Kerry Champions 2026?

Replying To legendzxix:  "Of everyone Kerry came up against this year, Tyrone impressed me the most.
Going to enjoy the celebrations and upcoming club championships. Ciarraí abú!"
You're easily impressed lol.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 312 - 28/07/2025 13:41:26    2628644

Replying To bláthach:  "Rubbish team that won the all Ireland? What does that say for your crowd despite all the money couldn't even get past a quarter final!! Where does that leave ye?!?!?!"
Even if he's not a troll, it's a good job nobody knows he's sober lol- silly comment.

Gavin White could have been content with less in his first play yesterday. How many good players would have thought - "I've done well there, I've won possession, that'll do, now to pass it off and we'll all do a cautious build-up". Nobody would have said a bad word about him had he done that. But instead he just went for it, full throttle. That's an attitude thing first and foremost, and great to see - required viewing for all cautious and unambitious players. I think too many teams are somewhat over-coached, and that gung-ho mentality has been coached out of them. If other teams continue to play safety first football, and Kerry continues to play with that degree of athleticism and sheer will to win that we saw yesterday, then yes of course they can win it next year. It's not that the next half a dozen teams are bad per se; they're not; but none of them have shown that ability to play a full game and with that degree of utter determination to win. You have to credit Kack O'Connor too for having his team all with the right attitude. Kerry had a serious chip on their shoulder - even harmless remarks that McGuinness might do something unexpected were somehow construed as disrespectful to O'Connor. Nobody was disrespecting Kerry of course apart from a few of their own pundits, but Kerry managed to nurse a sense of grievance despite impressive wins in the quarter and semi - not an easy fiction to maintain, but it worked.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 312 - 28/07/2025 13:54:12    2628653

Before yesterday's game, I definitely wouldn't have subscribed to the notion that this Kerry team could go on and dominate. Mainly because I thought we'd have their measure. But Kerry were very, very good yesterday. You also have to consider the calibre of player they have to bring back. The likes of Tom O'Sullivan, big Diarmuid O'Connor, Barry Dan O'Sullivan etc. And you can bet your bottom dollar that there's a few underage lads that'll stake a claim for a jersey from their u20s too.

The confidence and belief they'll have taken from yesterday's win isn't insignificant either, and that spells big trouble for any team who thinks they can dislodge them. David Clifford could retire now and stiull be considered the greatest ever. But I reckon there's a drive and a hunger there to start racking up Celtic Crosses so that his achievements match his colossal talent.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9943 - 28/07/2025 14:02:00    2628656

Replying To brayballer:  "Kerry are a good team and have the best player in the country but the Dubs will be back in the picture again next year and maybe with a comeback man ourselves.Enjoy 2025."
Dublin are in major transition, quarter final spot was basically their level the level the last two years and that is unlikely to change much in year one under a new manager.

As for Kerry, looks like Jack O'Connor is stepping down and unless they find a suitable replacement they will struggle to retain their title

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4131 - 28/07/2025 14:05:27    2628659

Replying To brayballer:  "Kerry are a good team and have the best player in the country but the Dubs will be back in the picture again next year and maybe with a comeback man ourselves.Enjoy 2025."
Dubs will be back with who?

That 10 year once in a lifetime team is gone, sorry to burst your bubble.

Louth have your number in underage recently in Leinster.

I can see Dublin going through a similar drought as Kilkenny have been in the hurling.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 974 - 28/07/2025 14:06:39    2628660

Replying To slayer:  "The 'Free Ride' notion is a strange one. It is seen as beneficial to Kerry in football, yet hindering to Kilkenny in hurling - two counties with a similar number of all Ireland titles."
Two different systems.

Kilkenny just not as good as they once were though and 4 week gap probably doesn't suit them against a battle hardened Munster side who have 4 tough games at least under belt.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 28/07/2025 14:11:24    2628664

Replying To slayer:  "The 'Free Ride' notion is a strange one. It is seen as beneficial to Kerry in football, yet hindering to Kilkenny in hurling - two counties with a similar number of all Ireland titles."
Absolutely!
Armagh last year had the benefit of a tough Ulster championship no less!!
The narrative is amusing! :-D

The Munster semi final was probably the most incredible of matches Kerry were involved in this year. Many saw the game as a foregone conclusion. I could see the warning signs. A tough game away to Cork in the '23 group stage. Cork beat Donegal in the '24 group stage. Cork to be honest blow hot and cold. They were ready for the Munster semi final in fairness.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9054 - 28/07/2025 14:14:54    2628669

Dublin will have a few years of drought unfortunately.

Tyrone will be the emerging force to challenge Kerry I think.

Armagh, Donegal, Derry, Galway will be strong again.

