Advertisement

Meath V Dublin

Replying To bert09:  "The backdoor was introduced in 2001 and it's been pretty much all downhill for Meath since then (Furlong- can you do a write up on the backdoor and its impact on meath/Dublin?)

We need to approach this game like it's last chance saloon. Bring the same intensity that we saw in 2018 against Tyrone, and in 2017 against Donegal. We have a better team now and can win this game if we go into it with the right frame of mind."
Bert09 u asked me for details of the backdoor and impact on Meath and Dublin . The stats are below.

Well the backdoor hasnt been good for Meath. We dont have the worst record in the backdoor but we r not the best.We are a mid ranking team in the backdoor. Kerry would have the best record and counties like Tyrone and kildare are good also .

Meaths record in qualifiers

Meath

2002 Round 4 Qualifiers Lost to Donegal
2003 Round 3 Qualifiers lost to Fermanagh
2004 Round 2 Qualifiers lost to Fermanagh
2005 Round 3 Qualifiers lost to Cavan
2006 Round 3 Qualifiers lost to Laois
2007 All Ireland semi final lost to Cork
2008 Round 1 Qualifiers lost to limerick
2009 All Ireland semi final lost to kerry
2010 All Ireland quarter final lost to kildare
2011 Round 3 Qualifiers lost to Kildare
2012 Round 4 Qualifiers Lost to laois
2013 Round 4 Qualifiers lost to Tyrone
2014 Round 4 Qualifiers Lost to Armagh
2015 Round 2 Qualifiers lost to Tyrone
2016 Round 2 Qualifiers lost to Derry
2017 Round 3 Qualifiers lost to Donegal
2018 Round 1 Qualifiers lost to Tyrone

Dublin's record in the qualifiers
2001 All Ireland Quarter Final
2002 All Ireland semi final
2003 Lost Round 3 Qualifiers
2004 All Ireland quarter final
2005 All Ireland quarter final
2006 All Ireland semi final
2007 All Ireland semi final
2008 All Ireland quarter final
2009 All Ireland quarter final
2010 All Ireland semi final
2011 well u know what happened next.

Dublin just havent gone thru the qualifiers much. Some counties have a good record in qualifiers eg Tyrone and kildare. We dont. We have only got to All Ireland quarter final twice thru the backdoor. So at 16 attempts in the back door we have only reached the quarter final stage twice. We have lost 9 times to Ulster opposition in the backdoor. kildare have lost 8 times to Ulster opposition in the backdoor. We have lost 5 years in a row to Ulster opposition in the backdoor. So we have a problem facing Ulster teams in the backdoor. And looking at the draw we r possibly looking at meeting possibly Monaghan but dont be surprised its Tyrone again. If we met Tyrone they would be going for 4th championship victory over Meath in 6 years in the qualifiers.

Mickey Harte has won 2 All Irelands in the backdoor and has got Tyrone to All Ireland semi finals and last year All Ireland through the back door. He is a master at making his way through the qualifiers. And if we meet, we will put it up to them. But Tyrone would have had won a couple of games win by then , there confidence will be good. If we lose to Dublin our players would be coming down from leinster final. If lose badly the players heads wouldnt be great. Remember 2014. If we come close to Dublin, there will be still disappointment. Look at us v laois in 2012 after good display in leinster final.

The leinster final.while is not the event it was 20 years ago it still.is an occasion our first final in 5 years for many of these players theyre first leinster final. Of the possible starting 15 , 9 of the first 15 who start v the Dubs will be their first leinster final. It bring a good crowd from Meath the same as kildare in 2017 and laois last year..The players will be up for it. Lose and there will be a natural comedown. And we know that more then 80% of teams that lose provicial finals lose they're following qualifier game. Its a worse percentage in leinster.

