RTÉ Sports Team of the Year shortlist revealed

January 27, 2021

Dublin's players celebrate with the Sam Maguire Cup after defeating Mayo at Croke Park

Both the Dublin men's and ladies All-Ireland winning teams feature alongside respective hurling and camogie champions, Limerick and Kilkenny, on the RTÉ 2020 Sports Team of the Year shortlist.

Joanne Cantwell and Darragh Maloney will present the awards on RTÉ One tomorrow night at 10.15pm, with four GAA managers in the running, and Dublin footballer Ciaran Kilkenny and Limerick hurler Gearoid Hegarty also among the nominees.

Dublin's men's team continued their dominance of gaelic football, annexing an unprecedented six-in-a-row of All Ireland SFC titles, while the ladies secured a four-in-a-row outright.

All-Ireland hurling champions Limerick capped off an unbeaten season by winning the Liam MacCarthy Cup as Kilkenny won a first All-Ireland camogie crown since 2016.

They are up against the Leinster rugby team that claimed a first ever Guinness Pro 14 three-in-a-row and SSE Airtricity Premier Division champions Shamrock Rovers.


Most Read Stories