All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025

Replying To StoreysTash:  "But you are saying the footballer who soldiered with Carlow or Longford are less entitled because of where they come from? Are you for real? Maybe if they were born in Mayo or Cork they would have been the difference rather than players who let their county down when the stakes were highest?
Similarly, there's lads in Kilkenny with All-Ireland medals who never hit a ball in the championship. There's a lot of luck involved in these things.
All any player can do is give everything he has for his jersey, be that a Cork or Kilkenny or a club hurling jersey. Nobody is entitled to anything."
I'm well aware there's brilliant players in weaker counties. My point is they wouldn't have major hopes or aspirations of winning an all Ireland realistically
And yes you are right there's lads in kilkenny with 3 or 4 all irelands who wouldn't hold a candle to Lee chin, John Mullane, ollie canning etc.

richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 26 - 25/07/2025 18:44:42    2627978

Replying To Viking66:  "Munster counties are well on top recently for sure. I'm not arguing that they aren't. That ebbs and flows through history.
5 points rarely gets you out of Leinster. We got 6 this year and didn't get out."
Ye didn't get out because ye couldn't beat Dublin!
See you went for KK to beat Tipp SF wrong and you went Cork to beat Tipp AIF wrong......I went and backed Tipp to win both correct!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2676 - 25/07/2025 19:32:21    2627983

Replying To Bon:  "Congratulations, you can click and paste, life in the old dog yet ;)"
Thought you would be impressed with that one ok :-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16738 - 25/07/2025 22:03:33    2628013

When you think about it Tipp are truly the best team this year. They have beaten everyone in Munster except for Limerick who they got an excellent draw against in the first Munster Round Robin game. and they beat the 2 best teams from Leinster.

So in championship they beat Clare, Waterford, Galway, Kilkenny and Cork. Draw with Limerick. and one solitary loss to Cork in Munster when they were handicapped by having a man less for the entire game.

It is interesting to note that in this period of Limerick dominance, all the teams who knocked Limerick out didn't go on to win Liam themselves....

mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 25/07/2025 23:28:44    2628032

Replying To katser:  "Ye didn't get out because ye couldn't beat Dublin!
See you went for KK to beat Tipp SF wrong and you went Cork to beat Tipp AIF wrong......I went and backed Tipp to win both correct!"
Even s broken clock is right twice a day.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3863 - 26/07/2025 07:21:57    2628040

Replying To mr305:  "When you think about it Tipp are truly the best team this year. They have beaten everyone in Munster except for Limerick who they got an excellent draw against in the first Munster Round Robin game. and they beat the 2 best teams from Leinster.

So in championship they beat Clare, Waterford, Galway, Kilkenny and Cork. Draw with Limerick. and one solitary loss to Cork in Munster when they were handicapped by having a man less for the entire game.

It is interesting to note that in this period of Limerick dominance, all the teams who knocked Limerick out didn't go on to win Liam themselves...."
When Tipp won the 2019 all Ireland their championship record was P8 W7 D0 L1. This year it is P8 W6 D1 L1. When they get it right they get it right.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6526 - 26/07/2025 09:49:13    2628056

Replying To slayer:  "When Tipp won the 2019 all Ireland their championship record was P8 W7 D0 L1. This year it is P8 W6 D1 L1. When they get it right they get it right."
Tipp have a great record in All Ireland finals. Won 29 Lost 13. They're always hard beaten in finals. I remember the 2009 Final when a young Tipp team largely outplayed the great Kilkenny 4 in a row team. Tipp very unlucky to lose that day. The question next year for Liam Cahill will be can Tipp win back to back titles for the first time since 1964/1965.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2566 - 26/07/2025 11:06:33    2628063

Replying To Viking66:  "Thought you would be impressed with that one ok :-D"
10/10 Viking!!

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2471 - 26/07/2025 11:56:44    2628070

Replying To slayer:  "When Tipp won the 2019 all Ireland their championship record was P8 W7 D0 L1. This year it is P8 W6 D1 L1. When they get it right they get it right."
Corks championship record in normal time was played 7, 3 wins, 2 draws, 2 losses. Score difference plus 10, including big wins against a 14 man Tipp team and Dublin in the Semifinal. Tipperarys score difference was plus 45.
Mad how hype can ignore statistics sometimes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16738 - 26/07/2025 12:48:38    2628077

Replying To Viking66:  "Corks championship record in normal time was played 7, 3 wins, 2 draws, 2 losses. Score difference plus 10, including big wins against a 14 man Tipp team and Dublin in the Semifinal. Tipperarys score difference was plus 45.
Mad how hype can ignore statistics sometimes."
Last two years all we've heard about is Limerick and Cork. While they won a Munster title each in that period Clare and Tipp won the big ones. Look at the bookies odds for next year, don't think the narrative will change much either but I'm sure the other teams wont mind.

Pjm111 (Clare) - Posts: 18 - 26/07/2025 18:19:51    2628138

Replying To Pjm111:  "Last two years all we've heard about is Limerick and Cork. While they won a Munster title each in that period Clare and Tipp won the big ones. Look at the bookies odds for next year, don't think the narrative will change much either but I'm sure the other teams wont mind."
Fair comments.

