Happy enough with that. Not perfect by any means but thought Antrim were gutsy and we stuck to it.
Bigger test next week but good to have two points on the board.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3514 - 19/04/2025 16:09:28
Chinners continuing his Bruno Fernandes like importance for fourteen-man Wexford, hitting 10 points already. Antrim flew out of the traps, blazing an early peno over, but Wexford lead 0-14 to 0-10 with the use of the wind to come.
Just like my grandad and father lived through the Rackard and Doran eras respectively, I will tell my own kids how good Chin was.
CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 148 - 19/04/2025 16:13:14
Replying To beano: "Have to be happy with that considering our shaky start and the red card. Chin is an all-time great, not just for us but in the game, but it might be a concern that we were too reliant on his scoring today. All the other forwards were quiet more or less. Solid debut for Patsy, and Hearne continues to be in the top bracket of midfielders around. Lawlor and McGuickan not really mentioned on commentary so don't know how they fared in the flesh.
Wasn't a great advertisement for Jacko being a nailed-on starter though. I wouldn't be surprised if Davy pin-pointed him as someone that could be 'got at'.
Already in a far better spot than last year coming up against our recent bogey team next week." I totally agree about Chin, if he were on a more successful team, people would be raving about him as one of the best of all time. His first half particularly was absolutely sensational. Carried the team on his back, gave the lads around him confidence and they came into it in the second half.
Some of the fielding in the second half by the backs was great to see. Always get heart palpitations when teams start pumping it in long against us.
On Jacko, I can't believe a lad as experienced as him would be silly enough to pull back on a lad in front of the umpires. I don't care what the Antrim said or did, he let the team down badly. He'll struggle to get back into the team. Not sure who replaces him in the next game (assuming his card isn't rescinded) but Mac will definitely take the spot in round 3.
Jack Redmond looked like he tweaked his ankle almost immediately after coming on. Poor lad was absolutely rotten luck, hopefully it's nothing to serious.
Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 264 - 19/04/2025 16:18:46
Replying To beano: "Have to be happy with that considering our shaky start and the red card. Chin is an all-time great, not just for us but in the game, but it might be a concern that we were too reliant on his scoring today. All the other forwards were quiet more or less. Solid debut for Patsy, and Hearne continues to be in the top bracket of midfielders around. Lawlor and McGuickan not really mentioned on commentary so don't know how they fared in the flesh.
Wasn't a great advertisement for Jacko being a nailed-on starter though. I wouldn't be surprised if Davy pin-pointed him as someone that could be 'got at'.
Already in a far better spot than last year coming up against our recent bogey team next week." Charlie was the usual mixed bag. Gave away 2 points with poor distribution, but played with good intensity. Richie played well and was solid. Jacko is 30.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15466 - 19/04/2025 16:36:20
Already in a far better spot than last year coming up against our recent bogey team next week." Tbf to our other forwards, once we went down to 14 men, the inside forwards were always going to be starved of possession so wouldn't worry too much about them being quiet, Rory did a lot of damage, got three points from play and won the world of frees
Thought Cathal Dunbar and Kevin Foley put in a good shift in the second half for all that they only scored 1-01 between them, when you go down to 14, you nearly have to work twice as hard so lack of threat outside of Chin and Rory might be an issue going forward but think there were extenuating circumstances today
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 445 - 19/04/2025 16:37:28
Replying To ElGranSenor: "Really happy with that performance, were terrible in the first ten minutes and were a man down from the 20th minute to around the 58th minute which makes the performance even better
Good hunger, good physicality, good intensity, very few wides, clever balls into the corner, good on the frees, good attitude
Jacko and Maskey seemed to be shaking hands after so you'd hope Antrim would be honest and admit that it wasn't a red card, only other issue outside of that was that Jack Redmond looked to injure himself just after coming on
Thought Cian Molloy was outstanding, other counties might not respect us and think we've nothing coming through but today we had five U23s starting (Molloy, Conor Foley, Eoin Ryan, Cian Byrne, and Richie Lawlor), that's a good group of players to build around" Patsy was excellent. Agree we have some young lads to build around. The 2 Recks, Rory and Conor Hearne are only mid 20s, and Kevin Foley is only 30 this year. Lee Chin rolled back the years. His workrate was outstanding. He's such a class hurler. What a leader.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15466 - 19/04/2025 16:38:48
Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24: "Chinners continuing his Bruno Fernandes like importance for fourteen-man Wexford, hitting 10 points already. Antrim flew out of the traps, blazing an early peno over, but Wexford lead 0-14 to 0-10 with the use of the wind to come.
