Meath Vs Down

First big challenge of the TC for us. We'll have to put our strongest hand out to start with and no room for a slow start. Lynch, Morris and Costello have shown they can get the scores, the midfielders can chip in too. Lenihan is handy to have coming off the bench for a few scores.

Defensively we're still too porous and Waterford could have had 3 goals rather than 1. I don't get the sense that Colm will be telling the lads to drop back though.

Any word on the venue?

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 21/05/2023 20:14:18    2480165

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "First big challenge of the TC for us. We'll have to put our strongest hand out to start with and no room for a slow start. Lynch, Morris and Costello have shown they can get the scores, the midfielders can chip in too. Lenihan is handy to have coming off the bench for a few scores.

Defensively we're still too porous and Waterford could have had 3 goals rather than 1. I don't get the sense that Colm will be telling the lads to drop back though.

Any word on the venue?"
My guess would be clones. But hard to know. Big step up from tipp and Waterford. We can hope and pray.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2023 22:31:25    2480222

Replying To royaldunne:  "My guess would be clones. But hard to know. Big step up from tipp and Waterford. We can hope and pray."
Breffni or Armagh perhaps?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 21/05/2023 23:12:22    2480238

Certainly winnable, Down are improving but a bit like Louth I don't think they are up to as much as some people think, a lot will depend on how Meath play and importantly how they start the match. Probably will be Clones, I hope not as I don't have too many fond memories of that place and I'd prefer Cavan but my gut says Clones

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/05/2023 09:22:33    2480308

I'd say the game is likely to be in Breffni Park or Clones, the latter would be an equal journey for both teams so would make more sense but could see them bringing it to Cavan as it's a slightly smaller venue.

I'm not at all confident after the first 2 games, but I suppose if anything - it will tell us exactly where we are at. Down are about as good as it gets in the Tailteann Cup so if we can beat them - it'll be a huge confidence booster.

But we are simply too open at the back, we cough up far too many chances. We get away with it against weaker teams like Tipperary and Waterford, but anytime we've a come up against a half decent side, they've sliced through us like butter. Louth, Kildare, Offaly, Dublin, Derry etc.. I haven't seen anything in the last 2 weeks to suggest we're making any progress to plug the holes in the defence.

Down have shown themselves to be a good team so far, good league campaign (unlucky not to get promoted), beat Donegal in Ulster, they're a bit behind the better teams like Armagh but they dispatched Tipperary and Waterford with ease - conceding 1-12 in both games to our 1-25 conceded against the same opposition.

I'd like us to be a bit more ruthless up front but Jordan Morris and Aaron Lynch have shown a bit of decent form and Frayne looks a prospect off the bench. Sean Coffey has been a good find and Gray looks solid in midfield. But It just takes us too long get going though, we've been very slow starters under COR and if we don't get out of the blocks fast against Down, I fear we will give ourselves a mammoth task in the 2nd half.

I'd love to say we're going to go and do it but I've watched enough of this team over the last couple of years to know we won't. I expect Down to be comfortable 5 or 6 point winners

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 206 - 22/05/2023 11:10:53    2480398

I wouldn't be confident of this Meath team beating Down. Meath shipped 1-14 to Waterford, and could have been more. The only thing Meath can take from the last two games is that Sean Brennan is a very good goalkeeper. Otherwise the two games were a waste of time and papered over a lot of cracks that will be exposed once they play a decent team. That's the reality.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 22/05/2023 12:45:22    2480464

This was always going to be the game to decide the group winner and also to give us the best indication of where we are in this competition.

The first 2 games were just about winning. The TC first round fixtures saw only 1 away win and the second round was the opposite. Most of the higher seeded teams winning on the road with some looking more convincing than others. The round 2 fixtures were to give seed 4 teams home advantage, so that advantage had to count for something.

The game on Saturday was another game of 2 halves, but to be fair to Waterford it followed the pattern of their first game where Down were only 4 up at half-time but pulled away. Even their goal against Down was like something from the first half of Saturday's game where a guy picks up the ball around half way and goes all the way through to finish it.

At least we stopped coughing up those chances in the second half on Saturday and I thought C O'S and JMc deserved credit for at least being willing to track runners after they came on. We had other guys scoring well so the work they did was what we needed.

I wouldn't expect there to be too much between the teams in 2 weeks, but we won't get away with being as open as we were in the first half the other day. Traditionally, Down would always have been a team that loved scoring goals. If we cough up the chances that we did the other day they will take them.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 22/05/2023 13:02:32    2480481

I think we are underdogs v Down but they are also in the TC for a reason so still a winnable game

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 22/05/2023 14:01:07    2480512

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I wouldn't be confident of this Meath team beating Down. Meath shipped 1-14 to Waterford, and could have been more. The only thing Meath can take from the last two games is that Sean Brennan is a very good goalkeeper. Otherwise the two games were a waste of time and papered over a lot of cracks that will be exposed once they play a decent team. That's the reality."
Full agree with this. Think a lot of people will get a shock when they see the difference in how both management teams structurally set up

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 22/05/2023 14:43:06    2480544

Parnell Park Saturday June 3rd at 1pm, live on GAAGO, strange venue strange time

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/05/2023 18:31:01    2480665

Just been announced for parnell pk at 1pm on sat 3rd. Hurlers out in Croke pk at 5 in the christy ring final.

Utd and city fans can catch the fa cup final inbetween.

Islander21 (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 22/05/2023 18:50:01    2480670

Replying To winatallcost:  "Breffni or Armagh perhaps?"
Parnell Park - 13:00 throw in.

