Meath Vs Down

Replying To nobull456:  "Anyway You need to complete his full statement at the time .he went for it several times but.........you finish his statement

Do you want to see him complete his 2 years YES or NO ? and no buts"
I hope he gets the second year.
Right, let's stop the nonsense now.
Narrative before he took over: your measured by beating the dubs, that's the bench mark. Now as an analyst on the TV, he will have been well aware of where meath were at.
Narrative now:
This is a long term project and will take years.

So he is either a poor analyst or manager.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 24/05/2023 09:47:47    2481148

Replying To seadog54:  "Yes, he makes no secret of the fact he wanted job applied for position on 2 or maybe 3 occassions. He wanted change in the set up ( no idea if his demands or ideas were made public) but CB knocked him back each time. When asked on SG if he would put his name forward, he said no, CB had made it clear he was not wanted and had no intention of been knocked back again. However, things changed and expected interest in job was less than hoped for. Lack of interest was not surprising for many reasons. CB turned to Colm ( nobody suggests any crawling took place) and agreement was reached and I expect terms and conditions set. The whole thing was a reality check for people in charge and not before time. If there was little interest then, what has changed in less than a year to suggest this time would be different? Why would any manager, external or internal touch the job or belive any agreement reached would be honoured? Things far from ideal at the moment but the most important thing is all the panel have commited and that is a good sign. More players will be added, hopefully a few new faces put their hand up during club championship and I expect we will see addition to coaching staff during summer."
If I remember correctly, when asked he didn't say no, he just said he was turned down before so there was no point in trying again, in other words I'm interested still. Also, do managers not need to be ratified by clubs first? Could be wrong on that

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 24/05/2023 09:53:00    2481150

Replying To Ed2010:  "I hope he gets the second year.
Narrative before he took over: your measured by beating the dubs, that's the bench mark. Now as an analyst on the TV, he will have been well aware of where meath were at.
Narrative now:

So he is either a poor analyst or manager."
Lot of truth in what you say. I'm still baffled as to why he was taking about beating the Dubs and then starts throwing load of junior and intermediate club players onto the panel while dropping serious senior intercounty talent like McGill and Joey Wallace, making us even weaker.

Did he not know what talent was available in the county? Very bad sign in my opinion and set an alarm off for me (similar or worse to McEntee's early goalkeeping fiasco). But the players are going with him through Tailteann so he has their support and that's a hugely positive indication. He should get another year at least therefore. We don't have great options to be fair. I'd have gone for Dubs like Paul Clarke and Jason Sherlock (all heavily involved in J Gavin's success) but there obviously wasn't an appetite for that.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 24/05/2023 11:58:16    2481195

Replying To Crinigan:  "Lot of truth in what you say. I'm still baffled as to why he was taking about beating the Dubs and then starts throwing load of junior and intermediate club players onto the panel while dropping serious senior intercounty talent like McGill and Joey Wallace, making us even weaker.

Did he not know what talent was available in the county? Very bad sign in my opinion and set an alarm off for me (similar or worse to McEntee's early goalkeeping fiasco). But the players are going with him through Tailteann so he has their support and that's a hugely positive indication. He should get another year at least therefore. We don't have great options to be fair. I'd have gone for Dubs like Paul Clarke and Jason Sherlock (all heavily involved in J Gavin's success) but there obviously wasn't an appetite for that."
Just to be clear - Joe wallace has not been dropped. He is injured!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 479 - 24/05/2023 13:01:07    2481219

Narrative now:

Yeh.. Maybe that could have been left out or handled better by joining the 2 statements together. Anyway I am far more concerned about our defence and players standing back. incl. slow starting. Unless this mental weakness is tackled now we can forget progress. The book stops with Colm O Rourke here. I simply don't understand why this is still present even at this early stage. At this point I still claim to be a full supporter of COR for the 2 years. I admit in terms of patience I may have to take from the reserve tank soon if this continues.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 24/05/2023 13:36:31    2481231

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Hanging in by our finger nails? On a downward curve for years now? We got to division 1 for the first time in ten years, and were within a game to do that again. We also got the closest to dublin since 2010. How is it a positive sign for the players to commit, that should just be taken for granted. It's not about what goal do you think he has, it is about is he capable of delivering that goal and the answer so far is a concrete no."
Yes we got promoted in 2019, but warning signs started in second hslf of league two final that year. The start of the downwatd curve. We all hoped exposure to top tier football in super 8s would be of huge benefit for the following years Div. One, however it was another false dawn. Dublin game that year has been done to death with many different opinions. Agree after ten months results are poor, however that has become the norm for Meath football in recent years. On a positive, he has backing of panel and he does not look to deflect and blame results on anybody else.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 24/05/2023 14:06:31    2481251

Replying To Ed2010:  "If I remember correctly, when asked he didn't say no, he just said he was turned down before so there was no point in trying again, in other words I'm interested still. Also, do managers not need to be ratified by clubs first? Could be wrong on that"
My post laid out how I understood things at the time, he was ratified by the clubs, term agreed was two years, if things are going well then another year. I expect he will see out the two years, however need to see big improvement before extention is given.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 24/05/2023 14:16:45    2481252

Replying To royaldunne:  "Exactly. Last year we were all disappointed when we drew with Down. So we have to aim for a win."
Last year Down were in disarray and lost every game in the league except against Meath.
I am not sure if you've noticed but they are a completely different team this year and have knocked Donegal out of the championship.
Do try and keep up...

