Meath Vs Down

Replying To mmc:  "You post some rubbish !! competitive !! so your happy getting beaten as long as its by only small margins and also happy that we continued to play a style of football that was proven for 6 years to be unsuccessful no plan B but at times was competitive , competitive until we got to a leinster final or Div1 or super 8s .
I'd love you to explain where were we going under the previous set up what did the previous set up achieve and how did Meath football improve over that 6 year period.
Has COR improved anything NO will he Hopefully but I've no doubt if he was given the same amount of time 6 years he'd leave the set up in a lot better of a place than he received it .
But he won't hang around if it's not working unlike the previous setup did and certainly won't hang around when he hasn't the backing of the county board ."
1. Beat by Dublin (when they were best team to ever play the game) by 4 in pp in league.
2, kept Donegal and Kerry honest.
3 lost to mayo in league cause of a howler from gk super 8s. {top 8 teams in country) kept with Donegal Kerry and mayo for 3/4 of games.
Compare that with been in lowest 16 in country , struggling for 35 minutes against the likes of tipp and Waterford ffs give me a break. getting hammered by a poor division 3 team like Offaly, luckily drawing with a Limerick team who had sacked their manager cause he was that bad, getting beat by a louth team without their best player, getting hammered by Dublin AT HOME, who are miles off what they were, getting humiliated by Kildare who themselves are way off the pace . Leave us in a better place ? You MUST BE taking the pi55. Ffs what are you smoking. We are a shambles and it will take the next manager awhile to undo the damage that has been done by this crowd and that is only if we replace at years end. Another year and we will be gone for a decade. Unless he by sone chance miraculously turns it around. Starting TODAY WITH A WIN .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 10:22:18    2483666

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "We were a hell of a lot more competitive from 2019-2021 than we have been this year. And as for being competitive against Dublin, that was up against the greatest team in GAA history and not the shambles they currently are. 6 of the division 1 games we were extremely competitive in. And all the super 8 games were right in the melting pot with 15 mins left. Unlike this year when the 2 top 8 teams we played have destroyed us by half time. And as for this "we've a young squad we are building" line. I'm not buying that. It's not like he inherited a team of lads in their 30's. Walsh, Scully, Costello, Campion, O'Connor, Morris, Hickey, Harkin, Flynn even Coffey had been introduced to the panel. He says we've a lack of experience but he's the one who chose to cut McGill. I amn't expecting world beating results but to act like we weren't more competitive under Andy than we have been this year is nonsense."
Exactly. Some people really don't have a clue

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 10:23:25    2483668

On the game itself this is the perfect opportunity to stop the slide. I know that sounds a bit less positive than what I would think every other year but We have to beat a team who couldn't get promoted out of division 3, we have to salvage something out of this year. A win here sets up a home quarterfinal. Which would hopefully propel us to a semi final and then onto a final which if we win guarantees us proper football next year. And I would then be happy for Colm to continue for another year. I agree with Bernie that TC is only beneficial to meath if we win the damn thing.
So on that note best wishes to Colm Donal all the team and management.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 10:32:08    2483671

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Just seen the team named - of course no guarantee it will be the team that starts! Looks like a good line up - good to see James McEntee starting! Presume Jack Flynn is injured! Ben Wyer should get a bit of game time!
IWith McGowan and Grey and Jones in the middle we shouldn't be afraid to go long with the kickouts!
I fancy a Meath win!!!"
The sun is out and we are playing. I too fancy a win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 10:33:07    2483673

Can u pay cash at gate? Seems the GAA ticket website is not allowing purchase meath v down tickets

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 03/06/2023 10:52:30    2483677

Replying To royaldunne:  "1. Beat by Dublin (when they were best team to ever play the game) by 4 in pp in league.
2, kept Donegal and Kerry honest.
3 lost to mayo in league cause of a howler from gk super 8s. {top 8 teams in country) kept with Donegal Kerry and mayo for 3/4 of games.
Compare that with been in lowest 16 in country , struggling for 35 minutes against the likes of tipp and Waterford ffs give me a break. getting hammered by a poor division 3 team like Offaly, luckily drawing with a Limerick team who had sacked their manager cause he was that bad, getting beat by a louth team without their best player, getting hammered by Dublin AT HOME, who are miles off what they were, getting humiliated by Kildare who themselves are way off the pace . Leave us in a better place ? You MUST BE taking the pi55. Ffs what are you smoking. We are a shambles and it will take the next manager awhile to undo the damage that has been done by this crowd and that is only if we replace at years end. Another year and we will be gone for a decade. Unless he by sone chance miraculously turns it around. Starting TODAY WITH A WIN ."
1 Got bet by 4 points by Dublin 2nd team !! competitive
2 lost to Donogal and kerry , donegal came up from div 2 with us but we still lost !! Competitive
3 stayed with kerry and Mayo for 3/4 of a game LOL But !! Competitive
4 lost to Longford a poor div 3 team with no history against us and no history full stop.
5 hammered by Dublin at home same as all the previous games over the last 6 years
6 Hammered by kildare in a league div 1 playoff only for a couple of late scores made it look !! competitive !!
that was the same league we lost by a howler to Mayo in navan the same league we were lucky to bet Westmeath in Navan and not be relegated to div 3 westmeath went down instead .

