Meath Vs Kildare

Replying To brian:  "Longwood I respect your post but when someone calls posters on here providing an opinion a cabbage (which he labelled someone today) presents their opinions as "facts" and accuses genuine posters of having multiple accounts, talks out of both sides of their mouth, try's to act like they know on what's going on in the inner sanctum it gets tiring. See his most recent post responding to you..

These actions were seen on the national forum,I believe the poster in question said someone was infatuated with him, and all of the above insults, multiple accounts claim etc… it's not the first time this has happened. In fact hasn't the same fella asked lads to "come see him at matches…."

You've been posting here regularly and I think you and I have health discussions, We can have a different opinion and I'll respect your opinion and you respect mine. We all try and chat in the interests of Meath football. The same goes for lads like Crinigan, joe,latouche, and many many others. We give and get respect, understand others opinions and be constructive.

I had great time for the likes of furlong, north Meath man and and Ard Ri back in the day. There was great banter and craic.

When said poster stops as you say putting others down, maybe he won't get the same in return. Take him out and look at how everyone else interacts and I'd say you can it's a very harmonious place. As you and Crinigan have said don't read and comment then maybe there'll be a bit more peace and quiet"
I have often said to people to meet me at a match. I have met plenty from on here. Likes of ziggy etc. you seem to take that as threatening. Anyway you have the problem. Not me. At end of day it's football ffs not life or death. I know even at least one poster on here from my school days. And if you or anyone else gets offended by been called a cabbage then I give up. Btw I didn't say he was a cabbage I said those in agreement were.
You really need to take a chill pill and relax . And people with multiple personalities need to do the same.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/03/2023 17:41:26    2467870

Replying To royalproxy:  "There's an old saying my friend that depicts you perfectly.
'Empty vessels make the most noise!'

It's interesting that all the people that talk to you want to run down Colm O' Rourke. I was talking to a woman who's brother in law's friend went to a school where his friend's father played on a county team that was slated by COR on sunday game. We should be really worried about this."
Well Brian if you look up a large company that operates from mulling in the health supplement area you will find the son of a very prominent member of st pats is running it. Actually he didn't call him Colm he called him lugsy. (First time I ever heard him referred to as that.) so perhaps people that went to the college could verify was that his nickname from the students.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/03/2023 18:06:41    2467877

Listening to COR post match interview on LMFm he mentioned post match critics after Dub game presumed he was referring to Cora Staunton on SG having no game plan etc v Dubs . However he claimed they had a game plan but the Dubs were too quick out of blocks to implement it. We went man to man from throw in it doesn't add up surely you would try it whatever it was and then adjust.

Roytherover (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 30/03/2023 20:34:51    2467894

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Ah right I get ya. So their success was down the manager but their demise is the players fault."
I think some players got older and retired, some moved country, some injuries and some had seen their best days. The players coming behind them were not on the same level.
You will see this happening with every team in the country
I hope this clears it up for you now.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 30/03/2023 21:04:04    2467896

Haven't been on this in a few days but wow, this thread really has really blown up since then! It's amazing - I work in a place with 3/4 reasonably dedicated Meath fans but none of them (or myself) had the inside line on the 4 players who have departed the panel for championship. I must say that in my own view, given our leinster championship path (Longford/Offaly and Louth/Westmeath) and I think getting past those two games would be good going tbh, Im not sure reducing the panel was optimal... Just on Morris alone; I know he has an incostitent streak but against any of those four teams I would rate him likely to have a scoring role, particularly if Walsh is back at 14. He has always had an eye for goals in particular esp. against Div.3/4 opposition. I also personally like Harkin a lot and always felf that Clarke and Conlon worked hard on the pitch. But how and ever, these lads will be back in due course and im sure will be welcomed.

I think its proper to not focus on the championship games post-Leinster right now as its a toss of a coin (Maguire vs. Tailteann), and Im sure everyone involved is looking ahead to Offaly/Longford. It's only 5 years ago Longford defeated Meath in this round in Pearse Park, and 4 years since Meath needed a flukey goal to get over Offaly in Navan... either of these teams will fancy their chances of a Leinster final and this side of the draw is wide open. I know we had a poor league and sometimes looked quite abject, but I think there could be a reaction from Meath and I'd be dissapointed if they dont get to the Leinster final, as I think when everything slots into place they can still beat any of those 4 teams.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 31/03/2023 08:48:43    2467905

