Ulster's Top 5 Forwards Ever

They obviously never heard of Frank Mcguigan either that or the author was born in the 00s.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 316 - 25/06/2024 14:05:46    2554759

Replying To summerof09:  "link

They obviously never heard of Frank Mcguigan either that or the author was born in the 00s.
link"
Paddy Doherty from Down is the greatest ever forward in Ulster. His scoring rates were of the charts and it was straight knockout football, no second chances. The greatest I ever saw.
There are young lads writing these articles who haven't a clue and get their facts from Wikipedia.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 92 - 25/06/2024 14:35:29    2554770

1- Peter Canavan
2- Conor Mcmanus
3- Liam Watson
4- Stephen O Neill
5- Neil Mcmanus

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12890 - 25/06/2024 14:42:55    2554776

Eugene McKenna from Augher. One of the great individual displays in an All Ireland semi final against Dublin in 1984.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2879 - 25/06/2024 15:22:06    2554791

Recency bias; Sean O'Neill was the greatest and deserves a statue in his hometown

befair (Down) - Posts: 238 - 25/06/2024 15:31:44    2554793

Replying To Viking66:  "1- Peter Canavan
2- Conor Mcmanus
3- Liam Watson
4- Stephen O Neill
5- Neil Mcmanus"
if there's a time period on it... say since about say mid 90's.. no particular order.
Conor McManus
Peter Canavan
Paddy Bradley
Steven McDonnell
Michael Murphy

Bring from Monaghan, Tommy Freeman was one of the best of that era too.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 129 - 25/06/2024 15:35:16    2554795

1. Mick Higgins
2. Sean O'Neill
3. Peter Canavan
4. Paddy Doherty
5. Greg Blaney
6. Frank McGuigan
7. Micheal Murphy
8. Charlie Gallagher
9. Conor McManus
10. Steven McDonnell

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 347 - 25/06/2024 15:45:01    2554799

That I have seen

Peter Canavan
Sean Cavanagh (MF but I would consider more of a forward)
Michael Murphy
Conor McManus
Stephen O'Neill

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 335 - 25/06/2024 16:02:00    2554807

He owes us nothing but the annoying thing for me is Michael Murphy could still be a massive help to us at FF,
I know I wouldn't retire until I was totally knackered, I'd have to be dragged off the field.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2870 - 25/06/2024 17:25:44    2554827

I would have had Micky Linden in there and in front of wee James as good as he was.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 940 - 25/06/2024 19:15:10    2554842

Replying To befair:  "Recency bias; Sean O'Neill was the greatest and deserves a statue in his hometown"
My Da and uncles who saw him playing Dublin and Kerry in 60s thought he was the best, and that was even compared to Heffo and Freaney. They often talked about the wonder goal he scored in 61?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2879 - 25/06/2024 19:48:24    2554845

For me im giving ny opinion on who I saw only.My choices are 1.Peter Canavan.
2 Conor McManus
3.Anthony Tohill
4.Mickey Linden
5.Steven McDonnell

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3746 - 26/06/2024 01:28:06    2554884

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "He owes us nothing but the annoying thing for me is Michael Murphy could still be a massive help to us at FF,
I know I wouldn't retire until I was totally knackered, I'd have to be dragged off the field."
Did they ever even put you on the field to begin with? It's always fellas who never played the game, any game for that matter, who come out with such statements!

When a player knows that it's time to go, nobody knows better than that player himself/herself. I might have my differences with Galway people over hurling (and football to a lesser extent), but thankfully when Joe Canning decide to retire, they respected the man's decision.

A bit of respect is in order, please!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2025 - 26/06/2024 02:29:17    2554885

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Did they ever even put you on the field to begin with? It's always fellas who never played the game, any game for that matter, who come out with such statements!

When a player knows that it's time to go, nobody knows better than that player himself/herself. I might have my differences with Galway people over hurling (and football to a lesser extent), but thankfully when Joe Canning decide to retire, they respected the man's decision.

A bit of respect is in order, please!"
Calm yourself yankee, I played club football for over 25 years, I said the man owes us nothing but he is still the best FF in the county.
herself lol. you well woke I see.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2870 - 26/06/2024 08:09:57    2554890

In no particular order:

Sean O'Neill
Peter Canavan
Mick Higgins
Michael Murphy
James McCartan

Sean Cavanagh for Murphy if he's considered a forward.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5070 - 26/06/2024 12:38:51    2554938

Replying To cavanman47:  "In no particular order:

Sean O'Neill
Peter Canavan
Mick Higgins
Michael Murphy
James McCartan

Sean Cavanagh for Murphy if he's considered a forward."
I hope its not more Cavan sour grapes with Monaghan (I'm joking) .. but how can you leave Conor McManus of the list ?
Is that James McCartan snr or jnr ? if its jnr, Mickey Linden and Ross Carr were more prolific forwards.

There is only one player in Ulster .. ever.. who has been top scorer in Ulster Championship 4 years in a row and that's Conor McManus.. (2014 to 2017). Its just a pity Monaghan never made it to an All Ireland final in his time..

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 129 - 26/06/2024 15:16:57    2554981

Replying To cavanman47:  "In no particular order:

Sean O'Neill
Peter Canavan
Mick Higgins
Michael Murphy
James McCartan

Sean Cavanagh for Murphy if he's considered a forward."
Cavanagh only played as a forward when his legs started to go. Spent most of his time trying to buy frees in there too.

My own 5:

Frank McGuigan
Mickey Linden
Peter Canavan
Michael Murphy
Stephen O'Neill

I'd expect to be adding Darragh Canavan to that list in 15 years or so. The lad is a special talent and a chip of the old block.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 875 - 26/06/2024 15:33:51    2554986

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Cavanagh only played as a forward when his legs started to go. Spent most of his time trying to buy frees in there too.

My own 5:

Frank McGuigan
Mickey Linden
Peter Canavan
Michael Murphy
Stephen O'Neill

I'd expect to be adding Darragh Canavan to that list in 15 years or so. The lad is a special talent and a chip of the old block."
What no Conor mc manus. Come on now are you for real.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2493 - 26/06/2024 15:58:24    2554997

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "He owes us nothing but the annoying thing for me is Michael Murphy could still be a massive help to us at FF,
I know I wouldn't retire until I was totally knackered, I'd have to be dragged off the field."
State of this post. Lol. I knew you were a troll on here but this takes the biscuit. Junior footballer and keyboard warrior telling their greatest ever player he shouldn't have retired.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7941 - 26/06/2024 17:10:42    2555009

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "I hope its not more Cavan sour grapes with Monaghan (I'm joking) .. but how can you leave Conor McManus of the list ?
Is that James McCartan snr or jnr ? if its jnr, Mickey Linden and Ross Carr were more prolific forwards.

There is only one player in Ulster .. ever.. who has been top scorer in Ulster Championship 4 years in a row and that's Conor McManus.. (2014 to 2017). Its just a pity Monaghan never made it to an All Ireland final in his time.."
James Snr.

It's not sour grapes.
All on my list helped their teams to multiple All Irelands, apart from Murphy.
McManus is probably in the top 10, I'd have to think about it, but not quite in my top 5.

I'd question anyone leaving Sean O'Neill out, but each to their own.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5070 - 26/06/2024 18:17:55    2555017