Balllygunner blow away Kilmallock for third Munster club SHC title

January 09, 2022

Kilmallock's Robbie Hanely and Dessie Hutchinson of Ballygunner ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Balllygunner claimed a third Munster club senior hurling championship title in their history this evening by delivering an impressive 3-20 to 1-12 victory over Kilmallock at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Dessie Hutchinson and Pauric Mahony combined for 1-12 over the hour for the eight-in-a-row Waterford champions whom were simply too strong for their Limerick counterparts.

Munster champions in 2018, the Gunners never looked back once Hutchinson hit the Kilmallock net 10 minutes in as they went on to lead by 1-11 to 0-5 at half-time.

Kevin Mahony and Billy O’Keeffe added more goals for the winners before the second-half water break that saw the lead extended to 14.

That left Kilmallock with too high a mountain to try and scale as Tony Considine’s men fell even further behind before substitute Conor Hanley grabbed them a consolation goal in injury-time.

The win marks Ballygunner’s third ever O’Neill Cup success, having last been in the final in 2019 when they lost out to then Tipperary champions Borris-Ileigh by a single point.

Most Read Stories