Cork V Meath NFL Rd 1

Good display in the 2nd half yesterday and a win is the main thing, Thought the halfback line was a bit shaky would prefer to see Hickey in the corner and Jack O'Connor at wing back who had a good impact yesterday scoring a point. Adam O'Neill was impressive also when introduced at the half. Would think Jack Flynn slots into the middle when fit and McGowan to move to 11 possibly.

RoyalGael14 (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 30/01/2023 12:05:10    2455237

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Great result yesterday and great to see the team play with a lot of confidence. Great to see them having a cut and putting a lot of tackles in around the middle third in particular in the first half. Brilliant to see Walsh play so well. We've all seen his potential but I questioned whether it would happen for him at full forward line and he answered the question and was superb. Still felt the half back line was a bit loose. Hickey doesn't look comfortable there. Adam O'Neill done well when he came in and will probably start against Clare. Midfield also struggled to get into it hopefully they improve this weekend. But a great start and confidence boost"
Walsh seems a player with great potential. I would now try him at midfield .He has the ability and i believe he just needed the right person to tell him that again. Confidence was evident especially in the 2nd half. Fear
associated with the teams .of the last few years may be evaporating rapidly ,and being replaced by enjoyment. Early days of course but a great starting point. Hopefully next Sunday we have to get at least 50/50 at midfield. Our goalkeeper should make it less obvious what he intends to do on kickouts ,but outfield players should be more proactive in trying to give him options . I will be still watching for the Stephen Bray influence with the forwards where as a player his anticipation and use of open spaces was of the highest order. I know that will take time of course. I think our full forward line would benefit from his thinking here. Dont know Stephen from Adam but he was easily the best forward we have had since the good old days. What a resourse to have now. Onwards and upwards on the road of continuous improvement

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 30/01/2023 12:49:14    2455247

Hmm…if going by this forum for yesterdays match coverage, a stranger would be forgiven for thinking that Meath were scintillating! Important to distinguish between a good start to the league campaign, and a reasonably good performance on the pitch. Blueprint it positive but the execution is far from perfect, which is exactly what should be expected in the 1st league game as the team find their feet. Bigger games to come, but equally confident that better performances will follow. I think the acid test will actually be how our kicking game can break a blanket defence like Derry! We've struggled against northern teams for too long.

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 30/01/2023 13:20:23    2455263

Replying To RoyalGael14:  "Good display in the 2nd half yesterday and a win is the main thing, Thought the halfback line was a bit shaky would prefer to see Hickey in the corner and Jack O'Connor at wing back who had a good impact yesterday scoring a point. Adam O'Neill was impressive also when introduced at the half. Would think Jack Flynn slots into the middle when fit and McGowan to move to 11 possibly."
I thought the goalie did well but his kickout needs a lot of work, o'Hare nowhere near the level yet. Looks slow and loose gave up when beaten, massive improvement when O'Neill came in. I thought Dan O'Neill was doing well couldn't see why he was called out. Keogan got on a lot of ball but gave away a lot of frees, his man got on loads of ball and caused us a lot of problems. Mc Gowan was OK for his first start only 22 and needs to fill out but is a good footballer. Jones is a good athlete but his distribution is awful and can't tackle to save his life. Scully did well and needs to be left there for a spell to settle in. Campion was not in the game enough for me and needs to improve to hold his spot. Once again Morris missed in front of goals and could be used better further out the field. Walsh was brilliant and was helped out by the quality of ball delivered into him. He needs help from the other lads in there with him. Moriarty could be an option to join him in there.
Overall definitely an improvement on last year but we need to see what Kildare, Dublin and Derry bring to get a clearer view of where we are.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 30/01/2023 13:28:00    2455266

