Gilroys Business head and the discipline of army man jim Gavin plus some exceptional players. The ability to instill a culture and attitude that its all about improvement and nothing else from the top down .If we want to be able to compete at that level we have to follow best practise (Dublins ATTITUDE ) or else just settle for a day out where we can have any seat we like and no need for selling tickets ,pay at the gate. Colm said we are measured by how we perform against Dublin but i think he should have developed that point more by indicating the massive gap to be filled to compete with them firstly. This is a long haul because for me the target is to play like Dublin and the 3 or four other teams and thats a tall order.. Its possible .... . if we really want it ...... but we need to be as smart as Dublin.They were in the doldrums when their vision was born.....more power to them!........ We could of course ignore the reality and just continue howling at the moon.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 05/06/2023 15:37:42    2484172

Hope we get Offaly and give them a bit of a hiding as pay back. A lot more confident after the weekend. Didn't like idea of being in the TC but it's now looking to be beneficial. Winning games and trying out a different system. We look better conditioned as well with the final quarter showing this. I'd say finishing, goals and points, is what's needed in training this week.

NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 28 - 05/06/2023 18:33:27    2484209

Replying To NYRoyal:  "Hope we get Offaly and give them a bit of a hiding as pay back. A lot more confident after the weekend. Didn't like idea of being in the TC but it's now looking to be beneficial. Winning games and trying out a different system. We look better conditioned as well with the final quarter showing this. I'd say finishing, goals and points, is what's needed in training this week."
I don't think Offaly have gone back I think we made them look good in tullamore that day. The tighter defensive system was what was needed all year, it might not be Colm's ideal but it's how these players are use to playing for county and club over the last number of years. And I was happy to see more of the running game on Saturday the players seemed more comfortable particularly coming off the shoulder.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2023 08:20:14    2484269

Tbh it looks like it will be Fermanagh Down and Carlow who prevails in prelim with Offaly probably having the better chance than Wexford of joining them. I actually don't know if we can get Down in quarters ? For my own two cents I'd like it to be Fermanagh A, they are in division 2 next year so would like to see what they bring and B we want to win this out, in semis we will face a step up so no point drawing Carlow , it could be cavan we face or a fired up Antrim or a Limerick team who probably should have beat us in league and will feel very confident Or Down who kicked 17 wides. . We are obviously the highest ranked team in it. But that doesn't mean we will win it unless we totally prepared. For me to test ourselves before we meet cavan at some stage we have to play another team that would be hard to beat. For me that's Fermanagh

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2023 09:40:11    2484280

I actually thought the attendance was fine for the brutal time it was at and the awkward venue. It was great that the crowd got behind them and helped push them over the line. It's a very slow rebuilding job and I think 'backs to the wall' wins like that will help grow the relationship between players and supporters return. Look talking about clowns who wouldn't even listen to a Tailteann Cup match on the radio is pointless. We all know there are too many pampered 'supporters' who want to hark back to the glory days so leave them be. The reality is no Meath man, woman or child wants to be playing at this level but we all need to push on together and stop the negativity.

It was positive that we looked defensively sound. Yes Down had many wides but some were due to poor shot selection based on the wall we put in front of them. I thought James McEntee was excellent and was constantly looking to make things happen. Jones got through a huge amount of work as ever and Morris showed his class any time he got the ball. Keoghan and Harnan showed good leadership and O'Connor really took the game to Down albeit his shot selection at times was questionable. Great impact off the bench and McGowan's big boot was the difference in the end. Not sure what's the best way to utilise Costello but there's definitely more in him. All in all, while there's nobody saying it was vintage stuff, it is something to build on and a big morale boost to all involved to get a win from their first real test in the competition.

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 06/06/2023 12:07:47    2484357