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 24/05/2023 14:16:55    2481253

Lads, get back to the topic "Meath v Down".
Difficult game ahead. Venue might be a slight bonus in those non-sell-out times. Down are a different team now to the one we were disappointed to draw with in that League fixture. Kilcoo players are back in the fold and that can only strengthen them. Still Down we're not able to get promoted to our division and we were lucky not to end up in theirs. The two goals in a minute v Clare eventually turned out to be saviours. Still Down finished ahead of Offaly. Now it depends to a large degree on what we have learned in the meantime. Sean Brennan appears to be a plus but the defence otherwise has shown little if any improvement. Each successful Meath team had a very solid defence, so until that is corrected I feel that silverware is out of our grasp whither this happens to be Saturday week or at a later stage remains to be seen but this will be a very good indicator of our current strength. Win and we will think we have arrived but I would rather lose by a few points and be solid at the back, as we will progress anyway, than to scramble a win and be porous in defence as you will be caught out eventually.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 24/05/2023 14:27:11    2481257

Narrative now:

Beating the Dibs and long term project are not mutually excluesive, success in long term rebuild will give us a much better chance of beating them. The way things were going had us falling further behind year on year. Saying Dublin are the benchmark is a fair point, some seem to think he meant this year, for me its a long term goal he hopes to acheive and if not him the person next up. But he is the one trusted to at least get Meath on right path. I have no doubt the job has opened his eyes and is proving to be a much bigger task than first thought.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 24/05/2023 14:34:38    2481262

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Just to be clear - Joe wallace has not been dropped. He is injured!"
Point of information. Is Joe Wallace with the County panel doing REHAB etc, to work himself back. If not his involvement as a member of the panel is doubtful. I suspect Joe does not know himself where he stands with Colm O Rourke based on communication with players generally.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 24/05/2023 14:37:39    2481264

Replying To Maestro:  "Last year Down were in disarray and lost every game in the league except against Meath.
I am not sure if you've noticed but they are a completely different team this year and have knocked Donegal out of the championship.
Do try and keep up..."
Donegal:). Yeah I think you will find they in disarray this year. Do try and keep up

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2023 14:51:56    2481275

Replying To Maestro:  "Last year Down were in disarray and lost every game in the league except against Meath.
Do try and keep up..."
Donegal:). Yeah I think you will find they in disarray this year. Do try and keep up

Btw how did Down do in division 3 ??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2023 14:52:27    2481277

Replying To Ashrules:  "Point of information. Is Joe Wallace with the County panel doing REHAB etc, to work himself back. If not his involvement as a member of the panel is doubtful. I suspect Joe does not know himself where he stands with Colm O Rourke based on communication with players generally."
If he's on the panel (I assume he is ) he surely will be doing the rehab work under the county set up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2023 14:58:08    2481280

Replying To Ashrules:  "Point of information. Is Joe Wallace with the County panel doing REHAB etc, to work himself back. If not his involvement as a member of the panel is doubtful. I suspect Joe does not know himself where he stands with Colm O Rourke based on communication with players generally."
That is a good question and one I can't answer! But I know Joey has been injured since last years county final. But your point is a good one!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 479 - 24/05/2023 15:12:11    2481291

Dont think there was ever a chance of JW playing football this year, so why would he take a place on panel? Hopefully all his needs are being taken care of, either club or county insurance and he gets back on time for next season or with luck latter stages of County Championship. Not aware of any breakdown in comms with players, they are a commited bunch and so far no rumblings of discontent. Sure Joey knows the way back, get well, get fit and available for selection. What more would you expect?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 24/05/2023 16:13:53    2481329

Replying To MillerX:  "Lads, get back to the topic "Meath v Down".
Difficult game ahead. Venue might be a slight bonus in those non-sell-out times. Down are a different team now to the one we were disappointed to draw with in that League fixture. Kilcoo players are back in the fold and that can only strengthen them. Still Down we're not able to get promoted to our division and we were lucky not to end up in theirs. The two goals in a minute v Clare eventually turned out to be saviours. Still Down finished ahead of Offaly. Now it depends to a large degree on what we have learned in the meantime. Sean Brennan appears to be a plus but the defence otherwise has shown little if any improvement. Each successful Meath team had a very solid defence, so until that is corrected I feel that silverware is out of our grasp whither this happens to be Saturday week or at a later stage remains to be seen but this will be a very good indicator of our current strength. Win and we will think we have arrived but I would rather lose by a few points and be solid at the back, as we will progress anyway, than to scramble a win and be porous in defence as you will be caught out eventually."
Down seem to be improving and Kilcoo lads back is a bonus for them. Good point about goals saving us, but in reality just papering over the cracks. Nothing new there has been happening for years. Be a foolish man to judge Meath progress on TC. Fully agree, wuoild prefer to loose a game in this comp but show signs of real progress, especially in defence..

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 24/05/2023 17:34:41    2481346

Replying To seadog54:  "Yes we got promoted in 2019, but warning signs started in second hslf of league two final that year. The start of the downwatd curve. We all hoped exposure to top tier football in super 8s would be of huge benefit for the following years Div. One, however it was another false dawn. Dublin game that year has been done to death with many different opinions. Agree after ten months results are poor, however that has become the norm for Meath football in recent years. On a positive, he has backing of panel and he does not look to deflect and blame results on anybody else."
Yes... He has the players fully behind him. and yes he is not blaming anyone. Fair play to him!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 24/05/2023 18:38:55    2481361

Replying To royaldunne:  "Donegal:). Yeah I think you will find they in disarray this year. Do try and keep up

Btw how did Down do in division 3 ??"
Beaten on the head-to-head rule for second place by Cavan.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 24/05/2023 21:40:42    2481374

Replying To nobull456:  "Yes... He has the players fully behind him. and yes he is not blaming anyone. Fair play to him!"
Not from there efforts on the field he hasn't.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2023 23:20:53    2481390