You continue to paint a wonderful picture of recent times gone by you are either a wind up merchant or someone that knows very little about football or either I have dementia and can't remember these wonderful times under McEntee and can only remember his continues rants after every defeat .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 03/06/2023 12:15:18    2483693

I think genuine Meath supporters will settle for a team playing with confidence . A quick start ,full workrate by all for full duration. Aiming to play to full potential as a team ,and see where that leaves us in terms of a result for this match.. The only mistakes our lads can make is lack of concentration and less than full workrate for entire match. Preparation in every respect will go a long way .Our current status of seeking improvement is the only agenda..We are still team building and,thus on a learning curve. Distractions to that agenda hardly merit any attention. The best of luck in making our own luck to COR and the lads !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 03/06/2023 12:18:54    2483695

Let's hope for a win today we need to get out of the blocks straight away and not give Down a head start like we have in recent games .
Best of luck to all the lads and the management going to be a warn one wear plenty of sun cream .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 03/06/2023 12:29:44    2483696

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "We were a hell of a lot more competitive from 2019-2021 than we have been this year. And as for being competitive against Dublin, that was up against the greatest team in GAA history and not the shambles they currently are. 6 of the division 1 games we were extremely competitive in. And all the super 8 games were right in the melting pot with 15 mins left. Unlike this year when the 2 top 8 teams we played have destroyed us by half time. And as for this "we've a young squad we are building" line. I'm not buying that. It's not like he inherited a team of lads in their 30's. Walsh, Scully, Costello, Campion, O'Connor, Morris, Hickey, Harkin, Flynn even Coffey had been introduced to the panel. He says we've a lack of experience but he's the one who chose to cut McGill. I amn't expecting world beating results but to act like we weren't more competitive under Andy than we have been this year is nonsense."
We were at the same level as we were 6-8 years ago. Now folk with agendas, or poor football eyesight thinks we were better. We got promoted at one stage to Div 1 when we got 4 home matches in two years in a row (watching league football home matches are worth 1 to 2 points). Now you would have to know little about football inside the county to know that there was no club inside the county who had 5/7 of the best players to be on a county team/panel otherwise those teams would be winning all around them -facts speak for themselves irrespective of spin!
Now I do not know whether anyone would have done better than the previous managers but folk posting negatively about a manager who is not one year in position tells it all. The quality of players available are not the best the county ever had and that includes defenders- even though we have one defender who would easily get his place on any AI winning team over the last 50 years.

As I will always say the best of luck to the team today, and it is not the end of the world, or indeed the 'football world' if we are beaten. Down has improved quite a bit having beaten Donegal in a difficult Ulster championship.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/06/2023 12:43:08    2483701

Better first half than most. There's hope.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 13:54:24    2483711

Excellent final quarter to seal it, subs made a massive impact so credit to COR for the calls.

Not every team will be as wasteful as down, 17 wides is a lot of scoring opportunities to cough up.

Still, a week off, a QF in Navan and a win against one of the other main contenders for the trophy. Not a bad Saturday at all!

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 03/06/2023 14:44:05    2483720

Good win for yas.

Many at the game?

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 03/06/2023 14:46:01    2483721

Fantastic win and one that I think will give a real boost to the team, true Down had 17 wides but we had a fair clutch of them ourselves and our scoring rate is still an issue but well done Daithi McGowan on two massive scores towards the end. A home quarter final and a big vocal crowd hopefully, these lads and management deserve no less.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/06/2023 14:49:05    2483724

Great win hopefully push on now and win the whole thing

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 03/06/2023 14:55:41    2483726

Well done to Colm and team! 3 on the trot and great effort by all. Would think someone is gone for the Alkaseltzers!

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 03/06/2023 15:19:12    2483729

Good result plenty to work on but definitely signs of improvement today .
Forwards need to learn to settle a bit just seem to be in a hurry to pull the trigger at times their goal came from a hurried pass .
I know they had 17 wides but you must give our defence a lot of credit for these they were shooting under pressure.
It's not where we want to be but it's a great competition to blood players and build confidence for next year let's see can we get a couple of games in Croke Park to finish the year
People need to give this set up time we have to learn to walk before we can run sacking or looking to sack managers after a few months is no good for anyone .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 03/06/2023 15:33:51    2483732

Nice to win a tight game. Yes Down kicked some unbelievable wides. But so did we. Also ref was very whistle happy. Colm lot more passionate on the sideline which is only a good sign. Granted thought the taking off of Jack O'Connor was a strange call so I will put that down to maybe a slight injury cause I thought he was our best player today. Also James Mc had a brilliant game and called for himself to be taking off as he was feeling something plenty to work on for two weeks. But it's a break and a home game. Great farthers day out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2023 15:48:15    2483734

Great to have 3 championsh wins on the bounce and a home game coming up.

Also great to be leaving Dublin after winning a game, another seldon occasion of late.

Plenty of things not perfect and to work on, but that was good result and good to grind out a win that way

Onwards ...

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6343 - 03/06/2023 15:57:31    2483736

Yes better against a poor team (17 wides .) so stiffer opposition required to provide further testing
Defence has to tighen up considerably by NOT standing off their men. Much better improved starting from team. Scoring rate against poor opposition not good enough. Some nice passages of play going forward. Stiifer opposition will tell us more. A work in progress with definate improvement in starting and confidence. 2 weeks to work on shooting accuracy,freetaking , tighter marking defence. midfield (fielding and breaking ball) Would prefer if goalkeeper kept to his area without coming outfield until team develops further. All in all heading in the right direction with a long road ahead ! Full credit to all concerned !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 03/06/2023 16:07:12    2483738

Happy with the win , good to see improvement and 3 wins on the trot , that's all a Meath fan can ask for is good signs of improvement , but yet still a lot of work to be done , which you also want from a mangers point of view , also nice to get a win over a ulster team because they have been a thorn in our side for a long time.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 03/06/2023 16:15:40    2483741