Meath Vs Down

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Have to agree with this, bar mcgill and maybe eoin harkin there is no one else that you could say for definite 'he should be in the Meath squad', but we do have better players than limerick louth Offaly and kildare (feel like players like Daniel Flynn are highly overrated)."
Was a fan of Harkin but form dipped this year and expect to sre him return for league, hopefully same for McGill Kildare have the talent but more often than not fall short. At moment not a lot of difference between ourselves and others mentioned. Be fantastic if Meath had all the hidden talent some belive is there.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 27/05/2023 16:06:07    2481937

Replying To Maestro:  "Well Donegal bet Clare pulling up by 5 points in their last game.
Clare deservedly dumped us out of the championship last year."
A lot of credit must go to Donegal, their season looked over after Down defeat. Fair play to them went to Clare, a decent side, and won well. Will be no pushover especially their home game.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 27/05/2023 16:42:15    2481946

Replying To Maestro:  "Well Donegal bet Clare pulling up by 5 points in their last game.
Clare deservedly dumped us out of the championship last year."
Clare are worse this year than last. Just like ur assumption that Down are better. Clare would beat us this year in championship if we met too and should have beat us in league and we're very unlucky to get relegated instead of us. Even though they not as good as they were last year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2023 17:30:09    2481957

Replying To seadog54:  "Was a fan of Harkin but form dipped this year and expect to sre him return for league, hopefully same for McGill Kildare have the talent but more often than not fall short. At moment not a lot of difference between ourselves and others mentioned. Be fantastic if Meath had all the hidden talent some belive is there."
Why are mcgill and harkin not still involved??

Awaywin (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 27/05/2023 23:00:33    2482050

Replying To Awaywin:  "Why are mcgill and harkin not still involved??"
I dont think anyone outside the selectors or management team could answer that accurately.We can speculate that maybe for reason or another that there maybe an issue in selection criteria for them at present. The selectors see the full picture...we dont. My own personal view i saw Mc guill as one of the best full backs around 3 or 4 years ago. I did notice a dip in form for his last few matches so maybe thats it but just my speculation .Same with Harkin form issue maybe more speculation. I do think the key point in all this is . The doors remains open The players have the solution in their own hands. They can silence the doubters by filling the need.Where there is a will there is a way. I think in fairness everyone has been given a chance. In fact maybe that has slowed up finding a settled tean required to consolidate and improve ,at least to some extent......

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 28/05/2023 10:15:24    2482088

"WE ARE MEATH" I wonder how that fits in relation to football nowadays . In the Boylan era it meant a tough no nonsence approach to achieving the objective It was often used and twisted and fed an agenda of anti Meath ,and to sell column . inches. A lot of downright lies when Meath were presented as a deliberately dirty team. Meath were prepared by Boylan to be tough but fair. There was lashings of football ability , Tough men who took no prisoners but could play football with the best, Some baggage remains for some from that era.....All i remember is the pride that was shown in the jersey,and all that was good and what can CAN be done

I was reminded again of "Meathness " again when Tommy Tiernan interviewed Colm O Rourke, "MANLINESS" earthliness, feet on the ground,no nonsense ,thats us and its in our DNA all virtues !!! That niggles me a bit .virtues are great and a definate plus. Can there be a downside to this ? yes of course there can You can have virtues in excess. You can be "stuck in your ways " because you believe there is no need to look outwards because this is a good as it gets.... More modern approaches proven by professionals can be see as not as good as ours. Maybe we dismissed something just because its not how we see things. To me that is a definate negative approach . You dont have to throw out your own approach BUT you take it up , have a look at it ,and leave it back if it still fits the modern requirements.. You have to look at how things have changed ,and ask have we changed to meet those requirements? Take up the MEATHNESS ATTITUDE and have a look at it also. You cannot call something new high fangled stuff without having looked at it either
If the attitude is "ah we dont need that high fangled stuff " without exploring it thats a cardinal sin.As Dublin discovered follow best practise. that s the recipe. look outwards at where modern thinking is on coaching for example This is why i keep on about the need for leadership from the top table, COR will do his 2 years. I believe he will go himself regardless of where we are at up or down So that means the top table do what any board of directors do Take it up have a good look....No doubt they will find plenty to work on .Meanwhile COR will give it his best shot to get us going as he said...Thats short term !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 28/05/2023 12:40:31    2482120