Will be the earliest I've ever been at a championship game on a Saturday...

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6343 - 22/05/2023 18:52:16    2480671

Replying To Meath10:  "I think we are underdogs v Down but they are also in the TC for a reason so still a winnable game"
Agreed.....winnable BUT we are underdogs no doubt. It is a learning curve for everyone including management. The sell by date is 2 years since Colms appointment to show real improvement or he will walk himself....Thats the deal! Now its clear we are pretty poor at this point because its a results driven business.....no argument. We cant forget we are on a steep learning curve. Im sure Colm MUST be asking himself questions any good manager would Am i as manager making the best use of the required resourses ? The expertise that i have in the backroom do they feel free to do it their way and i am a co ordinator. How good am i at delegating as required? How good am i at bringing people with me ? Am i ruthless if the need arises like when having listened to counter views i am prepared to make a decision because thats my job to lead and its the only way we can improve.I dont know Colm .I do support him for the 2 years NOT just because he had the courage to try to improve our lot from a very low status. More importantly i do believe because i trust his integrity. I do believe he is asking himself all those questions. I do believe as he said he will bring in help when required. In my view the most immediate need is a sports psychologist to deal with slow starts and workrate. In hindsight i am sure Colm has that on the top of his priority list. I expect he will be keen to see who will be back from injury before deciding on the second most urgent need to shore up the defence and come up with a game plan.......A sweeper ??? Who ?? what type? good fielder, speed out of defence to set up attack. 1st half then review ! Can we afford him if he is a scoring forward?
Dont know and their is only one way to find out. Whats the alternative? The only agenda is to Fully support Colm O Rourke for the agreed period.Maybe after that time i will do my own review and update after learning .

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 22/05/2023 18:54:47    2480672

Replying To Meath10:  "I think we are underdogs v Down but they are also in the TC for a reason so still a winnable game"
Exactly. Last year we were all disappointed when we drew with Down. So we have to aim for a win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/05/2023 20:04:32    2480696

Parnell park. Interesting choice of venue.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2023 08:17:55    2480735

Replying To nobull456:  "Agreed.....winnable BUT we are underdogs no doubt. It is a learning curve for everyone including management. The sell by date is 2 years since Colms appointment to show real improvement or he will walk himself....Thats the deal! Now its clear we are pretty poor at this point because its a results driven business.....no argument. We cant forget we are on a steep learning curve. Im sure Colm MUST be asking himself questions any good manager would Am i as manager making the best use of the required resourses ? The expertise that i have in the backroom do they feel free to do it their way and i am a co ordinator. How good am i at delegating as required? How good am i at bringing people with me ? Am i ruthless if the need arises like when having listened to counter views i am prepared to make a decision because thats my job to lead and its the only way we can improve.I dont know Colm .I do support him for the 2 years NOT just because he had the courage to try to improve our lot from a very low status. More importantly i do believe because i trust his integrity. I do believe he is asking himself all those questions. I do believe as he said he will bring in help when required. In my view the most immediate need is a sports psychologist to deal with slow starts and workrate. In hindsight i am sure Colm has that on the top of his priority list. I expect he will be keen to see who will be back from injury before deciding on the second most urgent need to shore up the defence and come up with a game plan.......A sweeper ??? Who ?? what type? good fielder, speed out of defence to set up attack. 1st half then review ! Can we afford him if he is a scoring forward?
Dont know and their is only one way to find out. Whats the alternative? The only agenda is to Fully support Colm O Rourke for the agreed period.Maybe after that time i will do my own review and update after learning ."
From a very low base ?? And he has brought us lower. Do you even read back what you wrote.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2023 13:28:47    2480890

I have noticed over the past few weeks that there seems to be some confusion as to how or why Colm is in the job. Some posters seem to think the CB begged him to take over and he is only doing it out of the goodness of his heart.
'courage to take the job' is nonsense. This isn't u10s. You go for/take the job because you believe you can be a success. Anything different is just cover for a poor job

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 23/05/2023 14:37:40    2480924

Replying To royaldunne:  "From a very low base ?? And he has brought us lower. Do you even read back what you wrote."
PASS

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 23/05/2023 14:38:19    2480926

Replying To Ed2010:  "I have noticed over the past few weeks that there seems to be some confusion as to how or why Colm is in the job. Some posters seem to think the CB begged him to take over and he is only doing it out of the goodness of his heart.
'courage to take the job' is nonsense. This isn't u10s. You go for/take the job because you believe you can be a success. Anything different is just cover for a poor job"
Yep I do find that funny too

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2023 14:50:08    2480934

Replying To Ed2010:  "I have noticed over the past few weeks that there seems to be some confusion as to how or why Colm is in the job. Some posters seem to think the CB begged him to take over and he is only doing it out of the goodness of his heart.
'courage to take the job' is nonsense. This isn't u10s. You go for/take the job because you believe you can be a success. Anything different is just cover for a poor job"
Courage can be defined as the ability to control your fear in a dangerous of difficult situation. Colm publicly said no .Then as is common knowledge he was again approached. NO suitable person applied for the job or was available. Why ? I assume it was seen as a poison chalice. Why ? because it was seen as a massive recovery task.
I assume Colm was fully aware that there may be an anti Colm thing ,and that he would be working against even greater odds. If thats not courage i dont know what is. You know from this forum that for some he can not win before he started. I manage to ignore as its clearly an agenda . However, maybe others are more skillful at hiding their bias. I suggest distractions such as playing with words achieve nothing here anyway, More balanced approach might be to give the man the time he asked for and fully deserves

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 23/05/2023 15:17:12    2480955