Usa Clubs Should Be Banned From Taking Players Other Than Bona-Fide Students From Ireland In Summer

Tomsmith here from Cavan

Over the years I have seen and heard of lots of Gaa players going to play in the USA ( indeed years ago four Cavan County players once went ) to play in the Summer in the USA. .
I hear that these players are only offered expenses perhaps some one at the Coal face in a USA Club would tell us what expenses only means .
Is it play for pay by another name Hu Hu
Lets hear the views of the USA club men on the payments if any that is being made
Perhaps some journey men ( Wandergeselle) could tell us of the rich pickings that was to be found for playing GAA in the USA over the years.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 02/08/2023 09:00:26    2498511

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here from Cavan

Over the years I have seen and heard of lots of Gaa players going to play in the USA ( indeed years ago four Cavan County players once went ) to play in the Summer in the USA. .
I hear that these players are only offered expenses perhaps some one at the Coal face in a USA Club would tell us what expenses only means .
Lets hear the views of the USA club men on the payments if any that is being made
Perhaps some journey men ( Wandergeselle) could tell us of the rich pickings that was to be found for playing GAA in the USA over the years."
It is all within the rules of the GAA. Consider how difficult it would be to draft a rule excluding certain players? What is an inter county player? All he has to do is "retire" and go play anyway. The reason GAA allow it is to at least have some control over it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 02/08/2023 12:25:33    2498575

Tom do you find these threads funny. Why are you only person to start a post saying your name when it's listed o he site anyway?
You are one of only people on a forum I see do that

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3525 - 02/08/2023 12:38:20    2498582

My ow club have suffered from this a bit.

There was a great run to get players back in the last few years for relegation battles in wexford.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2749 - 02/08/2023 12:39:11    2498583

Perhaps some journey men ( Wandergeselle) could tell us of the rich pickings that was to be found for playing GAA in the USA over the years."
Sorry I forget your name, clubs don't own players and it's the players that are the backbone of all clubs. Forget about chairpersons, treasurers etc, it's the players. Let them go and play wherever they want ( and get a few bob into the bargain) as long as they are enjoying it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 02/08/2023 14:46:18    2498642

Oh jaysus not him again and fools will reply to hin

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1684 - 02/08/2023 14:56:33    2498650

Semi Pro is OK in the US but a total no no in Ireland.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1465 - 02/08/2023 15:06:13    2498655

Hi tomsmith in Cavan,
ExiledInWex here, a Dubliner living in the normally sunny south east but not living up to the billing lately.

What's wrong with a player going across the pond and making a few bob for himself playing a few matches? If them yanks have more money than sense to pay them, the money gets brought back across the Atlantic and spent in the local shop or pub. Maybe not by them 4 Cavan players but for the most part I would say that is how it is.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 02/08/2023 16:07:49    2498682

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Hi tomsmith in Cavan,
ExiledInWex here, a Dubliner living in the normally sunny south east but not living up to the billing lately.

What's wrong with a player going across the pond and making a few bob for himself playing a few matches? If them yanks have more money than sense to pay them, the money gets brought back across the Atlantic and spent in the local shop or pub. Maybe not by them 4 Cavan players but for the most part I would say that is how it is."
: D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 02/08/2023 16:19:24    2498694

Tomsmith here

I say ban all transfers other that Students..
Why do Clubs train footballers for money Bags to take them to the USA each summer.
These USA club s do the have ayouth policy , underage ect.
Who do these finders ( I say every County has a spotter who I am told gets a finders fee ) pick from aClub . Is it players from the second or trird team in a Club, Naw Naw the best and would it matter to the US money bags it the home club in Ireland was relegated naw Naw.
I say ban the payment and the journey men would soon stop going state side

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 02/08/2023 18:34:14    2498737

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

I say ban all transfers other that Students..
Why do Clubs train footballers for money Bags to take them to the USA each summer.
These USA club s do the have ayouth policy , underage ect.
Who do these finders ( I say every County has a spotter who I am told gets a finders fee ) pick from aClub . Is it players from the second or trird team in a Club, Naw Naw the best and would it matter to the US money bags it the home club in Ireland was relegated naw Naw.
I say ban the payment and the journey men would soon stop going state side"
Believe it or not most young people these days travel to broaden their horizons not to make money. Maybe if you had done a bit more travelling you wouldn't be coming up with whinging threads complaining about irrelevant trivia.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/08/2023 10:39:52    2498801

Tom will you fight me outside the pub in Nobber this Saturday night?

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 03/08/2023 10:48:09    2498803

Didn't all the Cavan go in '47, and haven't stopped talking about since?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3498 - 03/08/2023 10:51:45    2498804

Replying To Meath10:  "Tom will you fight me outside the pub in Nobber this Saturday night?"
: D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/08/2023 11:05:46    2498808

DuhallowRed from Cork here

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 269 - 03/08/2023 11:22:57    2498813

Tomsmith here

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 405 - 03/08/2023 11:38:26    2498814

About time the country of origin pays legit so they don't have go else where

berba9 (Down) - Posts: 2 - 04/08/2023 05:48:50    2498958

Replying To Meath10:  "Tom will you fight me outside the pub in Nobber this Saturday night?"
Tom will you fight me outside the pub in Nobber this Saturday night?

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 176 - 03/08/2023 10:48:09 24988

Agh Tomsmith here
Its odious the way that you spell the name of that Tawn .
It could be spelled Nobair , Nobbir or Nobire . Hugh De Lacy would not be happy with the Angelized version., while I have visited your Town we Cavan people were not always welcomed. Indeed when we were returning from an Ireland victory over Meath that Buses were not allowed to stop for Minerals.in Kells
So much for the anger or should I say like of Hospitality of Meath and Kells people towards Cavan supporters .Agh but sure the victory was sweet and all is forgiven.
But back to your invitation naw naw , as I am taul Meath men were famous for a faltagh blow to opponents

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 04/08/2023 08:57:29    2498964

I did it Tom, best summer ever.
Didn't get the big bucks but got a job and accommodation (not free). It is a great time, let them on don't resent them there's a world off the island to be explored.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1741 - 04/08/2023 12:11:11    2499000

Let's face facts here.
County players get "compensated" with "expenses" and ,"handy jobs," both in the US and at home.

The US clubs get a few lads who are in and around the top teams who need a break or are being given a break by a particular manager.

Occasionally a large number from one county might go if the county has a bad year (half the Mayo panel went over after losing to Kildare in 2018).

The top players get the same treatment at home (your kidding yourself if you think otherwise) and what about it.

A few Handy dollars for strolling around in a handy club championship (standing out a mile from what's there) is good for the pocket and the confidence.

It didn't do Paul Mannion any harm when he decided to stick around this year and get man of the match in the all Ireland

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1140 - 05/08/2023 08:55:04    2499096