People get carried away with the idea of a 'trilogy' in the current championship format. The first mentions of this came from Derek McGrath in 2022 saying it would be a Limerick v Waterford trilogy. This year it was supposedly a Limerick v Cork trilogy. All that talk seems to do is give life to all the other counties.

While the Munster Hurling championship is still a superb competition to win and the winners get a much needed break, Liam MacCarthy is what everyone wants.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6526 - 28/07/2025 10:41:50    2628530

Replying To Viking66:  "Corks championship record in normal time was played 7, 3 wins, 2 draws, 2 losses. Score difference plus 10, including big wins against a 14 man Tipp team and Dublin in the Semifinal. Tipperarys score difference was plus 45.
Mad how hype can ignore statistics sometimes."
You're a gas man altogether. The hype was predicated on the results pre final, yet you've included the result of the final (which skews the stat greatly) and then questioned how the hype came about….

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 440 - 28/07/2025 11:36:52    2628572

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "You're a gas man altogether. The hype was predicated on the results pre final, yet you've included the result of the final (which skews the stat greatly) and then questioned how the hype came about…."
Ok we will take the final out of it. Before the final the only team you beat all year in play in a Championship match away from PUC was Dublin, and Cork posters have made it clear just how highly they rate Dublin hurling numerous times on this forum before. And 1 of the games your lads won in PUC was against a team who only had 14 men all game. the other was against a county who have never got out of the Round Robin in any year there was one.
So in summary the only teams you beat in play in Championship this year were 2 teams who were in Div 1b in this years League, along with a team who only had 14 men all match, who then beat you quite comfortably when they had 15 players.

Hardly the form of Champions.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16738 - 28/07/2025 12:34:44    2628601

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "You're a gas man altogether. The hype was predicated on the results pre final, yet you've included the result of the final (which skews the stat greatly) and then questioned how the hype came about…."
Sorry but you are the gas man Bloodandbandage

I made multiple posts pre final about Cork being way too heavily fancied and yourself and BaldyBadger took great exception with it. From calling me Bitter to having a "myopic" view. Yet neither of you were gracious to come post final and say yeah fair enough you called it

mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 28/07/2025 12:54:00    2628619

Replying To Viking66:  "Ok we will take the final out of it. Before the final the only team you beat all year in play in a Championship match away from PUC was Dublin, and Cork posters have made it clear just how highly they rate Dublin hurling numerous times on this forum before. And 1 of the games your lads won in PUC was against a team who only had 14 men all game. the other was against a county who have never got out of the Round Robin in any year there was one.
So in summary the only teams you beat in play in Championship this year were 2 teams who were in Div 1b in this years League, along with a team who only had 14 men all match, who then beat you quite comfortably when they had 15 players.

Hardly the form of Champions."
Yet you (The Oracle) tipped Cork...

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 440 - 28/07/2025 15:03:43    2628698

Replying To mr305:  "Sorry but you are the gas man Bloodandbandage

I made multiple posts pre final about Cork being way too heavily fancied and yourself and BaldyBadger took great exception with it. From calling me Bitter to having a "myopic" view. Yet neither of you were gracious to come post final and say yeah fair enough you called it"
Fair play to you for calling it. There, is that ok??!! In fairness, at least you did flag it before the final. This Viking fella must have over 100 posts after the final was over, telling us all about the Cork stats…

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 440 - 28/07/2025 15:19:00    2628711

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Yet you (The Oracle) tipped Cork..."
Exactly what I said to numerous friends was that if Cork blew Tipp away in the 1st 20 minutes then they would win the Final. If Tipp were still in it as the game went on past that they would win it. Think I posted that here somewhere too?
I also wondered had Cork peaked too early when they were flying in the League.
Most of the teams that won the League and then went on to win the AI did so without putting too much effort into winning the League. Clare last year, Limerick before that. Cork turned up at Wexford Park for the 1st League game and played 13 I think it was players who had played in the AI final a few months previous.
And final point I never claimed to be an Oracle, Ladbrokes keep giving me free bets which should tell you something ;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16738 - 28/07/2025 15:48:09    2628723

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Fair play to you for calling it. There, is that ok??!! In fairness, at least you did flag it before the final. This Viking fella must have over 100 posts after the final was over, telling us all about the Cork stats…"
Are you saying those stats aren't accurate? They were freely available to you and everyone else in Cork BEFORE the Final. And all the pundits and journalists.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16738 - 28/07/2025 15:50:08    2628724

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Even s broken clock is right twice a day."
Wexford will get plenty of practice next year to try and some how beat Dublin between league and championship.
That's the big one for Wexford and top of the agenda.......or as I would call it the 3rd place All Ireland?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2676 - 28/07/2025 22:16:38    2628846

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Fair play to you for calling it. There, is that ok??!! In fairness, at least you did flag it before the final. This Viking fella must have over 100 posts after the final was over, telling us all about the Cork stats…"
I appreciate it. I didn't even want to Tipp to win either I can assure you!
But it must be annoying when the captain hindsight lads come out of the woodwork after a bad result like Viking.

mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 29/07/2025 00:05:41    2628864