Replying To nobull456:  ""WE ARE MEATH" I wonder how that fits in relation to football nowadays . In the Boylan era it meant a tough no nonsence approach to achieving the objective It was often used and twisted and fed an agenda of anti Meath ,and to sell column . inches. A lot of downright lies when Meath were presented as a deliberately dirty team. Meath were prepared by Boylan to be tough but fair. There was lashings of football ability , Tough men who took no prisoners but could play football with the best, Some baggage remains for some from that era.....All i remember is the pride that was shown in the jersey,and all that was good and what can CAN be done

I was reminded again of "Meathness " again when Tommy Tiernan interviewed Colm O Rourke, "MANLINESS" earthliness, feet on the ground,no nonsense ,thats us and its in our DNA all virtues !!! That niggles me a bit .virtues are great and a definate plus. Can there be a downside to this ? yes of course there can You can have virtues in excess. You can be "stuck in your ways " because you believe there is no need to look outwards because this is a good as it gets.... More modern approaches proven by professionals can be see as not as good as ours. Maybe we dismissed something just because its not how we see things. To me that is a definate negative approach . You dont have to throw out your own approach BUT you take it up , have a look at it ,and leave it back if it still fits the modern requirements.. You have to look at how things have changed ,and ask have we changed to meet those requirements? Take up the MEATHNESS ATTITUDE and have a look at it also. You cannot call something new high fangled stuff without having looked at it either
If the attitude is "ah we dont need that high fangled stuff " without exploring it thats a cardinal sin.As Dublin discovered follow best practise. that s the recipe. look outwards at where modern thinking is on coaching for example This is why i keep on about the need for leadership from the top table, COR will do his 2 years. I believe he will go himself regardless of where we are at up or down So that means the top table do what any board of directors do Take it up have a good look....No doubt they will find plenty to work on .Meanwhile COR will give it his best shot to get us going as he said...Thats short term !"
Those traditional qualities you describe as meathness are important for winning and get you over the line. But to be in the running you need best practice latest knowledge preparation. That is where a top manager comes in and the co. Board struggled badly to find one. One wonders what happens in the background. Are money or political pressures forcing bad decisions. Certainly when they tried to move on and correct misappointments the delegates let them and us all down with their silly loyalties not deserved

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 28/05/2023 16:03:32    2482192

Looking at this weekend's results along with last week in the all ire series breaks my heart, Sligo drawing with Kildare Roscommon drawing with Dublin , while we are here claiming to be underdogs (rightly so) against a team who couldn't get promoted from division 3. The difference is Roscommon have one of the best managers in country in davey burke , young enthusiastic and not afraid of the new famgled things, the way they defended against Dublin in Croke park was something else, we decided to go man to man in navan. Sligo same with their game managed perfectly from sideline. Imagine how much playing against the top teams will bring Sligo on.
I'm gonna say this clearly cor was one of the greatest players to ever play the game, a highly intelligent guy with a love for Meath football, but that does not mean he can manage the county team. I get what people say about given him the 2 years but looking at next year's league that would most likely mean before we go looking for a new high class manager we would be in division 3 and playing TC again. Not many would show interest I think in that scenario, at least after this year we could entice a top manager in who wouldn't mind taking over a division 2 team. And who would probably have us playing in all ire series next year.
Colm could walk away with his head held high as still one of the greatest Meath men of all time, yes it didn't work out in management but at least he knew when to quit before causing irreparable damage and that will stand to him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2023 18:39:51    2482252

Replying To royaldunne:  "Clare are worse this year than last. Just like ur assumption that Down are better. Clare would beat us this year in championship if we met too and should have beat us in league and we're very unlucky to get relegated instead of us. Even though they not as good as they were last year."
We already bet Clare pulling up this year if I remember correctly...

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 28/05/2023 18:45:36    2482257

Replying To Maestro:  "We already bet Clare pulling up this year if I remember correctly..."
I did say IN CHAMPIONSHIP, but you must have missed that part. And Yes I also pointed out we beat them with flakey goals. It was lucky we did get them and huge thanks to the dubs for snatching a late victory v them or we would be in division 3 with the mighty Down

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2023 19:52:29    2482306

Replying To Maestro:  "We already bet Clare pulling up this year if I remember correctly..."
We absolutely did not beat clare ''pulling up''. A 5 minute headless from their goalkeeper was the reason we won that game, it was a very very even game.

