Very well said, these lads could be from Timbuktu but if they're wearing our beloved Meath jersey I'll be cheering them on regardless.
brian (Meath) - Posts: 1973 - 22/01/2020 15:11:13 2261580 Link 6 |
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/allianz-football-league-division-1-our-team-by-team-guide-and-predictions-976890.html seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2195 - 22/01/2020 15:39:32 2261585 Link 15 |
Best ignored. Standard GAA journalist ie rubbish.
Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1352 - 22/01/2020 15:57:29 2261590 Link 16 |
Shocking bad. Like he says , this journalist says this is Galway 5th consecutive year in div 1 in the article. This is Galways 3rd consective year in div 1. Galway were promoted from div 2 in 2017. You think he would get that right. He has Galway in div 1 in 2016 , the year Galway drew with Meath in Salthill in div 2. He then says Graham Reilly is still on the Meath panel. Graham has gone back to his club and might be called in. But Graham is not on the Meath panel. He hasnt played any part in the Byrne cup and will not be anywhere near the match day panel on Sunday. Yet this journalist says Graham Reilly is commited to Meath panel again this year. Like these are poor mistakes. Its wonder he doesnt say Mick O Dowd is still Meath manager. And Mick Dwyer is back managing kildare.
Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/01/2020 17:18:34 2261622 Link 19 |
Have queried his inclusion of GR in Meath panel.
seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2195 - 22/01/2020 19:02:45 2261642 Link 12 |
Has the panel for league been announced? If so where can I view it. seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2195 - 22/01/2020 19:37:07 2261645 Link 14 |
I don't think we'll see one announced, Andy seems to like working with an extended panel and then bringing players in and out of the match day squad as he deems necessary and that's a good sign.
brian (Meath) - Posts: 1973 - 23/01/2020 09:35:08 2261713 Link 8 |
@Bigjoe: you seem to have a close allegiance to Colgon for whatever reason and you can't see past the facts. He cost us at the business end of last season, plain and simple. The pressure got to him at key moments in those two games when we had the momentum. We all make mistakes so fine to keep him on the panel but not as #1. A team needs to have confidence in their keeper and IMO this has unfortunately been lost since last year. To add to that, the guy doesn't seem to be near inter-county fitness levels. Time for change and York is the front runner that should be given a chance in a tough test in Omagh. Tweety (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 24/01/2020 09:17:16 2261885 Link 2 |
when will the team be announced? 2020Vision (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 24/01/2020 16:35:06 2261957 Link 0 |
Usually left as late as possible.
seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2195 - 24/01/2020 18:38:30 2261973 Link 13 |
Saturday morning I'd say.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2020 19:13:38 2261986 Link 0 |
@Bigjoe: you seem to have a close allegiance to Colgon for whatever reason and you can't see past the facts. He cost us at the business end of last season, plain and simple. The pressure got to him at key moments in those two games when we had the momentum. We all make mistakes so fine to keep him on the panel but not as #1. A team needs to have confidence in their keeper and IMO this has unfortunately been lost since last year. To add to that, the guy doesn't seem to be near inter-county fitness levels. Time for change and York is the front runner that should be given a chance in a tough test in Omagh."]If anyone was in Simonstown at the Feis Cup game tonight they'd be wondering why Burlingham from Simonstown isn't the number 1 or at least hasn't been given another chance on the panel as he's still only 25 ClashofTheAsh13 (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 24/01/2020 23:15:41 2262042 Link 0 |
One thing I've noticed is that last year before the league nobody fancied our chances. They were hardly mentioning us. Colm Parkinson thought we might drop to Div 3. Here we are in Div 1 and nobody gives us much chance before a ball is kicked. I think we're going to surprise a few people. Staying up is going to be tough but the likes of Tyrone, Mayo and Donegal aren't going to be as strong as they were last year for various reasons. Tyrone are bit like us in 2005 where it was a while since our last success. We had a long standing manager but doubts were starting to circulate around him. We had young talent coming on but it didn't seem to bear fruit in terms of trophies. From there, there was a slow decent. Mayo might be going on a downward trend too. Donegal are vulnerable through retirements and injuries but they beat us 3 times last year so we will need to find a higher gear if we're to change that trend. LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 464 - 25/01/2020 00:18:30 2262049 Link 0 |
Team Annonuced 1 Colgan 2 Clarke 3McGill 4 Toner 5 J McEntee 6 Ryan 7 Keoghan 8 Menton 9 B Conlon 10 Brennan 11 McMahon 12 E Wallace 13 Sullivan 14 Reilly 15 Walsh Gallagher must be injured. So we are down S Mcentee Lavin, Devine, Gallagher, Harnan, Lenihan, Newman. That team has 9 changes to the team that played v Donegal in the super 8s last July. Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 25/01/2020 08:17:14 2262069 Link 18 |
Colgan bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1265 - 25/01/2020 08:45:28 2262074 Link 0 |
The team is light starting Wallace? He is a seasoned footballer with the Meath team and will be one of the most experienced players on the pitch. He was part of Ratoaths first ever Meath championship. Just because he opted out of the senior set up last year does not make the team light. I think it is very unfair to state that his inclusion makes the team light. And in saying that I am not as fan of his style. I think he takes too much out of the ball but O Sullivan does the same. I would be more concerned about the two corner backs and the return of the goalkeeper. Colgan worth 4 points to the opposition. Unfortunately, Meath need a full squad for the League to have a chance at survival. It may be too late when key players return. Hopefully Tyrone are missing a few core players to even things up a bit Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 768 - 25/01/2020 11:17:13 2262100 Link 1 |
Happy with that team, it gives a chance for others to step up. Realistically we're only missing Lavin, Gallagher, Harnan and Newman off our starting team. Devine, Lenihan and Shane McEntee are not guaranteed to start, great to have off the bench though. UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 25/01/2020 12:21:17 2262109 Link 0 |
Well your right, but I dont feel its right to make little of a lad that buts the effort in to become a inter county footballer. But a few points, Wallace has had plenty of chances over the past few years but he has never been consistent for Meath. I just cant get out of my head the ball he chipped into the goalkeepers hands against Rosscommon in Hyde park, from 20 meters out that would have sealed victory that day. Also he came on against Down in Newry that last time we played them and he was easiest dispossessed one on one, at a crucial time. This plays sucks the life of a team. Its just a few times I can recall. Having said that one of the best times I seen him play was against Derry in Navan a few years ago where in operated at the 40 and was a brilliant link man putting in quality ball and setting up attack. I think a role like this suits Eamon so maybe that might be what is planed if he starts. Now you mentioned COS gives the ball away cheaply that's correct . But IMO in think Nally coming on board last year has brought on both COS McMahon especially. I taught this too guys improved immensely last year. Now in fairness maybe with Nally coaching Eamon this year he can improve aswell. bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1265 - 25/01/2020 12:23:55 2262110 Link 0 |
Not especially impressed with that starting team to be honest although I know we have a lot of injuries. Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1352 - 25/01/2020 13:24:06 2262136 Link 17 |
Quite simply he's not a natural footballer. He's an athlete alright no question, and fair play to him for giving all for his county, he has my respect - but technically he's a poor footballer. I wouldn't trust him to make right decision even when not under pressure, nevermind with 3/4 Dublin defenders closing in on him. When Cian Ward referred to himself and Brian Farrell being dropped for players who are fast but can't even solo the ball, it was clear who he was referring to.
Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1352 - 25/01/2020 13:28:30 2262138 Link 19 |