Cork V Meath NFL Rd 1

Replying To dickie10:  "if we do get a win against Cork, then i would firmly believe we can get wins against clare, limerick and louth. just cant see a win newbridge in a big dearby match v kildare and id right off derry away definitley.

can anyone with spare time put up our div 2 away record for the last 15 years? i cant remeber beating Cavan, Monaghon,Armagh, galway, rosscommon,kildare, tipperary,down ,derry away from home in that period? maybe im missing a famous win there somewhere.
Draws in Ballybofey, hyde park and clones were very good results but we get very hard to get over the line in those away games against teams at oor slightly ahead of us.
Cork,clare and westmeath are the only games i remember us winning away against. i wouldnt count other weak counties like laois, louth ,offaly.fermanagh"
So since 2010 this is what I make our away results to look like (not including defeats)

Weatmeath - Won by 12 points 0-05 to 0-17

2013 (Division 3)
Wicklow - Won by 8 points 0-08 to 0-16
Roscommon - Won by 5 points 0-12 to 2-11
Antrim - Won by 11 points 0-11 to 1-19

Donegal - Draw 1-12 to 1-12
Laois - Won by 2 points 1-10 to 0-15
Louth - Won by 1 point 1-12 to 2-10

Down - Won by 7 points 0-10 to 2-11

Galway - Draw 0-15 to 1-12
Derry - Draw 2-12 to 2-12
Laois - Won by 6 points 1-09 to 0-18

Cork - Draw 0-18 to 1-15
Clare - Won by 12 points 1-13 to 3-19

Roscommon - Draw 2-12 to 2-12
Louth - Won by 8 points 0-07 to 1-12

Cork - Won by 6 points 1-09 to 2-12
Clare - Won by 5 points 1-07 to 1-12

Down - Won by 7 points 0-14 to 2-15

Clare - Won by 1 point 0-09 to 0-10

A few good draws, but no massive wins against say top 8-10 teams

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 26/01/2023 12:09:23    2454374

Replying To dickie10:  "if we do get a win against Cork, then i would firmly believe we can get wins against clare, limerick and louth. just cant see a win newbridge in a big dearby match v kildare and id right off derry away definitley.

can anyone with spare time put up our div 2 away record for the last 15 years? i cant remeber beating Cavan, Monaghon,Armagh, galway, rosscommon,kildare, tipperary,down ,derry away from home in that period? maybe im missing a famous win there somewhere.
Draws in Ballybofey, hyde park and clones were very good results but we get very hard to get over the line in those away games against teams at oor slightly ahead of us.
Cork,clare and westmeath are the only games i remember us winning away against. i wouldnt count other weak counties like laois, louth ,offaly.fermanagh"
2009 - 1 win 2 losses. Beat Wexford lost to Armagh and Cork.
2010 - 0 wins 3 losses. Lost to Tipperary, Down and Donegal.
2011 - 0 wins 4 losses. Lost to Laois, Antrim, Kildare and Derry.
2012 - 1 win 2 losses. Beat Westmeath, Lost to Galway and Tyrone.
2013 (Division 3) - 3 wins 1 loss. Beat Antrim, Roscommon and Wicklow. Lost to Monaghan.
2014 - 2 wins, 1 draw, 1 loss. Beat Louth and Laois. Draw with Donegal. Lost to Monaghan.
2015 - 1 win 2 losses. Beat Down. Lost to Roscommon and Galway.
2016 - 1 win, 2 draws, 1 loss. Beat Laois, Drew with Derry and Galway. Lost to Fermanagh.
2017 - 1 win, 1 loss, 1 draw. Beat Clare, Draw against Cork, Lost to Down.
2018 - 1 win, 1 draw, 2 losses. Beat Louth, Drew with Roscommon. Lost to Cavan and Tipp.
2019 - 2 wins, 1 loss. Beat Cork and Clare. Lost to Donegal.
2020 (Division 1) - 1 draw, 3 losses. Drew with Monaghan, lost to Tyrone, Kerry and Dublin.
2021 (Covid league) - 1 loss. Lost to Mayo. We beat Down in Armagh as they lost home advantage due to a Covid breach.
2022 - 1 win, 1 draw, 1 loss. Beat Clare, drew with Offaly, lost to Galway.

All info from Wikipedia. Couldn't get anything from 08. And before that it wasn't the same league structure with 4 divisions of 8.

Overall away record 14 wins, 7 draws and 24 losses so clearly an Achilles heel and that's across 4 managers full terms.

