Meath V Dublin

Mcentee will be there next year and desirable so, why are people debating this before a meath dublin game I will never know

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 07/07/2021 23:42:20    2357555

Replying To Kingkeegan:  "I am an Irish soccer fan. And I think Stephen Kenny is not up to the job and should go. I am Man Utd fan and I think Ole is out of his depth and should go. But the other team I support and my number 1 team is Meath. I am happy with the manager. I think he doing a good job. And I am not the only one. The way he works with Hickey, Costello, Harkin, Morris, Walsh and Conlon, the way they are playing out of their skins for him has impressed me greatly. They are the future of Meath football. And there is more talent coming through. The Under 20s have players like Oisin McCluskey and Luke Mitchell and minors like Eoghan Frayne, Conor Gray, Sean Emmanuel, Ciaran Caulfield and Liam Kelly are players with potential. Andy is the best to take them forward. I have seen young players come through with huge talent since Sean left and they didn't reach their potential. We have a manager who can get the best out these player, it makes sense to keep him. Our results, our performance, our consistency, our morale, our strength and conditioning, our fitness, our tactics have all improved under McEntee. He is the first manager to get us playing a modern possession game successfully. If we could get Cian McBride back next year, a fit Jones and Walsh, add Frayne to the panel. And one or two more under 20s, I believe we are well and able capable of beating of Roscommon or Cork or Galway. I firstly think we have better manager than all of them. And better defenders. And one or two forwards keep improving, we have a great chance of promotion. Derry and Offaly are beatable. We have beaten Clare 4 times in the last 4 year. Kildare have been beaten 3 times by Clare in the last 5 years. And we will be a tough team to beat in the backdoor also. There's no team in div 2, 3 or 4 we are not capable of beating. We lost to Fermamagh, Cavan, laois, Derry , Armagh and Limerick in the backdoor since 2001. Under McEntee there is not a team in div 2 3 or 4, we cannot beat. Since 2001 that has not been the case with only 2 decent runs in the backdoor eg 2007 and 2009. Bring Mayo or Donegal to Navan or any div 1 team, we are capable of beating them. Andy Mc is developing a good football team, who I think can only get better. My last word on the matter."
KK here's where you're wrong. Andy has had Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry all in Navan, between league and championship and some of them in both.

He has won the sum total of none of those games.

Meath have stagnated since 2019.

You said all the names people suggest aren't worthy because they don't have the CV or were only part of backroom staff's on multiple all ireland winning teams. They were integral parts of those all ireland winning teams. It's not all down to Jim Gavin and Pat Gilroy that Dublin won things.

You mentioned Andy had a minor all ireland final appearance and club all ireland final to his name. What about his own failures as a a manager. Don/ Ash had multiple chances under him and they won nothing.

Ultimately every first time manager has to start somewhere and they don't all start with a glittering CV. Lets not forget our greatest ever Sean Boylan applied for the hurling managers job. I don't believe Jim McGuinness or James Horan started with all irelands in their back pockets as managers but they were given a chance.

Our results, our performance, our consistency, our morale, our strength and conditioning, our fitness, our tactics have all improved under McEntee.

Our results haven't improved, they peaked in 2019 and we've not been close to it since then. Our performances have been laboured at best when playing teams at a similar standard. Our morale... did you see the performance and attitude v Kildare, only started caring when the game was out of reach.. Have you seen the morale of players leaving the panel after being brow beaten by Andy (Donal Lenihan) Our tactics, gimme a break, Can't get our kick outs right, run up blind alleys, can't get a good free taker. He's hardly reinvented the wheel

Our S&C and Fitness have improved because Niall Ronan has worked with the players for 3 summers now i believe. They're consistently working with the same person, they have programs and plans and are monitored.

You talk about him bringing through young players, i would say he's not the right kind of manager to bringing through the modern player. He rules by fear and dictation. Don't do what he says and you're out. Modern players look for guidance, support and information to improve, not the old school approach of being roared at from the sidelines.

If he was developing such a good team why can't he resolve some of the most basic skills and strategies within the game? Kickouts and free taking. Huge important parts of the game and virtually ignored.

