Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All

Congratulations to Mayo. What spirit! Nobody will want to play them in an All-Ireland semi-final.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 03/08/2019 20:23:40    2220235

Well done to mayo..an excited but poor game at times..jee donegal never turned up. I was so surprised considering how well they were going. Mcbrearty went down late on I hope he didn't tweak the knee..

Mayo shot selection was so poor at times. Mc donagh not crossing to Moran at the death was criminal. Should be hauled off for that. Cant win much when players go for glory from ridiculous angles or others players in better positions. If your gonna go for it you better get it.

Anyhow..Tyrone to beat dublin tomorrow..so a dublin mayo final again...hehe

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 541 - 03/08/2019 20:25:17    2220237

Well done Mayo. Done enough to win. Andy Moran still has it. Donegal did not play their best today and it must be a sore loss but they are still a great team.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 03/08/2019 20:25:48    2220238

Replying To waynoI:  "Mayo are still dead men walking. Tyrone or Dublin to finish them off in croker next week.

Donegal ? Awful last 20. Poor stuff."
Everybody are dead men walking. Nobody stands a chance against ye.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 03/08/2019 20:28:33    2220239

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Congratulations to mayo. Superb performance and probably should've been more. Really impressed with them.

Question for the donegal followers (remember that ye are the friendliest in the country so please take this in the spirit it is intended-im.genuinely curious!)-would ye swap your Ulster championship win for a crack at the dubs next weekend? Bird in the hand etc etc? It's not a question I dont think I'll ever have to answer by the way and congratulations on your season."
Not a hope. We only have 10 Ulsters in our history. I wouldn't trade a single one of them.

Today is a hard day to take, so was Ballybofey last year, but we have 2 Ulsters in our pocket and the young fellas will learn a hell of a lot from that game today. A dirty ol' day that needed smart play in the first half especially. Very disappointed but no doubt Mayo deserved winners.

Onto Westport for the night now and I'll have the game dissected 100 times by midnight!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 03/08/2019 20:28:40    2220240

Donegal panicked with 20 min remaining really showed lack of experience ,Mayo well done Andy Moran brilliant

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/08/2019 20:33:46    2220244

Great win for Mayo. Really enjoyed the contest, open game and end to end. Donegal failed to capitalise when they had Mayo on the ropes after the peno. Incredibly bad shot selection, even from Murphy and Paddy, really cost them. They really needed Murphy in the game a lot more. Pushing him inside, I know he won the peno, may have cost them as they were less industrious without him around the middle. Mcloughlin did a great job off the bench as did Moran, although a class act like him shouldn't have to resort to feigning injury which was a bit disappointing. If Mayo can bring that first half performance to the semi next week they will rattle either of Tyrone or Dublin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/08/2019 20:34:52    2220245

Well done Mayo shouldve had a few more green flags only for the keeper who made some decent saves. You can never write them off. They will probably be written off next weekend too. I would not be one bit surprised if they get to another final though regardless of next weekends opponents.
Hard luck to donegal,that lead was just too much to pull back in the end, Ryan McHugh was kept very quiet today I thought.

fireinthebelly (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 03/08/2019 20:41:58    2220250

Replying To gloryof1982:  "Hate to say I told you so but...

Some performance from Mayo. Looked hungry and determined.
Donegal believed their own hype and plenty of players went hiding on the day, except Murphy. That said, Murphy is a pup. Refs in awe of him."
he definitely should have got at least 1 yellow fouling constantly and it was a soft penalty lets be honest

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 03/08/2019 20:44:43    2220252

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well.done.Mayo.

Some team. Huge heart and they'll take some stopping.

If Dublin win tomorrow it'll be Mayo v Dublin semifinal!

Brilliant"
Mayo will take no stopping at all. As much as I would love to see them win an All Ireland, this is as good as it gets for them. They have squeezed as much as is possible to squeeze from this team and fair play to them -- both management and players -- for that. Best thing that can happen for the championship is that Dublin lose tomorrow (unlikely as that is to happen) against a weakened Tyrone...that way they will face their 2 most formidable opponents -- Kerry and Tyrone -- in the semis and final and really earn this last leg of the 5 in a row if they win it. Otherwise they will certainly beat Mayo and have only 1 of the 2 other possible winners of the All Ireland still left standing, to face in the final.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 03/08/2019 20:49:56    2220257

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Not a hope. We only have 10 Ulsters in our history. I wouldn't trade a single one of them.

