Advertisement

Cavan Seniors 23

Yeah I'd expect to see a kick out of them alright. Even allowing for the bad loss the last day, it's a derby and they are always up for that. I also think they have the profile of a team that can cause us trouble. They've a few big men up front, and a few longs balls in can cause us problems. Our 2 goals conceded so far this League were from balls to the corner of the box, where we were beaten over our heads. They could do damage here if we don't watch out.

I wouldn't be making huge changes. A few niggles will have cleared up with the week break, and I'd see likes of Gerry Smith come back in. Longer away players like GMac, James Smith and so on, I don't see the risk in starting them. Maybe bring them on when and as required to get minutes into them with a view to upping their load - similar to Lynch first 2 games. The team is going well, and should continue with that cohesion, with maybe one or two changes that are required for lads either injured or on the fringes of the team anyway, then bring those on later to up their return.

Think we've enough here to weather the expected response from them. Good to be at home, weather looks to be a fine dry Spring day (that could change though) so I see Cavan being able to win by 5 while making changes in the 2nd half.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 17/02/2023 11:48:54    2458644

Not an easy task picking a team for Sunday. It could be said that all of the younger lads who played in the last two games deserve to retain their places. On the other hand, James Smith, Gerry Smith, G Mac, Killian Brady, Paddy Lynch are perhaps our best players. Its a nice headache to have. In particular, with Carolan and Finnegan having done very well, competition for places in the full back line is intense. With Killian Brady and Mcgloughlin still to come back in, it's a dilemma for the management team. Likewise, do you retain O Neill at 14 or bring Paddy Lynch or G Mac in there.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 17/02/2023 17:21:07    2458722

Team announced on twitter. Nearly the same starting 15 is the same as named v Tipp, with only change Gerry Smith in for Oisin Kiernan. Expect there may be a change or 2 by the time throw in arrives. Kiernan has looked off it a bit this season (by his own high standards) and heard he was carrying a knock. So a break to get over this might be no bad thing. Gerry back is good to see though, and Jonny McCabe get another run.

Jack McKenna on the bench, and Gunner there again too. No sign of GMac, McLoughlin, or James Smith, but good bench options anyway. We'll hopefully see Lynch get another run to get up to speed

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 18/02/2023 10:53:01    2458790

A bit strange that Johnny McCabe has only been involved with the Senior panel until this year He was a Minor in 2011,
he was In Australia for a year or 2 but thought he would have been looked at before now.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2949 - 18/02/2023 13:34:08    2458834

Vital game for Cavan tomorrow as Longford will be well up for this after 2 defeats… Cavan would not want to get carried away too much as we have not faced much yet… Westmeath were out of sorts and will be a much different proposition if we get to play them again… as for our last game it was probably the worst Tipperary team I have seen in a long while…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 18/02/2023 19:57:26    2458918

Replying To FoolsGold:  "A bit strange that Johnny McCabe has only been involved with the Senior panel until this year He was a Minor in 2011,
he was In Australia for a year or 2 but thought he would have been looked at before now."
I believe he had a few bad injuries also. He's a decent player though.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 19/02/2023 10:01:23    2458962

Very good win again and a proper score line to go with it…. On to Tullamore now where wins are hard to come by for visiting teams.. We are in a great position now so take one game at a time and we can make it back to back promotions….!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 19/02/2023 16:26:05    2459047

Tame enough stuff today. Disappointed with Longford, thought we'd see something from them today. Game was effectively over by half time, and all we needed to do was tick over in the 2nd half and pump on the scores. Which we did, but was facile enough, and hard to know what to take from it when they weren't trying do much. But overall, we did what we needed to, got the win, and kept at it on the scoreboard. Conor Madden and Lynch did well when they came on. Boylan showed well today too.

Made a fair few goal chances, taking one very well, but taking points a fair few times when goals were on. Would have been nice to get a few more, but sure look.

Not looking great on the injury front. Oisin Brady went off and had the ankle iced. Might be out for a while. Carolan went down, but was able to walk off. McVeety too, in the last play of the game. He did get up and walk it off though, so hope it was just a stinger and they're good for next week.

Saw James Smith and Oisin Kiernan on the sideline not togged today. But both seemed to be walking fine. Hope they're close to coming back. No sign of GMac though.

A word for Gunner. 100th appearance for Cavan, and a great servant to football here. Brilliant to see the reception he got. Not easy to get to that number, so fair play to him.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 19/02/2023 17:04:41    2459075

Any word on lads who limped off today?