There has been 17 leinster finalist in the qualifiers, 17 teams that lost leinster final and 4 of the 17 teams won their next game , 13 of the 17 didnt.
The only teams to ever lose a leinster final and win their next qualifier game r

1 Dublin beat Sligo in Round 4 Qualifiers in 2001
2 Laois beat Derry in Round 4 Qualifiers in 2005
3 Wexford beat Down in Round 4 Qualifiers in 2008
4 Kildare beat Wicklow in Round 4 Qualifiers in 2009

As u can see the counties leinster teams won against where counties like Wicklow Sligo . So more handier draws..No team has ever lost a leinster final and won against strong calibre of a team like Tyrone. If we lose the leinster title with the record leinster finalist have and the record we have in qualifiers the odds are stacked against us winning the qualifier to reach super 8.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/06/2019 00:51:20    2194230

Replying To royaldunne:  "We all know that it will be option a, Andy and the players are taking to the field fully believing in their ability.
Actually I am embarrassed by some people views at this stage. And I would ask those people to stay at home and stay away from any county player until after the game."
I think we need to play with real ambition. Your dammed if you do and your dammed if you dont against Dublin.

If we sit back in numbers this defensive blanket stuff does not come naturally to us in Meath and Dublin know how to break this down and in any case I don't think we are very good at executing the blanket defence and counter attacking at speed. So Dublin will eat us alive.

If we play and push up yes Dublin have better players and I would worry our defenders wont hold there forward Division man to man. But I feel we need to press right up on their kick outs and really make it hard for the Dublin players. The less ball Dublin get the better in my view.

I still think they will beat us by more than 10 but I feel it will be closer to a 20 point beating if we dont have a go. We need to have a real cut at them and see where it take us.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 13/06/2019 11:22:28    2194318

This game is a reward for the hard graft put in by the players and management over the past couple of years and especially this year. Its a free shot and will tell us a lot about where we are and what we have yet to do to get back at the top table.

Hopefully the players are excited about it and don't feel any fear, pressure or intimidation. They've nothing to lose here and we could catch the Dubs on the hop.

Like others on here, I'd love to see us push up on the Dubs and have a real go at them. I'd also like to see us go for goals because like in 2010 (spectacular goals scored that day, many took Cluxton by surprise as we took on shots from distance where one would usually take their points) we will need goals to beat this Dublin team. This is the way to lose to Dublin. A half arsed defensive blanket is not the way to go and we won't find out anything about this Meath team playing that way.

A sunny day in late June. Croke Park. Leinster Final. The Dubs. Bring it on.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1352 - 13/06/2019 13:22:15    2194402

If AndyMc has been watching Dublin this year he will have seen two weaknesses in their game, do Meath have enough to exploit them, probably not

1 - their full back line is vulnerable and we have some forwards who are capable of taking on their men and beating them

2 - the dubs are lacking players of old like Flynn, Connolly & brogans who can kick points from distance, this Dublin forward line does not possess long range scorers

so what does one do ? let them play across the field if they want and let them have it outside the 45, dont get sucked in around this area.

defend with 12 men at all times, james mc and cillian o sullivan and donal k are very capable of carrying the ball out if and when turned over, if the dubs push up and leave 3 on 3 play the long ball quickly inside, conlon, mcmahon and newman have the tools to beat their men.

the effort will take all 21 players allowed

if we go any other way and like kildare did we wont stay with them.

this game could be more even than people think IF we approach it the right way

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1151 - 13/06/2019 15:55:05    2194490

Replying To thelutch:  "If AndyMc has been watching Dublin this year he will have seen two weaknesses in their game, do Meath have enough to exploit them, probably not

1 - their full back line is vulnerable and we have some forwards who are capable of taking on their men and beating them

2 - the dubs are lacking players of old like Flynn, Connolly & brogans who can kick points from distance, this Dublin forward line does not possess long range scorers

so what does one do ? let them play across the field if they want and let them have it outside the 45, dont get sucked in around this area.

defend with 12 men at all times, james mc and cillian o sullivan and donal k are very capable of carrying the ball out if and when turned over, if the dubs push up and leave 3 on 3 play the long ball quickly inside, conlon, mcmahon and newman have the tools to beat their men.

this game could be more even than people think IF we approach it the right way"
Do what youse want bud but you haven't a hope, Dublin are going to annihilate you, talk all the tactics you want but that'll mean nothing on Sunday 23 June, i really do wish it was a close game but now i think it's going to be a 15-20 win for Dublin, hard luck and best wishes for the Qualifiers!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 973 - 13/06/2019 17:57:10    2194530