The first thing a new manager would come in and do is work on those and we'd improve our scoring by 3-4 scores a game on our side and reduce our opponents scoring by at least 2 scores a game. Its as simple as that. But Andy doesn't seem to think that's important.

As I've said all along does this matter. Will Brian on hoganstand.com/meath and his opinion mean anything to the county board and Andy? No it won't and we'll be having very similar discussions a year or 2 down the line.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 08/07/2021 09:24:25    2357585

Replying To seadog54:  "Are you related to Furlong 1949? Very similar type of detailed post, takes a lot of research. Never have been a fan of current management and unlikely to change anytime soon. Agree, he will be there next year, not because is is a decent manager, just too stubborn to leave and as things get worse CB continue to fail Meath football."
nailed it

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 08/07/2021 09:29:37    2357586

Replying To brian:  "KK here's where you're wrong. Andy has had Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry all in Navan, between league and championship and some of them in both.

You said all the names people suggest aren't worthy because they don't have the CV or were only part of backroom staff's on multiple all ireland winning teams. They were integral parts of those all ireland winning teams. It's not all down to Jim Gavin and Pat Gilroy that Dublin won things.

You mentioned Andy had a minor all ireland final appearance and club all ireland final to his name. What about his own failures as a a manager. Don/ Ash had multiple chances under him and they won nothing.

Ultimately every first time manager has to start somewhere and they don't all start with a glittering CV. Lets not forget our greatest ever Sean Boylan applied for the hurling managers job. I don't believe Jim McGuinness or James Horan started with all irelands in their back pockets as managers but they were given a chance.

Our results, our performance, our consistency, our morale, our strength and conditioning, our fitness, our tactics have all improved under McEntee.

Our results haven't improved, they peaked in 2019 and we've not been close to it since then. Our performances have been laboured at best when playing teams at a similar standard. Our morale... did you see the performance and attitude v Kildare, only started caring when the game was out of reach.. Have you seen the morale of players leaving the panel after being brow beaten by Andy (Donal Lenihan) Our tactics, gimme a break, Can't get our kick outs right, run up blind alleys, can't get a good free taker. He's hardly reinvented the wheel

Our S&C and Fitness have improved because Niall Ronan has worked with the players for 3 summers now i believe. They're consistently working with the same person, they have programs and plans and are monitored.

You talk about him bringing through young players, i would say he's not the right kind of manager to bringing through the modern player. He rules by fear and dictation. Don't do what he says and you're out. Modern players look for guidance, support and information to improve, not the old school approach of being roared at from the sidelines.

If he was developing such a good team why can't he resolve some of the most basic skills and strategies within the game? Kickouts and free taking. Huge important parts of the game and virtually ignored.

The first thing a new manager would come in and do is work on those and we'd improve our scoring by 3-4 scores a game on our side and reduce our opponents scoring by at least 2 scores a game. Its as simple as that. But Andy doesn't seem to think that's important.

As I've said all along does this matter. Will Brian on hoganstand.com/meath and his opinion mean anything to the county board and Andy? No it won't and we'll be having very similar discussions a year or 2 down the line."
Have to correct you there. McEntee won the Intermediate Championship with Donaghmore in his first year with them and got to Quarter/Semi finals of the Senior championship in the subsequent 3/4 years after that.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 08/07/2021 09:44:03    2357593