Calving4Sam (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 19/02/2023 17:09:58    2459077

A win against Offaly will be tough but its needed, otherwise its going to get very bunched at the top after the next round of fixtures. G'wan Cavan!!!

Calving4Sam (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 19/02/2023 17:21:34    2459083

Replying To Calving4Sam:  "Any word on lads who limped off today?"
Oisin Brady looked bad, had his ankle iced up. Carolan and McVeety were up and walking around, so I'd be hopeful of those 2.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 19/02/2023 17:22:56    2459084

Was chatting to someone else after the game, and forgot to mention something. James Smith and Jason McLoughlin were out on the field during the warm-ups and were doing shuttle runs across the field. Busted themselves too. They then got back into tracksuits for the game. I'd imagine they're close to being back.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 20/02/2023 09:01:43    2459263

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Was chatting to someone else after the game, and forgot to mention something. James Smith and Jason McLoughlin were out on the field during the warm-ups and were doing shuttle runs across the field. Busted themselves too. They then got back into tracksuits for the game. I'd imagine they're close to being back."
I saw caomhin McGovern doing warm also.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 20/02/2023 10:33:22    2459296

we have a major prblem that forward coach needs to address we create few goal chances and butcher most of the one we do. We really lack the killer instinct longford were beaten at half time and we still could not go and bury a few goals in the second half every one content with tipping it over the bar and getting on the scoring sheet. Roscommon are top of division 1 and there is not a massive gulf in class bewteen them and us the big difference is in two close games they managed to create a few goal chances out of nothing ( Cavan would have been happy with a point ). Its the main reason we failed to beat Donegal in the championship last year as we butchered two great goal chances in the first half. We are going no where if this does not change.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 519 - 20/02/2023 10:38:28    2459301

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "we have a major prblem that forward coach needs to address we create few goal chances and butcher most of the one we do. We really lack the killer instinct longford were beaten at half time and we still could not go and bury a few goals in the second half every one content with tipping it over the bar and getting on the scoring sheet. Roscommon are top of division 1 and there is not a massive gulf in class bewteen them and us the big difference is in two close games they managed to create a few goal chances out of nothing ( Cavan would have been happy with a point ). Its the main reason we failed to beat Donegal in the championship last year as we butchered two great goal chances in the first half. We are going no where if this does not change."
Ah I wouldn't worry too much. It was an 11 point win, and lads were tacking on scores. We made a lot of chances, but the lads took the points which is standard enough when you're coasting. It was very facile, and getting a few goals, while nice, wasn't a huge deal here against a beaten team. I'd be more concerned if we didn't make the chances, but we did. Not disagreeing that we don't need goals though, you'd be hoping they go for those chances in a tighter game

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 20/02/2023 11:11:21    2459312

Westmeath scored 4 goals against Longford. While kicking over points is keep the scoring going , you can be ruthless and get goals. And that becomes a habit until you face a stronger team and need a goal

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2949 - 20/02/2023 17:43:49    2459490

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Westmeath scored 4 goals against Longford. While kicking over points is keep the scoring going , you can be ruthless and get goals. And that becomes a habit until you face a stronger team and need a goal"
It's been a problem for the Cavan county team for the last 20 years…. Jason Reilly was our last good goal poacher… We will never trouble any of the big teams with our lack of a goal scorer….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 21/02/2023 10:19:55    2459544

its a problem that has not been addressed we scored the lowest amount of goals of all the teams in the league last year and us playing in division 4 so management must be happy with us taking the point option. i think we only scored one or two all together i think even london scored 8.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 519 - 21/02/2023 13:56:14    2459591

Derry last year In the All Ireland quarter final put on a clinical display of getting goals. They had the game won at half time . Too many teams take the easy option, a final pass or a direct run can open up a lot of teams.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2949 - 21/02/2023 15:15:27    2459609

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Westmeath scored 4 goals against Longford. While kicking over points is keep the scoring going , you can be ruthless and get goals. And that becomes a habit until you face a stronger team and need a goal"
agree wholeheartedly being ruthless and going for goals is a habit that teams have to bring to every game. it won't just happen in tough games that the team will start going for & scoring goals. it has to be done instinctively. really think that if we can add this to our game that the team is in a great position with 5/6 previous regulars coming back and competition for places intense. hopefully injuries clear up and 2 pts Sunday will leave us in pole position for promotion

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 22/02/2023 10:22:10    2459713