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Do what youse want bud but you haven't a hope, Dublin are going to annihilate you, talk all the tactics you want but that'll mean nothing on Sunday 23 June, i really do wish it was a close game but now i think it's going to be a 15-20 win for Dublin, hard luck and best wishes for the Qualifiers!"
5 past cluxton.
Look we all know no matter what false praise is hoisted on to the dodgy one, he isn't a good shot stopper, he has proved time and again to be a below average shot stopper. That's what we aim for. 15/20 my ass.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2019 18:51:32    2194558

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Do what youse want bud but you haven't a hope, Dublin are going to annihilate you, talk all the tactics you want but that'll mean nothing on Sunday 23 June, i really do wish it was a close game but now i think it's going to be a 15-20 win for Dublin, hard luck and best wishes for the Qualifiers!"
What kind of a power trip are you on at all? Your derogatory comments are bad enough on the main page but to come onto another counties forum and basically try and stop them from having a conversation about what tactics and system they should use the next day is sadistic to put it mildly. It's like you think teams and supporters should bow down to dublin and shouldn't be allowed to dare think we could beat them! If that's what your looking for you'll get it off other countries but not meath. Your comments suggest to me your not a real gaa man at all I doubt you've ever kicked a ball and have probably jumped on this blue bandwagon in recent years you'd never get comments like that off true dublin gaels like realdub or clondalkin or Wayne now back off to dalymount park with you like a good man

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 13/06/2019 19:19:30    2194567

Surprised if it will be a 20 point win this time round but you never know the royals could win by more

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 13/06/2019 20:57:21    2194586

It's great for us to back in a Leinster final and to have a buzz about County and we are progressing and each game is a learning curve no matter win loose or draw. I am going to Croker next believing we can win because you might aswell stay at home if you don't believe you we can win no matter how slim our chances and sometimes upsets happen and the pressure on Dublin as they are expected to beat us easily and they are great side but every team is beatable. So let's get behind the lads cheer them on let's hope for a good showing and all you Dubs out we are coming for you. Cmon the Royal.

Foreveraroyal (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 13/06/2019 21:00:05    2194587

Positive news about Harnan, looks like he will be fit for Sunday week.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/meath-handed-harnan-fitness-boost-ahead-of-leinster-final-clash-with-dublin-38217598.html

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2257 - 13/06/2019 21:22:44    2194589

There are a small number of genuine Dublin football people but I'm pretty sure DUBJOHN is not one of them and his comments will not help them in the long run. While I am generally pleased with the progress Meath are making I have a number of concerns leading into the Leinster final. Our strenghts have been mainly based around defence where McGill and Keoghan would get on any team in the country and we appear to have capable support and backup across the rest of the back line. Menton has been excellent for work rate with an ability to chip in with key scores while Conlon has been a great find and must get support. I do however have major concerns with our abilty to win our own kickouts. Unless Colgan is razor sharp on the restarts, he will be forced to kick long. Meath have limited ball winners, with McMahon, O'Sullivan and James McEntee unable to win high ball when their Dublin equivalents can. Cluxton is much sweater on the kick out than Colgan too it must be said. The other Meath half forward Brennan is not a bad ball winner but can be a bit hot and cold. While Flanagan is a decent ball winner his footballing skills are average. Meath were much improved when S. McEntee came on as the ball moved alot faster however he does not have the ball winning abilty of Flanagan. Personally I would go with McEntee. This will be a key selection decision for Andy. I think Newman must be told to stay on the edge of the square and stop coming out looking for handy ball. He needs to up his game to the league final level and ball needs to come in fast from out the field. O' Sullivan must concentrate more as has good abilty but can be very wastful at times. Carrying the ball over the sideline under no pressure is embarrassing at this level. McMahon does things 100 miles an hour and needs more composure at times. I worry about boths physique and tackling abilty against. With some improvements, I am hopeful but we are still carrying a number of weaknesses.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 1058 - 13/06/2019 21:37:51    2194601