Some great posts on here from KK to Brian and many others.Its great to see the passion for our county.While I agree with KK to an extent Andy has improved Meath no doubt about that.He has restored pride back into Meath and you can see the passion he has for his county.He got us back up to division 1 and with a bit of luck we could and should have beaten a few top teams.As for lads walking away there will always be lads who walk away work, family,social etc I'm sure every county is the same.The Dublin game for me is massive if we can get a proper performance against them Andy should be given a year to try and get us back into division 1.If we get beat by 20 points or the like or the game is over by half time serious questions must be asked by the county board.I know people will say its Dublin but they have regressed a bit(still the benchmark)so we have to improve on the last couple of years.Kk I get what your saying not many managers with Andy's cv available but as Brian rightly pointed out the likes of Boylan, McGuinness etc didnt have all Ireland medals as managers and they did alright.If the Meath job was vacant in the morning I'm sure there would be alot of interest.Andy has built a very solid foundation,we have a good team,alot of young players coming through and if we can get a few of the under 20/minor through to the senior team then the future may look much brighter.Banging the old drum but freetaker issues haven't been resolved.If Newman is fit then maybe can slot them over.we need to take every chance v Dublin so cant be missing handy or kickable frees.I worry about midfield dont win enough ball so need to be in breaking the ball and picking up breaks.Last year Dublin bypassed midfield a bit finding 14 (Costello I think) alot everyone pulled wide and Cluxton hit him time after time.I believe Cluxton is a massive loss to them if he stays away(not saying comford is not a good keeper)just cluxton as you know has masterd the art of finding his man.All I want is for us to leave everything on the pitch,fight for everything give them a rattle and if we are still in the game 10 mind to go who knows (dreaming I know)but the heart will always say we can beat Dublin but head says it's a big ask.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 08/07/2021 10:43:27    2357611

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Some great posts on here from KK to Brian and many others.Its great to see the passion for our county.While I agree with KK to an extent Andy has improved Meath no doubt about that.He has restored pride back into Meath and you can see the passion he has for his county.He got us back up to division 1 and with a bit of luck we could and should have beaten a few top teams.As for lads walking away there will always be lads who walk away work, family,social etc I'm sure every county is the same.The Dublin game for me is massive if we can get a proper performance against them Andy should be given a year to try and get us back into division 1.If we get beat by 20 points or the like or the game is over by half time serious questions must be asked by the county board.I know people will say its Dublin but they have regressed a bit(still the benchmark)so we have to improve on the last couple of years.Kk I get what your saying not many managers with Andy's cv available but as Brian rightly pointed out the likes of Boylan, McGuinness etc didnt have all Ireland medals as managers and they did alright.If the Meath job was vacant in the morning I'm sure there would be alot of interest.Andy has built a very solid foundation,we have a good team,alot of young players coming through and if we can get a few of the under 20/minor through to the senior team then the future may look much brighter.Banging the old drum but freetaker issues haven't been resolved.If Newman is fit then maybe can slot them over.we need to take every chance v Dublin so cant be missing handy or kickable frees.I worry about midfield dont win enough ball so need to be in breaking the ball and picking up breaks.Last year Dublin bypassed midfield a bit finding 14 (Costello I think) alot everyone pulled wide and Cluxton hit him time after time.I believe Cluxton is a massive loss to them if he stays away(not saying comford is not a good keeper)just cluxton as you know has masterd the art of finding his man.All I want is for us to leave everything on the pitch,fight for everything give them a rattle and if we are still in the game 10 mind to go who knows (dreaming I know)but the heart will always say we can beat Dublin but head says it's a big ask."
Lot of god stuff in there PR ;) I agree that Dublin game will tell a lot. A performance and something to build on then look lets see how things go in 2022. However another genuflection and 10+ point beat down and it has to be time to move on. Whats most concerning is these lads could go out leave everything on the pitch and leave with a 15 point defeat.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 08/07/2021 11:00:36    2357615

Replying To brian:  "KK here's where you're wrong. Andy has had Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry all in Navan, between league and championship and some of them in both.