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 28/05/2023 20:16:24    2482325

Replying To Ashrules:  "Those traditional qualities you describe as meathness are important for winning and get you over the line. But to be in the running you need best practice latest knowledge preparation. That is where a top manager comes in and the co. Board struggled badly to find one. One wonders what happens in the background. Are money or political pressures forcing bad decisions. Certainly when they tried to move on and correct misappointments the delegates let them and us all down with their silly loyalties not deserved"
Preparation using best practise is an absolute necessity. i just raise that as a question. Training sessions are there
to fill an identified need. another question. Top of the preparation list has to be mental preparation and in particular concentration on good starting and workrate for full match. To me that has been a problem for some years now.Whats happening now to address this well known problem or inconsistency ?. Thats my biggest annoyance.. Areas requiring confidence like freetaking, shooting for scores ,taking resposibility . all mental stuff.
As regards WHO should be manager. That question answered itself . Ther was no much interest from potentially suitable candidates. I undersatand COR was asked again it seems and took the job and we know the time and conditions he said. I maintain that he is on a learning curve. ..we know the time frame ....so really thats the deal.end of.We dont know what the status will be when the time has elapsed. Why not give him the time he deserves. Something tells me we could see an improved performance against Down who will be a major test at this point.......We live in HOPE !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 28/05/2023 20:29:46    2482333

Replying To royaldunne:  "Looking at this weekend's results along with last week in the all ire series breaks my heart, Sligo drawing with Kildare Roscommon drawing with Dublin , while we are here claiming to be underdogs (rightly so) against a team who couldn't get promoted from division 3. The difference is Roscommon have one of the best managers in country in davey burke , young enthusiastic and not afraid of the new famgled things, the way they defended against Dublin in Croke park was something else, we decided to go man to man in navan. Sligo same with their game managed perfectly from sideline. Imagine how much playing against the top teams will bring Sligo on.
I'm gonna say this clearly cor was one of the greatest players to ever play the game, a highly intelligent guy with a love for Meath football, but that does not mean he can manage the county team. I get what people say about given him the 2 years but looking at next year's league that would most likely mean before we go looking for a new high class manager we would be in division 3 and playing TC again. Not many would show interest I think in that scenario, at least after this year we could entice a top manager in who wouldn't mind taking over a division 2 team. And who would probably have us playing in all ire series next year.
Colm could walk away with his head held high as still one of the greatest Meath men of all time, yes it didn't work out in management but at least he knew when to quit before causing irreparable damage and that will stand to him."
No matter who manages who, kildare and Roscommon have better players then us, and to be honest so do offaly and louth as far as I can see.....they have lads that can kick the ball over the bar for starters. COR should be setting up the team better defensively, but if lads can't pass the ball 20 metres, hand pass it 5, or kick the ball over the bar from 25 to 30 unless they are in acres or space, and sometimes even when they are, nothing much management can do. Anyway this is a thread about the down game, you should start COR OUT agenda thread separately, it's getting so boring and tiresome now what your at, coming across pathetic really.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 29/05/2023 08:04:20    2482432

Replying To southmeathgael:  "No matter who manages who, kildare and Roscommon have better players then us, and to be honest so do offaly and louth as far as I can see.....they have lads that can kick the ball over the bar for starters. COR should be setting up the team better defensively, but if lads can't pass the ball 20 metres, hand pass it 5, or kick the ball over the bar from 25 to 30 unless they are in acres or space, and sometimes even when they are, nothing much management can do. Anyway this is a thread about the down game, you should start COR OUT agenda thread separately, it's getting so boring and tiresome now what your at, coming across pathetic really."
Yes......i would just add to that.......for Meath this is a long haul job......no question.take it or leave thats the reality.COR is trying to move us forward .How long will he remain? Dont know !
.For me i would like if we were using best practise in all areas of preparation.Maybe we are somewhere on that road .Not a critisism just a question ! That to me will be very important going forward. Full support to Colm in his efforts to do as he said.
I have a gut feeling that the Down game could show positive movement on the road to improvement being the only agenda that matters.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 29/05/2023 11:21:32    2482493