Just like my grandad and father lived through the Rackard and Doran eras respectively, I will tell my own kids how good Chin was." Did you come up? Fair play to you if you did.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15466 - 19/04/2025 16:40:58
Once again we started slowly and allowed Antrim to run at us time after time. Chinner was outstanding and is without doubt a class act. Didn't see the incident that resulted in Jacko been sent off. The goals in the 2nd half really killed the safrons. We finished strongly but maybe the margin of victory flattets us somewhat. Surprising Jippo didn't make an appearance but maybe another week of recovery might be best. Molloy should get better as he gets more gametime. Charlie and Richie were unimpressive they need to improve on there first touch. Dunbar done well and I thought Hearne was a thorn in their sides throughout. Rory has had better games but he is capable of much more. Dubs up next and that will be tricky. However it's a game we can win if we play with a bit of fire in our bellies.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 428 - 19/04/2025 16:59:31
That first half from Chin was just immense. Some of the best hurling I've ever seen him play.
ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 19/04/2025 17:22:50
I'd take that margin of victory any day for 1st game out. Poor start alright with some poor touches, missed pick ups etc. Once we got to 6 points all it was comfortable enough. Jacko will be disappointed. It is moments like that, that could cost us later. Typical Davy with 15 v 14. Only played 1 close to goal. Not an all round performance my any means with plenty of players knowing they have to improve. Chin was just amazing in 1st half. One of the first plays after we got the red he was hassling like mad caused a turnover. That's leadership. Hearne so important for us, drives forward so well and very accurate. We would have got more from rory and cian if it was 15 v 15. Impressed with Molloy. Will be an important player this year. Jippo was been put through his paces after the game. Was moving well. Such a difference between a calm Rossiter on the line v Davy falling to his knees every 5 mins holding his head. Looking forward to Dublin. Momentum is building after the clare and limerick wins. Nothing to fear from Galway after their performance today but the dubs always make me nervous giving our recent history against them but I think we will be heading to Galway with 4 points.
Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 123 - 19/04/2025 18:15:52
Replying To Viking66: "Patsy was excellent. Agree we have some young lads to build around. The 2 Recks, Rory and Conor Hearne are only mid 20s, and Kevin Foley is only 30 this year. Lee Chin rolled back the years. His workrate was outstanding. He's such a class hurler. What a leader." They out scored us 0-06 to 0-02 early and they got three of the last four points when the game was over so between the 10 minute mark and the 65 minute mark, we out-scored them by 2-21 to 0-10 and that's having had to play a man down for 35-40 of those 55 minutes
We were pretty much dominant in that person and truth be told, it was quite one-sided, I thought they were really poor although you could say it's hard to progress at Senior if you're not really competing at either U20 or Minor
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 445 - 19/04/2025 18:18:04
Replying To Magpie2: "Once again we started slowly and allowed Antrim to run at us time after time. Chinner was outstanding and is without doubt a class act. Didn't see the incident that resulted in Jacko been sent off. The goals in the 2nd half really killed the safrons. We finished strongly but maybe the margin of victory flattets us somewhat. Surprising Jippo didn't make an appearance but maybe another week of recovery might be best. Molloy should get better as he gets more gametime. Charlie and Richie were unimpressive they need to improve on there first touch. Dunbar done well and I thought Hearne was a thorn in their sides throughout. Rory has had better games but he is capable of much more. Dubs up next and that will be tricky. However it's a game we can win if we play with a bit of fire in our bellies." Thought Charlie done well walked alot of ball out of defence. Molloy looked at home at that level and has played very little which is even more impressive. All round good intensity in performance which we need to bring to every game. Good to see Rossiter bringing on new players too.
WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 19/04/2025 18:34:09
Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24: "Chinners continuing his Bruno Fernandes like importance for fourteen-man Wexford, hitting 10 points already. Antrim flew out of the traps, blazing an early peno over, but Wexford lead 0-14 to 0-10 with the use of the wind to come.
Just like my grandad and father lived through the Rackard and Doran eras respectively, I will tell my own kids how good Chin was." What a nice thing to say, Chin looked great today, sometimes you forget what makes this game special. I lived through the Doran years, he carried a whole team, a whole county, when he was on the field you always felt we had a chance, watched him grabbing ball in a forest of hurls, for the cleanest hurler in the game at the time he poured fear into every backline and every Goal keeper. 9 time all Ireland winner Noel Skehan said that Tony was the only one he feared. that's what we had…
Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 180 - 19/04/2025 18:39:42
Replying To ChinCanHurl: "That first half from Chin was just immense. Some of the best hurling I've ever seen him play." As to be expected against Antrim in all fairness bigger games ahead thats where he struggled last year so hopefully.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 326 - 19/04/2025 18:52:33
Replying To Tiger1: "As to be expected against Antrim in all fairness bigger games ahead thats where he struggled last year so hopefully." Starting next weekend in Parnell.
