Junior B- The lads had a great win v Donard away on Thurs 24 Aug in the Div 4 West league. Final score 4-19 to 1-8. Scorers were S. Carroll 0-5, S. Mescall 2-2, I. Richardson 0-1, A. Ellis 1-3, D. Breen 1-3, J. Cotter 0-2, D. McEnroe 0-1, F. Hennessy 0-1, A. Curran 0-1.
Senior Ladies - Hard luck to the ladies who lost to Tinahely in the Championship semi-final on 22 Aug in Baltinglass.
U12 girls - U12 girls (white) are away v Kilcoole on Tues 29 Aug at 7pm. U12 girls (blue) are at home v Baltinglass at 7.15pm on Thurs 31 Aug.
U10 girls - The girls played their final blitz in Bray on Sat 26 Aug. As usual they had a great win in every game. There is no stopping these girls. Well done.
Physio -Physio on Wed at 7pm in the clubhouse. €5 donation. Players training will have first preference.
G4M&O - Training Wed as normal 7pm to 8pm. For more information contact Michelle 0863734748, Sinead 0862446510 or Lorcan 087 76647625. The ladies played St Kevin's on Wed 23 Aug in a very competitive fast paced game. Well done to Amanda Lynch on her first G$M game. G4M are going to hold an Open Day and Cake Sale on Sat 9 Sep at the pitch from 10am up at the pitch. It is a good chance for any ladies over 18 to try out gaelic for mothers and others and get a taste of some football. G4M blitz is scheduled for Sat 23 Sep.
Juvenile - For upcoming fixtures, pictures and pitch rota please see our website and Facebook page.
Mini All Ireland's - This enjoyable event will take place over the next month. It will involve from U7 to U12. Details will be available soon.
Leinster Blitz - On Sun 27 Aug, we welcomed U8/9/10/11 teams from all over Leinster to our blitz. In total 31 teams from the following clubs were involved: Blessington (Wicklow); Baltinglass (Wicklow); Clonmore (Carlow); Cuala (Dublin); Dunlavin (Wicklow); Edenderry (Offaly); Eire Og (Wicklow); Kill (Kildare); Naas (Kildare); Navan O'Mahony's (Meath); Portlaoise (Laois); Rathvilly (Carlow); Sarsfields (Kildare); Two Mile House (Kildare).
The blitz format was based on eight teams at each age level with the teams split into two groups of four. Each team played three group games and depending on results ended up in the Leinster, Connaught, Munster or Ulster final against a similar placed team in the other group. At any one time 8 matches were in progress and by the end of the blitz 36 hours of football was played. The 400+ kids who attended played very entertaining football throughout and most importantly enjoyed themselves. At the end of the blitz our Chairman, John Williamson, thanked all the teams for traveling before our senior players handed out medals to all the kids.
A big thanks to the parents of each Blessington team who provided food and drinks for all the visiting teams and also helped out with car-parking, as pitch coordinators and various other jobs. Also, a big thanks to Noreen, Ann-Marie, Des, Sorcha and Zara for keeping everyone in tea/coffee and goodies from our club shop. Thanks to all the referees who had a busy morning including our club members who gave up their Sunday morning to ref all the matches. Thanks to Lesley Nolan and Barry Hamilton for photography on the day and Bailey & Blake for drone coverage. Also thanks to all other club members who helped on the day including all the coaches of our various teams. Finally, a special mention for the sponsorship we received from Qualitas Property Partners; Brian Carroll Plastering and an anonymous donation from a member of the community. Also thanks to Conor Wilson for his donation to the club and for providing great food to all spectators. All going well this will be annual event in the club.
U7's - The U7's away v Celbridge at 7pm on Tues 29 Aug. Also on Sat 2 Sep at home v Leixlip at 2.30pm.
U9's - The U9's away v Raheens on Wed 30 Aug at 7pm. Also on Sat 2 Sep at home v St Edwards at 3.30pm.
U11's - One of our U11 teams played against Kilbride/Lacken in Wicklow league on Wed 23 Aug in a game where players from both clubs played entertaining football. Our U10 and U11 Kildare league teams have five games in the NKL autumn league with the first match away on Tues 29 Aug where our U11 team travel to Balyna. U11 boys are at home v Celbridge on Sat 2 Sep at 4.30pm. U11's at home v S Pat's on Mon 4 Sep at 7pm.
U12/U13's - Training Wed and Fri 6.30 to 8pm. Well done to all the lads that attended the last training session of the U13 Wicklow Development squad on Sat. The lads showed well at training and matches with excellent training and some great experiences playing their first intercounty game and came up against Wexford, Laois and Kildare. Well done to Sam Gough, James Dooley, James Stack, Austin Brennan, Shane Brophy and Rory Cullen. U12's play Clane in NKC Quarter Final at home on Tues 29 Aug. U13's play St Nick's away in the Wicklow Championship on Mon 28 Aug.