Replying To Foreveraroyal:  "It's great for us to back in a Leinster final and to have a buzz about County and we are progressing and each game is a learning curve no matter win loose or draw. I am going to Croker next believing we can win because you might aswell stay at home if you don't believe you we can win no matter how slim our chances and sometimes upsets happen and the pressure on Dublin as they are expected to beat us easily and they are great side but every team is beatable. So let's get behind the lads cheer them on let's hope for a good showing and all you Dubs out we are coming for you. Cmon the Royal."
Yes its great to be back in a Leinster final, also did not miss the Monday morning qualifying draws. Hopefully we get a decent support on the day, if only to show appreciation for the season to date.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2257 - 13/06/2019 22:04:19    2194621

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "What kind of a power trip are you on at all? Your derogatory comments are bad enough on the main page but to come onto another counties forum and basically try and stop them from having a conversation about what tactics and system they should use the next day is sadistic to put it mildly. It's like you think teams and supporters should bow down to dublin and shouldn't be allowed to dare think we could beat them! If that's what your looking for you'll get it off other countries but not meath. Your comments suggest to me your not a real gaa man at all I doubt you've ever kicked a ball and have probably jumped on this blue bandwagon in recent years you'd never get comments like that off true dublin gaels like realdub or clondalkin or Wayne now back off to dalymount park with you like a good man"
Now now Northy don't be like that, I've been following Dublin since 1974, I've played football up to senior level with one of the biggest clubs in Dublin, a club who supplied players to all Ireland winning Dublin teams in the 70s 80s and 90s, I've never been in Dalymount Park and I've certainly never played soccer at any level, i probably know more about Meath football since the 70s right up to the present day than you do, both my nephews have played at County level for Meath within the last few years, and i couldn't give a damn what other Dublin posters say I'm giving my opinion and if you don't like it well that's tough buddy!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 973 - 13/06/2019 22:25:56    2194632

Replying To royaldunne:  "5 past cluxton.
Look we all know no matter what false praise is hoisted on to the dodgy one, he isn't a good shot stopper, he has proved time and again to be a below average shot stopper. That's what we aim for. 15/20 my ass."
RD if you still have to harp on to scoring 5 goals against Dublin in 2010 to get some of satisfaction well off you go, in the meantime I'll think about the 6 all irelands and everything else we've won since then!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 973 - 13/06/2019 22:32:27    2194634

Replying To winatallcost:  "There are a small number of genuine Dublin football people but I'm pretty sure DUBJOHN is not one of them and his comments will not help them in the long run. While I am generally pleased with the progress Meath are making I have a number of concerns leading into the Leinster final. Our strenghts have been mainly based around defence where McGill and Keoghan would get on any team in the country and we appear to have capable support and backup across the rest of the back line. Menton has been excellent for work rate with an ability to chip in with key scores while Conlon has been a great find and must get support. I do however have major concerns with our abilty to win our own kickouts. Unless Colgan is razor sharp on the restarts, he will be forced to kick long. Meath have limited ball winners, with McMahon, O'Sullivan and James McEntee unable to win high ball when their Dublin equivalents can. Cluxton is much sweater on the kick out than Colgan too it must be said. The other Meath half forward Brennan is not a bad ball winner but can be a bit hot and cold. While Flanagan is a decent ball winner his footballing skills are average. Meath were much improved when S. McEntee came on as the ball moved alot faster however he does not have the ball winning abilty of Flanagan. Personally I would go with McEntee. This will be a key selection decision for Andy. I think Newman must be told to stay on the edge of the square and stop coming out looking for handy ball. He needs to up his game to the league final level and ball needs to come in fast from out the field. O' Sullivan must concentrate more as has good abilty but can be very wastful at times. Carrying the ball over the sideline under no pressure is embarrassing at this level. McMahon does things 100 miles an hour and needs more composure at times. I worry about boths physique and tackling abilty against. With some improvements, I am hopeful but we are still carrying a number of weaknesses."
Oh that hurts!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 973 - 13/06/2019 22:33:53    2194635