Also what stood out to me is that over 16 years of the current league format we've been in division 2 for 14 of them only going up once and down once. Really unusual consistency for a team not at the top of D1 or the bottom of D4. Hopefully Colm O'Rourke and his management team can Buck the trend and get us to atleast 50% away from home and we could push for division 1. But can't see it this year

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 26/01/2023 13:02:33    2454390

1. Harry Hogan
2. James O'Hare
3. Donal Keogan
4. Robin Clarke
5. Eoin Harkin
6. Pádraig Harnan
7. Jason Scully
8. Ronan Jones
9. Daithí McGowan
10. Cillian O'Sullivan
11. Shane Walsh
12. Thomas O'Reilly
13. Matthew Costello
14. Diarmuid Moriarty
15. Jordan Morris

Keogan is needed at FB for this game. Michael Flood played well in the O'Byrne Cup but this will be a massive step up from that and Keogan is our best defender, so I very much needed at full back for this game without McGill. It will probably be a toss of a coin between Shane McEntee and Pádraig Harnan for this one.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 27/01/2023 09:58:27    2454495

Is there a GaaGo package for the league…or do you have to buy each game individually? I see a championship package only on their website

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 27/01/2023 10:48:55    2454510

Morning all, a crisp and cold Friday and Football is returning. It's a great time to be alive. Still toying around with the idea of a spin to Cork? It's a long out drive and dunno if it'll be easier to rest up and watch on TG4.

Was hoping we might have an out team announcement but not to be.

I've seen a few teams by posters and I'm not having a go at any of them but seeing the same out tried and tested lads (McEntee,Harnan etc) doesn't fill me with any confidence. Lads have had multiple chances over the years and never really played up to the standard so why should we persist… if we were going to do that why move on from Andy McEntee… I'm sorry to say for me those lads are bench options at best. Move on nd give younger lads the chance to show what they can do.

With that in mind I'll give you my 15, accept many won't agree with it and nor should they,

1 Hogan
2 O'Hare
3 Ryan (until McGill is back)
4 Flood or Clarke
5 Harkin
6 Dan O'Neill
7 Keoghan
8 McGowan
9 Jones or Crosby
10 Costello
11 Campion
12 Scully
13 o'sullivan
14 d Moriarty
15 Lynch

16 Brennan/ B Hogan
17 Flood or Clarke
18 Jones or Crosby
19 Hickey
20 Conlan
21 Walsh
22 O'Connor
23 Morris
24 Lenihan
25 Rafferty
26 Quigley or O'Reilly

Assuming Jack Flynn isn't match fit. Harnan, mcEntee, C Moriarty, H O'Higgins, Keith Curtis should all be travelling too.

I don't expect that to be close but looked I think there's new guys who deserve a chance to show their wears ahead of lads who've been there for years and not really lit it up. Let them ride the bench and prove their worth coming into games.

Good luck to the team, Colm,Stephen, Barry, Eugene, Paul and everyone else. As I said no targets other than continuous improvement for 2023. I'm not averse to a Tailteann cup if the team is progressing.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/01/2023 10:49:46    2454511

Team out now

Harry Hogan
Adam O Neill
Michael Flood
Cathal Hickey
Eoin Harkin
Donal Keoghan
Daniel O Neill
Ronan Jones
Daithi McGowan
Cillian O Sullivan
Jason Scully
Darragh Campion
Jordan Morris
Matthew Costello
Shane Walsh

I think our full back line is very weak, Hickey is a wing back in my opinion and between Flood and O Neill theres no county experience and nothing so far that fills with confidence. Now the only way to get experience is to play so hopefully they can prove me wrong but for me this is a worry.

Half back line is quite strong I think and should be OK.

Midfield is as expected, two half forwards in my opinion but both good players.

In the forwards we just need the lads to actually score, all good players and on their day are very capable, but I'm still not convinced Shane Walsh is any good inside, he doesn't win his own ball and is bullied to easily..

Overall I'm afraid I'm not overly optimistic for the game, but obviously hope I eating my own words come sunday evening

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 27/01/2023 11:56:25    2454527

Well I wasn't miles off

1 Hogan
2 Adam O'Neill
3 Flood
4 Hickey
5 Harkin
6 Keoghan
7 Dan O'Neill
8 Jones
9 McGowan
10 sully
11 scully
12 Campion
13 Morris
14 Costello
15 Walsh

Team is on Meath GAA Twitter

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/01/2023 12:03:33    2454529

Replying To ratlag:  "Team out now

Harry Hogan
Adam O Neill
Michael Flood
Cathal Hickey
Eoin Harkin
Donal Keoghan
Daniel O Neill
Ronan Jones
Daithi McGowan
Cillian O Sullivan
Jason Scully
Darragh Campion
Jordan Morris
Matthew Costello
Shane Walsh

I think our full back line is very weak, Hickey is a wing back in my opinion and between Flood and O Neill theres no county experience and nothing so far that fills with confidence. Now the only way to get experience is to play so hopefully they can prove me wrong but for me this is a worry.