Replying To latouche25:  "I thought the goalie did well but his kickout needs a lot of work, o'Hare nowhere near the level yet. Looks slow and loose gave up when beaten, massive improvement when O'Neill came in. I thought Dan O'Neill was doing well couldn't see why he was called out. Keogan got on a lot of ball but gave away a lot of frees, his man got on loads of ball and caused us a lot of problems. Mc Gowan was OK for his first start only 22 and needs to fill out but is a good footballer. Jones is a good athlete but his distribution is awful and can't tackle to save his life. Scully did well and needs to be left there for a spell to settle in. Campion was not in the game enough for me and needs to improve to hold his spot. Once again Morris missed in front of goals and could be used better further out the field. Walsh was brilliant and was helped out by the quality of ball delivered into him. He needs help from the other lads in there with him. Moriarty could be an option to join him in there.
Overall definitely an improvement on last year but we need to see what Kildare, Dublin and Derry bring to get a clearer view of where we are."
Agree Hogan was very good as keeper but kickouts need a lot of work, part of problem is we dont have top class fielder around the middle, however, there were options on several occassions players made themselves available but for whatever reason he ignored/did not see. Scully did well cover a lot of ground and made himself available. As to where we are at, improvement in many areas, but still a way off where we want to be. Just have to build on the positives.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 30/01/2023 14:03:36    2455280

I haven't watched the game back since but when I look at midfield, I thought Jones and McGowan broke even. They didn't win primary possession all that often but they worked harder, made supporting runs, tracked runners and tackled (not perfectly) a lot of which Corks midfield didn't do.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 30/01/2023 15:31:19    2455308

So we actually looked like we had a dangerous ff line yesterday for the first time in a long time, and some suggestions on here are to move Walsh and Morris further out the field ? ......... mind boggling

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 30/01/2023 15:31:36    2455309

Can I just ask those who are way better informed than me (so that's pretty much everybody), from the players we have at our disposal, what is the best midfield pairing available to us? It seems to have been a problem position for years. Really thought the likes of Harry Rooney back in the day would have been a long-term answer but that never materialised. We really miss Menton even though he's probably not a natural midfielder either.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 30/01/2023 15:54:00    2455312

What a diffence a positive manager makes after 2 years of self exile it was great to travel to Cork yesterday knowing the manager was going to encourage the lads to play football .
It wasn't perfect and it's not going to be perfect over night but yesterday was a step in the right direction.
Kickoutds still a problem just a little slow but still better than before .
People are saying our midfield struggle but their two lads were as big a midfield pairing that I've ever seen When we needed our midfield in the second half they done really well they got stuck in when it really mattered .
Walsh was outstanding yesterday he was always an outstanding player but hard to shine when you are playing negative football .
Costello had a super second half and O'connor when he came on played excellent , met his dad in a pub in Cork after the game he was beaming and rightly so .
Our defence done well especially for a relatively new bunch just have to cut out some of the silly frees but in saying that I thought the ref was whistle happy .
It was great to see OSullivan play well he wasn't carrying the ball into the tackle as often as before another positive for the new management.
Onwards and upwards it's going to take time but I'm more hopeful than I was for the last few years.
looking forward to next Sunday in Navan already another big game it won't be easy but I'd like to think we will be enjoying a pint or two in Ryan's after the game .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 30/01/2023 17:23:50    2455352

Replying To southmeathgael:  "So we actually looked like we had a dangerous ff line yesterday for the first time in a long time, and some suggestions on here are to move Walsh and Morris further out the field ? ......... mind boggling"
No I wouldn't move Walsh as long as he's getting the supply he got yesterday. How long do you think it will take a more savvy defence to put in a blocker in front of him to cut out the supply. Morris again missed a lot yesterday and just doesn't have the finishing power of a top class corner forward. He did move out the field and got on a lot of ball and did appear to look more at home for it. Maybe you have have a different take on it. Please let us know

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 30/01/2023 17:36:24    2455357

It was a good result in cork, but I think some posters are getting a little carried away, cork are an enigma, never show to much form in the league but well capable of making all Ireland quarter final or semis, their fullback line were a bit naive yesterday, anyway we have Dublin, Derry and Kildare, these teams will be more competitive , need to win one of these games, Clare won't rollover as easy but should win at home , Louth would love to put one over on us, they never let 2010 go a win here is a must, limerick should be a banker, a lot of football to be played yet ,I'm not being negative but one swallow doesn't make a summer, stay positive and realistic

royler (Meath) - Posts: 259 - 30/01/2023 18:14:04    2455366

I give up sometimes. People harping back to previous manager. Honestly I think if we had lost yesterday some on here would have found a way to blame mcentee :). And then when we finally have a ff line click (first time in years) we have others calling for them to be moved. For me if players are still injured we start with 13 of same team as yesterday. The 2 unlucky players to miss out would be o"hare and campion.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/01/2023 18:54:29    2455392