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Now now Northy don't be like that, I've been following Dublin since 1974, I've played football up to senior level with one of the biggest clubs in Dublin, a club who supplied players to all Ireland winning Dublin teams in the 70s 80s and 90s, I've never been in Dalymount Park and I've certainly never played soccer at any level, i probably know more about Meath football since the 70s right up to the present day than you do, both my nephews have played at County level for Meath within the last few years, and i couldn't give a damn what other Dublin posters say I'm giving my opinion and if you don't like it well that's tough buddy!"
We've seen how knowledgeable the dubs fans are on football. From cheering a fake Connolly against Tyrone a few years back to that joker on the radio after the game last Sunday raving about Conor McHugh's performance against Kildare.
Yiz have your self proclaimed greatest team ever and the majority of 'fans' can't even be bothered going to watch/support them.

So maybe you'll forgive us if it seems we don't value your opinion.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 527 - 13/06/2019 23:46:04    2194665

Allot of people hitting the nail on the head here, the traditional way to beat Dublin score goals and stop them scoring goals. Because if they score a goal it raises the crowd and they can easily tag on another one or two. If You need to say to yourself honestly going into the game. Are we 3 points minimum better Dublin ? My answer is no. So we are up against it, and we are just not going to get the luck required to get over the line. But you never know. But there is all ways hope. Dublin just do not respect us anymore. no matter what Jim Gavin will no doubt waffle about they do. this might play it to our hands. And under rate us.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 14/06/2019 09:25:45    2194712

Replying To royaldunne:  "5 past cluxton.
Look we all know no matter what false praise is hoisted on to the dodgy one, he isn't a good shot stopper, he has proved time and again to be a below average shot stopper. That's what we aim for. 15/20 my ass."
Jesus lad quit while ur behind will ya. Once again absolute drivel out of u. Giving knowledgeable meath supporters a bad name. And before you start yes i know you've been at every single meath game since 1972 or whatever but that just means your committed. Doesn't mean you have a clue what your on about which you have proven time and time again you don't.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 14/06/2019 10:00:28    2194721

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Allot of people hitting the nail on the head here, the traditional way to beat Dublin score goals and stop them scoring goals. Because if they score a goal it raises the crowd and they can easily tag on another one or two. If You need to say to yourself honestly going into the game. Are we 3 points minimum better Dublin ? My answer is no. So we are up against it, and we are just not going to get the luck required to get over the line. But you never know. But there is all ways hope. Dublin just do not respect us anymore. no matter what Jim Gavin will no doubt waffle about they do. this might play it to our hands. And under rate us."
That's always been my thinking, score goals and keep them out. The last two times we beat Dublin (2001 & 2010) we scored goals and they didn't. Also the last time Dublin lost a championship match was 2014 v Donegal and they smashed 3 past them and kept a clean sheet.

Just a recap of our exploits v Dublin this decade:

2010 - 5 past cluxton, best championship day we've had in years
2012 - Dublin hit us with 2 goals before HT, essentially killing the game although we came back after they dropped a gear or 2.
2013 - Dublin got an early goal but we were still well in the game for 60mins until they killed us with a second goal
2014 - Blitzed, hit for 3
2016 - no goals but Dublin upped it a gear in the second half and finished at a canter

Now I know the challenge facing us is massive, but there's always hope (think Offaly v Kerry 82 or Superbowl 42 for example), so I'm not going to say we'll but I'm not going to surrender either!

We have to give this a right lash and see where we are and who knows what will happen, always aim high......unless you're going for goals of course :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/06/2019 10:21:47    2194731

Replying To thelutch:  "If AndyMc has been watching Dublin this year he will have seen two weaknesses in their game, do Meath have enough to exploit them, probably not

this game could be more even than people think IF we approach it the right way"
If we play a deep defense I'd worry bout match ups when they attacking.picture brian McMahon facing McCarthy Kilkenny etc no contest.but if he up the field close to goal b diff story pace could win scores.lets hope for a good game plan using all panel to get us a performance worthy of meath teams.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 14/06/2019 10:31:44    2194735