As I've said all along does this matter. Will Brian on hoganstand.com/meath and his opinion mean anything to the county board and Andy? No it won't and we'll be having very similar discussions a year or 2 down the line."
Agreed 100%..............But not too sure the current status of poor quality management can continue much longer. You can only stretch the elastic so far. No lessons learned and NO improvements using any objective measurement in the last year or two leads to self destruction. Players will continue to walk away, sponsors will find greener pastures. Maybe left with a hardcore of supporters .Youth will ensure old fashioned outdated methods will not be tolerated. Who can blame them.? The game has moved on . Dublin have demonstrated what good leadership on and off the field can do. They have now a culture where continuous improvement is the only agenda. Gombeen mentality has to be made redundant. Professionalism is encouraged in every way. Not talking about payment for players ,but about players being rewarded with top quality coaching and management. Where players have no hesitation in stating the benefits of being in this atmosphere helps in every aspect of life.
As a life long Meath supporter i am very disappointed to see how we seem to settle for such low standards. FACTS are there for anyone who wants to see them. CB ye cannot continue to hide forever. Ye have been given the honour and RESPONSIBILITY to serve in the best interests of Meath football. So do whatever it takes to raise the standards especially in all areas of preparation of teams for competitive games.
Yes i did welcome Andy's appointment as manager. He did his best which is all that can be expected. Massive thanks due to him for that. Time now to move on but not just with a fresh face but far more importantly with CB showing vision by keeping up with the game. To do so look at what is required for the role of Manager in the present tense. Please pass on all excuses. Yes it will take time,but you have to start somewhere! Ye really do not have any option !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 08/07/2021 11:01:41    2357616

Replying To nobull456:  "

Agreed 100%..............But not too sure the current status of poor quality management can continue much longer. You can only stretch the elastic so far. No lessons learned and NO improvements using any objective measurement in the last year or two leads to self destruction. Players will continue to walk away, sponsors will find greener pastures. Maybe left with a hardcore of supporters .Youth will ensure old fashioned outdated methods will not be tolerated. Who can blame them.? The game has moved on . Dublin have demonstrated what good leadership on and off the field can do. They have now a culture where continuous improvement is the only agenda. Gombeen mentality has to be made redundant. Professionalism is encouraged in every way. Not talking about payment for players ,but about players being rewarded with top quality coaching and management. Where players have no hesitation in stating the benefits of being in this atmosphere helps in every aspect of life.
As a life long Meath supporter i am very disappointed to see how we seem to settle for such low standards. FACTS are there for anyone who wants to see them. CB ye cannot continue to hide forever. Ye have been given the honour and RESPONSIBILITY to serve in the best interests of Meath football. So do whatever it takes to raise the standards especially in all areas of preparation of teams for competitive games.
Yes i did welcome Andy's appointment as manager. He did his best which is all that can be expected. Massive thanks due to him for that. Time now to move on but not just with a fresh face but far more importantly with CB showing vision by keeping up with the game. To do so look at what is required for the role of Manager in the present tense. Please pass on all excuses. Yes it will take time,but you have to start somewhere! Ye really do not have any option !"
its absolutely ridiculous talking about a new manager a week before playing Dublin

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/07/2021 15:30:01    2358074

Replying To meath1977:  "
Replying To nobull456:  "[quote=brian:  "KK here's where you're wrong. Andy has had Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry all in Navan, between league and championship and some of them in both.

Yes i did welcome Andy's appointment as manager. He did his best which is all that can be expected. Massive thanks due to him for that. Time now to move on but not just with a fresh face but far more importantly with CB showing vision by keeping up with the game. To do so look at what is required for the role of Manager in the present tense. Please pass on all excuses. Yes it will take time,but you have to start somewhere! Ye really do not have any option !"
its absolutely ridiculous talking about a new manager a week before playing Dublin"]The height of bad maners

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 09/07/2021 22:42:13    2358184

Yes it will make such a difference to result

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 10/07/2021 09:23:11    2358234

As the game gets closer. I'm actually getting excited.
Enough talk about management etc.
Let's get behind everyone. And who knows ? Maybe just maybe we could pull off the biggest shock in gaa history.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2021 10:02:51    2358237

Against the odds how do we get at dublin?.
A debate on tactical plans, match ups,possible teams.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 10/07/2021 10:59:19    2358243

