RTÉ Sports Manager of the Year: Four All-Ireland winners in running

January 24, 2021

RTÉ 2020 Sports Manager of the Year nominees: Dessie Farrell (Dublin football), John Kiely (Limerick hurling), Mick Bohan (Dublin ladies football) and Brian Dowling (Kilkenny camogie).

Limerick supremo John Kiely, Dublin duo Dessie Farrell and Mick Bohan and Kilkenny boss Brian Dowling are all in the running to become RTÉ 2020 Sports Manager of the Year on Thursday night.

The four All-Ireland winners have been recognised, while Shamrock Rovers' Stephen Bradley and horse racing trainer Joseph O'Brien complete the six-person managerial shortlist.

Kiely is up for the award after leading Limerick to a clean sweep of Munster SHL, Allianz League, Munster and All-Ireland SHC titles. 

In his first season in charge, Farrell delivered Dublin's sixth All-Ireland SFC success in-a-row and can emulate his predeccesor Jim Gavin by winning the gong.

His counterpart with the Dublin ladies that claimed a fourth consecutive All-Ireland SFC title, Bohan receives his fourth nomination.

Meanwhile, Dowling guided Kilkenny to the All-Ireland senior camogie crown - an impressive feat for his first year as manager.

For the Young Sportsperson of the Year award, Mayo footballer Oisin Mullin is the GAA's sole representative on the line-up.

Dublin's Ciaran Kilkenny and Limerick's Gearoid Hegarty are in contention for the Sportsperson of the Year award.


Most Read Stories