It would he huge to beat Dublin in their home patch.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 907 - 19/04/2025 19:49:37
Slow start today but we settled into it then…. Thought our backs done really well when we started to attack the ball in out half back line really think Eoin Ryan patsy Conor foley are the future and with Eoin whelan to come back the 2 recks jippo Charlie and Richie Lawlor we could have a really good 7 to 8 defenders to choose from.. think hearne is turning into a top class midfielder workrate is brilliant.. chin superb again the man is a man mountain..Rory was quite enough today but would not worry one bit still scored 3 points…. Jack o red card was stupid just wondering is it 2 games now he gets and who wil replace him surely Jack Redmond or Casey… roll on next Saturday big support needed to try get a result against our bogey team
gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 309 - 19/04/2025 20:16:38
Happy with that, very hard to play with 14 men for most of the game. I know they are not the finished article but eoin ryan, conor foley, cian molloy, Charlie,lawlor have really added good quality and youth into or backs options. Add in the two recks, liam ryan and possible darragh kehoe and eoin whelan next year and we have the makings of a very good set of backs.
Midfield, conor hearne is excellent and I think David codd and sean rowley are very good exciting options going forward also.
It the forwards, I worry slightly about. Jack is out the next day, Chin is brilliant, Rory the same quality, cian Byrne is a very good young player and Dunbar is a useful option as well. But we lack depth here and big physical presence. Hoping oisin foley will be back next year and you would be hopeful cillian Byrne and Simon Roche will push on. CBD is a very good young player but at moment needs bulking up. But I feel we lack depth in the forward at present but it will be great to have Mac back as well. See donal Burke came off at half time, I wonder was it an injury, he is a very important player for Dublin.
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1108 - 19/04/2025 21:15:57
Replying To gannett83: "Slow start today but we settled into it then…. Thought our backs done really well when we started to attack the ball in out half back line really think Eoin Ryan patsy Conor foley are the future and with Eoin whelan to come back the 2 recks jippo Charlie and Richie Lawlor we could have a really good 7 to 8 defenders to choose from.. think hearne is turning into a top class midfielder workrate is brilliant.. chin superb again the man is a man mountain..Rory was quite enough today but would not worry one bit still scored 3 points…. Jack o red card was stupid just wondering is it 2 games now he gets and who wil replace him surely Jack Redmond or Casey… roll on next Saturday big support needed to try get a result against our bogey team" Think Dara Kehoe is a better prospect than Eoin Whelan tbh. Not to say that Whelan isn't a good prospect. Michael Dundon a good prospect also. Dylan Purcell with the u20s is a decent defender, and I've been impressed by Jones as well.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15466 - 19/04/2025 21:20:25
We have to be happy enough with yesterday's performance all things considered. Mostly positive with a few areas we need to improve on.
Discipline again letting us down with Jacko. In fairness we didn't concede too many silly frees although we weren't under serious pressure either. Liam Ryan and Reck will only make our defence even stronger.
Slow start seems to be a habit, we always seem to get going tho. We won't get away with starting slow against better opposition.
Spread of scores. That's a little worrying but we've seen better spread of scores against better opposition before so hopefully it won't all come down to Chin. We will miss Jacko. But that's an opportunity for someone else now to take. Let's hope someone takes it with both hands. Jack Redmond didn't seem like he could run yesterday when he came on. Hope Mac gets back soon and Jacko avoids a big ban. On any other day I'd be hoping ROC and Byrne can chip in with more scores.
We did well when down to 14 for the guts of the contest basically. Great attitude snd stuck at it. Winning the physical battles consistently was something I qas happy with. Typical Davy muck.....extra man and played him in defence when they were losing. We cut down on the wides which qas pleasing also.
It was our first day out so I'd expect us to tighten some things up for the next day. It would be great to get out of Parnell with a result. We can do it.
All in all Good performance yesterday and we can beat the team in front of us. We did that comprehensively
WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 349 - 20/04/2025 10:21:50
Jacko's red card yesterday reminded me a lot of Lee's last year versus Gorey in the county QF, think the reaction to them is not based on what they "did" but rather on who "did" it
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 445 - 20/04/2025 11:22:10