Beat Clare pulling up? Were you at the game? I would hazard a guess at you weren't if you think we beat them pulling up

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 29/05/2023 13:34:22    2482549

Replying To southmeathgael:  "No matter who manages who, kildare and Roscommon have better players then us, and to be honest so do offaly and louth as far as I can see.....they have lads that can kick the ball over the bar for starters. COR should be setting up the team better defensively, but if lads can't pass the ball 20 metres, hand pass it 5, or kick the ball over the bar from 25 to 30 unless they are in acres or space, and sometimes even when they are, nothing much management can do. Anyway this is a thread about the down game, you should start COR OUT agenda thread separately, it's getting so boring and tiresome now what your at, coming across pathetic really."
Cause I care about Meath football? I guess that counts for been pathetic. No only one that has us pathetic is the current management. We haven't better players than louth or Offaly ? that shows you know nothing if you genuinely think that. And tbh I don't believe you actually think that. Just you feel like many others you have to defend the indefensible cause he was a great player. Time to remove the player from the manager.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/05/2023 14:30:36    2482589

Replying To royaldunne:  "Looking at this weekend's results along with last week in the all ire series breaks my heart, Sligo drawing with Kildare Roscommon drawing with Dublin , while we are here claiming to be underdogs (rightly so) against a team who couldn't get promoted from division 3. The difference is Roscommon have one of the best managers in country in davey burke , young enthusiastic and not afraid of the new famgled things, the way they defended against Dublin in Croke park was something else, we decided to go man to man in navan. Sligo same with their game managed perfectly from sideline. Imagine how much playing against the top teams will bring Sligo on.
Colm could walk away with his head held high as still one of the greatest Meath men of all time, yes it didn't work out in management but at least he knew when to quit before causing irreparable damage and that will stand to him."
More bull**** from you but then when does that record ever stop…

You're deluding yourself thinking anyone wants the Meath job, never mind a top class manager, it's clear as day last year no one did… they ruled themselves out one by one…. it was a straight shoot out between O'Rourke or Flynn (who you yourself didn't want), that's it…. You scoffed at me for suggesting the likes of Paul Curran, Paul Clarke, Mick Deegan, Declan D'Arcy, Jayo Sherlock or Davey Byrne… we don't need Dubs you said… davey burke was an option but no one considered him good enough… robbie Brennan was screwed because he was tied to Flynn…. McDermott wasn't considered good enough internally…. You're now screaming for O'Bric… he's no Paul Kenny with a serial success rate at underage….. you're dreaming of Fitzmaurice but it ain't going to happen… a young man with a family… commuting almost 2k a week (3 sessions minimum )… never in your wildest dreams

Who are these high class managers begging for the Meath job…. They're about as common as you having a good point

Sligo got to a Connaught final and all Ireland series beating London and New York… think most teams could get there doing that…. Kildare couldn't beat them… Roscommon and Dublin will top that group at a canter. BTW, both those teams are in year two under Ryan and McEntee… so they're used to a system and style… neither were stand outs last year..

You're saying we're underdogs v Down….. Sure haven't you been telling us they're better than us… but also telling us they were useless last year. Again here's the context, their manager is in his first year and has brought back the Kilcoo team members who won an all Ireland club last year… down were a shambles in 2022 and couldn't win a game…. But against your beloved Andy McEntee and his Meath team they got a result…. Without the Kilcoo contingent..

You told us ad nauseum last year the players loved McEntee and would go through walls for him… that training was great and efforts on the pitch didn't reflect the efforts going in…..and this with a management team in its sixth year…

Well guess what, the same is pretty true of what we're hearing this year… with a first year management team… and with a panel which has had 9 or 10 championship debutants… all in their first year on the panel (Brennan, O'Neill, O'Higgins, Flood, O'Regan, Coffey, Gray, Frayne, Lynch and Wyer, Caulfield & O'Halloran also in the mix)

You're also claiming there's people from clubs voicing concerns to you… from Ratoath, Colmcilles, Summerhill … funny thing is I spoke to some members from those clubs too plus multiple clubs in north Meath and whilst they're unhappy at results they're honest enough to say time is needed..