Today is a hard day to take, so was Ballybofey last year, but we have 2 Ulsters in our pocket and the young fellas will learn a hell of a lot from that game today. A dirty ol' day that needed smart play in the first half especially. Very disappointed but no doubt Mayo deserved winners.

Onto Westport for the night now and I'll have the game dissected 100 times by midnight!"
Fair play and enjoy the evening Tis a mighty spot for the pints.

Onwards and upwards next year.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 03/08/2019 20:51:12    2220262

Jesus Mayo, what do we have to do, there's 2 creatures that have survived everything nature has thrown at them (though for some reason admin would not allow me to name them) but anyway, I think we can add Mayo to the list.
Seriously though, hats off to ye, and now you're one game from yet another final, amazing really when some of you're performances this year have been way below par. But yet, here ye are, well done again.
Makes tomorrow at least interesting.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/08/2019 20:51:28    2220263

Well done to Mayo. Still stuck in traffic but time to reflect. Mayo were the hungrier team in the first half but Bonnar should have known that our lads wouldn't be physical enough to carry the ball into contact in those conditions. We should have moved the ball when in space. The second half penalty was our lifeline but the bad wides by experienced players eventually cost us.
It was a learning experience for our young lads.
Best if luck to Mayo moving forward.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 03/08/2019 20:53:48    2220264

Replying To gloryof1982:  "Hate to say I told you so but...

Some performance from Mayo. Looked hungry and determined.
Donegal believed their own hype and plenty of players went hiding on the day, except Murphy. That said, Murphy is a pup. Refs in awe of him."
Said this earlier and got shot down for it. Constantly late into tackles and always mouthing to the ref. Good player but gets away far too muxh

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 03/08/2019 21:02:37    2220269

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Congratulations to mayo. Superb performance and probably should've been more. Really impressed with them.

Question for the donegal followers (remember that ye are the friendliest in the country so please take this in the spirit it is intended-im.genuinely curious!)-would ye swap your Ulster championship win for a crack at the dubs next weekend? Bird in the hand etc etc? It's not a question I dont think I'll ever have to answer by the way and congratulations on your season."
That's an easy question to ask in hindsight. We were poor today and fair lay to Mayo they pressured us to make us poor.

Very proud of them though. A lot of the team are young and that was a big learning curve for those guys against a very experienced team.

I would take an Ulster title all day long than a failed semi final against Dublin. Even if we got through we would be missing key players to give them a rattle, but I think all Donegal fans know we are not at their level. We might be in a few years.

As good as Mayo's display was today. I don't think they will beat Dublin. So I don't how much will be gained in a few years time when we look back at it.

The Ulster title will always be on the record books though.

And would you take a Leinster title for Offaly. Of course you would?

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 03/08/2019 21:20:01    2220281

Gutted. Absolutely gutted. No excuses, Mayo were the hungrier and better team on the day. Wish them all the best for next weekend in what will be a massive challenge against the Dubs.

Wholehearted thanks to our lads as well. It wasn't to be today but it has been a decent enough season getting back to Division 1 and another Ulster title. Hopefully our younger lads will continue to progress and we'll get a better crack at it in 2020. Beidh lá eile ag an bPaorach.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 03/08/2019 21:21:27    2220283

A big well done to an amazing Mayo team on a well deserved win.

It is always disappointing to lose a game by being out fought & out worked as Donegal were, especially in the first half, but it will be a valuable lesson to some of our younger players that this is what championship football is all about.

I posted previously that I thought this Donegal team needed another year or two & so it has proved.

Ah well, back to the county championship.

Up Kilcar!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/08/2019 21:25:32    2220284

Great game.

Fair play to Mayo for the intensity they brought.

Donegal will be back.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 03/08/2019 21:27:09    2220285

Replying To TheRock2121:  "I'm afraid the fitness test is a lie. He's out."
Another spoofer exposed!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/08/2019 21:27:13    2220286

Congrats to Mayo, I remember saying after the league game that I would never right yee off and you've only gone and walked the walked. Big day out to look forward to next week.

Can't help but feel Donegal left it behind them, some of the wides and shot selection was criminal, the game was there for them and they will be hugely disappointed reflecting back on the game.

At this stage of the championship you just can't be hitting those number of wides, must be massively frustrating knowing on another day the talent is there that they all go over.

But such as football at this stage of the championship, she's a cruel mistress.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/08/2019 21:35:56    2220291