Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats to Mayo, I remember saying after the league game that I would never right yee off and you've only gone and walked the walked. Big day out to look forward to next week.

Can't help but feel Donegal left it behind them, some of the wides and shot selection was criminal, the game was there for them and they will be hugely disappointed reflecting back on the game.

At this stage of the championship you just can't be hitting those number of wides, must be massively frustrating knowing on another day the talent is there that they all go over.

But such as football at this stage of the championship, she's a cruel mistress."
Donegal left it behind them? Considering the amount of wides Mayo had in the first half and the amount of goal chances they missed plus the soft penalty that is quite the statement from you .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 03/08/2019 21:46:58    2220293

Cracking game

Amazing what knockout football does isn't it, weeks of utter nothingness with 8 teams and basically we end up with one meaningful game out of the whole lot that's actually exciting.

Who would have thought it. Super 8s me hole.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1351 - 03/08/2019 21:47:46    2220294

Replying To brisbane:  "Mayo really dislike Donegal. I was unaware of this until recently so cant wait for this game."
Do we???

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 03/08/2019 22:01:24    2220301

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Everybody are dead men walking. Nobody stands a chance against ye."
We should play Dublin on Saturday. Very rightfully they'll be favourites. Tomorrow they'll face the Tyrone Junior team. They won't havd played anyone before an All Ireland Semi Final. We've had many twists, turns plus defeats in the 2019 Championship. We've learned some lessons and some are just learned but not improved on, like closing out a game. Saturday will be interesting.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 03/08/2019 22:07:58    2220303

Replying To gloryof1982:  "Hate to say I told you so but...

Some performance from Mayo. Looked hungry and determined.
Donegal believed their own hype and plenty of players went hiding on the day, except Murphy. That said, Murphy is a pup. Refs in awe of him."
That is an awful post. Idiotic.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 03/08/2019 22:22:26    2220315

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Donegal left it behind them? Considering the amount of wides Mayo had in the first half and the amount of goal chances they missed plus the soft penalty that is quite the statement from you ."
I'd stand by what I said to be honest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/08/2019 22:27:03    2220321

Replying To tearintom:  "Cracking game

Amazing what knockout football does isn't it, weeks of utter nothingness with 8 teams and basically we end up with one meaningful game out of the whole lot that's actually exciting.

Who would have thought it. Super 8s me hole."
I'm beginning to think it's time to go back to proper knockout competition for All Irelands - some kind of open draw rather than provincial. Mayo are in a semi final having lost twice. Kilkenny in a final having done the same. Tyrone might be the same after tomorrow. It devalues the championship. And if there were straight knock out championships in football and hurling it could be run off more quickly leaving a lot of the summer for clubs. But maybe Sky and Money rule ok.

Mayfair (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 03/08/2019 22:34:12    2220331

Sincere congrats to Mayo on a big performance tonite when it mattered. Undoubtedly a team of the decade to rival the Dubs, the record speaks for itself. If we cross paths again this year it'll be epic!

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 03/08/2019 22:48:08    2220345

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Another spoofer exposed!!!!"
Wat about your starting line up ????

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 03/08/2019 22:57:16    2220351

Replying To Mayfair:  "I'm beginning to think it's time to go back to proper knockout competition for All Irelands - some kind of open draw rather than provincial. Mayo are in a semi final having lost twice. Kilkenny in a final having done the same. Tyrone might be the same after tomorrow. It devalues the championship. And if there were straight knock out championships in football and hurling it could be run off more quickly leaving a lot of the summer for clubs. But maybe Sky and Money rule ok."
That's the system as it stands and I agree with you Mayfair. Having said that I'm delighted for Mayo. Commiserations to Donegal.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 03/08/2019 22:57:45    2220353

Replying To Mayfair:  "I'm beginning to think it's time to go back to proper knockout competition for All Irelands - some kind of open draw rather than provincial. Mayo are in a semi final having lost twice. Kilkenny in a final having done the same. Tyrone might be the same after tomorrow. It devalues the championship. And if there were straight knock out championships in football and hurling it could be run off more quickly leaving a lot of the summer for clubs. But maybe Sky and Money rule ok."
Open draw provincials, no bearing on the All Ireland championship. Open draw All Ireland. No back door, replays only for provincial and All Ireland finals.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 03/08/2019 23:05:14    2220357

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Mayo will take no stopping at all. As much as I would love to see them win an All Ireland, this is as good as it gets for them. They have squeezed as much as is possible to squeeze from this team and fair play to them -- both management and players -- for that. Best thing that can happen for the championship is that Dublin lose tomorrow (unlikely as that is to happen) against a weakened Tyrone...that way they will face their 2 most formidable opponents -- Kerry and Tyrone -- in the semis and final and really earn this last leg of the 5 in a row if they win it. Otherwise they will certainly beat Mayo and have only 1 of the 2 other possible winners of the All Ireland still left standing, to face in the final."
You are a fair bitter man.

The reality is Keegan put Murphy in his pocket for 35 mins.
Durcan put McHugh in his pocket for 70.

Donegal isolated Keegan at full back for 10 mins which let them in it. Once Mayo swapped Keegan with Coen, Donegal were all out of ideas.

