Poor Donegal being made to travel to the Hyde

I wish to pass on my sympathies for the injustices that were bestowed upon your small and impoverished county over the weekend.

Would you like me to set up a Go Fund Me for you, so the next time your team can travel by private jet, with prawn sandwiches on arrival ?

All the best,

Sponger.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2943 - 16/06/2025 12:01:34    2618179

Replying To sponger:  "I wish to pass on my sympathies for the injustices that were bestowed upon your small and impoverished county over the weekend.

Would you like me to set up a Go Fund Me for you, so the next time your team can travel by private jet, with prawn sandwiches on arrival ?

All the best,

Sponger."
To quote the Cranberries

"He's in your heeeeeeeads, in your heeeeeeeaaaaads, rent free, free, free...."

Good to see him putting that M.Sc. in Psychology to good use :)

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1236 - 16/06/2025 12:24:23    2618198

Replying To peiledoir20:  "To quote the Cranberries

Good to see him putting that M.Sc. in Psychology to good use :)"
Indeed

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2943 - 16/06/2025 12:48:12    2618218

Replying To sponger:  "I wish to pass on my sympathies for the injustices that were bestowed upon your small and impoverished county over the weekend.

All the best,

Sponger."
That's a mighty kind offer from you Sponger, a private jet would definitely help us overcome the lack of road/rail infrastructure due to decades of neglect by Fianna Fail and Fine Gael parties, as GAA CCCC venue selection for neutral group games certainly doesn't make it easy for us.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1382 - 16/06/2025 12:54:38    2618227

Point is though is that he is not.People are laughing at him with the auld siege mentality.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 491 - 16/06/2025 12:59:53    2618233

Bunch of moaners you lot are ! McGuiness is the biggest cry baby ever .
You won't win sam either that will go to Armagh .
Thought you were meant to beat us out the gate by half time took a last minute score for you. Mayo were 25/1 to win sam and it took you that long to get the winning score what does that tell you.

There's sore loosers & sore winners and Donegal are the biggest sore winners arrogant to . Can't just say hard luck to Mayo you have to go make stupid comments . Where did you want the game? Sligo out of action , Cavan was being used . Obviously would have suited you lot to have it in your home ground as you feel entitled to everything grow up !

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 203 - 16/06/2025 13:23:24    2618253

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Point is though is that he is not.People are laughing at him with the auld siege mentality."
Whatever works for him. We will know in a month or so.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16324 - 16/06/2025 13:24:36    2618255

Replying To S1234:  "Bunch of moaners you lot are ! McGuiness is the biggest cry baby ever .
Thought you were meant to beat us out the gate by half time took a last minute score for you. Mayo were 25/1 to win sam and it took you that long to get the winning score what does that tell you.

There's sore loosers & sore winners and Donegal are the biggest sore winners arrogant to . Can't just say hard luck to Mayo you have to go make stupid comments . Where did you want the game? Sligo out of action , Cavan was being used . Obviously would have suited you lot to have it in your home ground as you feel entitled to everything grow up !"
You're more dramatic than an episode of Fair City. I hope you enjoyed Ciaran Moore sending you out for the summer and that his point plays through your mind now for weeks to come.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1451 - 16/06/2025 13:39:10    2618263

All the best,

Sponger."
Lol. Donegal cry babies.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 180 - 16/06/2025 13:43:23    2618270

Replying To S1234:  "Bunch of moaners you lot are ! McGuiness is the biggest cry baby ever .

There's sore loosers & sore winners and Donegal are the biggest sore winners arrogant to . Can't just say hard luck to Mayo you have to go make stupid comments . Where did you want the game? Sligo out of action , Cavan was being used . Obviously would have suited you lot to have it in your home ground as you feel entitled to everything grow up !"
You mustn't talk to many Donegal people then.

Every county has it clowns but overall we are humble both sides of the ball.

Mayo played excellent and deserve great credit.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 370 - 16/06/2025 13:46:01    2618272

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Point is though is that he is not.People are laughing at him with the auld siege mentality."
The only people laughing are keyboard warriors like yourself.

Unless you have managed a team to an All Ireland like Jim I doubt he is thinking about the likes of you.

RENT FREE.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1236 - 16/06/2025 13:46:44    2618273

i am absolutely delighted the way we beat yous now, hammering you out the gate would have been brilliant but the way we ended up dumping yous out was as sweet as you could get, I'd say you are absolutely fuming . have a great day

ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 97 - 16/06/2025 13:51:34    2618278

Arguably the last round of the group stages should be home game for the provincial champion as it is the most important game.

This siege mentality stuff is a bit passe tbh but sure let Jim at it.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 365 - 16/06/2025 13:52:26    2618279

This is rich coming from someone from Mayo. If there was medals being handed out for moaning, Mayo would surely win a gold.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1386 - 16/06/2025 13:52:44    2618280

All the best,

Sponger."
You are a typical example of one of many uneducated people in our sad sad world today.
If more people talked about the problems in sport and the world in general then just maybe someone may listen.
He is well entitled to his opinion as are you but maybe sometime in the future a person can voice their opinion without been jumped on!
Now go back out as see to your little gardens , good boy xx

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 169 - 16/06/2025 13:53:52    2618281

Bizarre post. Wicklow have perhaps one of their biggest games in years coming up this weekend and yet Jim McGuinness appears to be the main topic of conversation for some of their supporters.

I don't believe anyone suggested Donegal were going to wipe the floor with Mayo. Were we confident? Cautiously so I would say. You tend to acquire that when your county is managed by one of, if not the best coach in the GAA.

Most Mayo supporters are bang on, and cut from the same cloth as us up here in Donegal. But there is a definite portion of them who are completely insufferable, exhibit A some of the posts on this thread alone.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9818 - 16/06/2025 14:02:15    2618283

Jim,
Lovely to see you and the lads for the weekend in our beautiful County Roscommon. Hope you stopped off at
Lough Key Forest Park and Boyle Abbey on the way home from The Hyde.
PS - Donegal won't win an All Ireland playing like ye did yesterday.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2470 - 16/06/2025 14:04:24    2618285

The only people laughing at him are fools who've never achieved anything on a football pitch.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 680 - 16/06/2025 14:07:06    2618288

Look, I don't know why we bother getting involved and taking the bait with these types of things. Jim knows what he's at, he's trying to make it an us versus them thing, and people are best just not engaging. Let Jim think what Jim wants to think.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 16/06/2025 14:10:36    2618292

He's Jimmy McGuinness. 5 Ulsters and All Ireland as a manager, one of each as a player. Professional coach and sport psychologist. If he has a few lads with keyboards wondering what he's at every Donegal player and supporter will be bouncing today ready for the next day. Job done.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8097 - 16/06/2025 14:14:30    2618295