Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "And who did they say they are?"
Heard it from a few people during the week also - the Gorey crew were all mentioned.

I did hear the names of some lads that have been called up - one notable name of omission is Rathnure's Sean O'Connor .. wasn't even asked apparently. AJ has declined the call too

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 266 - 10/11/2025 09:41:59    2643800

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Heard it from a few people during the week also - the Gorey crew were all mentioned.

I did hear the names of some lads that have been called up - one notable name of omission is Rathnure's Sean O'Connor .. wasn't even asked apparently. AJ has declined the call too"
Heard a few rumours about the 4 Gorey lads, and 3 or 4 others. Lads, it's all just that, rumours.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17606 - 10/11/2025 10:20:10    2643807

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Heard it from a few people during the week also - the Gorey crew were all mentioned.

I did hear the names of some lads that have been called up - one notable name of omission is Rathnure's Sean O'Connor .. wasn't even asked apparently. AJ has declined the call too"
Dissapointing to hear AJ not commiting

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 756 - 10/11/2025 10:39:53    2643814

A player of AJ's ability not committing is a blow although I'm not really sure where he would've fit in the team had he committed? Don't know if he's tall enough or has the aerial ability to play in the half-back line and don't think he's really a full-back either, could maybe have played him at corner back but would he have had the pace for that?

It's all a bit academic now anyway, Joe Barrett not committing is a bigger blow IMO as he would slot straight in at corner-back (And would be a good one at that)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 711 - 10/11/2025 15:05:40    2643873

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "A player of AJ's ability not committing is a blow although I'm not really sure where he would've fit in the team had he committed? Don't know if he's tall enough or has the aerial ability to play in the half-back line and don't think he's really a full-back either, could maybe have played him at corner back but would he have had the pace for that?

It's all a bit academic now anyway, Joe Barrett not committing is a bigger blow IMO as he would slot straight in at corner-back (And would be a good one at that)"
Joe Barrett and AJ both have excellent potential for sure, but its a bit of a reach to say that either would be a good player at Senior intercounty when we haven't seen them play at that level. Yet.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17606 - 10/11/2025 16:18:32    2643882

Replying To Viking66:  "Joe Barrett and AJ both have excellent potential for sure, but its a bit of a reach to say that either would be a good player at Senior intercounty when we haven't seen them play at that level. Yet."
It's really a problem in the county how do we get lads like Joe Barrett and Aj Redmond who commit to county through underage and when it comes to senior they decide not to commit . How we can make the county set up as appealing as possible for them to join? The reality is it probably if we were really competing to win a Leinster title every year. It's a pity we can't get all the best players int he county to commit because there is definitely still the makings of a good squad there

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 756 - 10/11/2025 17:54:44    2643890

Replying To Afinestick96:  "It's really a problem in the county how do we get lads like Joe Barrett and Aj Redmond who commit to county through underage and when it comes to senior they decide not to commit . How we can make the county set up as appealing as possible for them to join? The reality is it probably if we were really competing to win a Leinster title every year. It's a pity we can't get all the best players int he county to commit because there is definitely still the makings of a good squad there"
I don't think competing for a Leinster title is what'll get players to play, it's probably All-Ireland IMO

That's mainly because I don't think the bar to reach a Leinster Final will be that high next year (Not that we will necessarily reach it or even come close to reaching it)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 711 - 10/11/2025 23:16:27    2643915

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I don't think competing for a Leinster title is what'll get players to play, it's probably All-Ireland IMO

That's mainly because I don't think the bar to reach a Leinster Final will be that high next year (Not that we will necessarily reach it or even come close to reaching it)"
There have always been lads who didnt play county. In every county. Its not for everyone.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17606 - 11/11/2025 08:02:37    2643921

Replying To Afinestick96:  "It's really a problem in the county how do we get lads like Joe Barrett and Aj Redmond who commit to county through underage and when it comes to senior they decide not to commit . How we can make the county set up as appealing as possible for them to join? The reality is it probably if we were really competing to win a Leinster title every year. It's a pity we can't get all the best players int he county to commit because there is definitely still the makings of a good squad there"
I can understand it personally, in many ways I don't blame young fellas.

We have a chap in the club who would have played county level all the way up, to under 20, but as he ssid himself probably finished with county, done everything asked of him. Prioritised county over club when asked, sacrificed the nights out, he would have been one of these fellas that would have done everything by the book and more. He comes from an absolute GAA obsessed family

Was talking to him the other day and he genuinely said to me its only now he realises what he's missed out on, how much he's enjoyed been back at the club full time as such. He's having his few pints and nights out, he's back hanging around more with his pals, as he said himself college is now a completely different experience. His very words were "its only now i wonder was it all worth it at all"

His father said he's like a different chap, like a weight gone off his shoulders and to cap it off he's been our standout player, best he's played in years.