If you were at the game, the Town end was difficult to score into because the wind was blowing a gale one second and dropping completely a second later.
Players were taking shots thing the wind would bring it in only for the wind to drop completely.

It was much easier kicking into the wind as lads were finding the wind disappeared just as the kicked into the teeth of a gale.

Back to the post I'm responding to.
No team as put it up to the Dubs in the last 4 years bar Mayo. Last year was a cake walk because Dublin didn't play Mayo.
Tyrone/Kerry won't stop Dublin. Mayo might not either but they will give them the toughest challenge. That's a given.

Your post is not based on the facts. Your obvious bitterness does your argument no favours.

Tell me again. How did Galway get on V Dublin last year?
I stopped watching after I saw Kevin Walsh throw the towel in after 15 mins

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1130 - 03/08/2019 23:23:09    2220366

This would bring back the same issue raised previously though, which would be many players training for 5 months to get just one championship game.
It's very hard to strike the balance between giving the players enough games and making as many as possible of them meaningful.
Either way, people will be complaining. That's the one certainty.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 03/08/2019 23:44:16    2220371

Replying To GreenandRed:  "We should play Dublin on Saturday. Very rightfully they'll be favourites. Tomorrow they'll face the Tyrone Junior team. They won't havd played anyone before an All Ireland Semi Final. We've had many twists, turns plus defeats in the 2019 Championship. We've learned some lessons and some are just learned but not improved on, like closing out a game. Saturday will be interesting."
Agree totally. And was thinking of the very point about Dublin potentially not having had an intense game to date, given how Omagh is likely to pan out, - although an awful lot of that down to how good Dublin are. When we didn't beat Kerry in Croke Park I felt we were gone. Mayo win matches when they have to, except unfortunately for them when it's the Dubs. And knock out on a wet Saturday in Castlebar is made for one of the most battle hardened teams ever. Donegal were like boats crashing on rocks. Mayo had the ability to make this an arm wrestle to an extent that Kerry, Tyrone and others couldn't and that's a complement to their physical strength, savage effort and never say die attitude. With the greatest of respect to Kerry and Tyrone, only Dublin I think could have won down in Castlebar this Evening. That's slightly contradictory to my opening point I accept.

There's reference to Donegal's bigger players not performing today and that's true except in the case of Murphy. Some of the shooting when we got back into the game was diabolical from players who are generally much more accurate. I appreciate Mayo missed a lot but I think it's fair to say they always run up a large number of misses as this is the weaker part of their game.

Mayo are far from Walking Dead comment that was given as if a matter of fact by another poster, although over recent years I've noticed that's their style. Next Saturday will be very interesting and I'd not be surprised if Mayo win - stronger defence, better midfield and now equipped with better forwards and deeper bench than at any time before in their titanic clashes with Dublin.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 03/08/2019 23:45:04    2220372

Replying To gloryof1982:  "Hate to say I told you so but...

Some performance from Mayo. Looked hungry and determined.
Donegal believed their own hype and plenty of players went hiding on the day, except Murphy. That said, Murphy is a pup. Refs in awe of him."
Never crossed my.mind that Murphy was in anyway the kind of player your suggesting. He is a big man and gets plenty of attention from the opposition so he would have to be somewhat physical. Hard but fair player IMO.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 03/08/2019 23:53:58    2220377

Well done Mayo and the best of luck in the semi final, we gave a bad account of ourselves today, disappointing for all the travelling support but that's football folks, on the day we got exactly what we deserved, massive display today from what I seen by the warrior Michael Murphy,
anyway that's it for us for 2019,back to the grindstone and regroup and go again for 2020, we had some great days out this year, back to back Ulster champions, only one defeat in championship, div 2 champs and back in Div 1 next season, lots of young players coming through, things could be a lot worse, Tir Chonaill Abu.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 04/08/2019 00:21:45    2220382

Name me 1 sport where the top level competitions in the sport dont have a situation where you can win the tournament after losing a game.

If you want players to train very hard and sacrifice loads all year for possibly 1 game it will just drive more kids to soccer rugby AFL or whatever.

Hope You enjoy spending your weekends shouting at clouds with the other old men but the world has moved on.

As for Mayo well done. Not always great for Mayo people but yer unpredictablity is a joy to watch from a far and god I hope ye suprise everyone 1 more time and go all the way

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 04/08/2019 00:43:36    2220390

Well done mayo, they stopped Ryan mc Hugh who was unreal up to now, they stopped the donegal counter attack by staying ahead, they had the physical lads to stop Murphy. Fair play. Donegal missed odhran mac niallais imo. Great lad but didn't commit to 2019. Shame as he some player. Best team won tonight.

jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 448 - 04/08/2019 01:06:55    2220393

Said it all week donegal were to focused on being the team to take down Dublin. A young donegal team overlooked mayo a team who made 7/8 all Ireland semis since 2011.

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 04/08/2019 01:21:14    2220394

Replying To TheUsername:  "I'd stand by what I said to be honest."
In fairness before Donegal missed all them shots in second half mayo should of been out of sight at half time

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 04/08/2019 01:55:17    2220395