Well,what do we think about next weeks game?Do you think we have a chance?Do you think it will be same old same old like the last two years?I think we are in a better position this year.I think ourselves a few young players have shown well (hickey,morris etc)let's hope that continues.Moving keoghan back will strengthen the full back line hopefully doing a job on o callaghan.Midfield is a worry but if we can pick up the breaks we might get by.Kickouts are a big worry go short risk the chance of a turnover and Dublin getting goals.We have to stop Dublin scoring goals Going long have we the fielders?unless it's really on I would be going long.I know Fenton could lap it up but if you cant outfield him break it.I know that sounds like an old cliche(stuck in the old times) but we haven't really got a kickout strategy so I dont think it's worth risking going short unless on.Our bench has done well this year coming on doing damage so hopefully that continues.If Newman is fit big plus because he can win his own ball which we haven't done enough of lately plus he is decent with frees we have to take every chance that comes our way.We have forwards who can do damage if we can just get into the scoring range easier said than done I know.On Dublin they are still the benchmark but losing Cluxton,mannion ,McCaffrey that would hurt any team.Cluxton is a massive loss (comerford is a good player I'm sure)he was there composer finding his man 8/9 times out of ten.How many times just a dink straight to the mans chest makes it so much easier then to transition into attack mode.So maybe we could get joy from their kickout by pushing up putting pressure on comerford.Mannion another loss would walk onto any team in the country plus a few others that are gone had real experience and leadership.I know they have younger lads coming through who may well be as good but they haven't the experience yet and are untested so I think that brings them a little closer to us.Also all good things must come to an end sometime 6 all Ireland s in a row is unreal(as much as the pains me to say it)but maybe the hunger could be gone a bit?I know I am probably clutching at straws with all I've said above who knows but I hope we can put in a massive performance and see where it takes us.I hope Andy and the lads believe they can win (what's the point otherwise )and not listen to outside noise.My head says Dublin will probably win but my heart will always say Meath can beat Dublin no matter what.So I'm letting my heart rule my head on this one sure no harm in believing.Big performance from the lads,leave nothing on the pitch that's all we can ask for and at the end let's see where it takes us.Come on the Royal.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 10/07/2021 12:11:58    2358253

Its quite simple for me how next weekend will go. Despite my heart trying to over rule me there's no way i see a victory for our boys on Sunday. From 1-15 and 16 to 26 Dublin are better man for man than us and crucially on the sideline they are light years ahead of us. There's not one area of the match that Meath have an advantage in. If we gave an honest assessment how many of Meath how many of our starting team would get into their extended panel and even make the bench. Donal Keoghan would make the bench and that's about it.

Meath will huff and puff for 35-50 minutes and then Dublin will glide away from us and win by 10 to 15, that's if they don't go about things as they did last year, start extremely fast to swat our efforts, hit us hard, early, often and on the scoreboard.

I'm already seeing people starting to get gee'd up and talk about ruffling the feathers of Comerford and going at their full back line etc. A nonsense talk. Everyone has targeted that for years and I've yet to see a team do it successfully and that's teams with much better full forward lines than our own. Our full forward line can't win quick and isolated ball inside and create something quick with the running game they are playing. The rarely use the mark to their advantage and almost refuse to let in quick ball. So that tactic is out the window.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 12/07/2021 09:39:47    2358859

Replying To brian:  "Its quite simple for me how next weekend will go. Despite my heart trying to over rule me there's no way i see a victory for our boys on Sunday. From 1-15 and 16 to 26 Dublin are better man for man than us and crucially on the sideline they are light years ahead of us. There's not one area of the match that Meath have an advantage in. If we gave an honest assessment how many of Meath how many of our starting team would get into their extended panel and even make the bench. Donal Keoghan would make the bench and that's about it.

Meath will huff and puff for 35-50 minutes and then Dublin will glide away from us and win by 10 to 15, that's if they don't go about things as they did last year, start extremely fast to swat our efforts, hit us hard, early, often and on the scoreboard.