Daniel Flynn from Kildare gave a bit of an insight when he spoke about quitting recently. It takes a particular mindset and lifestyle and I'd argue its one that's not overly healthy from a mental health point of view but that would just be a personal point of view. It's an amateur sport with a professional lifestyle and all that goes with that, its even harder now with social media etc in the modern world, I remember even Conor Mac speaking about that, how he woukd be out with the missus and she'd take a picture that might have an alcoholic drink in it and he have to ask her to take it down.

In the world of GAA I do fear something has to give soon.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1594 - 11/11/2025 09:44:41    2643936

Replying To tearintom:  "I can understand it personally, in many ways I don't blame young fellas.

We have a chap in the club who would have played county level all the way up, to under 20, but as he ssid himself probably finished with county, done everything asked of him. Prioritised county over club when asked, sacrificed the nights out, he would have been one of these fellas that would have done everything by the book and more. He comes from an absolute GAA obsessed family

Was talking to him the other day and he genuinely said to me its only now he realises what he's missed out on, how much he's enjoyed been back at the club full time as such. He's having his few pints and nights out, he's back hanging around more with his pals, as he said himself college is now a completely different experience. His very words were "its only now i wonder was it all worth it at all"

His father said he's like a different chap, like a weight gone off his shoulders and to cap it off he's been our standout player, best he's played in years.

Daniel Flynn from Kildare gave a bit of an insight when he spoke about quitting recently. It takes a particular mindset and lifestyle and I'd argue its one that's not overly healthy from a mental health point of view but that would just be a personal point of view. It's an amateur sport with a professional lifestyle and all that goes with that, its even harder now with social media etc in the modern world, I remember even Conor Mac speaking about that, how he woukd be out with the missus and she'd take a picture that might have an alcoholic drink in it and he have to ask her to take it down.

In the world of GAA I do fear something has to give soon."
I agree the demands on inter county players is crazy for an amateur game. You would have to wonder where is it going to end .

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 756 - 11/11/2025 09:56:45    2643940

Replying To tearintom:  "I can understand it personally, in many ways I don't blame young fellas.

In the world of GAA I do fear something has to give soon."
Agree 100% .. The GAA seems to have an obsession with alcohol and if you are an intercounty player and even seen with what looks like a drink in your hand it's local gossip - 'Shur wasn't he falling around The Stores at the weekend'. Professional athletes don't even have the same obsession.

I recall a story a few years ago where one inter county player was speaking about the draws for the All-Ireland series for the upcoming season. He said the night used to be a great session and a good chance to mingle with other county players. However over the few years he was involved, it started to move from a session to maybe having a few quiet pints to then having tea and biscuits to finally who would be seen with the biggest water bottle!!

If anyone looked at Part 1 of the documentary on the Camogie Championship they'd also see that the Ladies put in an equal effort with regards to Gym / Nutrition / Rehab / Training and probably get even less recognition.

Inter county is not for everyone - fair dues to those who commit but it's an amateur sport and no player owes their county anything.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 266 - 11/11/2025 10:39:51    2643953

To be honest, I think it's a mistake for any manager to impose a drinks ban. Players should know though that even if there's no drinks ban, they must behave sensibly because not only are they accountable to themselves but they're accountable to their team-mates

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 711 - 11/11/2025 15:10:20    2644014

Replying To Viking66:  "Heard a few rumours about the 4 Gorey lads, and 3 or 4 others. Lads, it's all just that, rumours."
Recks, Eoin Ryan, Gorey lads, Jippo & Rory.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 920 - 11/11/2025 15:56:19    2644022

Replying To countyman2022:  "Recks, Eoin Ryan, Gorey lads, Jippo & Rory."
Same rumours. 1 of those lads is already training with the panel. 6 or 7 of the others wouldn't be back yet anyway. 2 told family members they arent even thinking about intercounty next year yet. 1 nearly didnt come back the season gone partly on account of a new child , so might not come back next year. According to the workmate of another he hasn't made his mind up yet. So not gone either. One is likely to travel, but hasn't ruled out being back either.
Its the same every year with the rumours. Hopefully most of them give it one more good lash. And a few newer lads make a big leap forwards like Conor Hearne did. Kilkenny will be down at least 2 of their best, Galway are in transition too. They probably have their best chance since 2019 of winning a Leinster.
We need a good lead coach.......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17606 - 11/11/2025 17:39:25    2644038

