Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All

Poor quality game. A few marquee players were poor today. It happens. I thought Moran was poor until injury time. However class can always glisten. I think Murphy had a bad day but it's the only one I remember in his whole career.
Ultimately it's probably the best result if we hope of some sort of game in September, as Mayo have been Dublin's only close competitor in the last 8 years or so.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 03/08/2019 19:33:58    2220193

Donegal physically and mentally second best the entire match, their influential players disappeared. Mayo adapted to the wet, humid conditions far better. Donegal kicked so many dreadful wides and gave away possession after possession. Andy Moran class as usual.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 03/08/2019 19:37:02    2220195

Donegal flattered by scoreline

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 03/08/2019 19:37:50    2220197

Well done Mayo.

Managed the 2nd half very well, made sure there was almost no football played!

But in fairness they won the game in the 1st half.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/08/2019 19:38:01    2220198

Well done Mayo; Donegal beaten well despite the scoreline. Awful shooting from them.

Dublin next....

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/08/2019 19:40:30    2220201

Well.done.Mayo.

Some team. Huge heart and they'll take some stopping.

If Dublin win tomorrow it'll be Mayo v Dublin semifinal!

Brilliant

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/08/2019 19:41:45    2220202

That was an enthralling battle from start to finish. Once again Mayo have produced the goods when they had been completely written off. What a team!

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 03/08/2019 19:42:43    2220205

Commiserations to Donegal. We made hard work of it but we're still there.

Maigh Eo Abu!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 03/08/2019 19:43:39    2220206

Donegal will be hurting after that one, I think they were convinced that this was their year. The super eights have not been kind to Donegal. Hopefully Tyrone will represent Ulster as best they can in the semis. Hard luck Donegal.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 03/08/2019 19:44:49    2220209

Mayo are still dead men walking. Tyrone or Dublin to finish them off in croker next week.

Donegal ? Awful last 20. Poor stuff.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/08/2019 19:45:45    2220210

Well done mayo. Good luck going forward. We were not going to get 6 points back. Hard luck our lads. No complaints from me.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/08/2019 19:52:23    2220216

Replying To dstuction:  "Aidan O Shea is not Mayos biggest threat by a long way. In fact unless something major has changed in 2 weeks he isn't worth targeting at all. Its Mayos Half Back and Half Forward line that are the big areas to watch. The match ups in these areas will be interesting.

Aidan O Sheas last Deadly game was probably against us in 2013. Since then he has been played out of position, been unfit and appeared to be more interested in scrapping than playing football. I did however enjoy his stint as a full back."
Are you still of the same opinion??

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 03/08/2019 19:56:41    2220217

Replying To eunans4ever:  "AOS goes hiding in big games

When was last time he excelled in a do or die clash???"
A bit of a stinker you have made here?

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 03/08/2019 19:57:48    2220219

From a Donegal fan, fair play to Mayo. Everyone including myself doubted them but they did the job.

Donegal were fairly abysmal for a lot of the game. Some of the shot taking was not up to standard.

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 03/08/2019 19:59:25    2220220

Great win for Mayo. Wides wides wides though. Donegal moreso than Mayo. Hard luck Donegal.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2019 19:59:56    2220221

Congratulations to mayo. Superb performance and probably should've been more. Really impressed with them.

Question for the donegal followers (remember that ye are the friendliest in the country so please take this in the spirit it is intended-im.genuinely curious!)-would ye swap your Ulster championship win for a crack at the dubs next weekend? Bird in the hand etc etc? It's not a question I dont think I'll ever have to answer by the way and congratulations on your season.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 03/08/2019 20:00:41    2220222

Congrats to Mayo, better team by a mile. I never thought Donegal would win the All-Ireland but felt we would beat Mayo and progress. We are just a bit raw to challenge yet. Hard to be critical of the young lads in our team, hopefully this experience will drive them on.

Mayo were brilliant in the first half, battered us and should have had the game out of sight. The only negative for Mayo is the number of wides. Best of luck to Mayo next week, their supporters were brilliant today as per usual. I had written Mayo off but they showed great character today.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 03/08/2019 20:07:20    2220225

Great performance by mayo in terms of heart guts and character but the quality was poor by both sides especially Donegal who seemed to wilt under the pressure and some of their more marque players just malfunctioned in front of goal with some terrible wides which were crucial in the last 20 minutes. V disappointing end to the season for Donegal who really looked like they could challenge Dublin this summer for large parts. Felt sorry for Michael Murphy who despite not playing well in terms of finishing never hide and slogged his guts out but he couldn't do it all on his own

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 03/08/2019 20:08:15    2220226

Replying To waynoI:  "Mayo are still dead men walking. Tyrone or Dublin to finish them off in croker next week.

Donegal ? Awful last 20. Poor stuff."
See you at the Spar

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 03/08/2019 20:18:22    2220228

Hate to say I told you so but...

Some performance from Mayo. Looked hungry and determined.
Donegal believed their own hype and plenty of players went hiding on the day, except Murphy. That said, Murphy is a pup. Refs in awe of him.

gloryof1982 (Offaly) - Posts: 8 - 03/08/2019 20:22:57    2220233