You're telling everyone here how wrong they are, yet it's you who's the sole voice slandering management... People are frustrated but they're trying to be constructive in what they say. People mightn't like O'Rourke but they're willing to give him time. Only one person in here hammers him no matter what he does…

Anyone saying a team should ignore what management are saying to them (which you said) has no respect for the team or the management. I don't think one person left the panel after the Offaly defeat, so I think they're well invested in what Colm is selling.

You're talking about irreparable damage, what's removing Colm after a year going to do only add more damage and add to a national laughing stock Meath football has become. What happens when you don't get your top class manager… when O'Bric or McCarthy gets appointed and they fail… are you going to want them moved on during the season….

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 29/05/2023 23:54:55    2482764

Anyway on to the game. Down will play a defensive structure. So we need to be patient and try to take a few shots from distance, get a couple of them over and we will rattle them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2023 08:26:32    2482777

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anyway on to the game. Down will play a defensive structure. So we need to be patient and try to take a few shots from distance, get a couple of them over and we will rattle them."
Try to take shots from distance, yes that's the way to beat a defensive team and yea, we have plenty of lads that can score from distance too

Tinchy1 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 30/05/2023 10:39:45    2482795

Replying To brian:  "More bull**** from you but then when does that record ever stop…

You're deluding yourself thinking anyone wants the Meath job, never mind a top class manager, it's clear as day last year no one did… they ruled themselves out one by one…. it was a straight shoot out between O'Rourke or Flynn (who you yourself didn't want), that's it…. You scoffed at me for suggesting the likes of Paul Curran, Paul Clarke, Mick Deegan, Declan D'Arcy, Jayo Sherlock or Davey Byrne… we don't need Dubs you said… davey burke was an option but no one considered him good enough… robbie Brennan was screwed because he was tied to Flynn…. McDermott wasn't considered good enough internally…. You're now screaming for O'Bric… he's no Paul Kenny with a serial success rate at underage….. you're dreaming of Fitzmaurice but it ain't going to happen… a young man with a family… commuting almost 2k a week (3 sessions minimum )… never in your wildest dreams

Who are these high class managers begging for the Meath job…. They're about as common as you having a good point

Sligo got to a Connaught final and all Ireland series beating London and New York… think most teams could get there doing that…. Kildare couldn't beat them… Roscommon and Dublin will top that group at a canter. BTW, both those teams are in year two under Ryan and McEntee… so they're used to a system and style… neither were stand outs last year..

You're saying we're underdogs v Down….. Sure haven't you been telling us they're better than us… but also telling us they were useless last year. Again here's the context, their manager is in his first year and has brought back the Kilcoo team members who won an all Ireland club last year… down were a shambles in 2022 and couldn't win a game…. But against your beloved Andy McEntee and his Meath team they got a result…. Without the Kilcoo contingent..

You told us ad nauseum last year the players loved McEntee and would go through walls for him… that training was great and efforts on the pitch didn't reflect the efforts going in…..and this with a management team in its sixth year…

Well guess what, the same is pretty true of what we're hearing this year… with a first year management team… and with a panel which has had 9 or 10 championship debutants… all in their first year on the panel (Brennan, O'Neill, O'Higgins, Flood, O'Regan, Coffey, Gray, Frayne, Lynch and Wyer, Caulfield & O'Halloran also in the mix)

You're also claiming there's people from clubs voicing concerns to you… from Ratoath, Colmcilles, Summerhill … funny thing is I spoke to some members from those clubs too plus multiple clubs in north Meath and whilst they're unhappy at results they're honest enough to say time is needed..

You're telling everyone here how wrong they are, yet it's you who's the sole voice slandering management... People are frustrated but they're trying to be constructive in what they say. People mightn't like O'Rourke but they're willing to give him time. Only one person in here hammers him no matter what he does…

Anyone saying a team should ignore what management are saying to them (which you said) has no respect for the team or the management. I don't think one person left the panel after the Offaly defeat, so I think they're well invested in what Colm is selling.

You're talking about irreparable damage, what's removing Colm after a year going to do only add more damage and add to a national laughing stock Meath football has become. What happens when you don't get your top class manager… when O'Bric or McCarthy gets appointed and they fail… are you going to want them moved on during the season…."
Well said Brian. Great reflection on where things stand and where we're coming from. You talk a lot of sense but some have no concept of sense or any understanding of Meath's current standing.

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 30/05/2023 11:58:04    2482835