U15's - Lads are away v St Kevin's on Wed 30 at 7.15pm.
U17's - Hard luck to the lads who lost by 4 pts v Clara Gaels on 21 Aug in Laragh. Next championship match v St Nicks is now on 8 Sep in Hollywood.
Hurl repairs - Hurley repairs - €5 a fix, €2/hoop. Contact Ciarán 085 7145288 .
U11 hurling Western Gaels - The latest match in the Wicklow U11 hurling league was a game played at home on Wed last against a Bray Emmets side.The team secured another victory by a clear margin, despite conceding 4 scores in a row from an improved Bray side after the restart. Good scores from Oisin O' Neill, Luke Higgins and Max Kehoe ensured the unbeaten run is kept going in the league. Blessington representatives were Senan Gardner, Jack Byrne, Dean Carey, Oisin ONeill, Max Kehoe,, Luke Higgins and Thomas Walsh.
Lotto -No winner of lotto jackpot on 22 Aug. Numbers drawn were 2, 4, 13 and 18. 7 people matched 3 numbers and won €45each. Kathleen Magee, Derek Brophy. Sinead Johnston, Eoin and Laura co Eoin Devlin, Mr Long c/o Michelle Ricker, Jake Ball c/o Mary Hamilton and Eoin Russell c/o Niamh Carroll. Jackpot now €3200. Next draw in Mick Reids on 5 Sep. Tickets are available from players, committee members and in shops and pubs around the town. Don't miss a draw again and sign up for Direct Debit. Contact Noelle McGarr 087 7460327 or Arthur Hennessy for details 087 2396157. Remember you can also play online by logging onto www.blessingtongaa.ie.
AFL International Cup - The club welcomed home Molly Cullen and Gavin Murray when they returned home from their successful trip down under. They were greeted by members of the club and paraded in grand style to the pitch. Jessica Brennan presented both with a momento of the special occasion and their was craic agus ceoil. You did yourselves and everyone around you proud.
Paddy Magee Memorial Cup - The Annual match v Ballymore was held at Blessingon GAA on Fri 25 Aug. Blessington won this year on a scoreline of 2-19 to 1-07. Chris O'Connor presented the Paddy Magee Memorial Cup to Captain Kevin John Rogers and then presented the team with their trophies. The Pete Nolan Man of the match was presented to Curtis Geraghty by Nora Nolan. Well done to the ladies who provided refreshments - Noelle, Geraldine, Denise, Karen and Olive. All proceeds from the event will go to Blessingon and Ballymore Senior Citizens.
Katie Taylor Third Level Bursary - Sports Scholarship €1500 per year. Closing date for application 15 Sep 2017. For more details seewww.wicklowlsp.ie or contact [email protected]. Must be a resident of Co Wicklow, You do not have to be studying a sports related course, You must be entering 1st year of college, You can be playing at a high level in any sport and the bursary is open to male and female.
Scor na nOg - Blessington GAA will proudly host the Scor na nOg on Fri 20 Oct. Scór is a GAA competition that combines all the colour and rivalry of Gaelic Games with the social/fun element of Ireland's traditional past-times. The competition was established by the GAA in 1969 with the aim of promoting Ireland's traditional pastimes and culture while offering club members the chance to meet up, have fun and represent their club during the winter months while Football and Hurling had ceased. There are eight events/disciplines in Scór that cover all aspects of Irish culture: Figure/Céilí Dancing, Solo Singing, Ballad Group, Recitation/Scéalaíocht, Léiriú Stáitse/Stage Presentation, Instrumental Music, Set Dancing and Table Quiz. The competition is divided into two age levels, Scór na nÓg, for young people under 17 and Scór Sinsir, for those over 17. Anyone interested in finding out more information can contact Catherine Behan on 087 1224019.
Clothing Collection ongoing - collecting good quality second hand clothing suitable for re-use. Please fill as many black bin bags as you can - the more we collect, the more our club receives. If you are unable to bring them to the GAA Grounds we can arrange collection. Please contact: John Magee Snr 086 871 7483 or Breda Brophy 087 225 3892. Thank you for your support.
Car parking - For those who use Blessington GAA Grounds the club has a REVERSE IN, DRIVE OUT policy. This is for Health and Safety reasons.
Shop at the pitch - Shop will be open for some home games. Boots for sale sizes 28 to 33 (age 4 to 8) €10. Tea, coffee and goodies. Gum shields also for sale.
Online shop - https://www.oneills.com/shop-by-team/gaa/ireland/blessington-gaa.html
Remember to keep updated on what is happening in the Club log on www.blessingtongaa.ie and Blessington GAA on Facebook and on Twitter @blessingtongaa. If you wish to be on the Blessington GAA Supporters text list, please text your name to 085 1607808.
Tweet