Replying To latouche25:  "No I wouldn't move Walsh as long as he's getting the supply he got yesterday. How long do you think it will take a more savvy defence to put in a blocker in front of him to cut out the supply. Morris again missed a lot yesterday and just doesn't have the finishing power of a top class corner forward. He did move out the field and got on a lot of ball and did appear to look more at home for it. Maybe you have have a different take on it. Please let us know"
I think Morris is frustrating but has that bit of x factor and at the end of the day still finished with 1-2 yesterday..... has that bit of trickery too. 100% a corner forward.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 30/01/2023 19:13:09    2455397

Replying To latouche25:  "No I wouldn't move Walsh as long as he's getting the supply he got yesterday. How long do you think it will take a more savvy defence to put in a blocker in front of him to cut out the supply. Morris again missed a lot yesterday and just doesn't have the finishing power of a top class corner forward. He did move out the field and got on a lot of ball and did appear to look more at home for it. Maybe you have have a different take on it. Please let us know"
Firstly I totally accept that management incl. selectors are much better placed to pick the team full stop. Your second sentence is a real possibility and no doubt will be a consideration... When i say try Shane at midfield that can be as easy as moving him out during a match and see what can be learned.. I believe our midfield is a weakness still even allowing for some good work in 2nd half yesterday. A definite plus was when yesterday management moved swiftly to respond when needed. Already that is one area where improvement can be seen. smart sideline. I was not suprised at their speed of response. So that removes some fear of failure by trying to think maybe outside the box when you can see sideline can read and know what they are doing.
I think that we may also have more options to find full forwards than midfielders at present. Id mention Thomas O Reilly and Lenehan because of their added assets as potential freetakers.another area of need. Well done to Shane yesterday for his succes here also. I believe strongly that team confidence can lift all boats. Several on here remarked on increased confidence in the team. Satisfying to hear COR answer the question "what did you say at half time " his answer " they looked nervous earlier so i just said go out and play football not much more"
So I see the formulae for continuous improvement as A ...identify a need B try to fill the need. C monitor and respond as required as swiftly as possible . D revert to status quo if required to consider other options.
For me i saw fear or nervousness replaced by confidence and freedom as prescribed by the manager at half time
Now that is progress !!!!!! In an atmosphere like that barriers of fear can be removed and freedom to try something is on when the sideline are fuuly awake to whats happening Early days we all know but after just 1 match great to see comments highlighting confidence. Well done management and players . Long may it continue

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 30/01/2023 19:48:21    2455402

Finally watched the game back. That a second half performance was probably the best half of football we played in the last 10 years. We blew Cork out of the water at times.

Plenty to work on though and

1.) Hogan - Solid between the posts, pulled off a couple of decent saves but needs to work on kickouts as they are predictable

2.) O Hare - Bit of nerves, gave a way a couple of soft frees and let his man have a couple of meters. Needs to keep goal side of his man

3.) Flood - Solid but would like to see more of him. Didn't really get on the ball much in the first half but neither did his man

4.) Hickey - Caught wrong side of his man a couple of times, looked good going forward. He'll get better in corner back the more he plays there.

5.) Harkin - Good going forward as well but needs to tighten up and remember his first job is to defend.

6.) Keoghan - Solid but needs to watch his tackling, difference between him and other lads that gave away frees is what he does to make it up

7.) O Neill - Thought was harsh to be brought off a half time, got forward well. Needs to get react to danger sooner instead of waiting to see what will happen

8.) Jones - Poor tackling and kicked away ball aimlessly but tracked runners and showed for the ball. Needs to improve his ability to compete with the better midfielders given he's now 24/25.

9.) McGowan - Was anonymous in the first half but improved as the game went on. Similar to Jones, needs to improve on the basics of being a midfielder

10.) O Sullivan - Brilliant, got back supported the fullback line at times and took his goal well.

11.) Scully - Worked hard but similar to Jones, kicked the ball for the sake of it.

12.) Campion - Worked hard but needs to get on the ball more, he's coming to that age where he can no longer be a passenger.