I'm already seeing people starting to get gee'd up and talk about ruffling the feathers of Comerford and going at their full back line etc. A nonsense talk. Everyone has targeted that for years and I've yet to see a team do it successfully and that's teams with much better full forward lines than our own. Our full forward line can't win quick and isolated ball inside and create something quick with the running game they are playing. The rarely use the mark to their advantage and almost refuse to let in quick ball. So that tactic is out the window."
Yeah you are probably right Brian, as I've said above I'm letting my heart rule my head.Looking at it logically Dublin have the better team sure going for 7 in a row but I suppose I'm living in the past.I was a kid in the 80s a teenager 90s and was very lucky to get to majority of the games and see us win and compete with the best.We never knew when we were bet 91,96 etc.Even though Dublin have dominated (for far to long)I still cant admit they are going to win 100per cent v Meath.I always believe we have a chance against them no matter how good they are or how poor we are.For me to give in to that will be the day I stop supporting Meath and I ain't never going to do that.People will say I'm deluded,stupid, naive,a dreamer whatever and maybe they are right but for me you have to have hope,how big?how small? doesn't matter without it what's the point.People will say I know nothing about football thinking that Meath can beat Dublin and maybe I dont know much but I've played football all my life(still trying now) and never have i gone into a match thinking i haven't got a chance.Dont get me wrong have been on the receiving end of quite a few hammerings but always believed we had a chance whoever we were playing.My attitude was/is never to give up no matter what if losing by 10 get it down to 9 etc.Part of it I believe has probably came from with watching Meath teams of the past who never gave up (again I know I'm bringing up the past) but I can't let go,cant let myself believe we have no hope,without hope what have you got?Next Sunday evening people will probably say see told you so we lost again you know nothing about football and I'll not be able to argue with that if so but for me I love playing football because you always have a chance, no matter how big or small you have a chance That for me is the beauty of the game (Cavan,Tipp last year)always a chance.I know Dublin are a different animal but I do believe they are not as strong as they were(still the benchmark for sure)and maybe they will prove me wrong but I think they might be caught this year.Who will catch them Kerry,Mayo,Donegal,Tyrone would be most people s choice to catch them.Can we catch them? Who knows,think we will get closer.I agree with your point we dont put the ball in quick enough to our inside forwards and trying to outrun Dublin is a big ask.I understand your view that people like me get giddy and somehow think Meath have become world beaters overnight(I know we arent)and you are right chances are we will not beat Dublin next sunday or indeed for a while after that but I will never give in and say we have no hope it's just not in me.i really enjoy and respect you and other posters views on here. Anyway that's my view even if I am a dreamer or deluded all we want is for Meath to do well.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 12/07/2021 11:25:06    2358922

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Yeah you are probably right Brian, as I've said above I'm letting my heart rule my head.Looking at it logically Dublin have the better team sure going for 7 in a row but I suppose I'm living in the past.I was a kid in the 80s a teenager 90s and was very lucky to get to majority of the games and see us win and compete with the best.We never knew when we were bet 91,96 etc.Even though Dublin have dominated (for far to long)I still cant admit they are going to win 100per cent v Meath.I always believe we have a chance against them no matter how good they are or how poor we are.For me to give in to that will be the day I stop supporting Meath and I ain't never going to do that.People will say I'm deluded,stupid, naive,a dreamer whatever and maybe they are right but for me you have to have hope,how big?how small? doesn't matter without it what's the point.People will say I know nothing about football thinking that Meath can beat Dublin and maybe I dont know much but I've played football all my life(still trying now) and never have i gone into a match thinking i haven't got a chance.Dont get me wrong have been on the receiving end of quite a few hammerings but always believed we had a chance whoever we were playing.My attitude was/is never to give up no matter what if losing by 10 get it down to 9 etc.Part of it I believe has probably came from with watching Meath teams of the past who never gave up (again I know I'm bringing up the past) but I can't let go,cant let myself believe we have no hope,without hope what have you got?Next Sunday evening people will probably say see told you so we lost again you know nothing about football and I'll not be able to argue with that if so but for me I love playing football because you always have a chance, no matter how big or small you have a chance That for me is the beauty of the game (Cavan,Tipp last year)always a chance.I know Dublin are a different animal but I do believe they are not as strong as they were(still the benchmark for sure)and maybe they will prove me wrong but I think they might be caught this year.Who will catch them Kerry,Mayo,Donegal,Tyrone would be most people s choice to catch them.Can we catch them? Who knows,think we will get closer.I agree with your point we dont put the ball in quick enough to our inside forwards and trying to outrun Dublin is a big ask.I understand your view that people like me get giddy and somehow think Meath have become world beaters overnight(I know we arent)and you are right chances are we will not beat Dublin next sunday or indeed for a while after that but I will never give in and say we have no hope it's just not in me.i really enjoy and respect you and other posters views on here. Anyway that's my view even if I am a dreamer or deluded all we want is for Meath to do well."
Great post Proudroyal. From what you're saying there you're of a similar vintage to myself and have seen the brighter days and i think everything you're saying is how I feel about things too. I hope we can win and there's always the chance no matter what, but the realist in me always comes to the fore. I wouldn't ever call some one on here deluded or a dreamer, ultimately as you say we all want Meath to do well and get back to those brighter days we remember. There will be a few told you so merchants, there always will be no matter what but i won't be one of them. I may criticise after the game and a bad performance and even after good result and performance (see longford) but that's more from I want to see us back at the top table and improving our standards incrementally.