Half back line is quite strong I think and should be OK.

Midfield is as expected, two half forwards in my opinion but both good players.

In the forwards we just need the lads to actually score, all good players and on their day are very capable, but I'm still not convinced Shane Walsh is any good inside, he doesn't win his own ball and is bullied to easily..

Overall I'm afraid I'm not overly optimistic for the game, but obviously hope I eating my own words come sunday evening"
Not our strongest team. But then we have a few injuries. Like you the two areas of concern are the back line without McGill and the forward line. We have brought in forward coaches etc , and with Shane changing his mind and giving it a go this year i hope he has bought into the system and feels comfortable in it. I'm disappointed not to see moriarty start I think he has earned it during obc.
I think cork management will know exactly the way we are going to play. High ball into Costello and walsh with Morris feeding off them, and scully and O'Sullivan running forward. It's a simple game plan but could be very effective. My only concern is that Colm is not going to use it as a hill to die on, ie we have a plan b, my number one criticism of Andy was it was the running game plan a and plan b. Cork know now that their best chance of a win is to pack defense if our kicking game isn't returning rewards we must change quickly, this is where I hope we would have the likes of moriarty and Curtis coming in quick ball through the hands. Shane Mcentee probably hasn't got 70mins at this stage and is it a case of starting him or leaving him for second half.
All in all I am really looking forward to the game. It's a long drive to cork and back on Sunday but it's a new era and hopefully a fruitful one.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2023 13:15:24    2454560

Replying To brian:  "Well I wasn't miles off

1 Hogan
2 Adam O'Neill
3 Flood
4 Hickey
5 Harkin
6 Keoghan
7 Dan O'Neill
8 Jones
9 McGowan
10 sully
11 scully
12 Campion
13 Morris
14 Costello
15 Walsh

Team is on Meath GAA Twitter"
Apparently Adam O'neill is flying in training, didnt feature at all in the Obyrne cup. Was expecting James O'hare to start. Also thought Moriarty would start instead of Darragh campion. Not too many other surprises. Wouldnt expect Hickey to actually play corner back. Keoghan or Harkin might switch and play there on the day. I heard hickey had a great game in the sigerson from half back last week.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 27/01/2023 21:06:13    2454647

Best of luck to the lads

Hopefully they can perform well and give it a right go.

Cant see anything only a relegation battle with the crop of players we have, no stand out scorers in our forward line that will guarantee you 5 or 6 scores a game.

No recognised free taker in there either, remember our keeper was our second highest scorer last year in the league campaign.

Anyways as i always say, you can only p##s with the d##k you have and slating lads on here is no good. They are all out to do their best for our county.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 28/01/2023 11:43:20    2454686

Replying To thelutch:  "Best of luck to the lads

Hopefully they can perform well and give it a right go.

Cant see anything only a relegation battle with the crop of players we have, no stand out scorers in our forward line that will guarantee you 5 or 6 scores a game.

No recognised free taker in there either, remember our keeper was our second highest scorer last year in the league campaign.

Anyways as i always say, you can only p##s with the d##k you have and slating lads on here is no good. They are all out to do their best for our county."
Agreed. Avoiding relegation would be a fine achievement. I'd be very happy with us competing for a Tailteann Cup this year and getting to final of that maybe and building from there. We've a good setup in place so I'm hopeful they can get as much out of current talent in the county as anyone could.

Best of luck to the team and management.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 28/01/2023 12:08:39    2454693

It's difficult to see where promotion will come from with the lack of a marquee forward.

All the forwards starting tomorrow can score 2-3 points from play on their day but there's no one in the squad like a Connolly or Sherlock from Cork, Mulroy from Louth, Hyland, McCorrmack or Flynn from Kildare, Sexton and Cleary from Clare or Kilkenny, Con or Rock from Dublin. All those lads can score 5/6 points from play on their day and if they don't there is another fella to step up.

We also lack a free taker who will nail 70% of any placed ball inside the 45. Look at it this way, if you're playing Louth, Dublin, Kildare, Derry and both teams get 10 storable frees in a game all them have a free taker who you would be confident of get 7/10... I wouldn't be confident of getting 5/10 and those 2/3 score could be the difference in winning league matches.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 28/01/2023 12:32:14    2454702

Difficult to know what Meath can produce tomorrow, O Byrne Cup revealed little we did not know already, hopefully management learned a few things and can surprise us tomorrow. Cork remind me of Meath in our promotion year, very fit, put a lot into preseason and are confident they can do well in league. They have little or no injury worries and have a good management team in place. So a bit of the unkown for us and I would be happy to consolidate position in Div Two, while most of all showing signs of constant improvement and a style of play that suits available players. Looking forward to game tomorrow and best of luck to management and players.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 28/01/2023 14:52:10    2454741

Replying To Crinigan:  "Agreed. Avoiding relegation would be a fine achievement. I'd be very happy with us competing for a Tailteann Cup this year and getting to final of that maybe and building from there. We've a good setup in place so I'm hopeful they can get as much out of current talent in the county as anyone could.