13.) Morris - Lively inside, lived off scraps in the first half. Needs to track a runner or hand them off to someone else

14.) Costello - Played well at times but was out of the game for large parts. Between club and college he has been kept going and should be given a few weeks off if possible

15.) Walsh - MOTM needs to start backing that performance up. Worked really hard and set the tempo from the off with tracking his man

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 31/01/2023 08:10:52    2455425

Walsh was moved at times out the field I was sitting right behind ORourke and he was at times asking Walsh to come out and when he did he ran the show passing the ball especially when we went ahead.
Walsh was outstanding yesterday no matter where he ended up he was brilliant games will dictated if he needs or when he needs to move out unlike our last manager who had him roaming the half back line it must have been demoralising for a natural forward.
Our midfield will be fine they won't come up against a bigger pairing for the rest of the year and they done OK against them .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 31/01/2023 09:10:50    2455429

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I think Morris is frustrating but has that bit of x factor and at the end of the day still finished with 1-2 yesterday..... has that bit of trickery too. 100% a corner forward."
I give Morris credit as he had a very frustrating first half and missed decent opportunities but persisted and got a good 1-2 in the second half, part of the problem I saw before was when chances went a begging the confidence went also, but the heads never dropped in PUC and persistence paid off, that in itself is promising

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/01/2023 09:41:57    2455432

Replying To mmc:  "Walsh was moved at times out the field I was sitting right behind ORourke and he was at times asking Walsh to come out and when he did he ran the show passing the ball especially when we went ahead.
Walsh was outstanding yesterday no matter where he ended up he was brilliant games will dictated if he needs or when he needs to move out unlike our last manager who had him roaming the half back line it must have been demoralising for a natural forward.
Our midfield will be fine they won't come up against a bigger pairing for the rest of the year and they done OK against them ."
Mightn't come up against a bigger pairing but Fenton and Glass are really good operator's so we need to be able to adapt to that

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 31/01/2023 11:27:06    2455463

Replying To mmc:  "Walsh was moved at times out the field I was sitting right behind ORourke and he was at times asking Walsh to come out and when he did he ran the show passing the ball especially when we went ahead.
Our midfield will be fine they won't come up against a bigger pairing for the rest of the year and they done OK against them ."
Might not face bigger. But will face better. Ie Fenton. Best midfielder in country

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/01/2023 14:14:01    2455549

Replying To ratlag:  "Team out now

Harry Hogan
Adam O Neill
Michael Flood
Cathal Hickey
Eoin Harkin
Donal Keoghan
Daniel O Neill
Ronan Jones
Daithi McGowan
Cillian O Sullivan
Jason Scully
Darragh Campion
Jordan Morris
Matthew Costello
Shane Walsh

I think our full back line is very weak, Hickey is a wing back in my opinion and between Flood and O Neill theres no county experience and nothing so far that fills with confidence. Now the only way to get experience is to play so hopefully they can prove me wrong but for me this is a worry.

Half back line is quite strong I think and should be OK.

Midfield is as expected, two half forwards in my opinion but both good players.

In the forwards we just need the lads to actually score, all good players and on their day are very capable, but I'm still not convinced Shane Walsh is any good inside, he doesn't win his own ball and is bullied to easily..

Overall I'm afraid I'm not overly optimistic for the game, but obviously hope I eating my own words come sunday evening"
Well I will eat my words on Walsh, he was excellent and showed what he is capable of.............however one swallow doesn't make a summer and he will not only have to reproduce that performance against Clare this weekend, but he needs to show it against the big teams like Derry, Dublin and even Kildare for me to be convinced that he has made the step up.

Over all the forwards played much better as a unit than I expected and kicking 3-14 away from home in Division 2 is as good a score as any team will put up this year. The only down side really is that we concede 19 scores over 70 minutes of football against what is lets be fair, a poor cork side. Yes getting McGill back in will be a huge boost and will help shore things up but we need to be a lot tighter in the next few games and limit the number of scorable frees given away.

Overall a much better showing than I had expected and I hope we can continue to improve over the next few weeks, but as for now I'm still sticking with my original season expectations of a 3rd/4th place league finish and a potential Leinster final again.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 31/01/2023 14:41:15    2455568