Replying To brian:  "I get the points you're making there, and you're orrery they've lost huge calibre pgplauers. I think what's concerning some is that teams ran up huge scores v them, and this is happening with Meath too. We could do with a paddy tally or horse de line type figure to help implement a defensive structure. What's worrying is Garrigan had that in place for the womens team and as yet it's not translated over."
Let's call a spade a spade. The difference between women's football and men's football is chalk and cheese. It's not popular to say it but they are practically different sports. Far easier to set up a women's team to defend than a men's team, due to the pace of the attacks coming at you.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 31/03/2023 09:48:18    2467916

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well Brian if you look up a large company that operates from mulling in the health supplement area you will find the son of a very prominent member of st pats is running it. Actually he didn't call him Colm he called him lugsy. (First time I ever heard him referred to as that.) so perhaps people that went to the college could verify was that his nickname from the students."
I was talking to a guy who knows a girl who has a cousin whose friend is related to a high ranking politician who knows the uncle of one of the panel members who told him that sometimes COR raises his voice in the dressing room.....now thats not on!!

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 31/03/2023 10:09:58    2467923

Replying To Maestro:  "I think some players got older and retired, some moved country, some injuries and some had seen their best days. The players coming behind them were not on the same level.
You will see this happening with every team in the country
I hope this clears it up for you now."
Doesn't really clear it up no.

It clears up why they haven't been competing for senior championships like they were in previous years alright but doesn't really clear up why they have lost 8 out of 9 championship group games in the last 3 championships failing to beat the likes of Moynalvey and Nobber in some of those games.

They 100% had the players to be competing better than they have been in the last 3 years .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 869 - 31/03/2023 10:17:06    2467925

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Doesn't really clear it up no.

It clears up why they haven't been competing for senior championships like they were in previous years alright but doesn't really clear up why they have lost 8 out of 9 championship group games in the last 3 championships failing to beat the likes of Moynalvey and Nobber in some of those games.

They 100% had the players to be competing better than they have been in the last 3 years ."
They won 2 from 2 in knockout games.
The Nobber result was a freak result and these things can happen but that game had no impact on the group as it was a shootout between Ratoath and Simonstown in the last group game and the winner went through.
They have had difficult groups the last few years.
We will see how they get on this year without O'Rourke in charge.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 31/03/2023 11:04:30    2467941

Replying To Maestro:  "They won 2 from 2 in knockout games.
The Nobber result was a freak result and these things can happen but that game had no impact on the group as it was a shootout between Ratoath and Simonstown in the last group game and the winner went through.
They have had difficult groups the last few years.
We will see how they get on this year without O'Rourke in charge."
2 from 2 in Knockout games ? As in relegation 1/4 finals ? Fair play some achievement....

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 869 - 31/03/2023 11:16:46    2467943

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Let's call a spade a spade. The difference between women's football and men's football is chalk and cheese. It's not popular to say it but they are practically different sports. Far easier to set up a women's team to defend than a men's team, due to the pace of the attacks coming at you."
Oh joe I totally agree and you're right different games. My point and apologies if I made it badly is that the ladies defended effectively en masse, in numbers and there's always 3-4 players close to a player with the ball. This mens team are playing wide open and not getting numbers back. The man to man game isn't working without your midfielders and half forward line getting back to help out in the way that's needed. Of course you're correct on the pace of attacks point, and that's why there needs to be more bodies back, but that's only effective if they're impacting the play and putting pressure on. In the Dublin game last summer we'd 13/14 lads back but no one was actually impacting the play. Dublin recycled ad nauseum until the opening presented which invariably happened due to their much better S&C and pace. Their ability to find the right opening and pop a score is unrivalled. It's what all the tops team are able to do, recycle and go again. Our attack are like waves crashing on a beach and all teams know the IQ isn't there with this team and the turnover will happen or we'll take a pop shot and create the turnover for them.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 31/03/2023 11:34:26    2467947

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Doesn't really clear it up no.

They 100% had the players to be competing better than they have been in the last 3 years ."
Simonstown never had the depth to continue on the way they were going in 2016 and 2017. Kenny and Lane done very well to get Simonstown out of the groups as they had lost Nash, Kenny and O Rourke with McMahon on his way out. In CORs 3rd stint he had lost about 10 players out of about 20 since 2017 with the likes of McKeever, Tobin and Moran all a good bit older and legs not what they once were.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 31/03/2023 12:18:16    2467958

Why has this forum gone to the stage where the decline of Simonstown is being reviewed in minute detail. It makes no sense and we should be focusing on topics relevant to this current Meath team.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 31/03/2023 16:33:09    2468029