Best of luck to the team and management."
Can't agree with this. Tailteann cup would be a disaster. And I'd expect none of the current management would be there next year if that were to happen. From what I've heard Colm and co have been given pretty much a free reign. With only one specific instruction, we play in the all ire series. Be that by league position or a run to Leinster final. That is all the co board have asked. Failure to achieve that could be very disruptive.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/01/2023 14:52:53    2454744

This meath team is beyond average ! Would love to see us do more ! But we will lose tommorow ! No doubts !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 28/01/2023 17:51:03    2454778

Great to see a bit of realism from most folks on here about where we are, and that continuous improvements will be a good measure of our 2023 season and a Tailteann cup might be a huge benefit. The competition was good enough for Cavan, Tipperary (provincial winners in 2020 no less) Offaly and Westmeath last year. Most of those four teams are aways ahead of us in the basic fundamentals of the game and we need up it significantly or the Tailteann cup is where we'll be. Now I'm not holding that over Colm and this teams head of ending up there being a failure, gradually improving and growing is what I hope to see and I'll give them the chance to do that over 2023 and beyond.

Amazing to see some posters still going on as if their in the know about targets from the county board. Saying things like Failure to achieve a place in the all Ireland series could be very disruptive.… honestly no one on here knows what's been said behind closed doors at county board level and they're only showing themselves up as eejits for suggesting they do know… we all see right through this in the know talk for what it is.. And I'll tell ye something another couple of hammerings in the all Ireland series if we made it there could be even more disruptive than ending up in the Tailteann cup and see more young lads drift away.

We have to realise where we're really at as a county and most on here do. Talk of we are Meath and hon the royal… what does that even mean… it's a punchline of a joke to most other counties in the country, and as a team, these lads need to earn their respect and rebuild a reputation that's through the floorboards. Colm and his team can hopefully start that journey, they might not get far but if the can raise the base camp and standards for the next management team, that for me would be success.

I live in hope there's brighter days ahead and will support the jersey no matter how dark it gets, hopefully the management and players can start giving us something to start shouting about.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 28/01/2023 19:10:49    2454792

Well if last year results were enough to drop Andy (which I agreed with. ) but those same players saying we on the same level as tipp and Offaly now and great to play in tailteann cause Colm is in charge. Just shows their bias . Pathetic. I for one will not accept that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/01/2023 19:30:31    2454794

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well if last year results were enough to drop Andy (which I agreed with. ) but those same players saying we on the same level as tipp and Offaly now and great to play in tailteann cause Colm is in charge. Just shows their bias . Pathetic. I for one will not accept that."
"People "not players

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/01/2023 19:50:23    2454796

Replying To brian:  "Great to see a bit of realism from most folks on here about where we are, and that continuous improvements will be a good measure of our 2023 season and a Tailteann cup might be a huge benefit. The competition was good enough for Cavan, Tipperary (provincial winners in 2020 no less) Offaly and Westmeath last year. Most of those four teams are aways ahead of us in the basic fundamentals of the game and we need up it significantly or the Tailteann cup is where we'll be. Now I'm not holding that over Colm and this teams head of ending up there being a failure, gradually improving and growing is what I hope to see and I'll give them the chance to do that over 2023 and beyond.

Amazing to see some posters still going on as if their in the know about targets from the county board. Saying things like Failure to achieve a place in the all Ireland series could be very disruptive.… honestly no one on here knows what's been said behind closed doors at county board level and they're only showing themselves up as eejits for suggesting they do know… we all see right through this in the know talk for what it is.. And I'll tell ye something another couple of hammerings in the all Ireland series if we made it there could be even more disruptive than ending up in the Tailteann cup and see more young lads drift away.

We have to realise where we're really at as a county and most on here do. Talk of we are Meath and hon the royal… what does that even mean… it's a punchline of a joke to most other counties in the country, and as a team, these lads need to earn their respect and rebuild a reputation that's through the floorboards. Colm and his team can hopefully start that journey, they might not get far but if the can raise the base camp and standards for the next management team, that for me would be success.

I live in hope there's brighter days ahead and will support the jersey no matter how dark it gets, hopefully the management and players can start giving us something to start shouting about."
100%

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 29/01/2023 08:13:15    2454840

Leaving soon let's hope this new era pushes us on again.
Best of luck to Colm donal and all the management and players.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/01/2023 08:42:54    2454843