HolyGhost (Kerry) - Posts: 4 - 28/07/2025 16:24:28    2628745

Replying To KerryAllIrelandChampions2025:  "Still a relatively young team. Tom Sullivan, Jack Barry, Mark O'Connor Stefan Okunbor, David Shaw, Shane O'Carroll and Diarmuid O'Connor pushing for starting slots . Can Kerry do back to back?"
You won't do back to back . Because Armagh wil bounce back . Also Mayo will is well.

You beat a poor Donegal team that didn't show up . The most boring final ever .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 300 - 28/07/2025 16:41:39    2628751

Replying To S1234:  "You won't do back to back . Because Armagh wil bounce back . Also Mayo will is well.

You beat a poor Donegal team that didn't show up . The most boring final ever ."
Mayo will bounce back from what, losing the last 11 finals they were in?

I suppose Tyrone and Armagh are poor teams as well.

dolfos (Longford) - Posts: 140 - 28/07/2025 16:54:13    2628758

I'd say its a definite 4 or 5 in a row. With the Star coming in to take over from Jack O. Bringing in Eamon Fitz to help out alongside Tomas O Se

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1530 - 28/07/2025 17:30:25    2628778

Replying To galwayford:  "Given your free ride in Munster. You have a chance. I am sure Galway and Mayo (or Roscommon) would love a "bye" to the All Ireland quarter finals/semi finals same as you lot have in effect."
It depends on whethee its hurling or football you talking about.

That poster you replying to has Limerick and Cork usernames also.That poster has named Kerry players that dont exist.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4053 - 28/07/2025 18:04:51    2628788

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats Mick, made up for you!

"You'l winter well"!"
Ah thanks alot Username.I kind of knew you would post.Fair play to you.Im not sure if you remeber but a few years ago you asked had we any good lads coming through and I mentioned Joe O Connor.He came on in 22 but did bis cruciate so missed all of 2023 and some of 24.He coming good now.
Thanks for the text User and hope you keeping well.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4053 - 28/07/2025 18:09:31    2628790

Replying To S1234:  "You won't do back to back . Because Armagh wil bounce back . Also Mayo will is well.

You beat a poor Donegal team that didn't show up . The most boring final ever ."
We only won yesterday and I am going to enjoy it.Back to back wont b even tbought about until after Xmas.

Of course we miight not do it.Its hard to do but we will be contenders.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4053 - 28/07/2025 18:15:43    2628791

I can see this Kerry team doing 3 in a row.

Armagh and Tyrone are challengers alright, but don't have the free scoring forwards that Kerry have.

Mayo are finished as a top 5 county in my eyes for a long time, a very mediocre panel.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 974 - 28/07/2025 19:09:59    2628807

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I'd say its a definite 4 or 5 in a row. With the Star coming in to take over from Jack O. Bringing in Eamon Fitz to help out alongside Tomas O Se"
Jack will take some replacing. jury is out on the star, He's a coached and never managed inter county team before I doubt. Be better off making Eamon Fitz though I don't he has much interest returning with his cushy media gig,

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 548 - 28/07/2025 19:42:24    2628819

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "We only won yesterday and I am going to enjoy it.Back to back wont b even tbought about until after Xmas.

Of course we miight not do it.Its hard to do but we will be contenders."
Hope Galway or Dublin will sort you lads out.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2651 - 28/07/2025 22:09:19    2628841

Replying To Past hurler:  "I can see this Kerry team doing 3 in a row.

Armagh and Tyrone are challengers alright, but don't have the free scoring forwards that Kerry have.

Mayo are finished as a top 5 county in my eyes for a long time, a very mediocre panel."
Donegal stayed in the fight on Sunday. Tyrone will be disappointed with aspects of the semi final.
7 counties emerged as strong contenders after the league. Donegal, Dublin, Galway and Armagh were the favourites to make the semi finals. Tyrone were probably next favourites for making the semi final. Kerry came from ranking 6th before the quarter finals. Mayo, the league runners up, were knocked out by a late Donegal point. Small margins.
Kerry and Mayo came from avoiding relegation to make the league final! Kerry came from ranking 6th before the quarter finals to make the All Ireland final. Possibly small margins kept Mayo out of making a late impact as well?
We might be in an era of 7 to 10 strong contenders. Meath and Monaghan were very impressive this year. Derry can regroup.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9054 - 29/07/2025 08:18:22    2628882

Replying To galwayford:  "Hope Galway or Dublin will sort you lads out."
Dublin won't be sorting anyone out for a long time

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2851 - 29/07/2025 09:23:40    2628896

I can see next year being very competitive again, but Kerry will undoubtedly be the front-runner.
Kerry remind me a bit of the famous Guardiola Barcelona team. They have an outstanding set of players all very comfortable in what they're doing with and without the ball. To top it off, they have their very own Messi.

Towards the end of the decade, I can see a revival of the famous 00s Tyrone-Kerry rivalry.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9943 - 29/07/2025 09:53:39    2628912