I like you will be dreaming of a result come throw in Sunday evening and no matter what those boys in green will have my undying support. Dare to dream Proudroyal

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 12/07/2021 12:03:15    2358951

Replying To brian:  "Great post Proudroyal. From what you're saying there you're of a similar vintage to myself and have seen the brighter days and i think everything you're saying is how I feel about things too. I hope we can win and there's always the chance no matter what, but the realist in me always comes to the fore. I wouldn't ever call some one on here deluded or a dreamer, ultimately as you say we all want Meath to do well and get back to those brighter days we remember. There will be a few told you so merchants, there always will be no matter what but i won't be one of them. I may criticise after the game and a bad performance and even after good result and performance (see longford) but that's more from I want to see us back at the top table and improving our standards incrementally.

I like you will be dreaming of a result come throw in Sunday evening and no matter what those boys in green will have my undying support. Dare to dream Proudroyal"
My wish is that by the end of the 70/75 minutes that there is some sort of restoration of both our Respect in Ourselves & Respect by the opposition . The frightening realisation by the Powers that Be , after last Years Game , was how quickly our self assurance & confidence were blown out of the water . At the very least this Squad has got to believe , when they are heading back down the M3, that they have a chance at bridging the gap , in time . Equally , we have got to give Dublin some clear moments of self analysis….worry......we do that....and We are on the right road
What happened last year in this game, because we called it wrong, attitude, mental prep, match ups ...the performance had the potential of derailing everything that had been done over the last number of years
As a County...we are not 22 Points behind Dublin based on the Work that is been done & has been done over the years….BUT.....If we (ANDY lets call a spade a spade) doesn't get the calls right for this weekend....we can be thumped again by that margin
Heres hoping the Managment (and players) have learned. form them scars ...and we significantly narrow that gap

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 12/07/2021 16:52:27    2359099

Gods knows what will happen on Sunday. But most result is a Dublin win. I think we have a chance is not based on any actual facts or recent performance or anything like that. I wouldn't take the Dublin v Wexford close result even though I didn't see it. Or Meaths win Lonford it will count for nothing on Sunday IMO for example. its and hunch a heart over head I suppose. Not sure why I think .we have a chance. But maybe history and Meath thickness. It drives the neighbors mad Kildare Louth Cavan etc when we have this believe that we can win. Even if we have no facts to back it up. Its mad some other posters thinking simlar to me to. It would be a very rare thing to win against Dublin as complete underdogs outsiders. I have never seen in happen. But we can still dream.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/07/2021 21:17:35    2359176

i think we should target scoreing 15 times , irrespective of what dublin score. please God we keep it under 10 points.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 12/07/2021 21:28:55    2359183

I know how the Meath lads of my generation used to ruffle a teams feathers, had a few of my own tickled :D
But this Meath team don't have those type of 'personalites' and also the fact that this Dublin team cannot be got at in that manor. If they could be got at, it would have happened by now.
As I said earlier, the loss of Cluxton, McCaffrey and Mannion is huge, and there is no way we are as good. So football is the only way, just go for it.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 12/07/2021 22:56:06    2359216