Well its only a few short months since there was WW3 on here about a free weekend for a music festival.
Here is the reality. The current commitment, while easy to maintain in counties with a genuine chance of winning an All-Ireland, is unsustainable outside of these select few.
Players are treated like its the 1980s, they can't be trusted to drink in moderation so the only thing to do is make them live like hermits and not enjoy their life like most young lads their age. More, more, more is asked of them and not surprisingly, players are saying no. And in many cases, the more more more is being asked by a manager getting more more and more.
Without going "in my day it was different", the reality is it was. It was good craic. We trained hard, we had great times, we had bad times, but we enjoyed it. Is being an intercounty player enjoyable in 2025? I am not so sure.
Now instead of a night ou players have to be lectured about how many interceptions, hooks and blocks they got in in a challenge match.
Growing up in Dublin I didn't live far from the training pitch but if I was travelling to Ferns 2-3 times a week for training while my friends were going out for the night and enjoying their time in college I don't see how anybody would not think "is this worth it".
Its also why I don't believe the spilt season is sustainable. Players training and playing challenge matches in November and December when the first match of REAL importance is 5 months away. Premier League footballers do a 6 week preseason and are all fitter than GAA players despite the belief otherwise. In the GAA its 5 months.
Something has to give if we want to keep players committed to it.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1516 - 11/11/2025 17:59:33    2644043

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Well its only a few short months since there was WW3 on here about a free weekend for a music festival.
Here is the reality. The current commitment, while easy to maintain in counties with a genuine chance of winning an All-Ireland, is unsustainable outside of these select few.
Players are treated like its the 1980s, they can't be trusted to drink in moderation so the only thing to do is make them live like hermits and not enjoy their life like most young lads their age. More, more, more is asked of them and not surprisingly, players are saying no. And in many cases, the more more more is being asked by a manager getting more more and more.
Without going "in my day it was different", the reality is it was. It was good craic. We trained hard, we had great times, we had bad times, but we enjoyed it. Is being an intercounty player enjoyable in 2025? I am not so sure.
Now instead of a night ou players have to be lectured about how many interceptions, hooks and blocks they got in in a challenge match.
Growing up in Dublin I didn't live far from the training pitch but if I was travelling to Ferns 2-3 times a week for training while my friends were going out for the night and enjoying their time in college I don't see how anybody would not think "is this worth it".
Its also why I don't believe the spilt season is sustainable. Players training and playing challenge matches in November and December when the first match of REAL importance is 5 months away. Premier League footballers do a 6 week preseason and are all fitter than GAA players despite the belief otherwise. In the GAA its 5 months.
Something has to give if we want to keep players committed to it."
Premier League Footballers don't really have an off season as regards fitness. They are professional athletes.
The split season is a good thing, it does what it's initial aim was. It provides a shorter more certain window for club players and club championships. Yes it would be nice in an ideal world to run the 2 championships, club and county, concurrently, but from a player point of view it would require both club and county players to maintain a peak for a whole year pretty much, rather than 4 months as is currently the case for club players. I get that county players have to play county while club Leagues are taking place, a time when club players don't have to be putting as much in if they so choose. It would also require players who play soccer to a decent level to choose between soccer and GAA, which would cost clubs more players.
If you want more players who don't commit to intercounty because of the time "living like a hermit" it involves to commit, you need to shorten the county season, not lengthen it. Fewer games, maybe go back to a straight knockout championship. But spectators and administrators don't want less games, and therefore less revenue, they want more games if anything.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17606 - 11/11/2025 20:34:50    2644069

Replying To Viking66:  "Same rumours. 1 of those lads is already training with the panel. 6 or 7 of the others wouldn't be back yet anyway. 2 told family members they arent even thinking about intercounty next year yet. 1 nearly didnt come back the season gone partly on account of a new child , so might not come back next year. According to the workmate of another he hasn't made his mind up yet. So not gone either. One is likely to travel, but hasn't ruled out being back either.
Its the same every year with the rumours. Hopefully most of them give it one more good lash. And a few newer lads make a big leap forwards like Conor Hearne did. Kilkenny will be down at least 2 of their best, Galway are in transition too. They probably have their best chance since 2019 of winning a Leinster.
We need a good lead coach......."
You must be living with these lads viking ha ha!!

richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 44 - 11/11/2025 21:47:23    2644081

Replying To countyman2022:  "Recks, Eoin Ryan, Gorey lads, Jippo & Rory."
I'll be very very surprised if the recks aren't involved.

Heard on reasonably good authority that Rory will be travelling but intends to be back for championship.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4045 - 11/11/2025 23:42:43    2644089

Replying To richiepmurphy:  "You must be living with these lads viking ha ha!!"
There ya go again Richie. Get involved volunteering your time at more different levels and you will meet more people, and then know more, except when you get stuffed with lies, which happens too sometimes :-D

You will be down 2 starters from this year next year, get yourself down to PP you heard it here 1st ;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17606 - 12/11/2025 09:35:23    2644105

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I'll be very very surprised if the recks aren't involved.

Heard on reasonably good authority that Rory will be travelling but intends to be back for championship."
Shane defo will not be. Damien may come back.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 920 - 12/11/2025 10:10:50    2644120